Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

7 Real Life Super Powers of Our Favorite YA Characters

SHARE

Let’s face it: much as we wish we could all hear Hagrid exclaim, “You’re a wizard!”, and then be whisked away to Hogwarts, that…just might not happen for everyone. But let’s not sell ourselves short! Everyone has super powers–they’re just not always magical. Read on for some non-magical abilities from our favorite YA characters.

 

Scarlett Epstein from Scarlett Epstein Hates It Here by Anna BreslawThe Storyteller

9781595148353-3

Scarlett is an incredible storyteller–she’s hilarious and sarcastic, wielding the power of words like a freakin’ Sword of Truth. When mean girls/boys threaten, Scarlett is the wordsmith we want on our side for sure. Nobody can come up with a great comeback like she can. And her fanfic based on her classmates sure keeps us entertained.

 

Solomon from Highly Illogical Behavior by John Corey Whaley: The Ultimate Fanboy

9780525428183-2

Solomon’s an agoraphobe who hasn’t left his house in three years – but that doesn’t mean he hasn’t been busy. As a superfan of Star Trek: The Next Generation, he’s seen every good episode at least 9 times, and every not-so-good episode 3 times or more, depending on how not-so-good it was. He even built his own Star Trek-inspired holodeck in the garage, and eventually, it’s Star Trek that might help him leave the house when he most needs to.

 

Jude and Noah from I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson: The Artists

9780142425763

 

Apart from being twins, Jude and Noah are both artists. Unfortunately, that’s all they seem to have in common these days. But while they’re busy avoiding each other, they’re pouring their hearts and souls into their art, and maybe–just maybe–someday it will bring them back together.

 

Q, Radar and Ben from Paper Towns by John GreenThe Road Trip Wizards

9780142414934

 

If we ever need to go on a crazy, last-minute, high-stakes road trip, we’re definitely bringing these guys along. They’ll get us where we need to go, and they’ll take us on a pretty wild adventure while they’re at it. It might not always be elegant (or technically legal), but you know it’s going to be fun.

 

Jude from Pasadena by Sherri L. Smith: The Investigator

9781101996256

When Jude’s best friend is found dead in her swimming pool, everyone says it’s an accident. But Jude knows it’s murder. And she’s going to make someone pay. Jude is going to get to the truth no matter what–even if it means exposing her own secrets–and that’s why we love her. You can’t keep her down, and you better not count her out. Pasadena comes out September 13th!

 

Mercy from Outrun the Moon by Stacey LeeThe Get-It-Done Girl

9780399175411-2

The odds are stacked against Mercy, raised in poverty in San Francisco’s Chinatown at the turn of the twentieth century, but does she let that stop her? Hell no! With a mix of cunning and a little bribery, Mercy gains admittance to an exclusive, all-white girls’ school, determined to get the opportunities she needs. As for how she puts her skills to use after the 1906 earthquake devastates the city…well, you’re going to have to read to find out. Outrun the Moon comes out May 24th!

 

Henry from Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland: The Love Deflector

9780399546563-2

Henry Page has never been in love. With his shields powered up, he doesn’t have to deal with the can’t-eat-can’t-sleep disaster that some loves (especially the unrequited ones) can be. It lets him focus on getting into college, spending time with his best friends, and finally–finally–making editor of the school paper. But…every Superman has his kryptonite. Can Henry’s romance resistance protect his heart from Grace Town? You’ll find out when Our Chemical Hearts comes out October 4th!

Preorder your copy of Our Chemical Hearts here!

 

 

Want more contemporary books? Check out this realistic fiction that will change your life!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

Excerpt Alert: BOTH SIDES NOW by Peyton Thomas

Both Sides Now by Peyton Thomas is a witty and warm-hearted novel about a trans teen finding his place in the world perfect for fans of Red, White and Royal Blue. There’s only one thing standing between Finch Kelly and a full-blown case of high school senioritis: the National Speech & Debate Tournament. Taking home the gold … Continued
See More

Books to Read for Latinx & Hispanic Heritage Month

September 15-October 15 is Latinx & Hispanic Heritage Month. We’re inviting you to join us in reading stories by Latinx and Hispanic authors–and if you don’t know where to start, here are a few of our recommendations!   When We Make It by Elisabet Velasquez  An unforgettable debut young adult novel-in-verse that redefines what it … Continued
See More

Duologies that make really cute couples

Some duologies just make the absolute perfect couple. And we’re here to give you 9 that belong together on your shelf! The Goddess in the Machine Duology The plot twists ALONE will have you up all night. We can’t wait to see this duology completed on August 24th! The Kinder Poison Duology Action, royalty, a … Continued
See More

Boxed Sets to Binge Read

If you’re officially looking for your next series to get sucked into over the holidays, we got you. We’ve rounded up a wish list of our fav boxed sets!   The Ruta Sepetys Collection Discover #1 New York Times bestselling author Ruta Sepetys from the beginning. Featuring beautiful new cover art, this collection includes paperback editions of her … Continued
See More

Completed YA series you can read start to finish right now!

Is waiting for the next book an absolute struggle for you? We understand. So we put together a list of completed YA series you can read start to finish today!   An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir Set in a rich, high-fantasy world inspired by ancient Rome, Sabaa Tahir’s AN EMBER IN THE … Continued
See More

17 Love Stories Gone Wrong

We all love a good love story…but not all love stories necessarily have smooth courses (or happy endings). Come to think of it, a lot of love stories have a few bumps (or 200) along the way. Here are 17 love stories that don’t go quite as you’d expect! Super Fake Love Song by David Yoon It … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: MARGOT MERTZ TAKES IT DOWN

Hitting shelves this Tuesday, Veronica Mars meets Moxie in this hilarious and biting YA contemporary novel. Meet Margot Mertz, a girl who runs an internet cleanup business and embarks on a quest to take down a revenge-porn site targeting the girls in her school. Scroll down to begin reading Margot Mertz Takes It Down! “I mean . . . he was in such … Continued
See More

5 Reads to Take Back to School!

Summer may be coming to an end, but the good reads continue. So get that backpack ready, because we’re here with 5 reads that are perfect to take back to school with you!   Both Sides Now by Peyton Thomas A witty and warm-hearted novel about a trans teen finding his place in the world … Continued
See More

Halloween Books: Use the Scare-O-Meter to Find Your Perfect Scary Read!

Halloween is just around that corner, and we are SO read-y for all the Halloween reads and scares! While we know some of you are here for those up-all-night chilling chapters, we know that others may be looking to get some shut-eye after that last chapter. So, we’ve broken our favorite Halloween reads into three degrees of … Continued
See More

Love triangles we LOVE in YA!

Love a good love triangle? Here are a few of our recommendations if you’re looking for your next love triangle to feel deeply conflicted over!   Darius the Great Deserves Better by Adib Khorram In this companion to the award-winning Darius the Great Is Not Okay, Darius suddenly has it all: a boyfriend, an internship, a spot … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP