Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Sexual Assault Awareness Month: Empathy, Always, an essay by Brandy Colbert

SHARE

April is Sexual Assault Awareness Month, and one of the books we’re using to start a conversation is Pointe, which follows high school ballerina Theo’s struggle to reconcile secrets of her past with her dreams for the future when her best friend comes home four years after his kidnapping. Today, author Brandy Colbert shares another story – this one her own – and an important message about empathy.

 

When I first started writing Pointe, I thought the book would primarily explore male sexual abuse, since the kidnapping aspect was inspired by the real life of Steven Stayner, who was abducted and abused for seven years in the 1970s. At the time I was writing, there weren’t a lot of books focused on that topic, although one in six men have experienced sexual abuse before the age of 18.

 

As I delved further into editing, I realized I’d have to write about the sexual abuse and exploitation of the main character, a girl named Theo. And that made me anxious. I didn’t know if I could do the topic justice from a first person point of view.

 

I’ve read and listened to a lot of survivor stories in my life, and I’ve felt empathy toward these survivors since I was a kid, in part because of Steven Stayner’s story that became a television movie. I don’t have personal experience with sexual abuse or assault, but while I was working on Pointe, I started thinking of times in my life that I’ve fended off unwelcome attention from men, most of them older and in more powerful positions than me. I thought about how helpless I felt, how angry that I was supposed to endure or even entertain those advances because I’m a woman (or many times still just a girl).

 

When I was a teenager, working part-time at a retail job, a new guy started at the store, and because we were both black in a predominantly white town and workplace, everyone assumed that when he expressed interest, I should immediately want to date him. He wasn’t my type physically, and I knew deep down that I didn’t want to go out with him, but I gave him my number anyway. He called and, unsurprisingly, there was no chemistry. Later, I found out he was older. As in, he was in his thirties.

 

“But he’s so nice!” everyone said.

 

“But you’ve been wanting a boyfriend, and he likes you!”

 

“But you hang out with a lot of older people who work here—what’s the difference?”

 

I was tired of the questions and tired of feeling bad for following my gut instinct, and finally, when someone asked why I wouldn’t just give him a chance, I practically shouted, “He’s thirty-four and I’m nineteen!” I didn’t get any more pressure, though it was upsetting that nobody would listen to what I wanted until I brought the age difference into it.

 

I’ve been fortunate to choose who I have sex with, but lots of people—both male and female—don’t get that opportunity, and that’s why Theo’s story was so important to me. I was old enough to consent to a relationship with an older man if I’d chosen to. She was not. But I didn’t owe that man or any of our co-workers anything, and Theo didn’t owe anyone anything just because she trusted the wrong person.

 

Some reviews criticize the way Theo behaved throughout the book, as if she deserved what happened to her because of a poor choice she made as a thirteen-year-old. I have to assume those people just aren’t at a place in their lives where they’ve developed empathy. Sexual abuse takes many different forms, but the most important thing we can do is have empathy for survivors—even if they don’t look like the people we’ve been conditioned to believe are the victims. Even if their situations are difficult to understand.

 

We should have empathy, always.

 

Learn more about Pointe.

 

Find more books to start the conversation with.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#AuthorSpotlight

ZODIAC Re-readers: This is your character and house guide! *SPOILERS AHEAD*

Thirteen Rising, the final book in Romina Russell’s Zodiac series, is almost here, and we’re getting you ready by giving you an in-depth look at the twelve houses of the Zodiac, including a reminder about each of the characters. Luckily, Romina was here to provide us with all of the info that you need to … Continued
See More

The Complete Zodiac Books Series Recap! *SPOILERS ABOUND*

Thirteen Rising, the fourth and final book in Romina Russell’s Zodiac series, comes out at the end of August, and we felt like you *might* need a bit of a refresher of the first three. Luckily, Romina offered to write up a totally amazing, totally spoilery, totally gif-filled recap that’s sure to refresh your memory in … Continued
See More

Everything You Need to Know About ROSIE GIRL Author Julie Shepard

Name: Julie Shepard Novel: Rosie Girl Available: July 11, 2017 About the book: After her father passes away, seventeen-year-old Rosie is forced to live with her abusive stepmom Lucy and her deadbeat boyfriend, Judd, who gives Rosie the sort of looks you shouldn’t give your girlfriend’s step-daughter. Desperate for a way out, Rosie would do just … Continued
See More

What It’s Really Like Being Trans in America Today: A Conversation with FELIX YZ Author Lisa Bunker

Here at Penguin Teen, we know that reading is a great way to step into another person’s shoes, to understand someone else’s experience. But sometimes reading isn’t enough. We need to hear from the authors themselves, whether it be about their inspirations for their work or their experiences which lead them here. At Penguin Teen, … Continued
See More

Aditi Khorana Explains THE LIBRARY OF FATES in 30 Seconds!

Watch Aditi Khorana, author of The Library of Fates, pitch her book in 30 seconds!           Read more and get your copy of The Library of Fates here!                                  
See More

Julie Israel Shares 5 Things You Need to Know About JUNIPER LEMON’S HAPPINESS INDEX

Watch Julie Israel, author of Juniper Lemon’s Happiness Index, share 5 things to know about her debut novel!         Get your copy here!                                
See More

Enter the Graceling Realm with Excerpts from Kristin Cashore’s Bestselling Fantasy Novels

Whether you’re a fan of Kristin Cashore’s Graceling series, or have just read the dozens of fantasies that it has inspired, there’s no denying that it’s one of the most iconic fantasy series out there. As you might have heard, her first book in five years, Jane, Unlimited, is coming out September 19, and we. … Continued
See More

Everything You Need to Know About THINGS I’M SEEING WITHOUT YOU Author Peter Bognanni

Name: Peter Bognanni Novel: Things I’m Seeing Without You Available: October 3, 2017 About the book: Fans of Eleanor and Park and All the Bright Places will laugh and cry as they read this heartbreaking and life-affirming novel about love after the most profound loss. Seventeen-year-old Tess Fowler has just dropped out of high school. She can barely function after … Continued
See More

Julie Shepard Shares 5 Things You Need to Know About ROSIE GIRL!

Watch Julie Shepard, the author of Rosie Girl, share 5 things you should know about her new book!     About the book: Little Peach meets We Were Liars in this haunting YA debut about a troubled teen searching for her birth mom who uncovers disturbing family secrets along the way. After her father passes … Continued
See More

The Official Conspiracy of Us Series Recap *SPOILERS AHEAD*

Maggie Hall, the incredible author of the Conspiracy of Us series, graciously wrote this amazing recap post of books one and two in the series: The Conspiracy of Us and Map of Fates. So, if you’ve read these two and need a refresher before jumping into book three, The Ends of the World, read on! … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP

I can give you book recommendations.
Please enter your name and email address to begin chatting with me.



What is your date of birth?

START CHAT