Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

9 Houses You Definitely Wouldn’t Want to Trick-or-Treat At

SHARE

Halloween is a great time—candy for everyone, costume contests, Halloween parties, and most importantly: trick-o-treating. But let’s be real – there’s always a house on the block that’s best avoided. For example, stay away from houses with histories of murders, exorcisms, and of course, hauntings. Steer clear of these fictional houses and you’ll be just fine.

 

The Merciless Series

Whether it’s an abandoned house, a boarding school, or even a church, something dark and evil lurks in the Merciless series. You could either be “exorcised” or haunted by the evil that could possibly consume your soul. We’re not entirely sure if you’re going to walk away with a bag full of candy if you go trick-o-treating here, but you’ll for sure walk away wondering if there is evil in all of us.

 

City of Saints and Thieves

After fleeing the Congo as refugees, Tina and her mother arrived in Kenya looking for the chance to build a new life. Her mother found work as a maid for a prominent family, headed by Roland Greyhill, one of the city’s most respected business leaders. But Tina soon learns that the Greyhill fortune was made from a life of corruption and crime. So when her mother is found shot to death in Mr. Greyhill’s personal study, she knows exactly who’s behind it. In another universe, this would probably be a decent place to go trick-o-treating, but with a murder mystery going on, I don’t think you’ll be getting much candy from this place either.

 

Spellbook of the Lost and Found

                                                                                                                                                           

On a stormy Irish night, Olive and her best friend, Rose, begin to lose things. At first they lose things like hair clips and jewelry, as we all do, but soon it’s clear that Rose has lost something much bigger. When the girls meet a group of teenagers in an abandoned house estate (red flag alert), they find a spellbook and in it, a spell to bring back lost things. It just might be their chance to find what they each need to set everything back to rights. Unless it’s leading them toward things that were never meant to be found… Number one reason you wouldn’t want to trick-o-treat here is because there would be no candy…because it’s abandoned. And creepy as heck.

 

Beasts Made of Night

In Beasts Made of Night, sins don’t only live in your conscious. They live on your skin, marking you with pain and guilt that’s not even yours. In the royal castle, aki, aka sin-eaters, consume the sins of the royal family. Taj, the most talented of the aki, is covered in sin tattoos and although he receives high praise for it, it’s not something he’s necessarily proud of. At the royal castle, there’s nothing but guilt, corruption, and darkness. No candy for you my friend.

 

The Accident Season

Every October Cara and her family become inexplicably and unavoidably accident-prone. Some years it’s bad, and some years it’s just a lot of cuts and scrapes. This accident season is going to be a bad one (red flag alert). There’s a long-hidden family secret underneath the bumps and bruises and she’ll start discovering the painful truth about the adults in her life, and when she’ll uncover the dark origins of the accident season. Now why would you want to go trick-o-treating at a house where the family is clearly cursed?

 

Half Bad Series

Sixteen-year-old Nathan lives in a cage: beaten, shackled, trained to kill and according to the two warring factions of witches, Nathan is an abomination, the illegitimate son of the world’s most terrifying and violent witch, Marcus (red flag alert). Nathan’s only hope for survival is to escape his captors, track down Marcus, and receive the three gifts that will bring him into his own magical powers—before it’s too late. If Nathan is already planning his escape, you should too. There’s no candy here folks!

 

A Semi-Definitive List of Worst Nightmares

Ever since Esther Solar’s grandfather was cursed by Death, everyone in her family has been doomed to suffer one great fear in their lifetime. The Solars are consumed by their fears and, according to the legend of the curse, destined to die from them. Esther doesn’t know what her great fear is yet, a feat achieved by avoiding pretty much everything from elevators, to spiders, to haircuts. If this family is scared of everything, you wouldn’t even be able to dress up in costume! They probably wouldn’t even open the door to give you the candy.

 

There’s Someone Inside Your House

One by one, the students of Makani’s small town high school begin to die in a series of gruesome murders in Stephanie Perkins’ There’s Someone Inside Your House. As the terror grows closer and the hunt intensifies for the killer, Makani will be forced to confront her own dark secrets. Listen, any place that has a history of murders* (*emphasis on the s), and dark secrets isn’t a place you would want to go to get the really good candy.

 

People Like Us

In People Like Us a girl’s body is found dead in the lake near the private boarding school of Bates Academy. Kay Donovan is left with a computer-coded scavenger hunt, which begins to implicate suspect after suspect, until Kay herself is wrapped in the murder investigation. So, you probably wouldn’t want to trick-o-treat here because the characters here would probably frame you for murderPeople Like Us is coming this February. Pre-order it here!

 

 

Fine print: Please be safe this Halloween season! And have a Happy Halloween! From over very Scary Penguin Hearts to yours.

 

 

 

Looking for some scary reads this Halloween? Check out this list and enter to win them all!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#WhatsTrending

Cover Reveal: FURYSONG by Rosaria Munda

The finale is coming! Furysong is the third and final book in the Fireborne Trilogy. In this explosive conclusion to the epic story that began with Fireborne, Annie and Lee are fighting for their lives—and for each other—as invading dragonfire threatens to burn their home to the ground. A new revolution is underway, and nobody will emerge unscathed. In … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: BREAK THIS HOUSE by Candice Iloh

From Printz honoree and National Book Award Finalist Candice Iloh, a prose novel about a teenager reckoning with her family’s–and her home town’s–secrets. Coming to shelves May 24, 2022! Yaminah Okar left Obsidian and the wreckage of her family years ago. She and her father have made lives for themselves in Brooklyn. She thinks she’s … Continued
See More

8 YA books to preorder for your 2022 TBR!

2022 is almost here, and we’re here to make sure you’re ready to kick off that new year TBR! Here are just a few reads to make sure you have on that list.   The Bone Spindle by Leslie Vedder Sleeping Beauty meets Indiana Jones in this thrilling fairytale retelling for fans of Sorcery of Thorns and The … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: THE EDGE OF BEING by James Brandon

The Edge of Being by James Brandon is a tender and heartfelt queer YA novel about the multiplicities of grief, deeply held family secrets, and finding new love. Isaac Griffin has always felt something was missing from his life. And for good reason: he’s never met his dad. He’d started to believe he’d never belong in this … Continued
See More

YA books to read if you absolutely believe in fate and destiny

If you are an avid believer in fate and destiny, here are 9 YA reads that will absolutely fuel your faith in both!   Flirting with Fate by J.C. Cervantes As the title may imply, this gorgeous novel will definitely have you believing in the power of fate this April, 2022! In her swoony, heartwarming … Continued
See More

Read a sneak peek of THE BONE SPINDLE by Leslie Vedder!

Sleeping Beauty meets Indiana Jones in this thrilling fairytale retelling for fans of Sorcery of Thorns and The Cruel Prince. Fi is a bookish treasure hunter with a knack for ruins and riddles, who definitely doesn’t believe in true love. Shane is a tough-as-dirt girl warrior from the north who likes cracking skulls, pretty girls, and doing things her own … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: HOW TO SURVIVE YOUR MURDER by Danielle Valentine

Cover reveal time! Scream meets Happy Death Day in How to Survive Your Murder, coming to shelves August 30, 2022! Alice Lawrence is the sole witness in her sister’s murder trial. And in the year since Claire’s death, Alice’s life has completely fallen apart. Her parents have gotten divorced, she’s moved into an apartment that smells like bologna, and she … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: The 99 Boyfriends of Micah Summers

The 99 Boyfriends of Micah Summers by Adam Sass is a charming YA rom-com perfect for fans of Red, White, and Royal Blue and What If It’s Us, coming September 20th, 2022! Micah Summers runs a popular Instagram full of drawings of his numerous imaginary boyfriends (ninety-nine so far)—though he’s never had a real boyfriend before. But when a meet-cute with … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: THE DEPTHS by Nicole Lesperance

A tropical island full of secrets. Two Victorian ghosts, trapped for eternity. And a seventeen-year-old girl determined not to be next. Prepare for Nicole Lesperance’s stunning novel, The Depths, coming to shelves October 4, 2022! Eulalie Island should be a paradise, but to Addie Spencer, it’s more like a prison. Forced to tag along to the … Continued
See More

8 Winter reads (and where to read them)

Winter is the best time to be a reader–it’s the perfect excuse to stay in, get cozy, and read! Here are some of our favorite wintery picks for your TBR this season (AND the perfect places to read them in!)   About the book: You go through life thinking there’s so much you need. . … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP