Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Last Minute Bookish Costumes for Lazy People

SHARE

We all know how this goes. You spend most of October binge-watching scary movies, going to corn mazes, and freaking out over pumpkin spice anything.

Then, suddenly BOOM. Halloween is actually here and OOPS you forgot to get a costume.

Panicking? No worries, we’ve got you covered.

 

Emika Chen – Warcross

Warcross-COVER

 

Grab some hair chalk! Time to rainbow-up that hair and low-key cosplay our favorite hacker. A cool jacket and snarky attitude might help too.


View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Pulp Riot Hair Color (@pulpriothair) on

 

 

A muggle – Harry Potter

 

Screen Shot 2018-10-30 at 2.43.40 PM

What you’re wearing right now? The perfect muggle costume. It’s not like anyone can argue with you over this one.

 

Lara Jean – To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before

 

to-all-the-boys-ive-loved-before-9781534438378_hr

 

Arguably less lazy than simply going as a muggle since you’re going as a specific muggle, but think of this as an excuse to go re-watch TATBILB on Netflix. You’re welcome.


View this post on Instagram

#LaraJeanHalloween 👻#toalltheboysivelovedbefore

A post shared by Jenny Han (@jennyhan) on

 

 

Helene – An Ember in the Ashes

Reaper-at-the-Gates-COVER

 

Never mind the cashier who’s looking at you all funny for your basket of silver face paint. You’ll make a badass Helene this Halloween. Just make sure you’ve got some makeup remover wipes handy later.


View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Bonnie (@bonniegracebing) on

 

 

A Sunai – This Savage Song

y648

 

Easy-peasy, guys. Smear some black eyeshadow over your eyes and grab the closest portable musical instrument. Complete the look with a few tally marks. You’re done!


View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Lu (@bookishfactory) on

 

Redtooth – Seafire

Seafire-COVER

 

This is really just an excuse to go crazy with the red lipstick. But really! Smear some of that red lip halfway across your face and add some braids. Ta-da!


View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Tianedra Bea (@hair.by.tia) on

 

Adelaide – The Glittering Court

The-Glittering-Court-COVER

 

You know that prom dress you’ve been harboring in the back of your closet forever? Grab it. IT’S GO TIME.


View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Kristen Campbell (@wielder_of_steel) on

 

Feeling extra lazy? That’s okay.

 

Millard Nullings – Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

91ihKfXcqiL

 

This one is arguably the easiest. Don’t want to attend any Halloween festivities? Stay home and say you were the invisible kid from Miss Peregrine’s!


View this post on Instagram

A post shared by Ransom Riggs (@ransomriggs) on

Not ready to let go of October? Check out these creepy reads to keep spooky season alive

#Bookish

Excerpt Alert: The Kinder Poison

The Kinder Poison is an enthralling fantasy adventure that follows a teenage girl chosen to be the human sacrifice in a deadly game between three heirs who will do anything for the crown. Also, it’s somehow magical, breathtaking, hilarious, and TERRIFYING all at once. Scroll down to read an excerpt! “The gods have woken Sabil’s knife, signaling … Continued
See More

Every Book Hitting Shelves in June

Here’s a sneak peek of what’s hitting shelves this June!   6/2: Jo & Laurie by Melissa de la Cruz and Margaret Stohl – Bestselling authors Margaret Stohl and Melissa de la Cruz bring us a romantic retelling of Little Women starring Jo March and her best friend, the boy next door, Theodore “Laurie” Laurence.   6/2: Beyond … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: Forged in Fire and Stars

Forged in Fire and Stars by Andrea Robertson just hit shelves and we’re sharing an excerpt! Games of Thrones meets An Ember in the Ashes in this action-packed fantasy from the internationally bestselling author of the Nightshade series. Ara has always known the legend of the Loresmith: the blacksmith who served alongside the kings and queens of Saetlund, forging legendary … Continued
See More

Books to #ReadPrideAndBeyond all year long!

June may be coming to an end, but we hope you remember to #ReadPrideAndBeyond all year long. Here are just a few reads to look forward to!     Darius the Great Deserves Better by Adib Khorram – August 25 In this companion to the award-winning Darius the Great Is Not Okay, Darius suddenly has it all: … Continued
See More

Beware: these books will keep you up at night

Spooky season may not be for a little while yet, but we here at Penguin Teen are all about the year-round spooks. So if you’re looking for the next read that’s going to have you either buying a nightlight or bidding sleep adieu altogether, read on! 👻   Rules for Vanishing by Kate Alice Marshall   … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of VERONA COMICS!

From the author of Hot Dog Girl comes a fresh and funny queer YA contemporary novel about two teens who fall in love in an indie comic book shop. Scroll down to read an excerpt of Verona Comics! Chapter One Jubilee “You look like you’re being tortured,” Jayla says. “This is supposed to be fun.” Easy to … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: The Boy in the Red Dress

In continuation of our #ReadPrideAndBeyond celebration, we’re sharing an excerpt from The Boy in the Red Dress by Kristin Lambert, a rollicking romp of truth, lies, and troubled pasts. New Year’s Eve, 1929. Millie is running the show at the Cloak & Dagger, a swinging speakeasy in the French Quarter, while her aunt is out of town. The new … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of They Wish They Were Us!

They Wish They Were Us is one of 2020’s hottest upcoming books and we need to talk.about.it. Imagine this: Gossip Girl + One of Us Is Lying with just a dash of The Secret History. That gives us this thrilling murder mystery set against the backdrop of an exclusive prep school on Long Island. Scroll down to read the excerpt!   Chapter … Continued
See More

Black Booktubers You Should Be Following

Here is a list of just a few of the Black booktubers you should definitely be following.   Books with Brandie Shanae Follow here   Britney, Melanin Eclectic Follow here   Ochuole, Oh She Reads Follow here   Myonna, Myonna Reads Follow here   Peta-Gay, Comfy Cozy Up Follow here   Justin, Ghost Reader Follow … Continued
See More

Read the first 4 chapters of BEYOND THE BREAK

For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, if you count her faith… and that’s where things may get complicated. Scroll down to read the excerpt! Chapter One The first time a guy felt me up was in the … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP