Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Recapping Game of Thrones: Final Season, Episode 2

SHARE

WHO’S READY FOR A HOPELESS BATTLE AGAINST AN INVINCIBLE ARMY OF THE DEAD?

Everyone, apparently.

Welcome to Winterfell, home of some truly downcast prognosticators. This episode—which is destined to be followed by one of the longest, costliest, and most soul-crushing battle sequences in entertainment history next week—felt like one long farewell scene with a dozen different actors. At this point, I don’t know who is going to die, so I’ll just be safe and say everyone. Literally everyone will die next week. But first, on to the highlights of “A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms”, which, to anyone who watched it, is enough to make you start ugly crying right now.

 

  1. Seeing the push again in the recap. Oy. Jaime Lannister. You really did shove Bran out that window. I would have been way less cool about things, but Bran seems to believe he’s the most important player in the coming battle between the living and the dead (???), so I guess he has to let a few things go. He could have EASILY sunk Jaime during his trial by Sansa and Daenerys, but he let Brienne save the Kingslayer through a top-notch vouching. I think one of those three is done-zo in the fight to come, but I hope not. (But if it’s any one them, let it be Coachella Bran. Dude needs to rejoin a tree already.)

 

  1. Brienne remains the best. Ser Brienne, I should say. First she saves the Kingslayer through Sansa’s total belief in her strength of character, then she’s given control over the left flank in the coming battle due to her military prowess, and then she gets knighted by her former enemy because she such an inspiring, decent, incredible super-human. Please don’t let this have been a long goodbye to one the most fully developed characters in Westeros. I’m not having it.

 

  1. They’re going to hide in the crypt. To fight an ice warlock who can raise the dead through pure swag. Um, what? Watch your back, Tyrion. (Maybe we’ll get to see Sean Bean again? Or at least his torso? When Tyrion said glumly to Jaime, “So we’re all going to die. At Winterfell.” I was nodding unhappily.)

 

  1. Arya gets the hookup we all cringed to watch. I mean, I have no problem with this crypt hookup, story-wise—she and Gendry were a thing made to be, and Arya’s now an adult fully capable of making her own choices. But that’s my child assassin from way back. I’m happy for her, but I went to get more chips just then. Also, she better not die.

 

  1. Jorah Mormont. Still don’t like him, and he needs to step back from Lyanna, his niece-liege, and keep that tragic “this is probably it for me” stink away from her. Because I’d transport into my television right now to place a shield in front of the toughest warrior in the North. She’s the boss. I’d stand in front of any charge to protect Lyanna. House Reichs is here to serve House Mormont!

 

  1. Sansa and Daenerys. Almost! But …. nope.

 

  1. The circle of please don’t die. Finally, let’s talk about the bro-down in the hall. Jaime. Tyrion. Pod (all grown up!). Brienne. Davos. Tormund Giantsbane. That is a dinner party of Westeros dreams. Don’t tell me you didn’t tear up when Jaime knighted the GOAT, or when Pod sang the contractually-required-in-these-fantasy-moments death ballad. You’re lying or a monster. Please, to all, don’t die. But I fear. I fear it much greatly.

 

  1. Ghost! You were there the whole time! Right? (RIP Shaggydog, Grey Wind, Summer, and Lady. I wonder where Nymeria is these days? Ruling the Riverlands, probably.)

 

  1. JON TOLD DANY. Why are you like this, Aegon Targaryen? Why do you wield your (foster) father’s impeccable ability to deliver crippling news at the worst possible moment? Dany was … not pleased by the implications. Not. At. All.

 

But now the White Walkers are at the gates. Good luck to all. Stay safe so you don’t miss next week. Where everyone, almost certainly, is going to die. “AND NOW OUR WATCH BEGINS.”

 

Author Brendan Reichs’ Project Nemesis series is out now! 

#Newsyoucanuse

Cover reveal and excerpt: EVERY BODY LOOKING by Candice Iloh

Jacqueline Woodson loves it, Nic Stone loves it, Jason Reynolds loves it! And we just know you’re going to love it too! Every Body Looking by Candice Iloh, is a that book tells the story of Ada–daughter of an immigrant father and an African American mother–and her struggle to find a place for herself in … Continued
See More

Every Book Hitting Shelves in February!

February is here and so are these AMAZING READS!   2/4: The Queen’s Assassin by Melissa de la Cruz – Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Red Queen, this is the first novel in a sweeping YA fantasy-romance duet about a deadly assassin, his mysterious apprentice, and the country they are sworn to protect from #1 NYT bestselling author … Continued
See More

SURPRISE! New 2020 Covers!

Watch your step because we’re about to drop some COVERS! 2020 is packed full of highly-anticipated reads, from sweet to spooky, and we’re here to tell you about a few of them today in our surprise cover drop! First up…   SKYWATCHERS by Carrie Arcos – August 18, 2020 If you loved In the Woods by Tana … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL & SNEAK PEEK: The Boy in the Red Dress

Cover reveal (AND excerpt) time! Get ready for The Boy in the Red Dress by Kristin Lambert hitting shelves this May, is a rollicking romp of truth, lies, and troubled pasts. It’s New Year’s Eve, 1929.Millie is running the show at the Cloak & Dagger, a swinging speakeasy in the French Quarter, while her aunt is out of town. … Continued
See More

Best Bookish Moments of 2019!

Books were read, you voted, and now it’s time to announce the winners! This is Best Bookish Moments of 2019. The competition was FIERCE, but it’s time to meet your winners for Best Fight, Best Kiss, Best Villain, Best Tearjerker, and Best Plot Twist!   BEST FIGHT: Fireborne by Rosaria Munda We nod at each other, exchange … Continued
See More

5 reasons you need to pre-order A River of Royal Blood

Searching for your next fantasy series to dive into? Well, then your search is over! A River of Royal Blood will be on shelves October 29, 2019, which means you have until October 28 to pre-order the first installment in this magickal new series. Here’s why you should pre-order it RIGHT NOW!   1. The … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL: The Sky Above Us by Natalie Lund

Cover reveal time! Today we’re revealing the cover for Natalie Lund’s The Sky Above Us. After her stunning debut, We Speak in Storms, we absolutely cannot wait what she’s cooked up next. So we’re celebrating with an excerpt! Get ready for a twisty, psychological thriller about three friends searching for the truth in the aftermath of a plane … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: GODDESS IN THE MACHINE

PREPARE YOUR EYEBALLS! Because we have the cover of Goddess in the Machine by Lora Beth Johnson and it.is.STELLAR. Oh, and also? We’ve got an author Q&A and an excerpt to share! Goddess in the Machine is a thrilling sci-fi adventure, perfect for anyone who loves Renegades and Aurora Rising, in which Andra wakes up from a cryogenic sleep 1,000 years later than she was … Continued
See More

DIG by A.S. King is a Printz Award Winner!

Dig by A.S. King just won the Printz Award! For those of you who might be new, the Michael L. Printz Award awards the best books written for teens each year, based purely on its literary merit. Basically: it’s a big deal. Think the Oscars for books. So, we are SO excited to share that Dig by A.S. … Continued
See More

Catch Penguin Teen at YALLFest 2019!

We’re getting ready to cruise on over to Charleston, SC for YALLFest 2019! Check out what we’ve got going on, and make sure to come by the booth and say hi! Can’t make it to YALLFest? Make sure you’re following along on our Instagram and Twitter @penguinteen!   FRIDAY, NOVEMBER 8   4:00pm RED CARPET … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP