Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

A definitive list of YA thrillers that will keep you up at night

SHARE

If you’ve been looking for a book that will leave you suspicious of any and everything that goes bump in the night, then look no further. Whether they’re full of mystery, murder, or conspiracy, you can bet these pulse-pounding page turners will leave you wondering why you even bother keeping bookmarks around.

 

People Like Us by Dana Mele

This sharp psychological thriller that’s perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying, People Like Us will have you on the edge of your seat as you try to figure out who’s responsible for the murders, mishaps, and mayhem at Bates Academy. Get your detective hat (and nightlight) on.

About the book: Kay Donovan may have skeletons in her closet, but the past is past, and she’s reinvented herself entirely. Now she’s a star soccer player whose group of gorgeous friends run their private school with effortless popularity and acerbic wit. But when a girl’s body is found in the lake, Kay’s carefully constructed life begins to topple. The dead girl has left Kay a computer-coded scavenger hunt, which, as it unravels, begins to implicate suspect after suspect, until Kay herself is in the crosshairs of a murder investigation. But if Kay’s finally backed into a corner, she’ll do what it takes to survive. Because at Bates Academy, the truth is something you make…not something that happened.

Rules for Vanishing by Kate Alice Marshall

Rules-for-Vanishing

This mix of Stranger Things meets The Blair Witch Project is CHILLING. Not only will it leave you paranoid about every noise you hear in the night, but you may find yourself flipping through old photos. You know. Just to make sure all your friends still exist.

Coming September 24th!

Daughter of Deep Silence by Carrie Ryan

Daughter of Deep Silence pb

Intrigue, lies, and murder on the high seas. Frances Mace is up against it all as she seeks revenge for the death of her family aboard a luxury yacht. And where does her boyfriend fit into this picture? You’ll be dying to turn the page to find out.

About the book:

I’m the daughter of murdered parents.
I’m the friend of a dead girl.
I’m the lover of my enemy.
And I will have my revenge.

In the wake of the devastating destruction of the luxury yacht Persephone, just three souls remain to tell its story—and two of them are lying. Only Frances Mace knows the terrifying truth, and she’ll stop at nothing to avenge the murders of everyone she held dear. Even if it means taking down the boy she loves and possibly losing herself in the process.

 

I Know You Remember by Jennifer Donaldson

I-Know-You-Remember

If the plot twist in Lies You Never Told Me left you staring blankly at a wall for four hours, you’re in luck. Jennifer Donaldson is back, and she’s brought a book full of lies, twists, and thrilling turns. I Know You Remember is hitting shelves this October!

About the book: Zahra Gaines is missing.

After three long years away, Ruthie Hayden arrives in her hometown of Anchorage, Alaska to this devastating news. Zahra was Ruthie’s best friend–the only person who ever really understood her–and she vows to do whatever it takes to find her.

Zahra vanished from a party just days before Ruthie’s return, but the more people she talks to, the more she realizes that the Zahra she knew disappeared long before that fateful night. Gone is the whimsical, artistic girl who loved books and knew Ruthie’s every secret. In her place is an athlete, a partier, a girl with secrets of her own. Darker still are the rumors that something happened to Zahra while Ruthie was gone, something that changed her forever…

As Ruthie desperately tries to piece together the truth, she falls deeper and deeper into her friend’s new world, circling closer to a dangerous revelation about what happened to Zahra in the days before her disappearance–one that might be better off buried.

The Merciless series by Danielle Vega

The Merciless HC

It’s like Mean Girls but…evil. Sofia Flores is just trying to fit in at a new school, but the Devil has other plans. Drawn in by the occult and the allure of friends, she quickly finds herself in over her head in this haunting horror that will keep you up all night… and all the nights to follow.

 

There’s Someone Inside Your House by Stephanie Perkins

There's-Someone-Inside-Your-House

Aside from a title that will haunt your dreams, this book is terrifying. Not to mention, it’s bringing its scares to Netflix!!

About the book: It’s been almost a year since Makani Young came to live with her grandmother in landlocked Nebraska, and she’s still adjusting to her new life. And still haunted by her past in Hawaii.

Then, one by one, the students of her small town high school begin to die in a series of gruesome murders, each with increasing and grotesque flair. As the terror grows closer and the hunt intensifies for the killer, Makani will be forced to confront her own dark secrets.

 

 

The Haunted by Danielle Vega

TheHaunted

The perfect haunted house read you need to make sure you’re equipped with before October. This gripping horror story with a dash of classic ghosty scares and a hint of romance is perfect for reading while you eat all the candy you definitely meant to save for trick or treaters.

 

 

Looking for more recommendations? Here are 10 fictional boarding schools we’d like to attend!

#ShelfGoals

Boxed Sets to Binge Read

If you’re stuck at home and are officially looking for your next series to binge read, we got you. We’ve rounded up a wish list of our fav bingey boxed sets!   John Green: The Complete Collection Box Set Honestly, have tissues on hand. This collection includes paperback editions of Looking for Alaska, An Abundance of Katherines, Paper … Continued
See More

Books to Read for Latinx Heritage Month

September 15-October 15 is Latinx Heritage Month. We’re inviting you to join us in reading stories by Latinx authors–and if you don’t know where to start, here are a few of our recommendations!   We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez A poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, … Continued
See More

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of IMAGINARY BORDERS!

We’ve been spotlighting some of our favorite reads by Latinx authors in honor of #LatinxHeritageMonth, and today we’re sharing an excerpt of Imaginary Borders by Xiuhtezcatl Martinez. In this personal, moving essay, environmental activist and hip-hop artist Xiuhtezcatl Martinez uses his art and his activism to show that climate change is a human issue that can’t be ignored. … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: VICIOUS SPIRITS by Kat Cho

We fell completely in LOVE with Kat Cho’s Wicked Fox last year. And we may be even more in love with its stunning companion novel, Vicious Spirits! Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE As with any tragedy, it came about because he loved. When he was on the cusp of manhood, a young man met a … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi & Fantasy reads to move up on your TBR asap

2020 has brought a LOT of amazing reads to our shelf. Here are just a few of our favorite sci-fi/fantasy reads you’ll want to make sure you didn’t miss!   Want to win them all? Click here to enter our sweepstakes! The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae You will laugh. You will cry. You will … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: WE ARE NOT FROM HERE

We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez is a poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, inspired by current events. Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE   When you live in a place like this, you’re always planning your escape. Even if you don’t know when you’ll go. Even if … Continued
See More

Start reading HARROW LAKE by Kat Elis

Calling all horror movie fans! Harrow Lake is a can’t-put-down, creepy thriller about the daughter of a horror film director who’s not afraid of anything–until she gets to Harrow Lake. Scroll down to start reading! Transcript of interview with Nolan Nox, Director of Nightjar, for Scream Screen magazine (Nightjar twentieth-anniversary special feature) CJL: C. J. Lahey, columnist with Scream Screen NN: Nolan … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of When I Am Through With You

When I Am Through With You by Stephanie Kuehn is a gripping story of survival and the razor’s-edge difference between perfect cruelty and perfect love. Ben Gibson is many things, but he’s not sorry and he’s not a liar. He will tell you exactly about what happened on what started as a simple school camping trip … Continued
See More

Start Reading CHEMICAL HEARTS by Krystal Sutherland!

Chemical Hearts is now streaming on Amazon Prime Video and we are SO excited to see Krystal Sutherland’s gorgeous novel come to life on screen. But in case you still have some catching up to do on reading the book, here’s an excerpt to get you started! About Chemical Hearts: Henry Page has never been in love. He … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP