Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

We Can’t Stop Talking About I AM STILL ALIVE by Kate Marshall — COVER REVEAL

SHARE

Here at Penguin Teen HQ, there are some books that we just CAN’T STOP talking about, even before we’ve finished reading. I Am Still Alive by Kate Marshall was absolutely one of those books.

 

Kendra and Maggie slide

 

A heart-wrenching yet empowering story of resilience, I Am Still Alive follows one girl, alone in the winter wilderness, struggling for survival. How’d she end up here? You’ll just have to keep reading to find out. Read a note from the author, then view the incredible cover! And don’t forget to add this one to your to-read shelf!

 

A note from the author:

I have always loved stories of survival. From Hatchet to The Martian to post-apocalyptic adventures, the struggle to stay alive in a world that seems designed to destroy you never fails to engage me. On one level, survival is a series of logistical decisions. Do you focus on building a fire, or finding food? Do you go fishing, or try your hand at hunting? Do you stay in one place, or go on the move to try to find resources?

It’s a bit like solving a puzzle—with extremely high stakes. I Am Still Alive started with my love of that kind of puzzle, working out the practical questions of how to endure in the face of a brutal environment. But practical questions are only half the equation. In the exact same circumstances, some people will survive. Some won’t. So I had to shift from asking how to survive in the wilderness to asking who would survive in the wilderness.

Writing Jess, I knew that I didn’t want her to be an expert. She doesn’t have the benefit of training or years of experience. But she’s a survivor. I had to decide what that means for her—what makes her so fierce, so determined, that she can face the winter and beat it? She’s lost her parents. She doesn’t have much waiting for her back home. But I decided early on that Jess didn’t need to survive for someone else. She survives for herself. Because she wants to live—not to live for someone, or something, but because she’s not done with living and she’s not anywhere near ready to give up.

I only had one problem at this point: I didn’t know how I could possibly give Jess a plan to get out of the wilderness. The only way back to civilization is with a plane, and she doesn’t exactly have a spare in her backpack. Once I thought about it, though, I realized I’d already answered the question—because I knew who Jess was. She’s fierce. She’s determined. She wouldn’t be content with mere survival. She wasn’t going to just face down the winter.

Because she wasn’t left to die in the wilderness by accident. She knows who’s responsible. She knows who took her father from her. She knows they’re coming back. So she’s going to take revenge. And she’s going to take their plane.

I Am Still Alive started as a problem to solve: how would a teenage girl survive in the wilderness alone? From there it grew into a story about determination, loss, love, and revenge.

And a really cool dog.

 

And now for the cover!

 

IAmStillAlive_final-online

 

About I Am Still Alive:

Cheryl Strayed’s Wild meets The Revenant in this heart-pounding story of survival and revenge in the unforgiving wilderness.

After
Jess is alone. Her cabin has burned to the ground. She knows if she doesn’t act fast, the cold will kill her before she has time to worry about food. But she is still alive—for now.

Before
Jess hadn’t seen her survivalist, off-the-grid dad in over a decade. But after a car crash killed her mother and left her injured, she was forced to move to his cabin in the remote Canadian wilderness. Just as Jess was beginning to get to know him, a secret from his past paid them a visit, leaving her father dead and Jess stranded.

After
With only her father’s dog for company, Jess must forage and hunt for food, build shelter, and keep herself warm. Some days it feels like the wild is out to destroy her, but she’s stronger than she ever imagined.

Jess will survive. She has to. She knows who killed her father…and she wants revenge.

 

 

Pre-order your copy here!

Add it to your Goodreads shelf!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#Newsyoucanuse

COVER REVEAL & SNEAK PEEK: The Boy in the Red Dress

Cover reveal (AND excerpt) time! Get ready for The Boy in the Red Dress by Kristin Lambert hitting shelves this May, is a rollicking romp of truth, lies, and troubled pasts. It’s New Year’s Eve, 1929.Millie is running the show at the Cloak & Dagger, a swinging speakeasy in the French Quarter, while her aunt is out of town. … Continued
See More

Best Bookish Moments of 2019!

Books were read, you voted, and now it’s time to announce the winners! This is Best Bookish Moments of 2019. The competition was FIERCE, but it’s time to meet your winners for Best Fight, Best Kiss, Best Villain, Best Tearjerker, and Best Plot Twist!   BEST FIGHT: Fireborne by Rosaria Munda We nod at each other, exchange … Continued
See More

5 reasons you need to pre-order A River of Royal Blood

Searching for your next fantasy series to dive into? Well, then your search is over! A River of Royal Blood will be on shelves October 29, 2019, which means you have until October 28 to pre-order the first installment in this magickal new series. Here’s why you should pre-order it RIGHT NOW!   1. The … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL: The Sky Above Us by Natalie Lund

Cover reveal time! Today we’re revealing the cover for Natalie Lund’s The Sky Above Us. After her stunning debut, We Speak in Storms, we absolutely cannot wait what she’s cooked up next. So we’re celebrating with an excerpt! Get ready for a twisty, psychological thriller about three friends searching for the truth in the aftermath of a plane … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: GODDESS IN THE MACHINE

PREPARE YOUR EYEBALLS! Because we have the cover of Goddess in the Machine by Lora Beth Johnson and it.is.STELLAR. Oh, and also? We’ve got an author Q&A and an excerpt to share! Goddess in the Machine is a thrilling sci-fi adventure, perfect for anyone who loves Renegades and Aurora Rising, in which Andra wakes up from a cryogenic sleep 1,000 years later than she was … Continued
See More

Every book hitting shelves in November!

November is here and new books are too! Scroll down to see what’s hitting shelves this month!   11/5: Song of the Crimson Flower by Julie C. Dao – Will love break the spell? From the acclaimed author of Forest of a Thousand Lanterns comes a fantastical new tale of darkness and love, in which magical bonds are stronger … Continued
See More

DIG by A.S. King is a Printz Award Winner!

Dig by A.S. King just won the Printz Award! For those of you who might be new, the Michael L. Printz Award awards the best books written for teens each year, based purely on its literary merit. Basically: it’s a big deal. Think the Oscars for books. So, we are SO excited to share that Dig by A.S. … Continued
See More

Catch Penguin Teen at YALLFest 2019!

We’re getting ready to cruise on over to Charleston, SC for YALLFest 2019! Check out what we’ve got going on, and make sure to come by the booth and say hi! Can’t make it to YALLFest? Make sure you’re following along on our Instagram and Twitter @penguinteen!   FRIDAY, NOVEMBER 8   4:00pm RED CARPET … Continued
See More

Every Book Hitting Shelves in February!

February is here and so are these AMAZING READS!   2/4: The Queen’s Assassin by Melissa de la Cruz – Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Red Queen, this is the first novel in a sweeping YA fantasy-romance duet about a deadly assassin, his mysterious apprentice, and the country they are sworn to protect from #1 NYT bestselling author … Continued
See More

SURPRISE! New 2020 Covers!

Watch your step because we’re about to drop some COVERS! 2020 is packed full of highly-anticipated reads, from sweet to spooky, and we’re here to tell you about a few of them today in our surprise cover drop! First up…   SKYWATCHERS by Carrie Arcos – August 18, 2020 If you loved In the Woods by Tana … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP