Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

17 Mystery Books That Will Keep You Guessing

SHARE

There’s nothing like the adrenaline rush of reading a mystery book, and we’re here to tell you about 17 that will absolutely stump you. Read on for our list of favorite YA mysteries that are ANYTHING but elementary, my dear Watson.

 

People Like Us by Dana Mele

PEOPLE LIKE US

Clue you’ll love it: At Bates Academy, the truth is something you make…not something that happened. And after Kay finds herself is in the crosshairs of a murder investigation, she’ll do what it takes to survive.

 

Rules for Vanishing by Kate Alice Marshall 

Rules-for-Vanishing

Clue you’ll love it: It’s terrifying and eerie and oddly reminiscent of The Blair Witch Project. We may not recommend strolling down roads in the dead of night that only exist one day a year, but boy are they fun to read about.

 

Rosie Girl by Julie Shepard

Clue you’ll love it: Bound to be one of the dark and twistiest books you’ll pick up. Rosie Girl is a visceral, poignant tale of friendship, sacrifice and identity. Trust us, you won’t be able to see these twists coming.

 

Four Dead Queens by Astrid Scholte

Four Dead Queens

Clue you’ll love it: The plot twist is so shocking even the author didn’t see it coming!

 

Trouble is a Friend of Mine by Stephanie Tromly

9780147515438-3

Clue you’ll love it: Despite being dragged along through insane situations on a missing persons investigation, you’re somehow be laughing most of the time – and it feels 100% on point. This book is wild.

 

Wink Poppy Midnight by April Tucholke

9780803740488

Clue you’ll love it: Every story needs a hero. Every story needs a villain. Every story needs a secret. Wink, Poppy, and Midnight will have you guessing who is who and what is what page after page.

 

The Accident Season by Moïra Fowley-Doyle

9780147517326

Clue you’ll love it: supernatural + high stakes + one big question: is the fact that Cara’s family becomes inexplicably accident-prone every October is a coincidence…or a curse?

 

Daughter of Deep Silence by Carrie Ryan

9780147511607

Clue you’ll love it: Vengeance is SO much more intriguing when the narrator isn’t only messing with the people around her – but with you as well.

 

 

The Last Confession of Autumn Casterly by Meredith Tate

TheLastConfessionofAutumnCasterly

Clue you’ll love it: Part thrilling investigation, part sibling goals.

The Edge of Nowhere by Elizabeth George

9780142426753-2

Clue you’ll love it: If you ever thought escaping to the wilderness would solve your problems, you might reconsider after you unearth the secrets on Whidby Island.

 

The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson

9780142422052

Clue you’ll love it: You’ll still want to visit London even after tagging along on Lousiana teen Rory’s boarding school extracurriculars of evading serial killers and fraternizing with secret ghost police.

 

Nightfall by Jake Halpern and Peter Kujawinski

Clue you’ll love it: On Marin’s island, sunrise doesn’t come every 24 hours – it comes every 28 years. And when she gets left behind in the darkness, she’ll find out what lives in the shadows.

 

I Was Here by Gayle Forman

9780147514035-2

Clue you’ll love it: Although Cody’s on the hunt to figure out exactly what happened when her best friend Meg left, the real mystery of what’s inside someone’s heart is way more difficult to solve.

 

Blind by Rachel DeWoskin

9780142424551

Clue you’ll love it: After an accident leaves her blind, Emma Sasha Silver has to untangle what happened when one of her classmates is found dead.

 

The Smaller Evil by Stephanie Kuehn

9781101994702-2

Clue you’ll love it: when Arman becomes the witness to something he can’t define at a self-help retreat, he’ll have to rely on the person he’s always trusted the least: himself.

 

The Vanishing Deep by Astrid Scholte

vanishing deep

Clue you’ll love it: Resurrected dead sister + world underwater + 24 hours to find out what happened. Get ready for some TWISTS.

Nearly Gone by Elle Cosimano

9780142424513

Clue you’ll love it: You’ll redefine #lifegoals when you meet Nearly Boswell, a high schooler who has a knack for tracking down serial killers…even when SHE’s being tracked.

 

BONUS ROUND: 2020 has some FREAKY reads coming. Here’s what to look out for…

 

The Companion by Katie Alender – Coming August 25, 2020!

The-Companion

Clue you’ll love it: The other orphans say Margot is lucky. Lucky to survive the horrible accident that killed her family. Lucky to have her own room because she wakes up screaming every night. And finally, lucky to be chosen by a prestigious family to live at their remote country estate…until she meets Agatha.

 

Harrow Lake by Kat Ellis – Coming August 25, 2020

Harrow-Lake-COVER

Clue you’ll love it: it’s about the daughter of a horror film director who’s not afraid of anything…until she gets to Harrow Lake, where he filmed his most notorious slasher film. This town is not alright.

 

 

Looking for more binge-worthy reads? Here are 5 boxsets you’ll burn straight through!

 

 

#ShelfGoals

Read an excerpt of IMAGINARY BORDERS!

We’ve been spotlighting some of our favorite reads by Latinx authors in honor of #LatinxHeritageMonth, and today we’re sharing an excerpt of Imaginary Borders by Xiuhtezcatl Martinez. In this personal, moving essay, environmental activist and hip-hop artist Xiuhtezcatl Martinez uses his art and his activism to show that climate change is a human issue that can’t be ignored. … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: VICIOUS SPIRITS by Kat Cho

We fell completely in LOVE with Kat Cho’s Wicked Fox last year. And we may be even more in love with its stunning companion novel, Vicious Spirits! Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE As with any tragedy, it came about because he loved. When he was on the cusp of manhood, a young man met a … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi & Fantasy reads to move up on your TBR asap

2020 has brought a LOT of amazing reads to our shelf. Here are just a few of our favorite sci-fi/fantasy reads you’ll want to make sure you didn’t miss!   Want to win them all? Click here to enter our sweepstakes! The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae You will laugh. You will cry. You will … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: WE ARE NOT FROM HERE

We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez is a poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, inspired by current events. Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE   When you live in a place like this, you’re always planning your escape. Even if you don’t know when you’ll go. Even if … Continued
See More

Start reading HARROW LAKE by Kat Elis

Calling all horror movie fans! Harrow Lake is a can’t-put-down, creepy thriller about the daughter of a horror film director who’s not afraid of anything–until she gets to Harrow Lake. Scroll down to start reading! Transcript of interview with Nolan Nox, Director of Nightjar, for Scream Screen magazine (Nightjar twentieth-anniversary special feature) CJL: C. J. Lahey, columnist with Scream Screen NN: Nolan … Continued
See More

What to read if you’re not over The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

If you’ve binge re-read the entire Hunger Games series and flew through the new prequel, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, we’ve got some recommendations for what to pick up next! From the Katniss energy of standing up to oppressive governing forces, to death-defying, high-stakes competitions, let’s get started!   The Kinder Poison by Natalie … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of When I Am Through With You

When I Am Through With You by Stephanie Kuehn is a gripping story of survival and the razor’s-edge difference between perfect cruelty and perfect love. Ben Gibson is many things, but he’s not sorry and he’s not a liar. He will tell you exactly about what happened on what started as a simple school camping trip … Continued
See More

Start Reading CHEMICAL HEARTS by Krystal Sutherland!

Chemical Hearts is now streaming on Amazon Prime Video and we are SO excited to see Krystal Sutherland’s gorgeous novel come to life on screen. But in case you still have some catching up to do on reading the book, here’s an excerpt to get you started! About Chemical Hearts: Henry Page has never been in love. He … Continued
See More

Books to Read for Latinx Heritage Month

September 15-October 15 is Latinx Heritage Month. We’re inviting you to join us in reading stories by Latinx authors–and if you don’t know where to start, here are a few of our recommendations!   We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez A poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, … Continued
See More

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP