Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Read an excerpt of The Art of Breaking Things

SHARE

The Art of Breaking Things by Laura Sibson is the stunning story of one girl who embraces the power of her voice: rules are meant to be broken and she won’t stay silent. With the help of her best friend and the only boy she’s ever trusted, Skye might just find the courage she needs to let her art speak for her when she’s out of words. After years of hiding her past, she must become her own best ally.

Scroll down to read an excerpt!

ArtofBreakingThings_final-cov

“You want to get out of here?” I ask.

“Yeah, okay.” She pulls out her phone. “Where do you want to go? Jeremy’s? Or maybe the quarry?”

“I want to go somewhere different. Will you be my wing­woman?”

“Always.” Luisa slides her phone into her pocket.

I’m wearing black leggings and I grab a black hoodie. My hair is already dark, so I don’t bother covering it.

“Are we robbing a bank?” Luisa asks.

“No,” I say, but not in a convincing way.

“I can’t get arrested.”

“I don’t think you will,” I say. “You can stay in the car.”

“Oh, shit. Then you better lend me some dark clothes.”

I gather all my Post-its and some markers and heavy-duty tape because the Post-its might not stick. I shove everything into a back­pack and sling it across my back. Then I place a step stool outside the back door.

“I admit that you’ve got my attention,” Luisa says.

I smile at her and gesture for us to go.

“Mom, we’re going out for a little bit,” I say when we emerge from the basement.

They’ve put away Scrabble and they’re setting up Settlers of Catan.

“But I like the random board,” Emma says.

“This time we’ll use the one in the rulebook. We can try a ran­dom board next time,” Dan says, placing the pieces according to a diagram he holds in one hand.

“Where are you going?” Mom asks.

“Over to Sal’s.”

Luisa side-eyes me, but she says nothing.

“Be back by midnight.”

Dan looks up from his orchestration. “Still not dressing appro­priately for the weather, I see,” he says, and I remember that night with the broken plate.

I zip my hoodie to my neck. “Nope, guess not.”

After I retrieve the step stool and we get into Luisa’s car, I tell her to drive toward Sal’s.

“You know that Sal’s is closed now, right?” Luisa says.

“We’re not going to Sal’s. Just head toward Sal’s.”

We park behind the long low building where we always park for our diner shifts.

“Are you going to paint that wall like you said?”

I look at the bland concrete wall. “No, that’s way too big of a job for now. I have something more . . . temporary in mind. Also, we’re doing it out front.”

“I don’t want to stay in the car,” Luisa says.

“I could use your help,” I say. “And I guess we’ll just run if we have to.” I hope that I’m kidding, but I’ve never done this before.

Around the front of the building, the lights of Sal’s diner are out except for the broken neon sign. The shops and restaurants of our town are asleep. Cars rush by on the main street that the strip mall faces. They pay no attention to two girls in dark clothes, one carrying a step stool and the other a large bag. I stop in front of the storefront next to Sal’s that’s been empty for months. I stare at it for a moment until the image emerges for me.

“Start a bottom row. Here.” I hand Luisa a stack of yellow Post-it notes.

“I’m not an artist!” she protests.

“You know how to stick Post-it notes, don’t you?”

She stares at the huge window. “I guess?”

“Stick them in a nice straight line. That’s all you need to do.”

I choose the electric blue notes and start working on the concept I’m holding in my mind. When Luisa is finished with the bottom, I start her on the sides. It’s a good thing we brought the step stool, but a ladder would have been even better. We’ll only be able to reach so high. I keep working, stepping back from time to time to check how it’s coming together.

“This is so calming,” Luisa says, pressing yellow square after yellow square. “Except for the fact that I’m nervous we’re going to get caught.”

“Yeah, it’s a combo of conflicting feelings,” I say as I adjust some Post-its to achieve the effect I’m imagining and then continue to work, slowly covering the broad sheet of glass.

“Skye, I love it!” Luisa exclaims when she sees the picture emerging.

Covering an entire storefront window takes more time than I’d expected. And a ton of Post-it notes. When the glass is covered as far as we can reach, I step back one last time to see how it’s come along. I’ve never created something so big or so public. Luisa was right, pressing the Post-its had a calming effect, quieting the worry and confusion in my mind. But knowing we could get caught had gotten my adrenaline pumping in a way that I liked even better than that coke before the concert. The best thing, though, is seeing the mural we’d created huge and bright against the dark night, shouting to anyone who takes a moment to glance this way.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Miss last week’s excerpt? Start reading As Many Nows as I Can Get here!

#Bookish

Read an excerpt of The Downstairs Girl

Happy #FridayReads! This week, we’re reading The Downstairs Girl by Stacey Lee, a powerful novel about identity, betrayal, and the meaning of family. By day, seventeen-year-old Jo Kuan works as a lady’s maid for the cruel Caroline Payne, the daughter of one of the wealthiest men in Atlanta. But by night, Jo moonlights as the pseudonymous author of … Continued
See More

5 Reasons you’re going to fall in LOVE with Wicked Fox

If you haven’t heard yet, the most epic fantasy-romance is coming out June 25th. Wicked Fox, set in modern day Seoul, promises to deliver fantasy, drama, suspense and romance…what more could you ask for??? We’ve been obsessing over Kat Cho’s debut novel and can’t wait for everyone else to get their hands on it too. So, … Continued
See More

FridayReads: The Grief Keeper

Welcome back to #FridayReads! This week’s excerpt comes from The Grief Keeper, by Alexandra Villasante, a stunning YA debut is a timely and heartfelt speculative narrative about healing, faith, and freedom. Scroll down to read an excerpt! Chapter 1 We believe in luck. The good kind and the cruel. The kind that graces and the kind that … Continued
See More

Book recs for the Greek Gods

In case you didn’t know, Lovely War by Julie Berry is a masterpiece of the Greek Gods intervening in two sweeping love stories caught in the crossfire of World War II. There, we meet Aphrodite, on trial and defending her decision to intervene amongst the mortals in the midsts of Ares, Hephaestus, Apollo, and Hades. Although each … Continued
See More

5 Times Seafire Broke Our Cold Dead Hearts

  ATTENTION ALL READERS: THERE ARE ALL KINDS OF SPOILERS FOR SEAFIRE AHEAD via GIPHY Additional warning: this is going to hurt.   So here’s the thing: via GIPHY Seafire got a glow up, and that meant it was time for a re-read. Which was a good reminder that apparently this book thought it would be … Continued
See More

#FridayReads: As Many Nows as I Can Get

It’s that wonderful time of the week again: FRIDAY READS! We are super excited to share an excerpt from As Many Nows as I Can Get by Shana Youngdahl with you. Moving between the present and the past, As Many Nows as I Can Get is the story of a seemingly grounded girl who’s pulled into a lightning-strike romance … Continued
See More

#FridayReads: The Virtue of Sin

Happy #FridayReads! This week’s excerpt comes from The Virtue of Sin by Shannon Schuren, a compelling novel about speaking out, standing up, and breaking free, and perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale! Scroll down to start reading! Chapter 1 The girls never get a choice. Recite your Prayers, report for Lessons, respect your Elders. Do unto others and … Continued
See More

A Playlist Inspired by TURTLES ALL THE WAY DOWN

Sometimes when you read a book, a playlist starts instantly forming in your mind, whether inspired by the characters, the mood, your personal reactions, or a combination of them all. That’s how we felt after reading John Green’s new book, Turtles All the Way Down. Each individual’s experience with a book is unique, but here is … Continued
See More

Best of Bookstagram: Turtles All the Way Down

Prepare your eyeballs, it’s #bookstagram time and we found some beauties we just can’t resist sharing of John Green’s Turtles All the Way Down!   From the simplicity of a brick wall and portrait mode: View this post on Instagram 🐢🐢🐢 John Green’s #TurtlesAllTheWayDown is now available in paperback! TURTLES tells the story of Aza Holmes, … Continued
See More

5 books to read if you loved WARCROSS

If you loved Warcross (and if Wildcard BROKE YOU) then we have a few more recommendations for your TBR!   1. Girl Gone Viral by Arvin Ahmadi If you wanted to never leave the VR experience of Warcross, you’ll love the enticing VR world of Girl Gone Viral. Girl Gone Viral is the inventive and hauntingly timely story of a seventeen-year-old … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP