Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

A definitive list of YA thrillers that will keep you up at night

SHARE

If you’ve been looking for a book that will leave you suspicious of any and everything that goes bump in the night, then look no further. Whether they’re full of mystery, murder, or conspiracy, you can bet these pulse-pounding page turners will leave you wondering why you even bother keeping bookmarks around.

 

People Like Us by Dana Mele

This sharp psychological thriller that’s perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying, People Like Us will have you on the edge of your seat as you try to figure out who’s responsible for the murders, mishaps, and mayhem at Bates Academy. Get your detective hat (and nightlight) on.

About the book: Kay Donovan may have skeletons in her closet, but the past is past, and she’s reinvented herself entirely. Now she’s a star soccer player whose group of gorgeous friends run their private school with effortless popularity and acerbic wit. But when a girl’s body is found in the lake, Kay’s carefully constructed life begins to topple. The dead girl has left Kay a computer-coded scavenger hunt, which, as it unravels, begins to implicate suspect after suspect, until Kay herself is in the crosshairs of a murder investigation. But if Kay’s finally backed into a corner, she’ll do what it takes to survive. Because at Bates Academy, the truth is something you make…not something that happened.

Rules for Vanishing by Kate Alice Marshall

Rules-for-Vanishing

This mix of Stranger Things meets The Blair Witch Project is CHILLING. Not only will it leave you paranoid about every noise you hear in the night, but you may find yourself flipping through old photos. You know. Just to make sure all your friends still exist.

Coming September 24th!

Daughter of Deep Silence by Carrie Ryan

Daughter of Deep Silence pb

Intrigue, lies, and murder on the high seas. Frances Mace is up against it all as she seeks revenge for the death of her family aboard a luxury yacht. And where does her boyfriend fit into this picture? You’ll be dying to turn the page to find out.

About the book:

I’m the daughter of murdered parents.
I’m the friend of a dead girl.
I’m the lover of my enemy.
And I will have my revenge.

In the wake of the devastating destruction of the luxury yacht Persephone, just three souls remain to tell its story—and two of them are lying. Only Frances Mace knows the terrifying truth, and she’ll stop at nothing to avenge the murders of everyone she held dear. Even if it means taking down the boy she loves and possibly losing herself in the process.

 

I Know You Remember by Jennifer Donaldson

I-Know-You-Remember

If the plot twist in Lies You Never Told Me left you staring blankly at a wall for four hours, you’re in luck. Jennifer Donaldson is back, and she’s brought a book full of lies, twists, and thrilling turns. I Know You Remember is hitting shelves this October!

About the book: Zahra Gaines is missing.

After three long years away, Ruthie Hayden arrives in her hometown of Anchorage, Alaska to this devastating news. Zahra was Ruthie’s best friend–the only person who ever really understood her–and she vows to do whatever it takes to find her.

Zahra vanished from a party just days before Ruthie’s return, but the more people she talks to, the more she realizes that the Zahra she knew disappeared long before that fateful night. Gone is the whimsical, artistic girl who loved books and knew Ruthie’s every secret. In her place is an athlete, a partier, a girl with secrets of her own. Darker still are the rumors that something happened to Zahra while Ruthie was gone, something that changed her forever…

As Ruthie desperately tries to piece together the truth, she falls deeper and deeper into her friend’s new world, circling closer to a dangerous revelation about what happened to Zahra in the days before her disappearance–one that might be better off buried.

The Merciless series by Danielle Vega

The Merciless HC

It’s like Mean Girls but…evil. Sofia Flores is just trying to fit in at a new school, but the Devil has other plans. Drawn in by the occult and the allure of friends, she quickly finds herself in over her head in this haunting horror that will keep you up all night… and all the nights to follow.

 

There’s Someone Inside Your House by Stephanie Perkins

There's-Someone-Inside-Your-House

Aside from a title that will haunt your dreams, this book is terrifying. Not to mention, it’s bringing its scares to Netflix!!

About the book: It’s been almost a year since Makani Young came to live with her grandmother in landlocked Nebraska, and she’s still adjusting to her new life. And still haunted by her past in Hawaii.

Then, one by one, the students of her small town high school begin to die in a series of gruesome murders, each with increasing and grotesque flair. As the terror grows closer and the hunt intensifies for the killer, Makani will be forced to confront her own dark secrets.

 

 

The Haunted by Danielle Vega

TheHaunted

The perfect haunted house read you need to make sure you’re equipped with before October. This gripping horror story with a dash of classic ghosty scares and a hint of romance is perfect for reading while you eat all the candy you definitely meant to save for trick or treaters.

 

 

Looking for more recommendations? Here are 10 fictional boarding schools we’d like to attend!

#ShelfGoals

Excerpt Alert: Rebelwing

Happy #FridayReads! Did someone say robot dragons?! This week, we’re reading Rebelwing by Andrea Tang. Read the excerpt below! Chapter 1   The Drop   The whole mess was a long time coming, but the drama really began when the long, sleek snout of a plasma gun interrupted Pru’s breakfast.   “Good morning,” said Alex, black-eyed gaze intent over … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: Devil Darling Spy

If you like an edge of thriller in your historical fiction, we’ve got some good news for you. Devil Darling Spy is hitting shelves January 21! This fast-paced follow-up to Orphan Monster Spy follows Sarah’s perilous journey as she hunts a rogue German doctor in Central Africa who might be a serial murderer. This unbearably high-stakes thriller pushes Sarah to … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of THE BEAUTIFUL by Renée Ahdieh

Vampires are making their comeback in just FIVE DAYS, and we’re celebrating with an excerpt! Scroll down to read the first chapter of Renée Ahdieh’s The Beautiful. 1st février, 1872 aboard the CGT Aramis Not What It Seemed The Aramis was supposed to arrive at first light, like it did in Celine’s dreams. She would wake beneath a sunlit … Continued
See More

6 Books to Cuddle Up With

Winter is the best time to be a reader because no one tries to force you to go outside and be “active,” leaving you with plenty of time to cuddle up with a cup of hot cocoa and a good book. Below are a few of our favorites to get all snuggly with, and the … Continued
See More

6 Reads to Help You Recover from Black Friday

You know that day that comes right after the day we all say how thankful we are for the things we have? The one where everyone runs out and risks life and limb to get half-priced plasma screens and tupperware? Black Friday. It’s one that requires a cup of hot cocoa and a stack of good … Continued
See More

October’s most anticipated reads!

To put it simply, October is a very good month for books. And here are 6 of the most highly anticipated you do NOT want to miss!   The Fountains of Silence by Ruta Sepetys – October 1st If you love historical fiction, stunning prose, and a cover you’ll want to keep turned out to gaze … Continued
See More

Excerpt alert: The Blossom and the Firefly

This week, we’re reading The Blossom and the Firefly by Sherri L. Smith, a powerful WWII romance between two Japanese teens caught in the cogs of an unwinnable war. Scroll down to read the excerpt! Chapter One Hana Japan 1945 My father’s voice wakes me—thick as wool, slightly scratchy. “Get up, Hana. It’s time to get going.” Music … Continued
See More

17 Books That Will Get You Hooked on Historical Fiction

Here’s the thing about reading a life-changing historical fiction novel. Once you read one, there’s no going back. You need to read another. And another. And another. So we decided to share the love and round up 17 reads that will get YOU hooked on historical fiction. (Welcome to the dark side. We have cookies.) … Continued
See More

Halloween may be over, but these 4 books will leave you thoroughly creeped out

We love a good Halloween spook, but the best ones are the scares that last year round, and these top 4 reads will probably be keeping us creeped out well into 2020…   Rules for Vanishing by Kate Alice Marshall BY. FAR. One of the CREEPIEST reads of 2019. Rules for Vanishing is a chilling combination of The Blair Witch … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of FIREBORNE

We’ll make it plain: Fireborne is going to destroy you. It is going to do things to your emotions. It’s going to suck you in with the gutting emotional pull of An Ember in the Ashes and then shock you with Game of Thrones-esque plot twists and battles. And it’s all coming October 15th, scroll down to read the … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP