Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

The Beautiful Read-Along!

SHARE

Join us for The Beautiful Read-Along! From May 3-30th we’ll be diving into the mysterious streets of New Orleans crawling with vampires in Renée Ahdieh’s The Beautiful. Whether you’ve read it twice already or are picking it up for the first time, ALL are welcome to join. Tag along on Twitter and Instagram with the hashtag #TheBeautifulBeDamned for progress updates, checklists, and more!

Scroll down to check out the reading schedule breakdown and read a bit about the book!

TheBeautiful_ReadAlongAnnouncement_Twitter

About The BeautifulIn 1872, New Orleans is a city ruled by the dead. But to seventeen-year-old Celine Rousseau, New Orleans provides her a refuge after she’s forced to flee her life as a dressmaker in Paris. Taken in by the sisters of the Ursuline convent along with six other girls, Celine quickly becomes enamored with the vibrant city from the music to the food to the soirées and—especially—to the danger. She soon becomes embroiled in the city’s glitzy underworld, known as La Cour des Lions, after catching the eye of the group’s leader, the enigmatic Sébastien Saint Germain. When the body of one of the girls from the convent is found in the lair of La Cour des Lions, Celine battles her attraction to him and suspicions about Sébastien’s guilt along with the shame of her own horrible secret.

When more bodies are discovered, each crime more gruesome than the last, Celine and New Orleans become gripped by the terror of a serial killer on the loose—one Celine is sure has set her in his sights . . . and who may even be the young man who has stolen her heart. As the murders continue to go unsolved, Celine takes matters into her own hands and soon uncovers something even more shocking: an age-old feud from the darkest creatures of the underworld reveals a truth about Celine she always suspected simmered just beneath the surface.
At once a sultry romance and a thrilling murder mystery, master storyteller Renée Ahdieh embarks on her most potent fantasy series yet: The Beautiful.

 

Don’t have your copy yet? Get yours here!

 

Week 1 is done, so check out our recap of some of our favorite posts from readers. And if you’re a little bit behind, that’s okay because it’s not too late to catch up!

TheBeautiful_ReadAlong_Week1_InstaFB

 

Once you’re done with Week 1, don’t forget your checklist (download here) and remember to tag us @penguinteen on Instagram!

TheBeautiful_ReadAlong_Week1_InstaStory_Checklist_p2

 

 

Week 2 is a wrap! Check out our recap to see some of our favorite posts of the week. And don’t forget: it’s never too late to join in and catch up!

TheBeautiful_ReadAlong_Week2_InstaFB

 

Don’t forget your Week 2 your checklist (download here) and remember to tag us @penguinteen on Instagram!

TheBeautiful_ReadAlong_Week2_InstaStory_Checklist_p2

 

 

We made it through Week 3! Swing by our recap of our favorite posts, and it’s okay if you’re still catching up—we’re rooting for you!

TheBeautiful_ReadAlong_Week3_InstaFB

 

Join the Facebook group!

beautiful_Twitter-5

Join our official Facebook fan group for The Beautiful series by Renée Ahdieh! Come chat with your fellow fans about all things vampires, New Orleans, and Celine x Bastien, and of course, your theories about what might happen next!

Click here to join!

If you’re done with Week 3, share your checklist (download here) and remember to tag us @penguinteen on Instagram!

TheBeautiful_ReadAlong_Week3_InstaStory_Checklist_p2

 

We’re almost at the end! Here’s what we’re reading for Week 4:

TheBeautiful_ReadAlong_Week4_InstaFB

 

Remember to check back here for more updates and recaps!

 

#Newsyoucanuse

HOW IT ALL BLEW UP has a new paperback cover!

How It All Blew Up by Arvin Ahmadi is back with a beautiful new paperback cover! But just in case you’re new to this amazing book: Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda goes to Italy in this incisive look at identity and what it means to find yourself by running away. Illustrator: Maggie Edkins Willis (@maggiemadethis) Designer: Maria … Continued
See More

June 2021 book preview: here’s what’s coming to shelves!

Prepare yours(h)elves! June 2021 books are coming, and our TBRs will never be the same.   6/1: We Are Inevitable by Gayle Forman – A poignant and uplifting novel about the power of community, from the #1 New York Times bestselling author of If I Stay.   6/1: Skate for Your Live by Leo Baker – In this moving, personal … Continued
See More

Every book hitting shelves in May 2021!

You MAY or MAY not be ready for these May reads. Here’s what’s hitting shelves!   5/4: Luck of the Titanic by Stacey Lee – From the critically-acclaimed author of The Downstairs Girl comes the richly imagined story of Valora and Jamie Luck, twin British-Chinese acrobats traveling aboard the Titanic on its ill-fated maiden voyage.   5/4: That Was Then, … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: RIGHT WHERE I LEFT YOU by Julian Winters

Need a cover reveal with a healthy dose of joy to start off your week? Get ready for your hearts to melt with Right Where I Left You by Julian Winters! We’re already swooning over this upcoming friends-to-lovers romance starring best friends Isaac and Diego. This love story has everything you need: Black boy joy, … Continued
See More

The story’s not over. Here are 2021’s most HIGHLY-anticipated YA sequels!

2021 is packed with gorgeous debuts, thrilling stand-alones, and of course…highly-anticipated sequels! Scroll down for a peek at a few stories we are so grateful aren’t over yet!   Sequels you can grab now… The Queen’s Secret by Melissa de la Cruz From #1 bestselling author Melissa de la Cruz comes the heart-pounding follow-up to The … Continued
See More

Join Penguin Teen at #YALLWest 2021!

We are SO ready for the virtual #YALLWest festival and all the giveaways, panels, and fun it entails! Scroll down to see what’s happening at the Penguin Teen virtual booth.   Events & Panels Saturday, 4/17 9am PST / 12pm EST Join authors Olivia Abtahi, Renée Ahdieh, Isaac Fitzsimons, Austin Siegemund-Broka, and Emily Wibberley for … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: Echoes and Empires by Morgan Rhodes!

We’re so excited to reveal the cover for Echoes and Empires by Morgan Rhodes. This thrilling fantasy follows a snarky seventeen-year-old who must team up with an enigmatic criminal to cure herself of dangerous forbidden magic in the first book of a new duology from the New York Times bestselling author of the Falling Kingdoms series! Scroll down to … Continued
See More

See the cover for Sunny G’s Series of Rash Decisions

Cover reveal! Scroll down to see the cover and read an excerpt of Sunny G’s Series of Rash Decisions. For fans of Sandhya Menon and Adam Silvera, Navdeep Singh Dhillon’s debut is a prom-night romantic-comedy romp about a Sikh teen’s search for love and identity. Scroll down to start reading! Designer: Jessica Jenkins (IG: gorjessdesign; TWITTER: … Continued
See More

Olivia Rodrigo’s SOUR is here and we’ve got your ultimate track match

The breakout album of 2021 needs the ultimate Book Track Match and for Olivia Rodrigo’s SOUR, the almost diary like journey through her heartbreak due to a recent breakup. With a mix of rock bangers and emotional ballads, this is the perfect album to scream your heart out to or roll the car windows down … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: AND WE RISE

See the cover and read an excerpt of And We Rise by Erica Martin, a powerful, impactful, eye-opening journey that explores through the Civil Rights Movement in 1950s-1960s America in spare and evocative verse, with historical photos interspersed throughout. Scroll down to start reading! Jacket designer: Theresa Evangelista Illustrator: Adriana Bellet (@jeezvanilla)   It’s 1877 when   Jim Crow laws … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP