Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Here’s What Book You Should Read Based on Your Favorite Chilling Adventures of Sabrina Character

SHARE

Raise your hand if you, like us, are now obsessed with Netflix’s Chilling Adventures of Sabrina.

via GIPHY

 

Raise your hand if you, like us, binged the whole series over the weekend and now have to wait way too long for the next season.

via GIPHY

It’s okay, this is a safe, witchy space, and we all worship at the altar of Netflix.

Thankfully, we all have books to tide us over until we get more episodes–ones we think that the characters themselves would love too.

 

 

Sabrina Spellman/Undead Girl Gang by Lily Anderson

Screen Shot 2018-11-02 at 2.25.10 PM

Bringing the dead back to life? Scary. Living in a world without your best friend? Scarier. Sabrina would totally get why teen Wiccan Mila Flores brings her best friend–and two other classmates–back from the dead, accidentally creating her own vigilante girl gang.

 

Hilda Spellman/Spellbook of the Lost and Found by Moira Fowley-Doyle

Screen Shot 2018-11-02 at 2.27.03 PM

 

A tattered spellbook might be the key to discovering things that have been lost–but what if it leads to things that were never meant to be found? Hilda and her many secrets agree.

 

Zelda Spellman/The Merciless by Danielle Vega

Screen Shot 2018-11-02 at 2.28.30 PM

 

When Sofia Flores moves to a new school, she finds that her new friends bring the term “mean girl” to a whole new level when they believe a classmate has been possessed by Satan. While Zelda may not jive with their anti-Satan motive, anyone who would kill their sister for annoying her would probably appreciate their intensity.

 

Ambrose Spellman/Give the Dark My Love by Beth Revis

Screen Shot 2018-11-02 at 2.29.55 PM

 

With a deadly plague sweeping the island, Nedra turns to darker magic, including necromancy, the practice of raising the dead…you know, Ambrose’s specialty.

 

Harvey Kinkle/The Sacrifice Box by Martin Stewart

Screen Shot 2018-11-02 at 2.31.07 PM

 

As children, five friends sealed childhood treasures in a box and vowed never to go back on their sacrifices. Four years later, someone broke the rules of the box, and now everyone has to pay. These friends, much like poor Harvey, don’t know what they’re in for.

 

Roz Walker/Blood Water Paint by Joy McCullough

Screen Shot 2018-11-02 at 2.33.14 PM

 

Artemisia Gentileschi was an Italian painter in the 1600s. Roz Walker is a student at Greendale in present times. Artemisia Gentileschi and Roz Walker have one thing in common: they’re both tired of men taking what they want from women, and are ready to show the world what women can do.

 

Susie Putnam/The Brilliant Death by Amy Rose Capetta

Screen Shot 2018-11-02 at 2.34.44 PM

 

With all the garbage that’s happened to Susie recently, she could use a good fantasy novel to escape into–why not dive into a world full of Italian folklore and magical gender exploration?

 

Prudence Night/An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

Screen Shot 2018-11-02 at 2.35.59 PM

 

Prudence and our girl Helene might as well get matching tattoos that say “You say ‘ruthless’ like it’s a bad thing.”

 

Salem Saberhagen/There’s Someone Inside Your House by Stephanie Perkins  

Screen Shot 2018-11-02 at 2.38.05 PM

 

Students at Osborne High are being murdered one by one, and as the terror grows closer and the hunt intensifies for the killer, dark secrets among them must be confronted. Sounds like a job for feline danger alarm Salem!

Bonus: you’ll be seeing this one pop up on Netflix in the near future, so you’ll be able to watch it back-to-back with Chilling Adventures of Sabrina without even having to change apps.

 

For those of you who can’t choose…

 

Slasher Girls and Monster Boys edited by April Genevieve Tucholke

81c6TRELGyL

If you’re digging this new ~darker~ version of Sabrina, you’re in for a treat with Slasher Girls and Monster Boys, the scariest takes on your favorite fairy tales, books, and movies you’ve ever seen! Warning: don’t read this one after dark.

 

Chilling Adventures of Sabrina by Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa, illustrated by Robert Hack

813k2LaO0NL

Of course, there’s also the original source material for the Chilling Adventures of Sabrina–if you haven’t read it yet, what are you waiting for?

 

More of a Scream Queens fan? Check out these recommendations for characters from Scream Queens!

#WhatsTrending

Read the first 3 chapters of Goddess in the Machine by Lora Beth Johnson!

Goddess in the Machine by Lora Beth Johnson just hit shelves! In this smart, thrilling sci-fi adventure, perfect for fans of Renegades and Aurora Rising, Andra wakes up from a cryogenic sleep 1,000 years later than she was supposed to, forcing her to team up with an exiled prince to navigate an unfamiliar planet. Scroll down to read the … Continued
See More

A Mood Reader’s Roadmap

Are you a mood reader? We’ve got you! We’ve put together a list of reads perfect for all of the reading moods, including some of 2020’s hottest reads and what’s about to hit shelves next!   In the mood for a fantasy that will take you away for a bit? You should read…   The Kinder Poison by … Continued
See More

6 Vampire Books to Read While You Wait For Twilight’s Midnight Sun

Stephenie Meyer dropped BIG news that the long anticipated, much talked about Twilight from Edward Cullen’s perspective novel Midnight Sun is coming this August! Of course, that is a few months away and if you’re craving more vampire reads, here are six books to sink your teeth into. 1. Vampire Academy Equal parts swoon and epic. Vampire Academy is … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: STORMBREAK by Natalie C. Parker

  June may be coming to an end, but we are looking forward to continuing to #ReadPrideAndBeyond all year long with upcoming spectacular 2020 reads. And we’re sharing an excerpt today from one of them! Stormbreak by Natalie C. Parker is the epic conclusion to the Seafire trilogy, applauded by Tor.com for celebrating “sisterhood and queernormativity in the face … Continued
See More

Week 2 Recap: The Beautiful Read-Along!

It was week 2 of of sinking our teeth into Renée Ahdieh’s The Beautiful. We have been loving reading this book alongside you all this month and this book is KILLING IT! As week 2 of our Read-Along comes to a close, here are some of our favorite posts from readers who are reading (or re-reading) the book with … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL: City of the Uncommon Thief

It’s cover reveal time! Get ready for a dark and intricate fantasy perfect for readers of The Book of Dust and Leigh Bardugo. City of the Uncommon Thief is the story of a quarantined city gripped by fear and of the war that can free it. Scroll down to see the cover and read an excerpt down below! Illustrator: … Continued
See More

ICYMI: the cover for Super Fake Love Song is here!

Super Fake Love Song by David Yoon, author of Frankly in Love, is hitting shelves November 17th, and we are SO in love with this cover. Scroll down to take a look and read a bit about the book!     From the bestselling author of Frankly in Love comes a contemporary YA rom-com where a case of mistaken … Continued
See More

2020 YA Preview!

Hello and WELCOME to the 2020 YA preview! We’re talking all early info on upcoming 2020 books we cannot WAIT to read and all the amazing books out so far this year!   All the Days Past, All the Days to Come by Mildred D. Taylor – January 7, 2020 The saga of the Logan family–made … Continued
See More

#ReadPrideAndBeyond with these books!

This Pride Month, we’re celebrating with books that highlight extraordinary LGBTQ+ stories. Funny, heartbreaking, suspenseful, romantic – there’s a little something for everyone on this list, so scroll down on for some of our favorites and #ReadPrideAndBeyond all year long! Plus, don’t forget to enter our sweeps to win a stack!   Click here to enter our #ReadPrideAndBeyond … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: THE WOODS ARE ALWAYS WATCHING by Stephanie Perkins

Stephanie Perkins is back with another blood-chilling contemporary horror novel, the perfect companion to her New York Times bestseller There’s Someone Inside Your House (coming to Netflix!!) Get ready for The Woods Are Always Watching, coming September 2020! We are so ready for more scares from Stephanie Perkins. Keep an eye out, because as SOON as we have more info, … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP