Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Here’s What Book You Should Read Based on Your Favorite Chilling Adventures of Sabrina Character

SHARE

Raise your hand if you, like us, are now obsessed with Netflix’s Chilling Adventures of Sabrina.

via GIPHY

 

Raise your hand if you, like us, binged the whole series over the weekend and now have to wait way too long for the next season.

via GIPHY

It’s okay, this is a safe, witchy space, and we all worship at the altar of Netflix.

Thankfully, we all have books to tide us over until we get more episodes–ones we think that the characters themselves would love too.

 

 

Sabrina Spellman/Undead Girl Gang by Lily Anderson

Screen Shot 2018-11-02 at 2.25.10 PM

Bringing the dead back to life? Scary. Living in a world without your best friend? Scarier. Sabrina would totally get why teen Wiccan Mila Flores brings her best friend–and two other classmates–back from the dead, accidentally creating her own vigilante girl gang.

 

Hilda Spellman/Spellbook of the Lost and Found by Moira Fowley-Doyle

Screen Shot 2018-11-02 at 2.27.03 PM

 

A tattered spellbook might be the key to discovering things that have been lost–but what if it leads to things that were never meant to be found? Hilda and her many secrets agree.

 

Zelda Spellman/The Merciless by Danielle Vega

Screen Shot 2018-11-02 at 2.28.30 PM

 

When Sofia Flores moves to a new school, she finds that her new friends bring the term “mean girl” to a whole new level when they believe a classmate has been possessed by Satan. While Zelda may not jive with their anti-Satan motive, anyone who would kill their sister for annoying her would probably appreciate their intensity.

 

Ambrose Spellman/Give the Dark My Love by Beth Revis

Screen Shot 2018-11-02 at 2.29.55 PM

 

With a deadly plague sweeping the island, Nedra turns to darker magic, including necromancy, the practice of raising the dead…you know, Ambrose’s specialty.

 

Harvey Kinkle/The Sacrifice Box by Martin Stewart

Screen Shot 2018-11-02 at 2.31.07 PM

 

As children, five friends sealed childhood treasures in a box and vowed never to go back on their sacrifices. Four years later, someone broke the rules of the box, and now everyone has to pay. These friends, much like poor Harvey, don’t know what they’re in for.

 

Roz Walker/Blood Water Paint by Joy McCullough

Screen Shot 2018-11-02 at 2.33.14 PM

 

Artemisia Gentileschi was an Italian painter in the 1600s. Roz Walker is a student at Greendale in present times. Artemisia Gentileschi and Roz Walker have one thing in common: they’re both tired of men taking what they want from women, and are ready to show the world what women can do.

 

Susie Putnam/The Brilliant Death by Amy Rose Capetta

Screen Shot 2018-11-02 at 2.34.44 PM

 

With all the garbage that’s happened to Susie recently, she could use a good fantasy novel to escape into–why not dive into a world full of Italian folklore and magical gender exploration?

 

Prudence Night/An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

Screen Shot 2018-11-02 at 2.35.59 PM

 

Prudence and our girl Helene might as well get matching tattoos that say “You say ‘ruthless’ like it’s a bad thing.”

 

Salem Saberhagen/There’s Someone Inside Your House by Stephanie Perkins  

Screen Shot 2018-11-02 at 2.38.05 PM

 

Students at Osborne High are being murdered one by one, and as the terror grows closer and the hunt intensifies for the killer, dark secrets among them must be confronted. Sounds like a job for feline danger alarm Salem!

Bonus: you’ll be seeing this one pop up on Netflix in the near future, so you’ll be able to watch it back-to-back with Chilling Adventures of Sabrina without even having to change apps.

 

For those of you who can’t choose…

 

Slasher Girls and Monster Boys edited by April Genevieve Tucholke

81c6TRELGyL

If you’re digging this new ~darker~ version of Sabrina, you’re in for a treat with Slasher Girls and Monster Boys, the scariest takes on your favorite fairy tales, books, and movies you’ve ever seen! Warning: don’t read this one after dark.

 

Chilling Adventures of Sabrina by Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa, illustrated by Robert Hack

813k2LaO0NL

Of course, there’s also the original source material for the Chilling Adventures of Sabrina–if you haven’t read it yet, what are you waiting for?

 

More of a Scream Queens fan? Check out these recommendations for characters from Scream Queens!

#WhatsTrending

Books you should be reading while waiting for Shadow and Bone to drop on Netflix

Excited for Shadow & Bone to drop on Netflix this April? SAME. But waiting is hard. So, here are 9 fantasy books we think you should read while you wait!   Fireborne by Rosaria Munda The dragons of Callipolis could certainly give the volcra of the Shadow Fold a run for their money… or would … Continued
See More

16 YA Books For Your #Blackathon2021 TBR

Blackathon is one of our favorite read-a-thons of the year, and this month it’s back for round four! Created by BookTuber Jesse from Bowties & Books, #Blackathon2021 centers books and works by Black and African American authors and creators throughout February. You can participate across YouTube, Instagram, and Twitter, so check out the Blackathon Twitter … Continued
See More

Start reading The Electric Kingdom by David Arnold!

We are SO excited for David Arnold’s The Electric Kingdom to hit shelves this February. Station Eleven meets The 5th Wave in a genre-smashing story of survival, hope, and love amid a ravaged earth, and you can start reading it now! When a deadly Fly Flu sweeps the globe, it leaves a shell of the world that once was. Among the … Continued
See More

To All the Stereotypes I Saw Before: Asian American Representation on Screen by Jennifer Yen

As we bid To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before farewell, Jennifer Yen, author of A Taste for Love, is sharing her thoughts on the Netflix finale To All the Boys: Always and Forever, and Asian American representation on screen. Scroll down to read! Recently, we said a bittersweet farewell to Lara Jean and Peter when Jenny Han’s To All … Continued
See More

See the trailer for The Desolations of Devil’s Acre by Ransom Riggs!

Get ready to say goodbye to Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children. The epic series conclusion The Desolations of Devil’s Acre by Ransom Riggs hits shelves February 23rd! Jacob and his friends will face deadly enemies and race through history’s most dangerous loops in this thrilling page-turner, the final adventure in the beloved series. Scroll down to … Continued
See More

Books to read if you found yourself on Sea Shanty TikTok

Did TikTok get some catchy sea shanties stuck in your head? Come aboard as we set sail with these perfect reads for sea shanty enthusiasts!     Seafire by Natalie C. Parker The first in a heart-stopping trilogy that recalls the undeniable feminine power of Wonder Woman and the powder-keg action of Mad Max: Fury Road, Seafire reminds us of … Continued
See More

PLOT TWIST! These books will make you question everything you just read

Are you ever reading a book when BAM! Plot twist. And not just that, it changes your perspective on ALL the pages before it? We’ve rounded up some of our favorite, most shocking plot twists in YA that are guaranteed to have you thinking “What just happened?!” And don’t worry, this whole list is SPOILER-FREE!   … Continued
See More

Read. Swoon. REPEAT. with these romance reads on Valentine’s Day!

Valentine’s Day is around the corner and love is in the air! If you’re on the hunt for some romance reads this swoony season, read on. From romance in Paris, to newfound love in the midst of a baking competition, there’s a little of everything here!   Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL: The Falling Girls by Hayley Krischer

Today we’re revealing the cover for Hayley Krischer’s new novel, The Falling Girls. From the author of Something Happened to Ali Greenleaf comes another searing, affecting novel that follows one girl caught between two toxic worlds, perfect for fans of Kathleen Glasgow and Nina LaCour. Scroll down to see the cover and read a bit about the book! Illustrator: … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL: Juliet Takes a Breath Paperback!

Juliet Takes a Breath by Gabby Rivera was one of our favorite, groundbreaking novels of 2019. So, we are SO excited to show you the brand new paperback cover, hitting shelves May 11, 2021! Scroll down to see the cover and read a bit about the book! Cover/jacket design: Kelley Brady; Artist: Steffi Walthall   Juliet Milagros … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP