Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

LOOKING FOR ALASKA: Episode 1 recap

SHARE

In case you didn’t get the jumpstart of diving right into the Looking for Alaska mini-series on Hulu, we’re recapping the first episode for you to catch up!

 

  • The first episode kicks off with a VERY intense flash forward to the scene of a car accident. *reaches for tissues*
  • Flashback to BEFORE
  • Meet Miles. Miles is chilling at his house with a book because no one showed up to his birthday party (but tbh hanging out with a good book for your birthday isn’t a bad alternative.)
  • Miles’s parents don’t understand why he’s so eager to go away to Culver Creek Academy. Miles explains he has to go “seek his great perhaps” (YAAAS)
  • Meanwhile, we meet Alaska, who’s packing up her life and leaving for Culver Creek Academy.
  • Flashback to Miles in the midst of the most awkward road trip with his parents ever.
  • Miles drives by and makes eye contact with Alaska and IT’S A MOMENT.
  • Miles is dropped off at Culver Creek and is left to unpack his entire trunk of books, which is a total mood.
  • We meet Chip, better known as The Colonel, who is just as hilarious as you imagined him to be.
  • The Colonel renames Miles “Pudge”, who then demonstrates his legendary knowledge of last words.
  • Introducing: The Weekday Warriors. The rich kids who go home on the weekends. They’re the worst.
  • Introducing: Takumi. He’s the best.
  • Pudge agrees to help The Colonel move his stuff. They run into The Eagle, school administrator…who is very intense about the rules.
  • The Colonel takes Pudge to meet Alaska. And the way Pudge looks at Alaska when he sees her is awwww.
  • The Colonel takes Pudge to the Smoking Hole, a hangout under a bridge at Culver Creek, and gives him a warning about the vicious swans around the lake (*cough* foreshadowing) and also warns him to never rat on anyone at Culver Creek.
  • The Colonel leaves to meet up with his girlfriend, leaving Pudge alone…until Alaska comes along.
  • They have a MOMENT and we finally get to hear the words “How will I ever get out of this labyrinth” on screen!
  • Cut to Alaska’s roommate and her boyfriend, who get caught breaking multiple rules by the Eagle due to someone ratting on them. Who could it be?
  • The next day, Pudge goes to his first class with Dr. Hyde, who may be our favorite teacher ever.
  • BUFRIEDOS FOR LUNCH. AKA deep fried burritos.
  • The Weekday Warriors try to befriend Pudge who, psh, doesn’t need them.
  • Pudge goes back to his room to find The Colonel in a crisis over his wrinkled shirt and a date with his girlfriend and her parents.
  • Eventually, The Colonel leaves for his date, leaving Pudge alone…just in time for the Weekday Warriors to kidnap him for the worst hazing ever.
  • After being wrapped in plastic wrap, thrown into the lake, and chased by a killer swan, Pudge runs into Alaska, who’s clearly been crying. She slams the door in his face :(
  • Pudge hobbles back to his dorm and reports the night’s events to The Colonel, who is thoroughly unimpressed. Until the next morning when he discovers the Weekday Warriors didn’t just target Pudge, but also peed in The Colonel’s new shoes which…gross.
  • The Colonel, Takumi, Pudge, and Alaska plan sweet, sweet revenge.

 

 

Have you entered our sweepstakes? We’re giving away 5 signed copies of LOOKING FOR ALASKA! Enter here!

 

 

 

#Bookish

Books to #ReadPrideAndBeyond all year long!

June may be coming to an end, but we hope you remember to #ReadPrideAndBeyond all year long. Here are just a few reads to look forward to!     Darius the Great Deserves Better by Adib Khorram – August 25 In this companion to the award-winning Darius the Great Is Not Okay, Darius suddenly has it all: … Continued
See More

Beware: these books will keep you up at night

Spooky season may not be for a little while yet, but we here at Penguin Teen are all about the year-round spooks. So if you’re looking for the next read that’s going to have you either buying a nightlight or bidding sleep adieu altogether, read on! 👻   Rules for Vanishing by Kate Alice Marshall   … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of VERONA COMICS!

From the author of Hot Dog Girl comes a fresh and funny queer YA contemporary novel about two teens who fall in love in an indie comic book shop. Scroll down to read an excerpt of Verona Comics! Chapter One Jubilee “You look like you’re being tortured,” Jayla says. “This is supposed to be fun.” Easy to … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: The Boy in the Red Dress

In continuation of our #ReadPrideAndBeyond celebration, we’re sharing an excerpt from The Boy in the Red Dress by Kristin Lambert, a rollicking romp of truth, lies, and troubled pasts. New Year’s Eve, 1929. Millie is running the show at the Cloak & Dagger, a swinging speakeasy in the French Quarter, while her aunt is out of town. The new … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of They Wish They Were Us!

They Wish They Were Us is one of 2020’s hottest upcoming books and we need to talk.about.it. Imagine this: Gossip Girl + One of Us Is Lying with just a dash of The Secret History. That gives us this thrilling murder mystery set against the backdrop of an exclusive prep school on Long Island. Scroll down to read the excerpt!   Chapter … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: THE UNLEASHED

If The Haunted terrified you last summer, get ready! In the chilling sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that even though Steele House is gone, the hauntings in Drearfield are far from over — and it’s up to her to stop them. Scroll down to start reading the sequel, The Unleashed! The clock beside Samantha Davidson’s bed read 3:17 … Continued
See More

Black Booktubers You Should Be Following

Here is a list of just a few of the Black booktubers you should definitely be following.   Books with Brandie Shanae Follow here   Britney, Melanin Eclectic Follow here   Ochuole, Oh She Reads Follow here   Myonna, Myonna Reads Follow here   Peta-Gay, Comfy Cozy Up Follow here   Justin, Ghost Reader Follow … Continued
See More

Read the first 4 chapters of BEYOND THE BREAK

For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, if you count her faith… and that’s where things may get complicated. Scroll down to read the excerpt! Chapter One The first time a guy felt me up was in the … Continued
See More

Every Book Hitting Shelves in June

Here’s a sneak peek of what’s hitting shelves this June!   6/2: Jo & Laurie by Melissa de la Cruz and Margaret Stohl – Bestselling authors Margaret Stohl and Melissa de la Cruz bring us a romantic retelling of Little Women starring Jo March and her best friend, the boy next door, Theodore “Laurie” Laurence.   6/2: Beyond … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: Forged in Fire and Stars

Forged in Fire and Stars by Andrea Robertson just hit shelves and we’re sharing an excerpt! Games of Thrones meets An Ember in the Ashes in this action-packed fantasy from the internationally bestselling author of the Nightshade series. Ara has always known the legend of the Loresmith: the blacksmith who served alongside the kings and queens of Saetlund, forging legendary … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP