Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

The Official THE LAKE EFFECT Playlist

SHARE

Erin McCahan, author of The Lake Effect, created this amazing playlist for her main characters, Briggs Henry and Abigail Howe. The Lake Effect, coming July 11, is a funny, bracing, poignant romance and coming-of-age story for fans of Huntley Fitzpatrick, Me and Earl and the Dying Girl, and The Beginning of Everything.

 

About the book:

lake effect | n.

1. The effect of any lake, especially the Great Lakes, in modifying the weather in nearby areas
2. The effect of elderly ladies, mysterious girls, and countless funerals, in upending your life, one summer at the beach

It’s the summer after senior year, and Briggs Henry is out the door. He’s leaving behind his ex-girlfriend and his parents’ money troubles for Lake Michigan and its miles of sandy beaches, working a summer job as a personal assistant, and living in a gorgeous Victorian on the shore. It’s the kind of house Briggs plans to buy his parents one day when he’s a multi-millionaire. But then he gets there. And his eighty-four-year-old boss tells him to put on a suit for her funeral.

So begins a summer of social gaffes, stomach cramps, fraught beach volleyball games, moonlit epiphanies, and a drawer full of funeral programs. Add to this Abigail, the mystifying girl next door on whom Briggs’s charms just won’t work, and “the lake effect” is taking on a whole new meaning.

Smart, funny, and honest, The Lake Effect is about realizing that playing along is playing it safe, and that you can only become who you truly are if you’re willing to take the risk.

 

Now onto the playlist!

 

Briggs

My Shot – Lin-Manuel Miranda, from Hamilton Soundtrack

 

Believer – Imagine Dragons

 

There’s Nothing Holding Me Back – Shawn Mendes

 

Move – Saint Motel

 

24K Magic – Bruno Mars

 

Shape of You – Ed Sheeran

 

One of Us – New Politics

 

I Wanna Get Better — Bleachers

 

Roller Coaster – Bleachers

 

One Minute More – Capital Cities

 

 

Abigail

Scars To Your Beautiful – Alessia Cara

 

Just the Way You Are – Bruno Mars

 

Something Just Like This – The Chainsmokers & Coldplay

 

Water Under the Bridge – Adele

 

We Don’t Know – The Strumbellas

 

Safe and Sound – Capital Cities

 

Road Less Traveled – Lauren Alaina

 

One Minute More – Capital Cities

 

Giants – Take That

 

Roller Coaster – Bon Jovi

 

 

Pre-order your copy of The Lake Effect!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#Bookish

How to Throw the Perfect Bookish Thanksgiving

Thanksgiving is all about food, family, and feeling grateful for all that you’ve got. The only thing that could make it better? Books, of course! Add these finishing touches to your Thanksgiving plans. Save your spot! (Photo credit Knock Knock) These library checkout cards make creatively bookish Place Cards – and as a bonus, people … Continued
See More

7 Books to Inspire Your Halloween Costume This Year

Halloween is quickly approaching, and we are ready! Bring on the costumes, candy, and scares! To help you get in the mood, we have some easy bookish costume suggestions that will make you Halloween ready in no time.   Alex & Eliza: A Love Story by Melissa de la Cruz For a simple Eliza costume, wear … Continued
See More

8 Spells that Book Lovers Need

As readers (and especially as readers of fantasy), we sometimes wish we could add a little magic from some of our favorite books to our everyday life. Because wouldn’t life as a booklover be a little better if you had a few spells to spice things up?   The no spoilers spell So, maybe you’re a slow … Continued
See More

8 Books to Inspire Your Unique Bookish Tattoos

Looking for ideas for your latest tattoo? Well, look no further! Whether it’s a meaningful quote or an image, these bookish ideas will inspire you for your next ink appointment!   Beasts Made of Night Bookish tattoo idea: Sin beasts woven together The intricate animals on this cover would make for a perfect new tattoo. In … Continued
See More

Penguin Teen’s Wicked Reads Presents: #ScareABook

October is the month of Ghouls and Ghosties, and we here at Penguin know exactly how to celebrate a month-long halloween: with these #WickedReads! But also by remixing some of our favorite titles to be a little more…spooky. Read on! If you dare…     The Fault in Our Stars by John Green Hazel and … Continued
See More

What’s the One Thing You Couldn’t Live Without if You Were Shipwrecked on an Island?

Inspired by Jessica Taylor’s upcoming A Map for Wrecked Girls, we asked readers the one thing they’d want if stranded on a deserted island. As expected, lots of people said books (duh!), but we had a lot of other creative answers as well!   What’s one thing you couldn’t live without if you were shipwrecked … Continued
See More

Replace Your Family With Your Favorite Characters This Thanksgiving!

Thanksgiving is almost here! That means your favorite (and not-so-favorite) cousins, aunts, uncles, brothers, sisters, neighbors, grandparents, step-siblings, pets, mailmen, and more are going to be up in your business for at least 3 hours or more *shudders*. And while Thanksgiving is all about being grateful, you can still be grateful for your family while … Continued
See More

Eerie Ireland: a Short Guide for the Magic Realist Visitor

Our resident Irish author, Moïra Fowley-Doyle, author of Spellbook of the Lost and Found and The Accident Season, is a genius when it comes to writing beautiful, creepy, atmospheric stories set in the Irish countryside. We asked her to share her expertise with us, and she bestowed this eerie travel guide to Ireland upon us! Read on for the … Continued
See More

A Playlist Inspired by TURTLES ALL THE WAY DOWN

Sometimes when you read a book, a playlist starts instantly forming in your mind, whether inspired by the characters, the mood, your personal reactions, or a combination of them all. That’s how we felt after reading John Green’s new book, Turtles All the Way Down. Each individual’s experience with a book is unique, but here is … Continued
See More

The 5 Worst Things for Book Lovers to Lose

We all have those days where we lose things. Keys, pens, earrings…we’ve all been there. But as book lovers, we know there are some essentials that we can’t misplace. We’ve rounded up 5 of the worst think book lovers can lose.   Their library card The library is a magical place. It’s quiet and full … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP

I can give you book recommendations.
Please enter your name and email address to begin chatting with me.



What is your date of birth?

START CHAT