Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

7 Reasons to Read a Graphic Novel This Weekend

SHARE

Books are wonderful, and we’re so lucky to live in a world that offers so many different kinds of reading experiences – from physical books to audio books, picture books to novels, readers have their pick when it comes to how to enjoy a good story. But this weekend, you should consider picking up a graphic novel if you haven’t before, and especially if it’s an art form you already love! What’s that? Need a few reasons you say? We’ve got you covered. 😉

 

1. Graphic novels are fast paced and fun!

giphy-1

Comics and graphic novels are tons of fun to read, and if you’re trying to boost your reading count and cut down on your TBR pile, graphic novels are the perfect solution! It usually take between 2-6 hours to read a graphic novel, even for slow readers, as there are fewer words and more images, which our brains are able to process at a faster rate. Plus, with all that time you’ll save you can read EVEN MORE!

 

2. Stunning art is a feast for your eyes

As they say, a picture is worth a thousand words, and with the honestly breathtaking quality of so many graphic novels you’ll feel like you’re in an art museum! But like, the world’s comfiest art museum ever because you’re actually reading in bed and this gorgeous art is in your hands OMG.

 

3. You just might learn something!

more

Just like SciShow and Crash Course have helped revolutionize the way we learn through video, graphic novels can help us learn about the past as well! With historical biographies about Martin Luther King Jr. or Mahatma Gandhi, history has never been more accessible and reader-friendly. No more achingly dull biographies or endless minutiae being droned on about in text books, graphic novels provide a more humanist element to the past than ever before, and makes it even more relevant to the people of today.

 

4. Graphic novels make you smarter

giphy

According to research from some very VERY smart people at California State University Northridge, not only does reading graphic novels increase your vocabulary, sometimes the language used in graphic novels is even more advanced than what’s used in books! This is because the art does not replace language, it works in concert with it, and as such word choice can be even more important when it’s being used to contextualize an image or create an impact.

 

5. They cover a wide variety of topics

Graphic novels don’t just cover superheroes and sci-fi/fantasy stories (though we do love the ones that do) they can also give us a view into history, or explore what it’s like to be in love, or even work as a medium for a memoir. Just like books and movies and television have examples in every genre, so too do graphic novels – there’s guaranteed to be one out there that fits your taste!

 

6. Visual literacy is just as important as verbal literacy

Let’s face it, as much as we love books and articles and tweets, so much of the media we consume isn’t written, it’s visual. It’s just as important for us to develop the skills that let us think critically about the images we see and what they could mean. As famed graphic novelist Scott McCloud talks about, graphic novels “give you something to see in the panels, and something to imagine between the panels”. This exercise of imagination is the same kind of work our brains do when imagining a scene out of a novel, and it’s exciting that graphic novel are able to conjure this same magic as well!

 

7. The I AM GANDHI graphic novel came out this week!

I Am Gandhi

And this is definitely one you don’t want to miss! Featuring art from some of the best illustrators working in comics today, this stunning recollection of the life and accomplishments of Mahatma Gandhi is a can’t miss. It’s got stunning art, history, inspiration, and so much more!

 

 

 

Looking to do something else fun this weekend? Why not pick up a book and reread!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#Bookish

Excerpt Alert: THE BEST LAID PLANS

We are already SWOONING over Cameron Lund’s debut, The Best Laid Plans. This hilarious and heartfelt story follows Keely Collins as she takes on first loves, first friends, and first times in this sweet, sex-positive rom-com for fans of Meg Cabot and Jenny Han. Let’s get to the excerpt! CHAPTER THREE “Now that I’m a woman, … Continued
See More

Your Historical Fiction TBR

If you’re always on the lookout for that special book that transports to an older world the second you turn the page, we have a few recommendations you’ll definitely want on your list! Welcome to your historical fiction TBR!   Orphan Monster Spy by Matt Killeen This is the fast-paced immersive thriller read you need to … Continued
See More

Best of Bookstagram: All the Days Past, All the Days to Come

It is only JANUARY and one thing is very clear: 2020 is raising the bar on covers across the board. Exhibit A: All the Days Past, All the Days to Come. Aside from being an incredible read and long-awaited finale to the Logan Family series, this book is just plain beautiful. Here are some of … Continued
See More

Best of Bookstagram: THE VANISHING DEEP

It’s time for Best of Bookstagram! We’ve been seeing a lot of gorgeous photos of Astrid Scholte’s new novel, The Vanishing Deep, as well as the GORGEOUS glow-up of her debut Four Dead Queens, and couldn’t help but share some of our favorites! The Vanishing Deep follows seventeen-year-old Tempe, who was born into a world of water. When the … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: SOURCES SAY by Lori Goldstein

Cover reveal time! Sources Say by Lori Goldstein is a funny, heartfelt novel about feuding exes running for class president and the scandal that makes the previously boring school election the newest trending hashtag. Two exes. One election. All the drama. At Acedia High School outside of Boston, student council has always been nothing more than a popularity contest. Nobody … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of They Wish They Were Us!

They Wish They Were Us is one of 2020’s hottest upcoming books and we need to talk.about.it. Imagine this: Gossip Girl + One of Us Is Lying with just a dash of The Secret History. That gives us this thrilling murder mystery set against the backdrop of an exclusive prep school on Long Island. Scroll down to read the excerpt!     … Continued
See More

Why THE CONFERENCE OF THE BIRDS needs to be on your shelf NOW

Hey book friends! It’s James from Penguin Teen, and I’m back to share why I picked The Conference of the Birds as my book of the month for January! Here’s our book haul for this month, in case you haven’t had a chance to watch it yet:   Where are my Peregrine fans at? This … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: THE AFTERWARD by E.K. Johnston got a glow-up!

If you fell head over heels for the romantic high fantasy The Afterward last year from E.K. Johnston, bestselling author of Star Wars: Ahsoka and Exit, Pursued by a Bear, then GET READY! Because it’s making a comeback with an all new cover and it. is. STUNNING! Are your eyeballs ready? Yes? Here you go. I KNOW RIGHT?! In … Continued
See More

Why you need to read DEVIL DARLING SPY like ASAP

Hey everyone! Joy from Penguin Teen here to talk about my favorite read of this month, Devil Darling Spy. In case you missed this month’s book haul, I’ll leave it below! ON WITH THE BOOK. In case this if the first time you’re hearing about it, Devil Darling Spy is the sequel to Orphan Monster Spy–and before you say anything, … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: FLY LIKE A GIRL

Happy #FridayReads! This week, we’re reading Fly Girl Like a Girl by Mary Jennings Hegar, the inspiring true story of a brave and determined woman who gave her all for her country, her sense of justice, and for women everywhere. Soon to be a major motion picture! Scroll down to read the excerpt. PROLOGUE I glanced out the … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP