Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

7 Real Life Super Powers of Our Favorite YA Characters

SHARE

Let’s face it: much as we wish we could all hear Hagrid exclaim, “You’re a wizard!”, and then be whisked away to Hogwarts, that…just might not happen for everyone. But let’s not sell ourselves short! Everyone has super powers–they’re just not always magical. Read on for some non-magical abilities from our favorite YA characters.

 

Scarlett Epstein from Scarlett Epstein Hates It Here by Anna BreslawThe Storyteller

9781595148353-3

Scarlett is an incredible storyteller–she’s hilarious and sarcastic, wielding the power of words like a freakin’ Sword of Truth. When mean girls/boys threaten, Scarlett is the wordsmith we want on our side for sure. Nobody can come up with a great comeback like she can. And her fanfic based on her classmates sure keeps us entertained.

 

Solomon from Highly Illogical Behavior by John Corey Whaley: The Ultimate Fanboy

9780525428183-2

Solomon’s an agoraphobe who hasn’t left his house in three years – but that doesn’t mean he hasn’t been busy. As a superfan of Star Trek: The Next Generation, he’s seen every good episode at least 9 times, and every not-so-good episode 3 times or more, depending on how not-so-good it was. He even built his own Star Trek-inspired holodeck in the garage, and eventually, it’s Star Trek that might help him leave the house when he most needs to.

 

Jude and Noah from I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson: The Artists

9780142425763

 

Apart from being twins, Jude and Noah are both artists. Unfortunately, that’s all they seem to have in common these days. But while they’re busy avoiding each other, they’re pouring their hearts and souls into their art, and maybe–just maybe–someday it will bring them back together.

 

Q, Radar and Ben from Paper Towns by John GreenThe Road Trip Wizards

9780142414934

 

If we ever need to go on a crazy, last-minute, high-stakes road trip, we’re definitely bringing these guys along. They’ll get us where we need to go, and they’ll take us on a pretty wild adventure while they’re at it. It might not always be elegant (or technically legal), but you know it’s going to be fun.

 

Jude from Pasadena by Sherri L. Smith: The Investigator

9781101996256

When Jude’s best friend is found dead in her swimming pool, everyone says it’s an accident. But Jude knows it’s murder. And she’s going to make someone pay. Jude is going to get to the truth no matter what–even if it means exposing her own secrets–and that’s why we love her. You can’t keep her down, and you better not count her out. Pasadena comes out September 13th!

 

Mercy from Outrun the Moon by Stacey LeeThe Get-It-Done Girl

9780399175411-2

The odds are stacked against Mercy, raised in poverty in San Francisco’s Chinatown at the turn of the twentieth century, but does she let that stop her? Hell no! With a mix of cunning and a little bribery, Mercy gains admittance to an exclusive, all-white girls’ school, determined to get the opportunities she needs. As for how she puts her skills to use after the 1906 earthquake devastates the city…well, you’re going to have to read to find out. Outrun the Moon comes out May 24th!

 

Henry from Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland: The Love Deflector

9780399546563-2

Henry Page has never been in love. With his shields powered up, he doesn’t have to deal with the can’t-eat-can’t-sleep disaster that some loves (especially the unrequited ones) can be. It lets him focus on getting into college, spending time with his best friends, and finally–finally–making editor of the school paper. But…every Superman has his kryptonite. Can Henry’s romance resistance protect his heart from Grace Town? You’ll find out when Our Chemical Hearts comes out October 4th!

Preorder your copy of Our Chemical Hearts here!

 

 

Want more contemporary books? Check out this realistic fiction that will change your life!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More

YA Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

From award winning icons such as Mildred D. Taylor to debut voices such as Patrice Caldwell, here are some of the Black authors you should be reading.   A Phoenix First Must Burn edited by Patrice Caldwell Sixteen tales by bestselling and award-winning authors that explore the Black experience through fantasy, science fiction, and magic. … Continued
See More

14 Books to Read During Mental Health Awareness Month

May is Mental Health Awareness Month and we find that books can not only help us understand or sympathize, but can often help us talk about difficult topics. Here are 15 books to read this month to help start a conversation and #endthestigma.   Turtles All the Way Down by John Green Aza is trying. She is trying … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi & Fantasy reads to move up on your TBR asap

2020 has brought a LOT of amazing reads to our shelf. Here are just a few of our favorite sci-fi/fantasy reads you’ll want to make sure you didn’t miss!   Want to win them all? Click here to enter our sweepstakes! The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae You will laugh. You will cry. You will … Continued
See More

The 2020/2021 books you need to add to your TBR ASAP

Did you join us for Penguin Teen’s 2020/2021 preview show? Here are the books we talked about! Scroll down to read about some of our most anticipated reads!   They Wish They Were Us by Jessica Goodman – July 21, 2020 Gossip Girl meets One of Us Is Lying with a dash of The Secret History in this slick, taut murder mystery … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of THIS COVEN WON’T BREAK

This Coven Won’t Break is hitting shelves next month! We are so excited for the thrilling sequel to These Witches Don’t Burn and are sharing an excerpt in anticipation of book 2. Scroll down to read! High school. They say it’s the best time of our lives. A time of exploration and endless possibilities. We can try … Continued
See More

What to read if you’re not over The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

If you’ve binge re-read the entire Hunger Games series and flew through the new prequel, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, we’ve got some recommendations for what to pick up next! From the Katniss energy of standing up to oppressive governing forces, to death-defying, high-stakes competitions, let’s get started!   The Kinder Poison by Natalie … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: WE ARE NOT FROM HERE

We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez is a poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, inspired by current events. Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE   When you live in a place like this, you’re always planning your escape. Even if you don’t know when you’ll go. Even if … Continued
See More

Middle Grade Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

  What Lane? by Torrey Maldonado “STAY IN YOUR LANE.” Stephen doesn’t want to hear that–he wants to have no lane.Anything his friends can do, Stephen should be able to do too, right? So when they dare each other to sneak into an abandoned building, he doesn’t think it’s his lane, but he goes. Here’s … Continued
See More

9 Books That Make Great Gift Ideas For Mother’s Day

Mother’s Day is right around the corner, and we know that gift lists for moms are running rampant everywhere. But the best thing about giving books is that you give an experience, too. So we rounded up some of our favorite heartfelt, historical, and humorous books that make great gift ideas for Mother’s Day.   … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP