Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

High Stakes Thrillers That Will Keep You Guessing

SHARE

If you’re looking to escape real life for a bit for some fictional thrills, these high stakes books have everything you need, from pirates to reanimated sisters to assassins! Scroll down for 17 high stakes thrillers that are sure to keep you guessing.

 

Rebel Sisters by Tochi Onyebuchi

REBEL-SISTERS-cover

A deadly virus is only one of the conspiracies behind this futuristic society that kept us on the edge of our seats. It may have been five years since the Biafran War, but Ify and Uzo soon learn that the fight for justice has just begun.

 

Renegade Flight by Andrea Tang

RenegadeFl_9781984835123_BOM__1p.indd

Aurora Rising meets Top Gun, with the addition of cybernetic dragons, in this is the witty, romantic, and electrifying sci-fi novel by Andrea Tang.

 

A Sky Beyond the Storm by Sabaa Tahir

sky beyond the storm

We’ve been waiting not so patiently for this book after A Reaper at the Gates ripped our hearts out, and with the fates of Laia, Elias, and so many other faves at stake, Sabaa Tahir DELIVERED on the jaw-dropping finale we were all hoping for!

 

 

Seafire by Natalie C. Parker

Seafire-New-Cover

Caledonia Styx and her badass female pirates are out for revenge. Will one boy ruin everything they’ve worked for? Between the nail-biting battle scenes and that ending, Seafire took us on a wild ride!

 

Goddess in the Machine by Lora Beth Johnson

GoddessInTheMachine_ONLINE

Oh, did that plot twist in Goddess in the Machine shock you? Just you wait, because there are about four more before the end! This book had our hearts POUNDING. And keep your eye open for the sequel this summer, Devil in the Device!

 

The Shadow War by Lindsay Smith

shadow war

Inglourious Basterds meets Stranger Things in this dark and thrilling tale of power, shadow, and revenge set during World War II.

 

The Vanishing Deep by Astrid Scholte

vanishing deep

Tempe scavenges drowned cities to buy her dead sister’s life and get answers about the death of her parents. Coming back from the dead is almost always an offer that’s too good to be true, but the layers of mysteries in this dystopian world kept us guessing all the way through. 

 

The Queen’s Assassin by Melissa de la Cruz

QueensAssassin_ONLINE

Magic, assassins, and royal secrets: this book has it all. Cal and Shadow are a reluctant assassin-apprentice team hunting down a new threat to the kingdom when they stumble upon truths that will change their lives forever.

 

The Last Voyage of Poe Blythe by Allie Condie

LastVoyageOfPoe_CV_0p.indd

We LOVE a high stakes revenge story, and Poe’s unforgettable mission across dangerous waters with an enemy onboard took our breath away.

 

The Conference of the Birds by Ransom Riggs

Conference-of-the-Birds

With new prophecies and old secret societies, The Conference of the Birds builds on the mysteries of the series with eerie and unforgettable plot twists.

 

The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae

The-Kinder-Poison

Between the Crossing, deadly royal heirs, a love triangle that left us DEEPLY conflicted, a human sacrifice (Zahru, how do you get yourself into these situations?!), and a kingdom at stake, The Kinder Poison MORE than deserves a place on this list!

 

The Girls I’ve Been by Tess Sharpe 

girlsivebeen_online

We can’t wait to unravel the twisted web of lies and murder behind this fantastic story, soon to be adapted into a feature film starring Millie Bobby Brown! Nora is trapped as a bank heist hostage with her ex-boyfriend and her new girlfriend, but her own dangerous secrets might be the death of them all.

 

Winterkeep by Kristin Cashore

Winterkeep

Kristin Cashore has a legacy for creating high stakes fantasies that keep us flipping rapidly from the first to last page, and Winterkeep is no exception!

 

They Wish They Were Us by Jessica Goodman

THEY-WISH-THEY-WERE-US

Gossip Girl meets One of Us Is Lying with a dash of The Secret History in this slick, taut murder mystery set against the backdrop of an exclusive prep school on Long Island. Someone killed Sheila, and Jill has vowed to find out who did…but digging deeper could mean putting her friendships, and her future, in jeopardy.

 

Coming soon…

House of Hollow by Krystal Sutherland – Coming April 6!

HouseOfHollow_BOM_0p.indd

A dark, twisty modern fairytale where three sisters discover they are not exactly all that they seem and evil things really do go bump in the night.

 

Eat Your Heart Out by Kelly deVos – Coming June 29!

EatYourHeartOut_CV_ONLINE

Shaun of the Dead meets Dumplin’ in this bitingly funny YA thriller about a kickass group of teens battling a ravenous group of zombies.

 

They’ll Never Catch Us by Jessica Goodman – Coming July 27

they'll never catch us

From rising star Jessica Goodman, author of They Wish They Were Us, comes a new fast-paced thriller about two sisters vying for the top spot on their cross-country team–the only way out of their stifling small town. But their dreams are suddenly thrown into peril when a new girl threatens to take away everything they’ve worked for… until she disappears.

 

 

Looking for more recommendations? Check out these places you can escape to without leaving your cozy spot!

#ShelfGoals

The perfect TBR for fans of enemies to lovers books!

Is enemies to lovers your trope of choice? Here are a few reads featuring hate-to-love couples we can’t help but fall for!     What’s Not to Love by Emily Wibberley and Austin Siegemund-Broka In the game of love, there’s always room for extra creditAn enemies-to-lovers YA rom-com filled with perfect banter, nerdy drama, and … Continued
See More

Start reading THE VALLEY AND THE FLOOD

Debut author Rebecca Mahoney delivers an immersive and captivating novel about magical places, found family, the power of grief and memory, and the journey toward reconciling who you think you’ve become with the person you’ve been all along. Scroll down to start reading The Valley and the Flood by Rebecca Mahoney My taillights cut a path down … Continued
See More

Best Sisters in YA

We love an epic protagonist. But you know who we really need to talk about? The underrated siblings we adore. So here are a few of our favorite sisters in YA!   The Girls I’ve Been by Tess Sharpe Nora O’Malley’s badass big sis is someone you do NOT want to mess with.   The … Continued
See More

Love triangles we LOVE in YA!

Love a good love triangle? Here are a few of our recommendations if you’re looking for your next love triangle to feel deeply conflicted over!   The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae Perfect for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Holly Black, The Kinder Poison is an enthralling fantasy adventure that follows a teenage girl chosen to be … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: THE SHADOW WAR

Today we’re sharing an excerpt of Lindsay Smith’s The Shadow War! Inglourious Basterds meets Stranger Things in this dark and thrilling tale of power, shadow, and revenge set during World War II. Scroll down to start reading! Chapter One Liam Liam staggered through the storybook village with a fistful of shadows and a mouthful of lies. The whitewashed … Continued
See More

Magical reads to snuggle up with

Sometimes, you just need to escape into a book–and a bit of magic (or, you know, a lot) never hurts! So, here are 13 magical reads we recommend you snuggle up with.   Fireborne by Rosaria Munda Game of Thrones meets Red Rising in a debut young adult fantasy that’s full of rivalry, romance . . . and dragons. … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: What’s Not to Love

Author couple #Wibbroka is back! What’s Not to Love is an enemies-to-lovers YA romcom filled with perfect banter, nerdy drama, and heart-pounding romance—perfect for fans of Morgan Matson, Emma Lord, and Sandhya Menon. Scroll down to read an excerpt! One I hold my head high, sitting up straight in the passenger seat of my mom’s SUV. Whatever happens, I … Continued
See More

Start reading THE WIDE STARLIGHT

The Hazel Wood meets The Astonishing Color of After in this dreamy, atmospheric novel that follows sixteen-year-old Eli as she tries to remember what truly happened the night her mother disappeared off a frozen fjord in Norway under the Northern Lights. Scroll down to start reading The Wide Starlight by Nicole Lesperance! I find the letter one slushy February afternoon, … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: FLYY GIRLS #3 – Noelle: The Mean Girl by Ashley Woodfolk

The third installment in Ashley Woodfolk’s Flyy Girls series is here! There are only three things that matter to Noelle Lee: her family, school, and the cello. She doesn’t care if people see her as selfish or mean because she knows she has her priorities in order. That’s why when her dad loses his job, Noelle doesn’t … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of We Are the Ashes, We Are the Fire by Joy McCullough

From the author of the acclaimed Blood Water Paint, a new contemporary YA novel in prose and verse about a girl struggling with guilt and a desire for revenge after her sister’s rapist escapes with no prison time. Scroll down to read an excerpt of Joy McCullough’s We Are the Ashes, We Are the Fire. Content warning: this … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP