Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Luck of the Titanic by Stacey Lee Sneak Peek

SHARE

If you loved recently anointed New York Times bestseller The Downstairs Girl by Stacey Lee, as much as we did, then you NEED to be ready for her upcoming Luck of the Titanic. And don’t just believe us about how amazing it is, believe Marie Lu who said “It’s a story lush with heart, heartache, and hope.” or Stephanie Garber who said “This book will make you fall in love and then fall to pieces.”

Read more about the historical fiction sure to be classic and then scroll down for an excerpt!

LuckoftheTitanic_CV_ONLINE

 

Valora Luck has two things: a ticket for the biggest and most luxurious ocean liner in the world, and a dream of leaving England behind and making a life for herself as a circus performer in New York. Much to her surprise though, she’s turned away at the gangway; apparently, Chinese aren’t allowed into America.

But Val has to get on that ship. Her twin brother Jamie, who has spent two long years at sea, is there, as is an influential circus owner, whom Val hopes to audition for. Thankfully, there’s not much a trained acrobat like Val can’t overcome when she puts her mind to it.

As a stowaway, Val should keep her head down and stay out of sight. But the clock is ticking and she has just seven days as the ship makes its way across the Atlantic to find Jamie, perform for the circus owner, and convince him to help get them both into America.

Then one night the unthinkable happens, and suddenly Val’s dreams of a new life are crushed under the weight of the only thing that matters: survival.

 

April 10, 1912

When my twin Jamie left, he vowed it wouldn’t be forever. Only a week before Halley’s comet brushed the London skies, he’d kissed my cheek and set off. One comet in, one comet out. But two years away is more than enough time to clear his head, even in the coal-thickened air at the bottom of a steamship. Since he hasn’t come home, it is time to chase down the comet’s tail.

I try not to fidget whilst I wait my turn on the first-class gangway of White Star Line’s newest ocean liner. A roofed corridor—to spare the nobs the inconvenience of sunshine—leads directly from the ‘boat train’ depot to this highest crossing. At least we are far from the rats on Southampton dock below, which is crawling with them.

Of course, some up here might consider me a rat.

The couple ahead of me eyes me warily, even though I am dressed in one of Mrs. Sloane’s smartest traveling suits—shark grey to match her usual temper, with a swath of black bee-swarm lace pinned from shoulder to shoulder. A lifetime of those dodgy looks teaches you to ignore them. Haven’t I already survived the journey from London? A half a day’s travel, packed into a smoky railcar, next to a man that stunk of sardines. And here I am, so close to the finish line, I can nearly smell Jamie—like trampled ryegrass and the milk biscuits he is so fond of eating.

An ocean breeze cools my cheeks. Several stories below in either direction, onlookers crowd the dock, staring up at the ship rising six stories before them. Its hull gleams, a wall of liquid black with a quartet of smokestacks so wide you could drive a train through them. Stately letters march across the hull: TITANIC. On the third-class gangway a hundred feet to my left, passengers sport a variety of costume: headscarves, patterned kaftans, fringed shawls of botany wool, tasseled caps, and plain dungarees and straw hats. I don’t see a single Chinese face among them. Has Jamie boarded already? With this crowd, I may have missed him.

Then again, he isn’t traveling alone, but with seven other Chinese men from his company. All are being transported to Cuba for a new route after coal-strikes here berthed their steamship.

Something cold unspools in my belly. I received his last letter a month ago. Time enough for things to change. What if Jamie’s company decided to send them somewhere other than Cuba, maybe a new route in Asia or Africa?

The line shifts. Only a few more passengers ahead of me.

Jamie! I call in my mind, a game I often played growing up. He doesn’t always hear, but I like to think he does when it matters.

In China, a dragon-phoenix pair of boy and girl twins is considered auspicious, and so Ba bought two suckling pigs to celebrate our birth, roasted side by side to show their common lot. Some may think that macabre, but to the Chinese death is just a continuation of life on a higher plane with our ancestors.

Jamie, your sister is here. Look for me.

Preorder Luck of the Titanic now!

#Bookish

Excerpt Alert: CHASING THE TRUTH by Jodi Kantor and Megan Twohey, edited by Ruby Shamir

Do you want to know how to bring secrets to light? How journalists can hold the powerful to account? And how to write stories that can make a difference? In Chasing the Truth, award-winning journalists Jodi Kantor and Megan Twohey share their thoughts from their early days writing their first stories to their time as award-winning … Continued
See More

Start reading THE TAKING OF JAKE LIVINGSTON

The Taking of Jake Livingston is the perfect Halloween read, so we’re sharing an excerpt today to get you started! Scroll down to start reading about Jake Livingston, a sixteen-year-old who sees dead people everywhere. I live in Atlanta, but not really. Clark City is too far out for the train to come, unless it’s one of … Continued
See More

Start reading HELLO (FROM HERE) by Chandler Baker and Wesley King!

A love story? In quarantine? Yes! Hello (From Here) by Chandler Baker and Wesley King is a heartfelt, witty, and thought-provoking YA love story about two teens who fall for each other while forced apart during quarantine, written by two New York Times bestselling authors, and for fans of Five Feet Apart, Anna and the French Kiss, and My Life Next Door. … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: CATCH THE LIGHT by Kate Sweeney

Excerpt alert! Catch the Light by Kate Sweeney is a love story perfect for fans of Nina LaCour and Jandy Nelson, about a girl who moves cross country and finds herself falling for someone new who throws her whole life out of order. Nine months after the death of her father, Marigold is forced to pick up … Continued
See More

Reads by Filipino-American authors for your shelf!

October is Filipino American History Month, and here are a few amazing reads by Filipino American authors we recommend you add to your shelf if you haven’t already!   Patron Saints of Nothing by Randy Ribay A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks a Filipino-American teenager takes to uncover the truth about his cousin’s … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: THE CORPSE QUEEN by Heather M. Herrman

Excerpt alert! The Corpse Queen by Heather M. Herrman is a dark and twisty feminist historical mystery, in which a teenage girl starts a new life as a grave robber…but quickly becomes entangled in a murderer’s plans. Coming to shelves September 14th! Scroll down to read a sneak peek! The dead do not always keep their secrets. Sometimes the … Continued
See More

Mystery books: our favorite detectives in YA!

We can’t resist a good mystery, or a protagonist determined to get to the bottom of one! So, if you’re looking for your next mystery to unravel, read on for 6 of our favorites!   Margot Mertz Takes It Down by Carrie McCrossen and Ian McWethy Hell hath no fury like Margot, who discovers a … Continued
See More

Books that PROVE the woods are the scariest place to be in a thriller

If you ever find yourself in a thriller novel, it’s probably best to steer towards the nearest exit. But more importantly, do NOT go into the woods, and here are 6 books that show why!   The Woods Are Always Watching by Stephanie Perkins Simply put: the only thing being lost in the woods…is being … Continued
See More

Last Minute Bookish Costumes for Lazy People

We all know how this goes. You spend most of October binge-watching scary movies, going to corn mazes, and drinking pumpkin spice anything. Then, suddenly BOOM. Halloween is actually here and OOPS you forgot to get a costume. Panicking? No worries, we’ve got you covered.   Emika Chen – Warcross   Grab some hair chalk! Time to rainbow-up … Continued
See More

Start reading THE OTHER MERLIN by Robyn Schneider

Channeling the modern humor of The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue, bestselling author Robyn Schneider creates a Camelot that becomes the ultimate teen rom-com hotspot in this ultra-fresh take on the Arthurian legend. Scroll down to start reading The Other Merlin! Everything was going to be fine. Emry Merlin staggered out the back door of the … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP