Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

See the EXCLUSIVE Cover and Excerpt Reveal for HERO AT THE FALL by Alwyn Hamilton!

SHARE

If you’ve started reading Alwyn Hamilton’s Rebel of the Sands series, you’ve probably been on the edge of your seat waiting for Hero at the Fall since March (we feel you). And while we still have to wait for March 2018 to see what’s in store for Amani, Jin, and the rest of the crew, we’re here to make your wait a little easier. Read on to start reading Hero at the Fall and to see the incredible cover!

 

A note from Alwyn:

I’ve always described Amani as a character who jumps first and checks if there’s a soft landing after. So it’s probably appropriate that she starts Hero at the Fall on a roof, ready to jump off. 

Rebel of the Sands, the beginning of the trilogy, started off with Amani about to take a big risk to help herself out of a jam. Hero at the Fall picks Amani up as she’s about to take a big risk to get a whole bunch of other people out of, well, more than a jam: an impenetrable magical prison that’s not marked on any map. 

Hero at the Fall takes Amani on a rescue mission, heading for an epic final battle against the Sultan, where how far she has come from a selfish desert girl to become to leader of a rebellion, will truly be put to the test.

 

And now for the cover!

 

HeroAtTheFall_JK.indd

 

Start reading an exclusive excerpt from Hero at the Fall!

 

Izman looked different from above.

I was standing on the ledge of the great prayer house and I could see the crowd assembled for the Sultim trials far below us. That was why we’d picked this spot, to keep an eye on this morning’s proceedings. Because it sure as hell wasn’t for the comfort of it.

I shifted as much as I dared on the narrow ledge, try­ing to get a better view of what was going on. I teetered forward a little as gravity reached up for me, and to my right Jin instinctively grabbed my arm, steadying me be­fore I could plunge hundreds of feet to my death.

“I don’t have it in me to lose you, too, Bandit,” he said as he anchored me to our perch.

Maz and Izz flanked us on either side. They’d flown us up here, taking the form of two giant Rocs, just before day­break, when people started to gather. The sun hitting the golden dome of the prayer house made it blaze so bright it almost blinded me, even with my back to it. Which meant it would blind anyone in the crowd who might happen to glance up our way, making us seem like kaleidoscopic il­lusions in the light instead of flesh and blood.

When I was down in the streets, the city was a latticed puzzle box. Sharp corners, hidden alcoves, unexpected dead ends. Long streets pierced occasionally by windows that leaked whole other worlds onto the dusty paving stones. Narrow passages made all the narrower for be­ing lined by market stalls and a steady stream of people. The whole thing was lidded by colorful canopies blotting out the sky. I still hadn’t managed to solve the city, even af­ter nearly a month of being trapped inside it by the great dome of fire.

The reaction to waking to a great dome of fire over the city had been something else.

I knew it was one of Leyla’s unnatural inventions the moment I saw it. But the people believed that it was ancient magic, the likes of which hadn’t been seen since the end of the First War.

Many were calling it Ahmed’s Wall. Some had even be­gun praying to it. Ahmed’s Acolytes, so called. Men and women who singed their clothing and smeared their faces in ash and spent their days trying to get as close to the great barrier of fire as they could in order to pray for it to hold against the invaders at our gates. No matter how many times the Sultan’s soldiers turned them away, they kept coming back, dawn after dawn. A few had even died getting too close to the barrier. Disintegrating like the stone Jin had thrown at it the day it appeared. They preached that Ahmed had saved us all.

I hated to admit it, but it was possible the barrier had saved us. Though I knew it was nothing to do with Ahmed.

From our perch up here I could see the lines of blue tents encircling our city with military precision. Waiting. Just like they had been for weeks. After the twins saw them on the horizon, it wasn’t long before they got to the city. Bullets had disintegrated against the barrier of fire, too. And, quick enough, the Gallan had gone silent, simply encircling the city. Playing a waiting game with the Sultan.

The Gallan had occupied our desert for nearly two decades. They had put our Sultan on his throne, helping him usurp his father and brother. And in return he had let them impose their laws on us. Let their twisted be­liefs guide them to kill Demdji and First Beings. Force our poorest people into dangerous labor to churn out enough weapons for them to fight their wars. Inflict their violence on us without fear of repercussion from the law. The Sultan had let it happen and waited until the Gallan didn’t serve his purposes anymore. Only then had he tried to annihilate them. But we’d got­ten in the way, seeing as he would’ve taken a whole lot of Mirajin citi­zens with him, and the only thing that was achieved was aggravating the Gallan into an invasion. Then he’d aggravated them further when he lured their king into a trap and killed him.

And now here we were, under siege from the largest empire in the world.

They seemed to think they could wait us out on the other side of that wall of fire. Izman was bound to run out of supplies eventually. But I knew a thing or two about the Sultan. I had a feeling he was still playing games with them. And the Sultan didn’t play games he didn’t think he could win.

I wondered how many Mirajin villages and towns the Gallan had stormed through on the way to Izman during their turn. How many people had died in their path as the Sultan waited for them to come to him.

The Sultan had claimed to me once that his purpose was to protect his country. That he was establishing Miraji as a force to be reckoned with, one that no foreign army would occupy ever again. Maybe that would be true. But how many Mirajin bodies would be trampled on our way to so-called safety? The people of Miraji had not agreed to be pieces in this game the Sultan was playing against foreign invaders.

We were going to end the game.

We were going to get Ahmed back. And Rahim back. And Shazad. And Delila. And all the others who had been captured. And we were going to end this.

 

 

 

Pre-order your copy of Hero at the Fall here!

Add to your Goodreads shelf!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#Newsyoucanuse

Catch Penguin Teen at New York Comic Con 2017!

Join us at the Penguin Young Readers Booth #2104-G this weekend for exclusive signings, giveaways, and sneak peeks at our upcoming books! Read on for our full schedule!   Thursday, October 5   TICKETED AUTHOR SIGNING: TOCHI ONYEBUCHI, BEASTS MADE OF NIGHT 11:00 AM—12:00 PM Meet the author and snag his highly anticipated debut novel … Continued
See More

Stephanie Perkins Announces Tour for THERE’S SOMEONE INSIDE YOUR HOUSE!

Stephanie Perkins, the bestselling author of Anna and the French Kiss, has a new book coming this fall, and you could say it’s a departure from Anna, Lola, and Isla. There’s Someone Inside Your House is Scream meets YA, about a small Nebraska town with a killer on the loose. One by one, students at Osborne … Continued
See More

The TURTLES ALL THE WAY DOWN Cover Was Revealed and People are Freaking Out

This morning, Good Morning America revealed the cover of John Green’s upcoming novel, Turtles All the Way Down, and we weren’t the only ones who lost. our. freaking. minds. Read on for some of our favorite reactions to the cover reveal!   First, make sure you check out the segment on GMA, and feast your … Continued
See More

EXCLUSIVE Cover & Excerpt Reveal for ORPHAN, MONSTER, SPY by Matt Killeen

Here at Penguin Teen, there are books that have EVERYONE talking as soon as they’ve finished. People searching offices for others to chat with about every single moment, talk about the amazing characters and just recover together from the intensity. Orphan Monster Spy is that very book! We’re not the only ones raving either, with Code Name … Continued
See More

Everything We Know About A REAPER AT THE GATES So Far

Early this week, Mashable revealed the title, cover, and pub date of A Reaper at the Gates, the third book in the bestselling Ember in the Ashes series by Sabaa Tahir. Because we love you, we’ve gathered a slew of Sabaa’s tweets, instagrams, and the like to compile this list of everything we know about A Reaper … Continued
See More

See the EXCLUSIVE Cover Reveal for GIVEN TO THE EARTH by Mindy McGinnis!

We’re so thrilled to be revealing the cover of Given to the Earth, the sequel to Given to the Sea by Mindy McGinnis. Given to the Earth concludes this stunning duology, which is perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas. Duty, fate, desire, and destiny collide in this intricately wrought tale. Read more about the book and a Q&A with … Continued
See More

See the EXCLUSIVE Character Reveal for REIGN OF THE FALLEN by Sarah Glenn Marsh!

Here at Penguin Teen, we’re in the business of bringing you the inside scoop about books that you didn’t even know you were dying to read. Today we’re here to reveal the characters from Reign of the Fallen by Sarah Glenn Marsh, complete with a beautiful illustration and a description from the author. Read a bit … Continued
See More

3 Reasons We’re Freaking Out About the New VALIANT CW Show

The CW has just announced that it will be producing a new TV show based off the epic novel The Valiant by Lesley Livingston. TBH we couldn’t be more excited for this silver screen adaptation of one of our favorite books from this past spring for millions of reasons, but we’ve managed to narrow it down … Continued
See More

Announcing FUSION FOR BEGINNERS AND EXPERTS by Rebecca Sugar and Angie Wang!

You may know Rebecca Sugar as the creator of the hit Cartoon Network show, Steven Universe. You may also know her as the author of the New York Times bestselling The Answer, which is based on the episode of the same name, and came out last fall. This time, she and Angie Wang have created a … Continued
See More

See the EXCLUSIVE Cover Reveal for PEOPLE LIKE US by Dana Mele!

Here at Penguin Teen, we’re in the business of bringing you books we just KNOW you’ll love. That’s why we’re so excited to reveal the cover of People Like Us by Dana Mele, a sharp psychological thriller that will seduce, mislead, and finally, betray you. Read about the book below, then check out the amazing cover. … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP

I can give you book recommendations.
Please enter your name and email address to begin chatting with me.



What is your date of birth?

START CHAT