Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Meet Darius, He is Better Than Okay, He is REALLY Great

SHARE

If you’re reading this, you probably love books. Which means we have a lot in common. We’ve all probably rainbowed our shelves, lined up for book signings, cried over fictional characters, and chosen books over underwear when packing for trips (ESSENTIALS PEOPLE!!!).

But we also probably have a few other things in common, and not just us lovely book people, but everyone. Most everyone has felt like they weren’t enough at one point or another. Most everyone has felt like they don’t belong. Most everyone has felt like they are alone. For us book people (#greatestpeoplealiveeee), a book is the friend that reminds you that you are not alone. That you do belong. And that you are enough.

So if you find yourself looking for a reminder like that (or for a new read to fall in love with, pass on to all of your friends, hold dear, wish the characters into existence, or tattoo the book cover onto your entire back (#realfanswould)), then Darius the Great Is Not Okay IS THE BOOK FOR YOU.

If we haven’t convinced you to read this book yet, then please kindly continue scrolling down this page to find five very good, very amazing, very convincing reasons why you should pick this tree-fiber-based stack of beautiful words ASAP.

Very good, very amazing, very convincing REASON #1:

If you meet all (it must be all, no less), of the following qualifications this book is your emotional soulmate:

  • You breathe air (a delicious combo of nitrogen and oxygen…we think)
  • You like books
  • You like good books
  • You like books that teach you something knew about the world and about yourself (we call that a double threat in the book biz) (we don’t actually) (but we should)
  • You like to have books lined up on your TBR
  • You have lots of feelings

via GIPHY

 

Very good, very amazing, very convincing REASON #2:

If you’ve read and loved books by Becky Alvertalli, David Arnold, or Jandy Nelson, YOU ARE MOST WELCOME WE HAVE THE BOOK FOR YOU. Just like these authors, debut author Adib Khorram delivers a straight-to-the-heart voice full of self-deprecation, humor, and honesty. There is a layer of levity and spirit here that you will likely only encounter once we develop technology for hovercars.

via GIPHY

Very good, very amazing, very convincing REASON #3:

Darius lives with clinical depression. He’s been struggling with different medications, outside perceptions, and pressure from his perfect father who just wants him to be normal. But Darius doesn’t know how to do that. If you’re looking for a book that helps you explore mental health, be sure to keep an eye out for Darius’s story.

via GIPHY

Very good, very amazing, very convincing REASON #4:

Identity is a hard thing to pin down. It’s hard to prioritize what it is, exactly, that identifies you. Darius has always seen himself as a “Fractional Persian.” His dad is white and his mom is from Yazd, Iran. During his trip to Iran, Darius starts to reconcile the two worlds he’s always struggled to find a place in. If you want to feel some wholesome, give-me-some-of-that validation that questioning your identity is okay, questioning your heritage is okay, and questioning who you are is okay…~*throws Darius through the screen you’re currently reading this on, for emphasis*~

via GIPHY

Very good, very amazing, very convincing REASON #5:

We have never had as big of a friendship crush on anyone as we have on Darius. He may not always feel okay, but he is truly great. And so is the book. And so would be the decision to read it.

via GIPHY

#Bookish

Books to #ReadPrideAndBeyond all year long!

June may be coming to an end, but we hope you remember to #ReadPrideAndBeyond all year long. Here are just a few reads to look forward to!     Darius the Great Deserves Better by Adib Khorram – August 25 In this companion to the award-winning Darius the Great Is Not Okay, Darius suddenly has it all: … Continued
See More

Beware: these books will keep you up at night

Spooky season may not be for a little while yet, but we here at Penguin Teen are all about the year-round spooks. So if you’re looking for the next read that’s going to have you either buying a nightlight or bidding sleep adieu altogether, read on! 👻   Rules for Vanishing by Kate Alice Marshall   … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of VERONA COMICS!

From the author of Hot Dog Girl comes a fresh and funny queer YA contemporary novel about two teens who fall in love in an indie comic book shop. Scroll down to read an excerpt of Verona Comics! Chapter One Jubilee “You look like you’re being tortured,” Jayla says. “This is supposed to be fun.” Easy to … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: The Boy in the Red Dress

In continuation of our #ReadPrideAndBeyond celebration, we’re sharing an excerpt from The Boy in the Red Dress by Kristin Lambert, a rollicking romp of truth, lies, and troubled pasts. New Year’s Eve, 1929. Millie is running the show at the Cloak & Dagger, a swinging speakeasy in the French Quarter, while her aunt is out of town. The new … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of They Wish They Were Us!

They Wish They Were Us is one of 2020’s hottest upcoming books and we need to talk.about.it. Imagine this: Gossip Girl + One of Us Is Lying with just a dash of The Secret History. That gives us this thrilling murder mystery set against the backdrop of an exclusive prep school on Long Island. Scroll down to read the excerpt!   Chapter … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: THE UNLEASHED

If The Haunted terrified you last summer, get ready! In the chilling sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that even though Steele House is gone, the hauntings in Drearfield are far from over — and it’s up to her to stop them. Scroll down to start reading the sequel, The Unleashed! The clock beside Samantha Davidson’s bed read 3:17 … Continued
See More

Black Booktubers You Should Be Following

Here is a list of just a few of the Black booktubers you should definitely be following.   Books with Brandie Shanae Follow here   Britney, Melanin Eclectic Follow here   Ochuole, Oh She Reads Follow here   Myonna, Myonna Reads Follow here   Peta-Gay, Comfy Cozy Up Follow here   Justin, Ghost Reader Follow … Continued
See More

Read the first 4 chapters of BEYOND THE BREAK

For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, if you count her faith… and that’s where things may get complicated. Scroll down to read the excerpt! Chapter One The first time a guy felt me up was in the … Continued
See More

Every Book Hitting Shelves in June

Here’s a sneak peek of what’s hitting shelves this June!   6/2: Jo & Laurie by Melissa de la Cruz and Margaret Stohl – Bestselling authors Margaret Stohl and Melissa de la Cruz bring us a romantic retelling of Little Women starring Jo March and her best friend, the boy next door, Theodore “Laurie” Laurence.   6/2: Beyond … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: Forged in Fire and Stars

Forged in Fire and Stars by Andrea Robertson just hit shelves and we’re sharing an excerpt! Games of Thrones meets An Ember in the Ashes in this action-packed fantasy from the internationally bestselling author of the Nightshade series. Ara has always known the legend of the Loresmith: the blacksmith who served alongside the kings and queens of Saetlund, forging legendary … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP