Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Read an excerpt of The Art of Breaking Things

SHARE

The Art of Breaking Things by Laura Sibson is the stunning story of one girl who embraces the power of her voice: rules are meant to be broken and she won’t stay silent. With the help of her best friend and the only boy she’s ever trusted, Skye might just find the courage she needs to let her art speak for her when she’s out of words. After years of hiding her past, she must become her own best ally.

Scroll down to read an excerpt!

ArtofBreakingThings_final-cov

“You want to get out of here?” I ask.

“Yeah, okay.” She pulls out her phone. “Where do you want to go? Jeremy’s? Or maybe the quarry?”

“I want to go somewhere different. Will you be my wing­woman?”

“Always.” Luisa slides her phone into her pocket.

I’m wearing black leggings and I grab a black hoodie. My hair is already dark, so I don’t bother covering it.

“Are we robbing a bank?” Luisa asks.

“No,” I say, but not in a convincing way.

“I can’t get arrested.”

“I don’t think you will,” I say. “You can stay in the car.”

“Oh, shit. Then you better lend me some dark clothes.”

I gather all my Post-its and some markers and heavy-duty tape because the Post-its might not stick. I shove everything into a back­pack and sling it across my back. Then I place a step stool outside the back door.

“I admit that you’ve got my attention,” Luisa says.

I smile at her and gesture for us to go.

“Mom, we’re going out for a little bit,” I say when we emerge from the basement.

They’ve put away Scrabble and they’re setting up Settlers of Catan.

“But I like the random board,” Emma says.

“This time we’ll use the one in the rulebook. We can try a ran­dom board next time,” Dan says, placing the pieces according to a diagram he holds in one hand.

“Where are you going?” Mom asks.

“Over to Sal’s.”

Luisa side-eyes me, but she says nothing.

“Be back by midnight.”

Dan looks up from his orchestration. “Still not dressing appro­priately for the weather, I see,” he says, and I remember that night with the broken plate.

I zip my hoodie to my neck. “Nope, guess not.”

After I retrieve the step stool and we get into Luisa’s car, I tell her to drive toward Sal’s.

“You know that Sal’s is closed now, right?” Luisa says.

“We’re not going to Sal’s. Just head toward Sal’s.”

We park behind the long low building where we always park for our diner shifts.

“Are you going to paint that wall like you said?”

I look at the bland concrete wall. “No, that’s way too big of a job for now. I have something more . . . temporary in mind. Also, we’re doing it out front.”

“I don’t want to stay in the car,” Luisa says.

“I could use your help,” I say. “And I guess we’ll just run if we have to.” I hope that I’m kidding, but I’ve never done this before.

Around the front of the building, the lights of Sal’s diner are out except for the broken neon sign. The shops and restaurants of our town are asleep. Cars rush by on the main street that the strip mall faces. They pay no attention to two girls in dark clothes, one carrying a step stool and the other a large bag. I stop in front of the storefront next to Sal’s that’s been empty for months. I stare at it for a moment until the image emerges for me.

“Start a bottom row. Here.” I hand Luisa a stack of yellow Post-it notes.

“I’m not an artist!” she protests.

“You know how to stick Post-it notes, don’t you?”

She stares at the huge window. “I guess?”

“Stick them in a nice straight line. That’s all you need to do.”

I choose the electric blue notes and start working on the concept I’m holding in my mind. When Luisa is finished with the bottom, I start her on the sides. It’s a good thing we brought the step stool, but a ladder would have been even better. We’ll only be able to reach so high. I keep working, stepping back from time to time to check how it’s coming together.

“This is so calming,” Luisa says, pressing yellow square after yellow square. “Except for the fact that I’m nervous we’re going to get caught.”

“Yeah, it’s a combo of conflicting feelings,” I say as I adjust some Post-its to achieve the effect I’m imagining and then continue to work, slowly covering the broad sheet of glass.

“Skye, I love it!” Luisa exclaims when she sees the picture emerging.

Covering an entire storefront window takes more time than I’d expected. And a ton of Post-it notes. When the glass is covered as far as we can reach, I step back one last time to see how it’s come along. I’ve never created something so big or so public. Luisa was right, pressing the Post-its had a calming effect, quieting the worry and confusion in my mind. But knowing we could get caught had gotten my adrenaline pumping in a way that I liked even better than that coke before the concert. The best thing, though, is seeing the mural we’d created huge and bright against the dark night, shouting to anyone who takes a moment to glance this way.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Miss last week’s excerpt? Start reading As Many Nows as I Can Get here!

#Bookish

Books to #ReadPrideAndBeyond all year long!

June may be coming to an end, but we hope you remember to #ReadPrideAndBeyond all year long. Here are just a few reads to look forward to!     Darius the Great Deserves Better by Adib Khorram – August 25 In this companion to the award-winning Darius the Great Is Not Okay, Darius suddenly has it all: … Continued
See More

Beware: these books will keep you up at night

Spooky season may not be for a little while yet, but we here at Penguin Teen are all about the year-round spooks. So if you’re looking for the next read that’s going to have you either buying a nightlight or bidding sleep adieu altogether, read on! 👻   Rules for Vanishing by Kate Alice Marshall   … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of VERONA COMICS!

From the author of Hot Dog Girl comes a fresh and funny queer YA contemporary novel about two teens who fall in love in an indie comic book shop. Scroll down to read an excerpt of Verona Comics! Chapter One Jubilee “You look like you’re being tortured,” Jayla says. “This is supposed to be fun.” Easy to … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: The Boy in the Red Dress

In continuation of our #ReadPrideAndBeyond celebration, we’re sharing an excerpt from The Boy in the Red Dress by Kristin Lambert, a rollicking romp of truth, lies, and troubled pasts. New Year’s Eve, 1929. Millie is running the show at the Cloak & Dagger, a swinging speakeasy in the French Quarter, while her aunt is out of town. The new … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of They Wish They Were Us!

They Wish They Were Us is one of 2020’s hottest upcoming books and we need to talk.about.it. Imagine this: Gossip Girl + One of Us Is Lying with just a dash of The Secret History. That gives us this thrilling murder mystery set against the backdrop of an exclusive prep school on Long Island. Scroll down to read the excerpt!   Chapter … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: THE UNLEASHED

If The Haunted terrified you last summer, get ready! In the chilling sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that even though Steele House is gone, the hauntings in Drearfield are far from over — and it’s up to her to stop them. Scroll down to start reading the sequel, The Unleashed! The clock beside Samantha Davidson’s bed read 3:17 … Continued
See More

Black Booktubers You Should Be Following

Here is a list of just a few of the Black booktubers you should definitely be following.   Books with Brandie Shanae Follow here   Britney, Melanin Eclectic Follow here   Ochuole, Oh She Reads Follow here   Myonna, Myonna Reads Follow here   Peta-Gay, Comfy Cozy Up Follow here   Justin, Ghost Reader Follow … Continued
See More

Read the first 4 chapters of BEYOND THE BREAK

For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, if you count her faith… and that’s where things may get complicated. Scroll down to read the excerpt! Chapter One The first time a guy felt me up was in the … Continued
See More

Every Book Hitting Shelves in June

Here’s a sneak peek of what’s hitting shelves this June!   6/2: Jo & Laurie by Melissa de la Cruz and Margaret Stohl – Bestselling authors Margaret Stohl and Melissa de la Cruz bring us a romantic retelling of Little Women starring Jo March and her best friend, the boy next door, Theodore “Laurie” Laurence.   6/2: Beyond … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: Forged in Fire and Stars

Forged in Fire and Stars by Andrea Robertson just hit shelves and we’re sharing an excerpt! Games of Thrones meets An Ember in the Ashes in this action-packed fantasy from the internationally bestselling author of the Nightshade series. Ara has always known the legend of the Loresmith: the blacksmith who served alongside the kings and queens of Saetlund, forging legendary … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP