Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

22 Mystery Books That Will Keep You Guessing

SHARE

There’s nothing like the adrenaline rush of reading a mystery book, and we’re here to tell you about 22 that will absolutely stump you. Read on for our list of favorite YA mysteries that are ANYTHING but elementary, my dear Watson.

 

They’ll Never Catch Us by Jessica Goodman 

they'll never catch us

Clue you’ll love it: Dangerously competitive sisters, and a new star athlete in town that suddenly goes missing? Yup. You will love the twisty unfolding mystery around the Steckler sisters, and what they might do to stay on top.

 

People Like Us by Dana Mele

PEOPLE LIKE US

Clue you’ll love it: At Bates Academy, the truth is something you make…not something that happened. And after Kay finds herself is in the crosshairs of a murder investigation, she’ll do what it takes to survive.

 

Rules for Vanishing by Kate Alice Marshall 

Rules for Vanishing

Clue you’ll love it: It’s terrifying and eerie and oddly reminiscent of The Blair Witch Project. We may not recommend strolling down roads in the dead of night that only exist one day a year, but boy are they fun to read about.

 

They Wish They Were Us by Jessica Goodman 

THEY-WISH-THEY-WERE-US

Clue you’ll love it: This addictive mystery about the Players, an elite group at Gold Coast prep school, and the dark secrets they’re hiding just under the surface will have you guessing until the VERY last page.

 

Four Dead Queens by Astrid Scholte

Four Dead Queens

Clue you’ll love it: The plot twist is so shocking even the author didn’t see it coming!

 

Trouble is a Friend of Mine by Stephanie Tromly

9780147515438-3

Clue you’ll love it: Despite being dragged along through insane situations on a missing persons investigation, you’re somehow be laughing most of the time – and it feels 100% on point. This book is wild!

 

House of Hollow by Krystal Sutherland

HouseOfHollow_BOM_0p.indd

Clue you’ll love it: Not only will you fall in love with every one of the Hollow sisters, but the answer to “Where did Grey Hollow go?” will haunt your nightmares for the rest of time.

 

The Accident Season by Moïra Fowley-Doyle

9780147517326

Clue you’ll love it: supernatural + high stakes + one big question: is the fact that Cara’s family becomes inexplicably accident-prone every October is a coincidence…or a curse?

 

You’re So Dead by Ash Parsons

YoureSoDead_final_rev_10-12[2] (1)

Clue you’ll love it: It’s hard to go wrong with a book about three friends who sneak themselves into an influencer festival on an island with a SERIAL KILLER on the loose.

 

The Last Confession of Autumn Casterly by Meredith Tate

TheLastConfessionofAutumnCasterly

Clue you’ll love it: Part thrilling investigation, part sibling goals.

The Beautiful by Renée Ahdieh

The-Beautiful

Clue you’ll love it: Not only will you be enthralled by the murder mystery set in New Orleans, but you won’t be able to resist the swoony paranormal romance. Welcome to the Court of Lions!

 

The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson

9780142422052

Clue you’ll love it: You’ll still want to visit London even after tagging along on Lousiana teen Rory’s boarding school extracurriculars of evading serial killers and fraternizing with secret ghost police.

 

Nightfall by Jake Halpern and Peter Kujawinski

Clue you’ll love it: On Marin’s island, sunrise doesn’t come every 24 hours – it comes every 28 years. And when she gets left behind in the darkness, she’ll find out what lives in the shadows.

 

I Was Here by Gayle Forman

9780147514035-2

Clue you’ll love it: Although Cody’s on the hunt to figure out exactly what happened when her best friend Meg left, the real mystery of what’s inside someone’s heart is way more difficult to solve.

 

Harrow Lake by Kat Ellis

Harrow-Lake-COVER

Clue you’ll love it: it’s about the daughter of a horror film director who’s not afraid of anything…until she gets to Harrow Lake, where he filmed his most notorious slasher film. This town is not alright.

 

The Companion by Katie Alender

the companion

Clue you’ll love it: The other orphans say Margot is lucky. Lucky to survive the horrible accident that killed her family. Lucky to have her own room because she wakes up screaming every night. And finally, lucky to be chosen by a prestigious family to live at their remote country estate…until she meets Agatha.

 

The Smaller Evil by Stephanie Kuehn

9781101994702-2

Clue you’ll love it: when Arman becomes the witness to something he can’t define at a self-help retreat, he’ll have to rely on the person he’s always trusted the least: himself.

 

The Vanishing Deep by Astrid Scholte

vanishing deep

Clue you’ll love it: Resurrected dead sister + world underwater + 24 hours to find out what happened. Get ready for some TWISTS.

BONUS ROUND: 2021 has some unputdownable reads coming. Here’s what to look out for…

The Woods Are Always Watching by Stephanie Perkins – Coming 8/31

WoodsAre_9780525426028_CV.indd

Clue you’ll love it: The author of There’s Someone Inside Your House is back with a heart-stopping, gut-wrenching novel about friendship, survival, and navigating unmarked paths even as evil watches from the shadows.

 

Dark and Shallow Lies by Ginny Myers Sain – Coming 8/31

DarkShallowLies_ONLINE

Clue you’ll love it: Everyone is already talking about how incredibly intense the last few pages are, and once you pick it up and meet the Summer Children…you’ll know why. Something VERY strange is happening in La Cachette.

 

The Girls Are Never Gone by Sarah Glenn Marsh – Coming 9/7

girls are never gone

Clue you’ll love it: The Conjuring meets Sadie when seventeen-year-old podcaster Dare takes an internship in a haunted house and finds herself in a life-or-death struggle against an evil spirit.

The Corpse Queen by Heather M. Herrman – Coming 9/14

corpse queen

Clue you’ll love it: In this dark and twisty feminist historical mystery, a teenage girl starts a new life as a grave robber but quickly becomes entangled in a murderer’s plans.

 

 

Looking for more binge-worthy reads? Here are 5 boxsets you’ll burn straight through!

 

 

#ShelfGoals

Excerpt Alert: BOTH SIDES NOW by Peyton Thomas

Both Sides Now by Peyton Thomas is a witty and warm-hearted novel about a trans teen finding his place in the world perfect for fans of Red, White and Royal Blue. There’s only one thing standing between Finch Kelly and a full-blown case of high school senioritis: the National Speech & Debate Tournament. Taking home the gold … Continued
See More

Books to Read for Latinx & Hispanic Heritage Month

September 15-October 15 is Latinx & Hispanic Heritage Month. We’re inviting you to join us in reading stories by Latinx and Hispanic authors–and if you don’t know where to start, here are a few of our recommendations!   When We Make It by Elisabet Velasquez  An unforgettable debut young adult novel-in-verse that redefines what it … Continued
See More

Duologies that make really cute couples

Some duologies just make the absolute perfect couple. And we’re here to give you 9 that belong together on your shelf! The Goddess in the Machine Duology The plot twists ALONE will have you up all night. We can’t wait to see this duology completed on August 24th! The Kinder Poison Duology Action, royalty, a … Continued
See More

Boxed Sets to Binge Read

If you’re officially looking for your next series to get sucked into over the holidays, we got you. We’ve rounded up a wish list of our fav boxed sets!   The Ruta Sepetys Collection Discover #1 New York Times bestselling author Ruta Sepetys from the beginning. Featuring beautiful new cover art, this collection includes paperback editions of her … Continued
See More

Completed YA series you can read start to finish right now!

Is waiting for the next book an absolute struggle for you? We understand. So we put together a list of completed YA series you can read start to finish today!   An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir Set in a rich, high-fantasy world inspired by ancient Rome, Sabaa Tahir’s AN EMBER IN THE … Continued
See More

17 Love Stories Gone Wrong

We all love a good love story…but not all love stories necessarily have smooth courses (or happy endings). Come to think of it, a lot of love stories have a few bumps (or 200) along the way. Here are 17 love stories that don’t go quite as you’d expect! Super Fake Love Song by David Yoon It … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: MARGOT MERTZ TAKES IT DOWN

Hitting shelves this Tuesday, Veronica Mars meets Moxie in this hilarious and biting YA contemporary novel. Meet Margot Mertz, a girl who runs an internet cleanup business and embarks on a quest to take down a revenge-porn site targeting the girls in her school. Scroll down to begin reading Margot Mertz Takes It Down! “I mean . . . he was in such … Continued
See More

5 Reads to Take Back to School!

Summer may be coming to an end, but the good reads continue. So get that backpack ready, because we’re here with 5 reads that are perfect to take back to school with you!   Both Sides Now by Peyton Thomas A witty and warm-hearted novel about a trans teen finding his place in the world … Continued
See More

Halloween Books: Use the Scare-O-Meter to Find Your Perfect Scary Read!

Halloween is just around that corner, and we are SO read-y for all the Halloween reads and scares! While we know some of you are here for those up-all-night chilling chapters, we know that others may be looking to get some shut-eye after that last chapter. So, we’ve broken our favorite Halloween reads into three degrees of … Continued
See More

Love triangles we LOVE in YA!

Love a good love triangle? Here are a few of our recommendations if you’re looking for your next love triangle to feel deeply conflicted over!   Darius the Great Deserves Better by Adib Khorram In this companion to the award-winning Darius the Great Is Not Okay, Darius suddenly has it all: a boyfriend, an internship, a spot … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP