Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Recapping Game of Thrones: Final Season, Episode 2

SHARE

WHO’S READY FOR A HOPELESS BATTLE AGAINST AN INVINCIBLE ARMY OF THE DEAD?

Everyone, apparently.

Welcome to Winterfell, home of some truly downcast prognosticators. This episode—which is destined to be followed by one of the longest, costliest, and most soul-crushing battle sequences in entertainment history next week—felt like one long farewell scene with a dozen different actors. At this point, I don’t know who is going to die, so I’ll just be safe and say everyone. Literally everyone will die next week. But first, on to the highlights of “A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms”, which, to anyone who watched it, is enough to make you start ugly crying right now.

 

  1. Seeing the push again in the recap. Oy. Jaime Lannister. You really did shove Bran out that window. I would have been way less cool about things, but Bran seems to believe he’s the most important player in the coming battle between the living and the dead (???), so I guess he has to let a few things go. He could have EASILY sunk Jaime during his trial by Sansa and Daenerys, but he let Brienne save the Kingslayer through a top-notch vouching. I think one of those three is done-zo in the fight to come, but I hope not. (But if it’s any one them, let it be Coachella Bran. Dude needs to rejoin a tree already.)

 

  1. Brienne remains the best. Ser Brienne, I should say. First she saves the Kingslayer through Sansa’s total belief in her strength of character, then she’s given control over the left flank in the coming battle due to her military prowess, and then she gets knighted by her former enemy because she such an inspiring, decent, incredible super-human. Please don’t let this have been a long goodbye to one the most fully developed characters in Westeros. I’m not having it.

 

  1. They’re going to hide in the crypt. To fight an ice warlock who can raise the dead through pure swag. Um, what? Watch your back, Tyrion. (Maybe we’ll get to see Sean Bean again? Or at least his torso? When Tyrion said glumly to Jaime, “So we’re all going to die. At Winterfell.” I was nodding unhappily.)

 

  1. Arya gets the hookup we all cringed to watch. I mean, I have no problem with this crypt hookup, story-wise—she and Gendry were a thing made to be, and Arya’s now an adult fully capable of making her own choices. But that’s my child assassin from way back. I’m happy for her, but I went to get more chips just then. Also, she better not die.

 

  1. Jorah Mormont. Still don’t like him, and he needs to step back from Lyanna, his niece-liege, and keep that tragic “this is probably it for me” stink away from her. Because I’d transport into my television right now to place a shield in front of the toughest warrior in the North. She’s the boss. I’d stand in front of any charge to protect Lyanna. House Reichs is here to serve House Mormont!

 

  1. Sansa and Daenerys. Almost! But …. nope.

 

  1. The circle of please don’t die. Finally, let’s talk about the bro-down in the hall. Jaime. Tyrion. Pod (all grown up!). Brienne. Davos. Tormund Giantsbane. That is a dinner party of Westeros dreams. Don’t tell me you didn’t tear up when Jaime knighted the GOAT, or when Pod sang the contractually-required-in-these-fantasy-moments death ballad. You’re lying or a monster. Please, to all, don’t die. But I fear. I fear it much greatly.

 

  1. Ghost! You were there the whole time! Right? (RIP Shaggydog, Grey Wind, Summer, and Lady. I wonder where Nymeria is these days? Ruling the Riverlands, probably.)

 

  1. JON TOLD DANY. Why are you like this, Aegon Targaryen? Why do you wield your (foster) father’s impeccable ability to deliver crippling news at the worst possible moment? Dany was … not pleased by the implications. Not. At. All.

 

But now the White Walkers are at the gates. Good luck to all. Stay safe so you don’t miss next week. Where everyone, almost certainly, is going to die. “AND NOW OUR WATCH BEGINS.”

 

Author Brendan Reichs’ Project Nemesis series is out now! 

#Newsyoucanuse

Every Book Hitting Shelves in April!

April is almost here, and she’s bringing books!   4/7: The Best Laid Plans by Cameron Lund – High school senior Keely Collins takes on firsts, lasts, and everything in between in this sweet, sex-positive rom-com for fans of Meg Cabot and Jenny Han.   4/7: Holding on to You by Ash Parsons – A gripping and … Continued
See More

Every Book Hitting Shelves in March!

March is making the rest of 2020 BLUSH with how amazing it is. Ready your shelves. Prepare your TBR. LET’S GO!   3/3: The Kingdom of Back by Marie Lu – Two siblings. Two brilliant talents. But only one Mozart. Born with a gift for music, Nannerl Mozart has just one wish–to be remembered forever. And as Nannerl’s hope of … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL: The Sky Above Us by Natalie Lund

Cover reveal time! Today we’re revealing the cover for Natalie Lund’s The Sky Above Us. After her stunning debut, We Speak in Storms, we absolutely cannot wait what she’s cooked up next. So we’re celebrating with an excerpt! Get ready for a twisty, psychological thriller about three friends searching for the truth in the aftermath of a plane … Continued
See More

A Book for Every Reader: Ebooks on Sale!

Bored at home? We’re here to help! This week on Penguin Teen, we’re featuring a book for every reader of every genre. Scroll down to see all the ebooks on sale this week, and get your copies anywhere ebooks are sold (before it ends on 3/29!)   For Horror fans… The Merciless by Danielle Vega … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: STORMBREAK by Natalie C. Parker

It’s coming. Seafire left us on the edge of our seats. Steel Tide left us with questions that NEED answers. And now, Natalie C. Parker is bringing it home with the epic finale to Caledonia’s journey in Stormbreak. In the thrilling conclusion to the Seafire trilogy, Caledonia Styx will risk everything–her heart, her crew, and even her life–to defeat Lir … Continued
See More

DIG by A.S. King is a Printz Award Winner!

Dig by A.S. King just won the Printz Award! For those of you who might be new, the Michael L. Printz Award awards the best books written for teens each year, based purely on its literary merit. Basically: it’s a big deal. Think the Oscars for books. So, we are SO excited to share that Dig by A.S. … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: VICIOUS SPIRITS by Kat Cho

Cover reveal time! We all fell MADLY in love with Kat Cho’s Wicked Fox. But it also left us with questions. We need to know what’s next for Miyoung and Jihoon! We don’t have all the answers yet, but luckily, we DO have a cover to show you. And it. is. GORGEOUS. Prepare your eyeballs and scroll down … Continued
See More

Cover reveal and excerpt: EVERY BODY LOOKING by Candice Iloh

Jacqueline Woodson loves it, Nic Stone loves it, Jason Reynolds loves it! And we just know you’re going to love it too! Every Body Looking by Candice Iloh, is a that book tells the story of Ada–daughter of an immigrant father and an African American mother–and her struggle to find a place for herself in … Continued
See More

Catch Penguin Teen at NTTBF 2020!

This weekend we’re heading to Texas for NTTBF 2020! Check out what we’ve got going on this weekend, and make sure to come by the booth and say hi! Can’t make it to North Texas Teen Book Festival? Make sure you’re following along on our Instagram and Twitter at @penguinteen!   10:30am Jo & Laurie … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL & SNEAK PEEK: The Boy in the Red Dress

Cover reveal (AND excerpt) time! Get ready for The Boy in the Red Dress by Kristin Lambert hitting shelves this May, is a rollicking romp of truth, lies, and troubled pasts. It’s New Year’s Eve, 1929.Millie is running the show at the Cloak & Dagger, a swinging speakeasy in the French Quarter, while her aunt is out of town. … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP