Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

A Sneak Peek of Screen Queens!

SHARE

A word below from the author of Screen Queens, Lori Goldstein!

 

I have a theory that those of us who become writers do so for one reason: because we suck at comebacks.

A snide remark, an insensitive joke, a tease with bite, in person, our heads tilt and our lips thin into a tight smile. But the moment plays on a loop in our mind until we conjure the exact right response. Miles too late.

So instead, we write it down, and our characters get to say what we cannot. Fiction affords the ability to “write” the wrongs done by others, which Lucy, Maddie, and Delia get to do in Screen Queens. But real life isn’t so easy.

Something brought home to me once again during the recent controversy surrounding Katie Bouman and the first-ever image of a black hole. With awe and wonder, I watched first this momentous scientific achievement, followed by the joyous face of a woman who had poured herself into her work, and then the fallout. Bouman is an MIT postdoctoral fellow and part of a group of scientists running Event Horizon Telescope, the effort to capture visual evidence of a black hole. When that evidence appeared, she was touted for her work on the algorithms that helped this feat become a reality.

She was lifted up by those wishing to celebrate the achievements of women in this #MeToo era, and her excited face soon came synonymous with that of female empowerment. Cue the Internet trolls claiming Bouman’s role was inflated because she “does science and happens to have a vagina.”

Bouman quickly acknowledged that she was one of more than two-hundred scientists who all deserve recognition (ironically, a statement that only fed the trolls and one that many believe historically reflects a female tendency to not claim credit).

Still, some say the initial tweets touting Bouman’s work could have done so while also pointing more to the work of the full team. Put Bouman’s own words aside for a moment, and let’s say they are right. Odds are, backlash would have still come. For this #MeToo era is as full as those lifting up as those tearing down.

Words matter—on both sides. And yet honoring Bouman as a symbol of female empowerment is necessary because women in STEM have a long history of not getting their due.

All through the writing of Screen Queens, a novel about three young women who experience sexual discrimination and harassment as part of a technology competition, I came across stories of the accomplishments of women being buried beneath their male counterparts.

Be it Ada Lovelace, the first computer programmer before there were even computers; Hedy Lamarr, who pioneered technology used to guide torpedoes that became the basis for today’s WiFi, GPS, and Bluetooth communication systems; Annie Easley whose work at NASA framed the technological foundation for launching future satellites and space vehicles; and my good friend whose previous life as a coder ended when her male coworkers were promoted while she was secretly told she was the best programmer on the team.

When questions are directed at the males in the room, when meetings to decide project funding are held in strip clubs, when a male colleague sends a female programmer a “sexy legs” costume Web site at Halloween, it becomes clear that words matter but so do pictures.

And the excited face of Katie Bouman achieving a career goal in STEM provides a necessary role model for the next generation of girls to become the future women of science and technology.

 

Scroll down to read an excerpt of Screen Queens!

Screen Queens cover 2

Chapter 13

Fast Track to Unicorn Status

(startups or individuals seen as so smart and on point that they’re on their way to instant success; high rate of false positives)

This was Lucy’s week.

Sure, she could handle some amount of code. She knew enough to be entry level (okay, more than) at most organizations. But this was her domain.

“Can anyone tell me three elements of a business plan?” Nishi asked.

Please.

Lucy’s hand shot up. “Executive summary, business description, products and services, marketing strategy, management team, funding requirements, financial forecast.”

Beside her, Lucy sensed Delia fidgeting. She caught her eye, and Delia mouthed, “market analysis.” Lucy couldn’t believe she forgot. She tipped her head to defer to Delia, but instead of giving the answer, Delia shrunk lower in her seat.

Lucy shrugged and announced it herself.

“Spot on. Even if it was more than three,” Nishi said.

“Aw, leave the little lamb alone, Ms. K,” Gavin called from the back of the room. “Can’t expect a pretty face and a head for numbers.”

From beside Delia, Eric spun around. “In some cases, neither.”

Gavin snorted. “See what happens, boys? A chick on your team makes you soft. Oh, well, not everywhere, right, Shaw?”

Emma sucked in a breath.

“You entitled piece of—” Fists balled, Eric shoved back his chair. Delia set her hand on his forearm, and he turned to her, sat back down, and clamped his mouth shut.

Well, would you look at that.

Nishi locked eyes with Gavin. “I won’t tolerate this in my room, and neither will this program, Mr. Cox. You’re not in high school anymore, and we don’t operate on a warning system. If today’s guest lecture didn’t make this an excellent teaching moment, you’d be out the door already.” His lips parted, and Nishi added, “And yes, I know who your father is. I turned down his funding offer for the second company I founded. I’m on my third, so that was probably an okay decision, wouldn’t you say, Mr. Cox?”

Gavin crossed his arms against his chest.

“Now, benefits of crowdfunding versus those dear VCs like Mr. Cox, Senior?”

Lucy’s hand shot up.

“Anyone other than Lucy?”

No one spoke, and Lucy sat up straighter in her chair.

This was her week.

 

Looking for weekend jams? Checkout the official Four Dead Queens playlist!

#Bookish

Read an excerpt of The Downstairs Girl

Happy #FridayReads! This week, we’re reading The Downstairs Girl by Stacey Lee, a powerful novel about identity, betrayal, and the meaning of family. By day, seventeen-year-old Jo Kuan works as a lady’s maid for the cruel Caroline Payne, the daughter of one of the wealthiest men in Atlanta. But by night, Jo moonlights as the pseudonymous author of … Continued
See More

5 Reasons you’re going to fall in LOVE with Wicked Fox

If you haven’t heard yet, the most epic fantasy-romance is coming out June 25th. Wicked Fox, set in modern day Seoul, promises to deliver fantasy, drama, suspense and romance…what more could you ask for??? We’ve been obsessing over Kat Cho’s debut novel and can’t wait for everyone else to get their hands on it too. So, … Continued
See More

FridayReads: The Grief Keeper

Welcome back to #FridayReads! This week’s excerpt comes from The Grief Keeper, by Alexandra Villasante, a stunning YA debut is a timely and heartfelt speculative narrative about healing, faith, and freedom. Scroll down to read an excerpt! Chapter 1 We believe in luck. The good kind and the cruel. The kind that graces and the kind that … Continued
See More

Book recs for the Greek Gods

In case you didn’t know, Lovely War by Julie Berry is a masterpiece of the Greek Gods intervening in two sweeping love stories caught in the crossfire of World War II. There, we meet Aphrodite, on trial and defending her decision to intervene amongst the mortals in the midsts of Ares, Hephaestus, Apollo, and Hades. Although each … Continued
See More

5 Times Seafire Broke Our Cold Dead Hearts

  ATTENTION ALL READERS: THERE ARE ALL KINDS OF SPOILERS FOR SEAFIRE AHEAD via GIPHY Additional warning: this is going to hurt.   So here’s the thing: via GIPHY Seafire got a glow up, and that meant it was time for a re-read. Which was a good reminder that apparently this book thought it would be … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of The Art of Breaking Things

The Art of Breaking Things by Laura Sibson is the stunning story of one girl who embraces the power of her voice: rules are meant to be broken and she won’t stay silent. With the help of her best friend and the only boy she’s ever trusted, Skye might just find the courage she needs to let … Continued
See More

#FridayReads: The Virtue of Sin

Happy #FridayReads! This week’s excerpt comes from The Virtue of Sin by Shannon Schuren, a compelling novel about speaking out, standing up, and breaking free, and perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale! Scroll down to start reading! Chapter 1 The girls never get a choice. Recite your Prayers, report for Lessons, respect your Elders. Do unto others and … Continued
See More

A Playlist Inspired by TURTLES ALL THE WAY DOWN

Sometimes when you read a book, a playlist starts instantly forming in your mind, whether inspired by the characters, the mood, your personal reactions, or a combination of them all. That’s how we felt after reading John Green’s new book, Turtles All the Way Down. Each individual’s experience with a book is unique, but here is … Continued
See More

Best of Bookstagram: Turtles All the Way Down

Prepare your eyeballs, it’s #bookstagram time and we found some beauties we just can’t resist sharing of John Green’s Turtles All the Way Down!   From the simplicity of a brick wall and portrait mode: View this post on Instagram 🐢🐢🐢 John Green’s #TurtlesAllTheWayDown is now available in paperback! TURTLES tells the story of Aza Holmes, … Continued
See More

5 books to read if you loved WARCROSS

If you loved Warcross (and if Wildcard BROKE YOU) then we have a few more recommendations for your TBR!   1. Girl Gone Viral by Arvin Ahmadi If you wanted to never leave the VR experience of Warcross, you’ll love the enticing VR world of Girl Gone Viral. Girl Gone Viral is the inventive and hauntingly timely story of a seventeen-year-old … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP