Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

A definitive list of YA thrillers that will keep you up at night

SHARE

If you’ve been looking for a book that will leave you suspicious of any and everything that goes bump in the night, then look no further. Whether they’re full of mystery, murder, or conspiracy, you can bet these pulse-pounding page turners will leave you wondering why you even bother keeping bookmarks around.

 

People Like Us by Dana Mele

This sharp psychological thriller that’s perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying, People Like Us will have you on the edge of your seat as you try to figure out who’s responsible for the murders, mishaps, and mayhem at Bates Academy. Get your detective hat (and nightlight) on.

About the book: Kay Donovan may have skeletons in her closet, but the past is past, and she’s reinvented herself entirely. Now she’s a star soccer player whose group of gorgeous friends run their private school with effortless popularity and acerbic wit. But when a girl’s body is found in the lake, Kay’s carefully constructed life begins to topple. The dead girl has left Kay a computer-coded scavenger hunt, which, as it unravels, begins to implicate suspect after suspect, until Kay herself is in the crosshairs of a murder investigation. But if Kay’s finally backed into a corner, she’ll do what it takes to survive. Because at Bates Academy, the truth is something you make…not something that happened.

Rules for Vanishing by Kate Alice Marshall

Rules-for-Vanishing

This mix of Stranger Things meets The Blair Witch Project is CHILLING. Not only will it leave you paranoid about every noise you hear in the night, but you may find yourself flipping through old photos. You know. Just to make sure all your friends still exist.

Coming September 24th!

Daughter of Deep Silence by Carrie Ryan

Daughter of Deep Silence pb

Intrigue, lies, and murder on the high seas. Frances Mace is up against it all as she seeks revenge for the death of her family aboard a luxury yacht. And where does her boyfriend fit into this picture? You’ll be dying to turn the page to find out.

About the book:

I’m the daughter of murdered parents.
I’m the friend of a dead girl.
I’m the lover of my enemy.
And I will have my revenge.

In the wake of the devastating destruction of the luxury yacht Persephone, just three souls remain to tell its story—and two of them are lying. Only Frances Mace knows the terrifying truth, and she’ll stop at nothing to avenge the murders of everyone she held dear. Even if it means taking down the boy she loves and possibly losing herself in the process.

 

I Know You Remember by Jennifer Donaldson

I-Know-You-Remember

If the plot twist in Lies You Never Told Me left you staring blankly at a wall for four hours, you’re in luck. Jennifer Donaldson is back, and she’s brought a book full of lies, twists, and thrilling turns. I Know You Remember is hitting shelves this October!

About the book: Zahra Gaines is missing.

After three long years away, Ruthie Hayden arrives in her hometown of Anchorage, Alaska to this devastating news. Zahra was Ruthie’s best friend–the only person who ever really understood her–and she vows to do whatever it takes to find her.

Zahra vanished from a party just days before Ruthie’s return, but the more people she talks to, the more she realizes that the Zahra she knew disappeared long before that fateful night. Gone is the whimsical, artistic girl who loved books and knew Ruthie’s every secret. In her place is an athlete, a partier, a girl with secrets of her own. Darker still are the rumors that something happened to Zahra while Ruthie was gone, something that changed her forever…

As Ruthie desperately tries to piece together the truth, she falls deeper and deeper into her friend’s new world, circling closer to a dangerous revelation about what happened to Zahra in the days before her disappearance–one that might be better off buried.

The Merciless series by Danielle Vega

The Merciless HC

It’s like Mean Girls but…evil. Sofia Flores is just trying to fit in at a new school, but the Devil has other plans. Drawn in by the occult and the allure of friends, she quickly finds herself in over her head in this haunting horror that will keep you up all night… and all the nights to follow.

 

There’s Someone Inside Your House by Stephanie Perkins

There's-Someone-Inside-Your-House

Aside from a title that will haunt your dreams, this book is terrifying. Not to mention, it’s bringing its scares to Netflix!!

About the book: It’s been almost a year since Makani Young came to live with her grandmother in landlocked Nebraska, and she’s still adjusting to her new life. And still haunted by her past in Hawaii.

Then, one by one, the students of her small town high school begin to die in a series of gruesome murders, each with increasing and grotesque flair. As the terror grows closer and the hunt intensifies for the killer, Makani will be forced to confront her own dark secrets.

 

 

The Haunted by Danielle Vega

TheHaunted

The perfect haunted house read you need to make sure you’re equipped with before October. This gripping horror story with a dash of classic ghosty scares and a hint of romance is perfect for reading while you eat all the candy you definitely meant to save for trick or treaters.

 

 

Looking for more recommendations? Here are 10 fictional boarding schools we’d like to attend!

#ShelfGoals

Magical reads to snuggle up with

Sometimes, you just need to escape into a book–and a bit of magic (or, you know, a lot) never hurts! So, here are 13 magical reads we recommend you snuggle up with.   Fireborne by Rosaria Munda Game of Thrones meets Red Rising in a debut young adult fantasy that’s full of rivalry, romance . . . and dragons. … Continued
See More

YA Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

From award winning icons such as Mildred D. Taylor to incredible debut voices such as Amanda Joy, here are some of the Black authors you should be reading.   A Phoenix First Must Burn edited by Patrice Caldwell Sixteen tales by bestselling and award-winning authors that explore the Black experience through fantasy, science fiction, and … Continued
See More

12 Love Stories Gone Wrong

We all love a good love story…but not all love stories necessarily have smooth courses (or happy endings). Come to think of it, a lot of love stories have a few bumps (or 200) along the way. Here are 10 love stories that don’t go quite as you’d expect!   The Love that Split the World by … Continued
See More

Read the first chapter of THE GIRLS I’VE BEEN by Tess Sharpe!

The Girls I’ve Been by Tess Sharpe is feminist, suspenseful thriller, following the daughter of a con artist who is taken hostage in a bank heist—and will need to tap into all her skills in order to survive. And did we mention it’s soon to be a Netflix film starring Millie Bobbie Brown?! Scroll down to read … Continued
See More

Dear Hollywood, These YA Books Are READY!

With the success of recent YA adaptation like Love, Simon, To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before, The Hate U Give and news that a new Harry Potter TV series is in the works– we gotta ask the question: why is Hollywood sleeping on these amazing books that are SCREAMING for adaptation?!   An Ember in the Ashes series … Continued
See More

12 Books to Cuddle Up With

Winter is the best time to be a reader because no one tries to force you to go outside and be “active,” leaving you with plenty of time to cuddle up with a cup of hot cocoa and a good book. Below are a few of our favorites to get all snuggly with, and the … Continued
See More

5 Reasons THE CONFERENCE OF THE BIRDS needs to be next on your TBR

The Desolations of Devil’s Acre is hitting shelves NEXT WEEK! So, we’ve been celebrating the series as we countdown to the finale, and this week we’re talking about The Conference of the Birds. This is Book 5 in the Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children series, and it picks up immediately where A Map of Days (Book 4) … Continued
See More

10 Critically-Acclaimed Novels You Should Have on Your Shelf

 If you’re looking for some incredible reads that will make you think, you’ve come to the right place. Here are 10 of our recommendations for amazing, critically-acclaimed novels you should have on your shelf!   Every Body Looking by Candice Iloh A Finalist for the National Book Award. When Ada leaves home for her freshman year … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of WINTERKEEP by Kristin Cashore!

Winterkeep is the newest installment in Kristin Cashore’s bestselling Graceling Realm series. And whether you’ve read Graceling five times over, or are just hearing about it now, never fear! Each Graceling novel can be read as a stand alone, and we’re here to help you get started on this epic fantasy series with an excerpt! Scroll … Continued
See More

High Stakes Thrillers That Will Keep You Guessing

2020 has had some crazy real-life plot twists (what happened to the murder hornets??) but if you want some fictional thrills, these high stakes books have everything you need, from pirates to reanimated sisters to assassins! And we even added a couple 2021 titles to start your New Year’s reading lists off right.   Rebel … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP