Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Learn How to Make a Next-level World Map!

SHARE

So if you haven’t heard, the world-building in Jessica Khoury’s Aladdin retelling The Forbidden Wish is pretty epic. Maybe that’s because she’s also a cartography enthusiast – in fact, she makes her own maps! We asked Jessica if she’d share her secrets with us, so read on for her step-by-step process in creating the glorious map for The Forbidden Wish:

 

Jess: When writing a story set in a fantasy world, I usually start like this:

  1. Get an idea for a story
  2. Make a map

Visualizing the world of the story is incredibly crucial to my writing process. In fact, seeing the map usually inspires elements of the story itself, so I always draw the world before I write about it. Working on The Forbidden Wish was no different. Back when the story was just a tiny seed of inspiration, I sketched out the world.

 

1. SKETCH THE WORLD AND SCAN IT ONTO A COMPUTER

I like starting my maps by hand, before digitizing them. I let the map inform the story, not vice versa, because then I can get new ideas by seeing the world take shape. I start with a coastline, then add mountains and rivers. Then I add cities in places where trade/resource mining would make sense.

 

2. USING PHOTOSHOP, TURN THE SKETCH INTO A CLEAN DIGITAL IMAGE.

This is the map I used for reference while writing the book. Sometimes, the turns the story took required changes, and I’d go in and alter the positions or names of the cities or the locations of certain islands.

I knew if I was going to make this a “real” map––the kind I’d want hanging on my wall––I would have to either pay someone to make the map for me––or learn the skills I’d need to do it myself. So I hit up YouTube and various blogs for tutorials, and figured I’d give it a try.

 

3. USING NEWLY ACQUIRED SKILLS, CREATE FULL-COLOR MAP.

I cleaned up the previous image, simplified it, and added colors, textures, and a border. This took about three days to do. I was very happy with the result! This was the first time I’d taken one of my maps to the next level, and all the time I spent learning new techniques paid off. It was so rewarding to see the world I’d envisioned brought to life, and I’m excited to share that world with you!

 

4. SHOW OFF YOUR MAP!

 

 

 

Get your copy of The Forbidden Wish!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#AuthorSpotlight

Aditi Khorana Explains THE LIBRARY OF FATES in 30 Seconds!

Watch Aditi Khorana, author of The Library of Fates, pitch her book in 30 seconds!           Read more and get your copy of The Library of Fates here!                                  
See More

Julie Israel Shares 5 Things You Need to Know About JUNIPER LEMON’S HAPPINESS INDEX

Watch Julie Israel, author of Juniper Lemon’s Happiness Index, share 5 things to know about her debut novel!         Get your copy here!                                
See More

Dana Schwartz Shares the One Thing She Wishes She Knew as a Teen

Watch Dana Schwartz, author of And We’re Off share what she wishes she knew in high school!         Get your copy of And We’re Off here!                                
See More

Everything You Need to Know About THINGS I’M SEEING WITHOUT YOU Author Peter Bognanni

Name: Peter Bognanni Novel: Things I’m Seeing Without You Available: October 3, 2017 About the book: Fans of Eleanor and Park and All the Bright Places will laugh and cry as they read this heartbreaking and life-affirming novel about love after the most profound loss. Seventeen-year-old Tess Fowler has just dropped out of high school. She can barely function after … Continued
See More

5 Reasons to Read The 5th Wave Series

  All three books in Rick Yancey’s The 5th Wave series will be out in paperback tomorrow, and we think it’s the absolute perfect time to binge the entire series. Whether you’ve seen The 5th Wave movie, or are brand new to the story, here are five reasons that this should be the next series … Continued
See More

3 Things We Know About Mira from MIDNIGHT JEWEL Based on THE GLITTERING COURT

Midnight Jewel, the highly anticipated sequel to The Glittering Court is almost here, and we are getting excited to meet the star of the second book, Mira. We asked author Richelle Mead to help refresh our memories of what we already know about Mira. Here’s what she told us:   She disappears in the middle of the … Continued
See More

The Official Conspiracy of Us Series Recap *SPOILERS AHEAD*

Hey there! If you’re here, you’re probably a Conspiracy of Us reader, getting ready for The Ends of the World, book 3 in the Conspiracy series, to release on July 18, and need to remember all that’s happened leading our fearless characters to this point. Or maybe not. Maybe you’re bored and on social media. … Continued
See More

12 Authors Who Will Enhance Your Twitter Feed

Twitter-loving authors who will add a bit of oomph to your feed.
See More

Everything You Need to Know About ROSIE GIRL Author Julie Shepard

Name: Julie Shepard Novel: Rosie Girl Available: July 11, 2017 About the book: After her father passes away, seventeen-year-old Rosie is forced to live with her abusive stepmom Lucy and her deadbeat boyfriend, Judd, who gives Rosie the sort of looks you shouldn’t give your girlfriend’s step-daughter. Desperate for a way out, Rosie would do just … Continued
See More

Susan Juby Shares 5 Things You Need to Know About THE FASHION COMMITTEE

Watch Susan Juby, author of The Fashion Committee share 5 things you need to know about her book!           Get your copy of The Fashion Committee here!                            
See More
BACK TO TOP

I can give you book recommendations.
Please enter your name and email address to begin chatting with me.



What is your date of birth?

START CHAT