Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

9 Houses You Definitely Wouldn’t Want to Trick-or-Treat At

SHARE

Halloween is a great time—candy for everyone, costume contests, Halloween parties, and most importantly: trick-o-treating. But let’s be real – there’s always a house on the block that’s best avoided. For example, stay away from houses with histories of murders, exorcisms, and of course, hauntings. Steer clear of these fictional houses and you’ll be just fine.

 

The Merciless Series

Whether it’s an abandoned house, a boarding school, or even a church, something dark and evil lurks in the Merciless series. You could either be “exorcised” or haunted by the evil that could possibly consume your soul. We’re not entirely sure if you’re going to walk away with a bag full of candy if you go trick-o-treating here, but you’ll for sure walk away wondering if there is evil in all of us.

 

City of Saints and Thieves

After fleeing the Congo as refugees, Tina and her mother arrived in Kenya looking for the chance to build a new life. Her mother found work as a maid for a prominent family, headed by Roland Greyhill, one of the city’s most respected business leaders. But Tina soon learns that the Greyhill fortune was made from a life of corruption and crime. So when her mother is found shot to death in Mr. Greyhill’s personal study, she knows exactly who’s behind it. In another universe, this would probably be a decent place to go trick-o-treating, but with a murder mystery going on, I don’t think you’ll be getting much candy from this place either.

 

Spellbook of the Lost and Found

                                                                                                                                                           

On a stormy Irish night, Olive and her best friend, Rose, begin to lose things. At first they lose things like hair clips and jewelry, as we all do, but soon it’s clear that Rose has lost something much bigger. When the girls meet a group of teenagers in an abandoned house estate (red flag alert), they find a spellbook and in it, a spell to bring back lost things. It just might be their chance to find what they each need to set everything back to rights. Unless it’s leading them toward things that were never meant to be found… Number one reason you wouldn’t want to trick-o-treat here is because there would be no candy…because it’s abandoned. And creepy as heck.

 

Beasts Made of Night

In Beasts Made of Night, sins don’t only live in your conscious. They live on your skin, marking you with pain and guilt that’s not even yours. In the royal castle, aki, aka sin-eaters, consume the sins of the royal family. Taj, the most talented of the aki, is covered in sin tattoos and although he receives high praise for it, it’s not something he’s necessarily proud of. At the royal castle, there’s nothing but guilt, corruption, and darkness. No candy for you my friend.

 

The Accident Season

Every October Cara and her family become inexplicably and unavoidably accident-prone. Some years it’s bad, and some years it’s just a lot of cuts and scrapes. This accident season is going to be a bad one (red flag alert). There’s a long-hidden family secret underneath the bumps and bruises and she’ll start discovering the painful truth about the adults in her life, and when she’ll uncover the dark origins of the accident season. Now why would you want to go trick-o-treating at a house where the family is clearly cursed?

 

Half Bad Series

Sixteen-year-old Nathan lives in a cage: beaten, shackled, trained to kill and according to the two warring factions of witches, Nathan is an abomination, the illegitimate son of the world’s most terrifying and violent witch, Marcus (red flag alert). Nathan’s only hope for survival is to escape his captors, track down Marcus, and receive the three gifts that will bring him into his own magical powers—before it’s too late. If Nathan is already planning his escape, you should too. There’s no candy here folks!

 

A Semi-Definitive List of Worst Nightmares

Ever since Esther Solar’s grandfather was cursed by Death, everyone in her family has been doomed to suffer one great fear in their lifetime. The Solars are consumed by their fears and, according to the legend of the curse, destined to die from them. Esther doesn’t know what her great fear is yet, a feat achieved by avoiding pretty much everything from elevators, to spiders, to haircuts. If this family is scared of everything, you wouldn’t even be able to dress up in costume! They probably wouldn’t even open the door to give you the candy.

 

There’s Someone Inside Your House

One by one, the students of Makani’s small town high school begin to die in a series of gruesome murders in Stephanie Perkins’ There’s Someone Inside Your House. As the terror grows closer and the hunt intensifies for the killer, Makani will be forced to confront her own dark secrets. Listen, any place that has a history of murders* (*emphasis on the s), and dark secrets isn’t a place you would want to go to get the really good candy.

 

People Like Us

In People Like Us a girl’s body is found dead in the lake near the private boarding school of Bates Academy. Kay Donovan is left with a computer-coded scavenger hunt, which begins to implicate suspect after suspect, until Kay herself is wrapped in the murder investigation. So, you probably wouldn’t want to trick-o-treat here because the characters here would probably frame you for murderPeople Like Us is coming this February. Pre-order it here!

 

 

Fine print: Please be safe this Halloween season! And have a Happy Halloween! From over very Scary Penguin Hearts to yours.

 

 

 

Looking for some scary reads this Halloween? Check out this list and enter to win them all!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#WhatsTrending

Books you should be reading while waiting for Shadow and Bone to drop on Netflix

Excited for Shadow & Bone to drop on Netflix this April? SAME. But waiting is hard. So, here are 9 fantasy books we think you should read while you wait!   Fireborne by Rosaria Munda The dragons of Callipolis could certainly give the volcra of the Shadow Fold a run for their money… or would … Continued
See More

16 YA Books For Your #Blackathon2021 TBR

Blackathon is one of our favorite read-a-thons of the year, and this month it’s back for round four! Created by BookTuber Jesse from Bowties & Books, #Blackathon2021 centers books and works by Black and African American authors and creators throughout February. You can participate across YouTube, Instagram, and Twitter, so check out the Blackathon Twitter … Continued
See More

Start reading The Electric Kingdom by David Arnold!

We are SO excited for David Arnold’s The Electric Kingdom to hit shelves this February. Station Eleven meets The 5th Wave in a genre-smashing story of survival, hope, and love amid a ravaged earth, and you can start reading it now! When a deadly Fly Flu sweeps the globe, it leaves a shell of the world that once was. Among the … Continued
See More

To All the Stereotypes I Saw Before: Asian American Representation on Screen by Jennifer Yen

As we bid To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before farewell, Jennifer Yen, author of A Taste for Love, is sharing her thoughts on the Netflix finale To All the Boys: Always and Forever, and Asian American representation on screen. Scroll down to read! Recently, we said a bittersweet farewell to Lara Jean and Peter when Jenny Han’s To All … Continued
See More

See the trailer for The Desolations of Devil’s Acre by Ransom Riggs!

Get ready to say goodbye to Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children. The epic series conclusion The Desolations of Devil’s Acre by Ransom Riggs hits shelves February 23rd! Jacob and his friends will face deadly enemies and race through history’s most dangerous loops in this thrilling page-turner, the final adventure in the beloved series. Scroll down to … Continued
See More

Books to read if you found yourself on Sea Shanty TikTok

Did TikTok get some catchy sea shanties stuck in your head? Come aboard as we set sail with these perfect reads for sea shanty enthusiasts!     Seafire by Natalie C. Parker The first in a heart-stopping trilogy that recalls the undeniable feminine power of Wonder Woman and the powder-keg action of Mad Max: Fury Road, Seafire reminds us of … Continued
See More

PLOT TWIST! These books will make you question everything you just read

Are you ever reading a book when BAM! Plot twist. And not just that, it changes your perspective on ALL the pages before it? We’ve rounded up some of our favorite, most shocking plot twists in YA that are guaranteed to have you thinking “What just happened?!” And don’t worry, this whole list is SPOILER-FREE!   … Continued
See More

Read. Swoon. REPEAT. with these romance reads on Valentine’s Day!

Valentine’s Day is around the corner and love is in the air! If you’re on the hunt for some romance reads this swoony season, read on. From romance in Paris, to newfound love in the midst of a baking competition, there’s a little of everything here!   Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL: The Falling Girls by Hayley Krischer

Today we’re revealing the cover for Hayley Krischer’s new novel, The Falling Girls. From the author of Something Happened to Ali Greenleaf comes another searing, affecting novel that follows one girl caught between two toxic worlds, perfect for fans of Kathleen Glasgow and Nina LaCour. Scroll down to see the cover and read a bit about the book! Illustrator: … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL: Juliet Takes a Breath Paperback!

Juliet Takes a Breath by Gabby Rivera was one of our favorite, groundbreaking novels of 2019. So, we are SO excited to show you the brand new paperback cover, hitting shelves May 11, 2021! Scroll down to see the cover and read a bit about the book! Cover/jacket design: Kelley Brady; Artist: Steffi Walthall   Juliet Milagros … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP