Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

7 of the Biggest Secrets from The Edge of Nowhere Series

SHARE

The last time we read a mystery series this addictive, well – actually, we can’t remember the last time we were so hooked. The Edge of Nowhere series is set on Whidbey Island, where nothing is as it seems and everyone has something to hide. Becca King, the newest member of the Whidbey Island community, is a runaway in hiding from her murderous stepfather. As she attempts to lay low in her new home, she meets an interesting assortment of folks and will soon realize everyone has secrets of their own. Read on for 7 of the most mysterious secrets you’ll uncover in The Edge of Nowhere series!

 

Becca King

IMG_2046 copy

Becca has two huge secrets: her identity, and her mysterious power to hear ‘whispers’ of people’s thoughts. Will Becca be able to remain hidden and keep her powers a secret?

 

Derric Mathieson

Death_to_stock_Kashmir_Big_Cartel_5 copy

The most popular kid on Whidbey Island, and he’s only a freshman! But even smiling Derric has something to hide from his past as an orphan in Uganda. Could it have to do with the word “Rejoice” Becca hears over and over again in the whispers of his thoughts?

 

Seth Darrow

A boy alone in a classroom with his head down on a desk.

High School dropout, grocery store clerk, and guitar master Seth Darrow gets an undeservedly bad rap on Whidbey, but could he have possibly been the one to hurt Derric Mathieson in the park that one fateful day? And what happened to those sandals he always wears? And what does Hayley Cartwright have to do with him?

 

Jenn McDaniels

Death_to_stock_photography_farm_9 copy

That resident mean girl Jenn has a crush on Derric is no secret, but her crude and dismissive attitude towards Becca comes from someplace darker. Jenn would rather keep people at arm’s length than let anyone know her darkest secret.

 

Debbie Grieder

woman-1347128856jFU

Debbie runs a motel just outside of town where she cares for her two grandchildren, Chloe and Josh. But what happened to their parents? And what about the death of Debbie’s daughter years ago still seems to haunt her?

 

Diana Kinsale

Death_to_Stock_Photography_BodyTruths_9 small

Diana Kinsale is a kind woman who has too many dogs, and happens to be the first person Becca encounters on Whidbey. But for some reason, she’s the one person whose whispers Becca can’t hear. Does she have powers of her own? And more importantly for a girl on the run, can she be trusted?

 

Hayley Cartwright

Death_to_stock_photography_farm_6 copy

Hayley Cartwright, who seems like your average, run of the mill high schooler, is hiding her desire to travel the world. But why? And what has happened to her family and their horse farm to cause it to fall into disrepair? And can anyone help her?

 

 

Ready to solve the mysteries? Start reading The Edge of Nowhere!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More

YA Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

From award winning icons such as Mildred D. Taylor to debut voices such as Patrice Caldwell, here are some of the Black authors you should be reading.   A Phoenix First Must Burn edited by Patrice Caldwell Sixteen tales by bestselling and award-winning authors that explore the Black experience through fantasy, science fiction, and magic. … Continued
See More

14 Books to Read During Mental Health Awareness Month

May is Mental Health Awareness Month and we find that books can not only help us understand or sympathize, but can often help us talk about difficult topics. Here are 15 books to read this month to help start a conversation and #endthestigma.   Turtles All the Way Down by John Green Aza is trying. She is trying … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi & Fantasy reads to move up on your TBR asap

2020 has brought a LOT of amazing reads to our shelf. Here are just a few of our favorite sci-fi/fantasy reads you’ll want to make sure you didn’t miss!   Want to win them all? Click here to enter our sweepstakes! The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae You will laugh. You will cry. You will … Continued
See More

The 2020/2021 books you need to add to your TBR ASAP

Did you join us for Penguin Teen’s 2020/2021 preview show? Here are the books we talked about! Scroll down to read about some of our most anticipated reads!   They Wish They Were Us by Jessica Goodman – July 21, 2020 Gossip Girl meets One of Us Is Lying with a dash of The Secret History in this slick, taut murder mystery … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of THIS COVEN WON’T BREAK

This Coven Won’t Break is hitting shelves next month! We are so excited for the thrilling sequel to These Witches Don’t Burn and are sharing an excerpt in anticipation of book 2. Scroll down to read! High school. They say it’s the best time of our lives. A time of exploration and endless possibilities. We can try … Continued
See More

What to read if you’re not over The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

If you’ve binge re-read the entire Hunger Games series and flew through the new prequel, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, we’ve got some recommendations for what to pick up next! From the Katniss energy of standing up to oppressive governing forces, to death-defying, high-stakes competitions, let’s get started!   The Kinder Poison by Natalie … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: WE ARE NOT FROM HERE

We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez is a poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, inspired by current events. Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE   When you live in a place like this, you’re always planning your escape. Even if you don’t know when you’ll go. Even if … Continued
See More

Middle Grade Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

  What Lane? by Torrey Maldonado “STAY IN YOUR LANE.” Stephen doesn’t want to hear that–he wants to have no lane.Anything his friends can do, Stephen should be able to do too, right? So when they dare each other to sneak into an abandoned building, he doesn’t think it’s his lane, but he goes. Here’s … Continued
See More

9 Books That Make Great Gift Ideas For Mother’s Day

Mother’s Day is right around the corner, and we know that gift lists for moms are running rampant everywhere. But the best thing about giving books is that you give an experience, too. So we rounded up some of our favorite heartfelt, historical, and humorous books that make great gift ideas for Mother’s Day.   … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP