Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Readers who are LOVING The Fountains of Silence by Ruta Sepetys!

SHARE

The Fountains of Silence by Ruta Sepetys is quickly becoming a 2019 favorite, and it’s pretty easy to see why.

 

From this heartfelt review

Screen Shot 2019-10-18 at 4.26.47 PM

 

 

to this extremely relatable tweet

 

From the short and sweet

 

to THE TEARS

Screen Shot 2019-10-18 at 4.26.19 PM

 

You don’t have to look far to find the love for the legendary Ruta Sepetys


View this post on Instagram

The Fountains of Silence ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ ⁣ ⁣ @rutasepetysauthor has done it again. The Fountains of Silence is a stunning story that explores post-civil war Spain. Like Ruta’s other books, The Fountains of Silence delves into little known moments of history and tells a beautiful story full of tragedy, love, and hope. ⁣ ⁣ The Fountains of Silence will be released October 1st! I highly recommend you pick it up! ⁣ ⁣ Check out my review for The Fountains of Silence ~ link in bio!! ⁣ ⁣ #rutasepetys #thefountainsofsilence #betweenshadesofgrey #outoftheeasy #salttothesea #penguinrandomhouse #philomelbooks #bookreview #talesofanavidreader #bookstagram #bookstagramfeature #booksofinstagram #bookstagrammer #bookishfeature #bookishfeatures #mybookfeatures #bookblog #bookreviewer #booknerd #booklover #bookworm

A post shared by Tales of an Avid Reader (@talesofanavidreader) on

 

And we can confirm the dog in this photo must have very good taste in books


View this post on Instagram

Review: The Fountains of Silence by Ruta Sepetys, ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⁣ ⁣ This came highly recommended from @meagansbookclub and her 5⭐️ review convinced me to move this to the top of my list and I’m so glad I did! ⁣ ⁣ This takes place in Madrid, 1957, during the fascist dictatorship of General Francisco Franco. Tourists and foreign businessmen are heading to Spain, including Daniel Matheson, son of a Texas oil tycoon. He is a young photographer and meets Ana, who works in the hotel he’s staying at and she introduces him to different aspects of the culture there. ⁣ ⁣ I did not know much about the dictatorship of General Francisco Franco in Spain or what the people of Spain lived through during his rule and how far it extended. There were some chilling descriptions of what the people had to endure and keep quiet and it deeply saddened me.⁣ ⁣ The characters were challenged by their family and societal needs, their struggles were poignant and deep, and the need to keep secrets hidden was of life or death for some. Ana and Daniel’s love story was so lovely and I really enjoyed their journey and those that supported them. ⁣ ⁣ This had a similar story line as in Before We Were Yours and it was heartbreaking to learn more about how this impacted over 300,000 families under Franco’s dictatorship.⁣ ⁣ Clocking in at 500 pages, this book initially overwhelmed me, but, they are extremely short chapters, told in alternating POVs. Don’t let the size of this one feel daunting or that this is YA turn you away. ⁣ ⁣ Oh! And these are pumpkin chocolate maple glazed bites! One of my favorite fall treats to bake! ⁣ ⁣ I’d love to read more YA, what are some of your favorites of lesser known reads? I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson is my favorite and I love recommending this one! ⁣ ⁣ ⁣ ⁣ ⁣ ⁣ ⁣ ⁣ ⁣ #thefountainsofsilence #rutasepetys #bookstagram #bookstagrammer #bookishladiesclub #lovereading #octoberreads #bookstagram #bookclubofinstagram #bibliophile #booknerd #girlsquadreads #igreads #bookwineandmetime

A post shared by Hannah (@booksandbitesroc) on

 

This cat too

 

One thing is for certain

 

The Fountains of Silence is an instant favorite, and we can’t wait for more Ruta!

 

 

 

 

 

Check out the top 5 quotes from Frankly in Love we’re frankly in love with!

#ReaderLove

Best of Bookstagram: THE KINGDOM OF BACK

You’ve probably noticed one of the most gorgeous covers of 2020 rolling around bookstagram, and we couldn’t help but round some of our favorites up to share! Marie Lu’s The Kingdom of Back follows the untold story of Nannerl Mozart. Born with a gift for music, Nannerl Mozart has just one wish–to be remembered forever. But … Continued
See More

What to read while desperately waiting for P.S. I Still Love You

The first look photos for P.S. I Still Love You on Netflix are in and WE HAVE A LOT OF FEELINGS.   P.S. I Still Love You first looks…are y’all ready?! https://t.co/9LHm3S06s3 pic.twitter.com/sE5MLLosUV — Jenny Han (@jennyhan) December 12, 2019 More Lara Jean? First love? Friends to lovers? We need it. But waiting is hard, … Continued
See More

Quotes from Frankly in Love we’re frankly in love with

Frankly in Love is quickly making its way onto the instant YA classics list, and one of our favorite things about it is that it’s one of those books with The Quotes. The ones you want to pluck out and either hang on a wall or sew on a pillow. Either way, we love these lines and … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL: We Walked the Sky Paperback Cover!

We Walked the Sky by Lisa Fiedler has a new cover and it’s pretty hard to take your eyes off it 👀 Check out the new paperback cover below!     New to We Walked the Sky? Here’s a bit about the book!   In 1965 seventeen-year-old Victoria, having just escaped an unstable home, flees to the ultimate … Continued
See More

Best of #Bookstagram: Juliet Takes a Breath

Welcome back to Best of #Bookstagram! This week, we’re sharing our favorite photos that we’ve seen lately of Gabby Rivera’s Juilet Takes a Breath, the story of Juliet learning what it means to come out–to the world, to her family, and to herself.   From this simple beauty, View this post on Instagram A post shared by Allison … Continued
See More

A Beginner’s Guide to Ruta Sepetys Books

With more than 1 million copies of her books in print, the critically acclaimed Ruta Sepetys is known for her uncanny ability to uncover some of the darkest corners of history, and tell their stories. But in case you’re new here, it’s time we introduce you to the Queen of Heart-wrenching Historical Fiction. So, think … Continued
See More

People who are sooo not prepared for THE CONFERENCE OF THE BIRDS

The Conference of the Birds, aka the fifth installment in Ransom Riggs’s Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children Series, is getting ready to bless our shelves and we cannot WAIT. A Map of Days left us reeling with MANY questions, and they’re all getting answered this Tuesday! But first, here are just a few fans who are not … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: ALL THE DAYS PAST, ALL THE DAYS TO COME

Welcome back to #FridayReads! This week we’re reading All the Days Past, All the Days to Come by Mildred D. Taylor. The saga of the Logan family–made famous in the Newbery Medal-winning Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry–concludes in a long-awaited and deeply fulfilling story. Scroll down to read the excerpt! Moe and Henry were waiting for us … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: The Last Confession of Autumn Casterly

Happy #FridayReads! This week, we’re reading The Last Confession of Autumn Casterly by Meredith Tate, perfect for fans of If I Stay and One of Us is Lying. Read the excerpt below! Autumn On a scale of one to ten, my desire to talk to the cops who’ve spent the last twenty minutes digging through my locker is a raging neg-ative … Continued
See More

A definitive list of YA books for Scorpios

It’s Scorpio season so we made a list of books that will hopefully distract all the Scorpios from burning the world down (written by a Scorpio.)   Rules for Vanishing by Kate Alice Marshall Scorpios are EASILY bored. Like, really, really easily. And when we get bored, we plot. Or hold grudges. That’s why Scorpios should … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP