Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

We Can’t Stop Talking About I AM STILL ALIVE by Kate Marshall — COVER REVEAL

SHARE

Here at Penguin Teen HQ, there are some books that we just CAN’T STOP talking about, even before we’ve finished reading. I Am Still Alive by Kate Marshall was absolutely one of those books.

 

Kendra and Maggie slide

 

A heart-wrenching yet empowering story of resilience, I Am Still Alive follows one girl, alone in the winter wilderness, struggling for survival. How’d she end up here? You’ll just have to keep reading to find out. Read a note from the author, then view the incredible cover! And don’t forget to add this one to your to-read shelf!

 

A note from the author:

I have always loved stories of survival. From Hatchet to The Martian to post-apocalyptic adventures, the struggle to stay alive in a world that seems designed to destroy you never fails to engage me. On one level, survival is a series of logistical decisions. Do you focus on building a fire, or finding food? Do you go fishing, or try your hand at hunting? Do you stay in one place, or go on the move to try to find resources?

It’s a bit like solving a puzzle—with extremely high stakes. I Am Still Alive started with my love of that kind of puzzle, working out the practical questions of how to endure in the face of a brutal environment. But practical questions are only half the equation. In the exact same circumstances, some people will survive. Some won’t. So I had to shift from asking how to survive in the wilderness to asking who would survive in the wilderness.

Writing Jess, I knew that I didn’t want her to be an expert. She doesn’t have the benefit of training or years of experience. But she’s a survivor. I had to decide what that means for her—what makes her so fierce, so determined, that she can face the winter and beat it? She’s lost her parents. She doesn’t have much waiting for her back home. But I decided early on that Jess didn’t need to survive for someone else. She survives for herself. Because she wants to live—not to live for someone, or something, but because she’s not done with living and she’s not anywhere near ready to give up.

I only had one problem at this point: I didn’t know how I could possibly give Jess a plan to get out of the wilderness. The only way back to civilization is with a plane, and she doesn’t exactly have a spare in her backpack. Once I thought about it, though, I realized I’d already answered the question—because I knew who Jess was. She’s fierce. She’s determined. She wouldn’t be content with mere survival. She wasn’t going to just face down the winter.

Because she wasn’t left to die in the wilderness by accident. She knows who’s responsible. She knows who took her father from her. She knows they’re coming back. So she’s going to take revenge. And she’s going to take their plane.

I Am Still Alive started as a problem to solve: how would a teenage girl survive in the wilderness alone? From there it grew into a story about determination, loss, love, and revenge.

And a really cool dog.

 

And now for the cover!

 

IAmStillAlive_final-online

 

About I Am Still Alive:

Cheryl Strayed’s Wild meets The Revenant in this heart-pounding story of survival and revenge in the unforgiving wilderness.

After
Jess is alone. Her cabin has burned to the ground. She knows if she doesn’t act fast, the cold will kill her before she has time to worry about food. But she is still alive—for now.

Before
Jess hadn’t seen her survivalist, off-the-grid dad in over a decade. But after a car crash killed her mother and left her injured, she was forced to move to his cabin in the remote Canadian wilderness. Just as Jess was beginning to get to know him, a secret from his past paid them a visit, leaving her father dead and Jess stranded.

After
With only her father’s dog for company, Jess must forage and hunt for food, build shelter, and keep herself warm. Some days it feels like the wild is out to destroy her, but she’s stronger than she ever imagined.

Jess will survive. She has to. She knows who killed her father…and she wants revenge.

 

 

Pre-order your copy here!

Add it to your Goodreads shelf!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#Newsyoucanuse

Every Book Hitting Shelves in April!

April is almost here, and she’s bringing books!   4/7: The Best Laid Plans by Cameron Lund – High school senior Keely Collins takes on firsts, lasts, and everything in between in this sweet, sex-positive rom-com for fans of Meg Cabot and Jenny Han.   4/7: Holding on to You by Ash Parsons – A gripping and … Continued
See More

Every Book Hitting Shelves in March!

March is making the rest of 2020 BLUSH with how amazing it is. Ready your shelves. Prepare your TBR. LET’S GO!   3/3: The Kingdom of Back by Marie Lu – Two siblings. Two brilliant talents. But only one Mozart. Born with a gift for music, Nannerl Mozart has just one wish–to be remembered forever. And as Nannerl’s hope of … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL: The Sky Above Us by Natalie Lund

Cover reveal time! Today we’re revealing the cover for Natalie Lund’s The Sky Above Us. After her stunning debut, We Speak in Storms, we absolutely cannot wait what she’s cooked up next. So we’re celebrating with an excerpt! Get ready for a twisty, psychological thriller about three friends searching for the truth in the aftermath of a plane … Continued
See More

A Book for Every Reader: Ebooks on Sale!

Bored at home? We’re here to help! This week on Penguin Teen, we’re featuring a book for every reader of every genre. Scroll down to see all the ebooks on sale this week, and get your copies anywhere ebooks are sold (before it ends on 3/29!)   For Horror fans… The Merciless by Danielle Vega … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: STORMBREAK by Natalie C. Parker

It’s coming. Seafire left us on the edge of our seats. Steel Tide left us with questions that NEED answers. And now, Natalie C. Parker is bringing it home with the epic finale to Caledonia’s journey in Stormbreak. In the thrilling conclusion to the Seafire trilogy, Caledonia Styx will risk everything–her heart, her crew, and even her life–to defeat Lir … Continued
See More

DIG by A.S. King is a Printz Award Winner!

Dig by A.S. King just won the Printz Award! For those of you who might be new, the Michael L. Printz Award awards the best books written for teens each year, based purely on its literary merit. Basically: it’s a big deal. Think the Oscars for books. So, we are SO excited to share that Dig by A.S. … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: VICIOUS SPIRITS by Kat Cho

Cover reveal time! We all fell MADLY in love with Kat Cho’s Wicked Fox. But it also left us with questions. We need to know what’s next for Miyoung and Jihoon! We don’t have all the answers yet, but luckily, we DO have a cover to show you. And it. is. GORGEOUS. Prepare your eyeballs and scroll down … Continued
See More

Cover reveal and excerpt: EVERY BODY LOOKING by Candice Iloh

Jacqueline Woodson loves it, Nic Stone loves it, Jason Reynolds loves it! And we just know you’re going to love it too! Every Body Looking by Candice Iloh, is a that book tells the story of Ada–daughter of an immigrant father and an African American mother–and her struggle to find a place for herself in … Continued
See More

Catch Penguin Teen at NTTBF 2020!

This weekend we’re heading to Texas for NTTBF 2020! Check out what we’ve got going on this weekend, and make sure to come by the booth and say hi! Can’t make it to North Texas Teen Book Festival? Make sure you’re following along on our Instagram and Twitter at @penguinteen!   10:30am Jo & Laurie … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL & SNEAK PEEK: The Boy in the Red Dress

Cover reveal (AND excerpt) time! Get ready for The Boy in the Red Dress by Kristin Lambert hitting shelves this May, is a rollicking romp of truth, lies, and troubled pasts. It’s New Year’s Eve, 1929.Millie is running the show at the Cloak & Dagger, a swinging speakeasy in the French Quarter, while her aunt is out of town. … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP