Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

PLOT TWIST! These books will make you question everything you just read

SHARE

Are you ever reading a book when BAM! Plot twist. And not just that, it changes your perspective on ALL the pages before it?

We’ve rounded up some of our favorite, most shocking plot twists in YA that are guaranteed to have you thinking “What just happened?!”

And don’t worry, this whole list is SPOILER-FREE!

 

Warcross by Marie Lu

Warcriss

Oh boy. This plot twist STILL hurts. We won’t spoil, but prepare yourself (and your heart!) to join Emika Chen for a game of Warcross as she hacks her way into its dangerous depths.

Click here for more info about the book!

 

Tell Me My Name by Amy Reed

Tell Me My Name

Get ready! This book hits shelves THIS MARCH! And we promise the twist is worth the wait. We Were Liars meets Speak in this haunting, mesmerizing psychological thriller—a gender-flipped YA Great Gatsby—that will linger long after the final line.

Click here for more info about the book

 

The Girls I’ve Been by Tess Sharpe

girlsivebeen_online

Trust us. You won’t see this one coming. Like, at all. In this feminist, suspenseful thriller the daughter of a con artist is taken hostage in a bank heist—and will need to tap into all her skills in order to survive.

Click here for more info about the book

 

House of Hollow by Krystal Sutherland

HouseOfHollow_BOM_0p.indd

THIS BOOK. Prepare for a dark, twisty modern fairytale where three sisters discover they are not exactly all that they seem and evil things really do go bump in the night, coming this April!

Click here for more info about the book

 

A River of Royal Blood by Amanda Joy

river of royal blood

In this debut from Amanda Joy, two sisters must fight to the death to win the crown. After that ending, we are counting down the DAYS to A Queen of Gilded Horns!

Click here for more info about the book

 

Our Last Echoes by Kate Alice Marshall

Our Last Echoes

This book is a wild ride start to finish, and Kate Alice Marshall never fails to shock us with a huge twist. Rory Power meets Twin Peaks in this supernatural thriller about one girl’s hunt for the truth about her mother’s disappearance, hitting shelves this March!

Click here for more info about the book

 

The Conference of the Birds by Ransom Riggs

Conference-of-the-Birds

Oh boy, did this have a very *peculiar* twist (pun absolutely intended!) And we cannot WAIT to get our hands on the finale, The Desolations of Devil’s Acre, hitting shelves next week!

Click here for more info about the book

 

War Girls by Tochi Onyebuchi

war-girls-cover

Two sisters are torn apart by war and must fight their way back to each other in a futuristic, Black Panther-inspired Nigeria. Prepare to do that thing where you finish the book and then stare blankly at the wall for like an hour, because this one really gets to you.

Click here for more info about the book

 

The Kingdom of Back by Marie Lu

kingdom-of-back-cover

Marie Lu is really good at hurting us with twisty endings, and this is no exception! This historical YA fantasy is about musical prodigy Nannerl Mozart and the dangerous lengths she’ll go to make history remember her.

Click here for more info about the book

 

The Electric Kingdom by David Arnold

The Electric Kingdom

David Arnold’s most ambitious novel to date; Station Eleven meets The 5th Wave in a genre-smashing story of survival, hope, and love amid a ravaged earth. This book have you flipping back back through its pages in full re-read mode long after you’ve finished it!

Click here for more info about the book

 

Wicked Fox by Kat Cho

Wicked-Fox

Romance? Check. Fantasy? Check. Shocking twist? Check. Kat Cho’s debut fantasy romance blew our minds, and honestly, everyone should read it.

Click here for more info about the book

 

 

 

Excited for The Girls I’ve Been? Read the first chapter here!

#WhatsTrending

Books you should be reading while waiting for Shadow and Bone to drop on Netflix

Excited for Shadow & Bone to drop on Netflix this April? SAME. But waiting is hard. So, here are 9 fantasy books we think you should read while you wait!   Fireborne by Rosaria Munda The dragons of Callipolis could certainly give the volcra of the Shadow Fold a run for their money… or would … Continued
See More

See the trailer for The Desolations of Devil’s Acre by Ransom Riggs!

Get ready to say goodbye to Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children. The epic series conclusion The Desolations of Devil’s Acre by Ransom Riggs hits shelves February 23rd! Jacob and his friends will face deadly enemies and race through history’s most dangerous loops in this thrilling page-turner, the final adventure in the beloved series. Scroll down to … Continued
See More

Books to read if you found yourself on Sea Shanty TikTok

Did TikTok get some catchy sea shanties stuck in your head? Come aboard as we set sail with these perfect reads for sea shanty enthusiasts!     Seafire by Natalie C. Parker The first in a heart-stopping trilogy that recalls the undeniable feminine power of Wonder Woman and the powder-keg action of Mad Max: Fury Road, Seafire reminds us of … Continued
See More

To All the Stereotypes I Saw Before: Asian American Representation on Screen by Jennifer Yen

As we bid To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before farewell, Jennifer Yen, author of A Taste for Love, is sharing her thoughts on the Netflix finale To All the Boys: Always and Forever, and Asian American representation on screen. Scroll down to read! Recently, we said a bittersweet farewell to Lara Jean and Peter when Jenny Han’s To All … Continued
See More

Read. Swoon. REPEAT. with these romance reads on Valentine’s Day!

Valentine’s Day is around the corner and love is in the air! If you’re on the hunt for some romance reads this swoony season, read on. From romance in Paris, to newfound love in the midst of a baking competition, there’s a little of everything here!   Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL: Cast in Secrets and Shadow

It’s cover reveal time! Today, we’re revealing the cover for Andrea Robertson’s Cast in Secrets and Shadows. Game of Thrones meets An Ember in the Ashes in the second book in this action-packed fantasy from Andrea Robertson, the internationally bestselling author of the Nightshade series. Following the events of Forged in Fire and Stars, Ara has taken up her mantle as the … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL: The Falling Girls by Hayley Krischer

Today we’re revealing the cover for Hayley Krischer’s new novel, The Falling Girls. From the author of Something Happened to Ali Greenleaf comes another searing, affecting novel that follows one girl caught between two toxic worlds, perfect for fans of Kathleen Glasgow and Nina LaCour. Scroll down to see the cover and read a bit about the book! Illustrator: … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL: Juliet Takes a Breath Paperback!

Juliet Takes a Breath by Gabby Rivera was one of our favorite, groundbreaking novels of 2019. So, we are SO excited to show you the brand new paperback cover, hitting shelves May 11, 2021! Scroll down to see the cover and read a bit about the book! Cover/jacket design: Kelley Brady; Artist: Steffi Walthall   Juliet Milagros … Continued
See More

16 YA Books For Your #Blackathon2021 TBR

Blackathon is one of our favorite read-a-thons of the year, and this month it’s back for round four! Created by BookTuber Jesse from Bowties & Books, #Blackathon2021 centers books and works by Black and African American authors and creators throughout February. You can participate across YouTube, Instagram, and Twitter, so check out the Blackathon Twitter … Continued
See More

Start reading The Electric Kingdom by David Arnold!

We are SO excited for David Arnold’s The Electric Kingdom to hit shelves this February. Station Eleven meets The 5th Wave in a genre-smashing story of survival, hope, and love amid a ravaged earth, and you can start reading it now! When a deadly Fly Flu sweeps the globe, it leaves a shell of the world that once was. Among the … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP