Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

9 Houses You Definitely Wouldn’t Want to Trick-or-Treat At

SHARE

Halloween is a great time—candy for everyone, costume contests, Halloween parties, and most importantly: trick-o-treating. But let’s be real – there’s always a house on the block that’s best avoided. For example, stay away from houses with histories of murders, exorcisms, and of course, hauntings. Steer clear of these fictional houses and you’ll be just fine.

 

The Merciless Series

Whether it’s an abandoned house, a boarding school, or even a church, something dark and evil lurks in the Merciless series. You could either be “exorcised” or haunted by the evil that could possibly consume your soul. We’re not entirely sure if you’re going to walk away with a bag full of candy if you go trick-o-treating here, but you’ll for sure walk away wondering if there is evil in all of us.

 

City of Saints and Thieves

After fleeing the Congo as refugees, Tina and her mother arrived in Kenya looking for the chance to build a new life. Her mother found work as a maid for a prominent family, headed by Roland Greyhill, one of the city’s most respected business leaders. But Tina soon learns that the Greyhill fortune was made from a life of corruption and crime. So when her mother is found shot to death in Mr. Greyhill’s personal study, she knows exactly who’s behind it. In another universe, this would probably be a decent place to go trick-o-treating, but with a murder mystery going on, I don’t think you’ll be getting much candy from this place either.

 

Spellbook of the Lost and Found

                                                                                                                                                           

On a stormy Irish night, Olive and her best friend, Rose, begin to lose things. At first they lose things like hair clips and jewelry, as we all do, but soon it’s clear that Rose has lost something much bigger. When the girls meet a group of teenagers in an abandoned house estate (red flag alert), they find a spellbook and in it, a spell to bring back lost things. It just might be their chance to find what they each need to set everything back to rights. Unless it’s leading them toward things that were never meant to be found… Number one reason you wouldn’t want to trick-o-treat here is because there would be no candy…because it’s abandoned. And creepy as heck.

 

Beasts Made of Night

In Beasts Made of Night, sins don’t only live in your conscious. They live on your skin, marking you with pain and guilt that’s not even yours. In the royal castle, aki, aka sin-eaters, consume the sins of the royal family. Taj, the most talented of the aki, is covered in sin tattoos and although he receives high praise for it, it’s not something he’s necessarily proud of. At the royal castle, there’s nothing but guilt, corruption, and darkness. No candy for you my friend.

 

The Accident Season

Every October Cara and her family become inexplicably and unavoidably accident-prone. Some years it’s bad, and some years it’s just a lot of cuts and scrapes. This accident season is going to be a bad one (red flag alert). There’s a long-hidden family secret underneath the bumps and bruises and she’ll start discovering the painful truth about the adults in her life, and when she’ll uncover the dark origins of the accident season. Now why would you want to go trick-o-treating at a house where the family is clearly cursed?

 

Half Bad Series

Sixteen-year-old Nathan lives in a cage: beaten, shackled, trained to kill and according to the two warring factions of witches, Nathan is an abomination, the illegitimate son of the world’s most terrifying and violent witch, Marcus (red flag alert). Nathan’s only hope for survival is to escape his captors, track down Marcus, and receive the three gifts that will bring him into his own magical powers—before it’s too late. If Nathan is already planning his escape, you should too. There’s no candy here folks!

 

A Semi-Definitive List of Worst Nightmares

Ever since Esther Solar’s grandfather was cursed by Death, everyone in her family has been doomed to suffer one great fear in their lifetime. The Solars are consumed by their fears and, according to the legend of the curse, destined to die from them. Esther doesn’t know what her great fear is yet, a feat achieved by avoiding pretty much everything from elevators, to spiders, to haircuts. If this family is scared of everything, you wouldn’t even be able to dress up in costume! They probably wouldn’t even open the door to give you the candy.

 

There’s Someone Inside Your House

One by one, the students of Makani’s small town high school begin to die in a series of gruesome murders in Stephanie Perkins’ There’s Someone Inside Your House. As the terror grows closer and the hunt intensifies for the killer, Makani will be forced to confront her own dark secrets. Listen, any place that has a history of murders* (*emphasis on the s), and dark secrets isn’t a place you would want to go to get the really good candy.

 

People Like Us

In People Like Us a girl’s body is found dead in the lake near the private boarding school of Bates Academy. Kay Donovan is left with a computer-coded scavenger hunt, which begins to implicate suspect after suspect, until Kay herself is wrapped in the murder investigation. So, you probably wouldn’t want to trick-o-treat here because the characters here would probably frame you for murderPeople Like Us is coming this February. Pre-order it here!

 

 

Fine print: Please be safe this Halloween season! And have a Happy Halloween! From over very Scary Penguin Hearts to yours.

 

 

 

Looking for some scary reads this Halloween? Check out this list and enter to win them all!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#WhatsTrending

A Mood Reader’s Roadmap

Are you a mood reader? We’ve got you! We’ve put together a list of reads perfect for all of the reading moods, including some of 2020’s hottest reads and what’s about to hit shelves next! In the mood for a fantasy that will take you away for a bit? You should read… The Kingdom of Back by … Continued
See More

6 Vampire Books to Read While You Wait For Twilight’s Midnight Sun

Stephenie Meyer dropped BIG news that the long anticipated, much talked about Twilight from Edward Cullen’s perspective novel Midnight Sun is coming this August! Of course, that is a few months away and if you’re craving more vampire reads, here are six books to sink your teeth into. 1. Vampire Academy Equal parts swoon and epic. Vampire Academy is … Continued
See More

Unforgettable Siblings in YA for National Sibling Day!

There are a lot of siblings with protagonist brothers or sisters who have a knack for stealing the spotlight on account of being awesome, and we want to take a moment to appreciate them! So, here are 8 of our favorite siblings from YA in honor of National Sibling Day!   1. I’ll Give You the … Continued
See More

Week 2 Recap: The Beautiful Read-Along!

It was week 2 of of sinking our teeth into Renée Ahdieh’s The Beautiful. We have been loving reading this book alongside you all this month and this book is KILLING IT! As week 2 of our Read-Along comes to a close, here are some of our favorite posts from readers who are reading (or re-reading) the book with … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL: City of the Uncommon Thief

It’s cover reveal time! Get ready for a dark and intricate fantasy perfect for readers of The Book of Dust and Leigh Bardugo. City of the Uncommon Thief is the story of a quarantined city gripped by fear and of the war that can free it. Scroll down to see the cover and read an excerpt down below! Illustrator: … Continued
See More

This Spell Can’t Last by Isabel Sterling is coming!

Exciting prequel news! If you fell under Isabel Sterling’s spell in These Witches Don’t Burn and are already highly anticipating This Coven Won’t Break this May, prepare yourself. Author Isabel Sterling has a prequel e-novella up her sleeves! Get ready for This Spell Can’t Last (omg that title, right?!) Hannah and Veronica battle a Blood Witch in the thrilling, heartbreaking e-novella prequel to These … Continued
See More

2020 YA Preview!

Hello and WELCOME to the 2020 YA preview! We’re talking all early info on upcoming 2020 books we cannot WAIT to read and all the amazing books out so far this year!   All the Days Past, All the Days to Come by Mildred D. Taylor – January 7, 2020 The saga of the Logan family–made … Continued
See More

Frankly in Love paperback cover reveal

It was one of our favorites last year and so many of you also loved David Yoon’s Frankly in Love! Well prepare to fall in the love the paperback cover! With Frank, Britt and Joy all on the cover, this new illustrated look REALLY brings to life the characters. This new paperback cover will hit … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: THE WOODS ARE ALWAYS WATCHING by Stephanie Perkins

Stephanie Perkins is back with another blood-chilling contemporary horror novel, the perfect companion to her New York Times bestseller There’s Someone Inside Your House (coming to Netflix!!) Get ready for The Woods Are Always Watching, coming September 2020! We are so ready for more scares from Stephanie Perkins. Keep an eye out, because as SOON as we have more info, … Continued
See More

Waiting for Witcher Season 2? Here’s what you should read

Did you binge your way through The Witcher (once, maybe twice…) on Netflix? Over at Penguin Teen, we couldn’t get enough of Geralt of Rivia, Yennefer of Vengerberg, and the engrossing fantasy world they live in. If you’re as eager for season two as we are (and impatiently waiting for them to start on production again), … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP