Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

These laugh-out-loud books are GUARANTEED to make you smile

SHARE

Whether you had a bad day, lost your favorite bookmark, or are grieving the tragic death of your favorite fictional character, we have a few books that are GUARANTEED to make you smile. So scroll down for some of our favorite reads with witty characters, hilarious banter, and all around good vibes. :)

 

The Other Merlin by Robyn Schneider

the other merlin

Welcome to the great kingdom of Camelot! Prince Arthur’s a depressed botanist who would rather marry a library than a princess, Lancelot’s been demoted to castle guard after a terrible lie, and Emry Merlin has arrived at the castle disguised as her twin brother since girls can’t practice magic. This book is the BEST kind of chaos.

 

Perfectly Parvin by Olivia Abtahi

Perfectly Parvin

Olivia Abtahi’s debut is as hilarious as it is heartfelt–a delightful tale where, amid the turmoil of high school friendships and crushes, being yourself is always the perfect way to be.

 

The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae

The-Kinder-Poison

You ever accidentally end up being a human sacrifice amidst a deadly race for the throne with three royal heirs? Besides being filled with magic, amazing characters, and incredible world-building, The Kinder Poison has a plot set up like no other, and you really can’t help but laugh at the situations Zahru gets herself into.

 

Huda F Are You by Huda Fahmy

huda f are you

From the creator of Yes, I’m Hot In This, this cheeky, hilarious, and honest graphic novel asks the question everyone has to figure out for themselves: Who are you? Coming this November!

 

Hello (From Here) by Chandler Baker & Wesley King

HelloFromHere_ONLINE

If you love cheeky banter over text, you’re going to LOVE Max and Jonah as they navigate love in the age of quarantine.

 

A Taste for Love by Jennifer Yen 

A Taste for Love

A matchmaking mother? A bake-off? Enemies-to-lovers? Yeah, we guarantee this romcom will have you grinning ear-to-ear.

 

Margot Mertz Takes It Down by Carrie McCrossen and Ian McWethy

margot mertz

Veronica Mars meets Moxie in this hilarious and biting YA contemporary novel following Margot Mertz, a girl who runs an internet cleanup business and embarks on a quest to take down a revenge-porn site targeting the girls in her school. Coming this November!

 

Super Fake Love Song by David Yoon

super fake love song

Allow us to set the stage: you like this *super cool* girl. She likes rockstars. You’re not a rockstar…but maybe you can become one.

 

My Eyes Are Up Here by Laura Zimmerman

my-eyes-are-up-here

Hilarious and heartbreakingly honest, My Eyes Are Up Here is a story of awkwardness and ferocity, of imaginary butterflies and rock-solid friends. It’s the story of a girl finding her way out of her oversized sweatshirt and back into the real world.

 

We Are Inevitable by Gayle Forman

we are inevitable

Equal parts heartfelt and funny, this book is one big hug that will have you feeling all warm and fuzzy inside.

 

You’re So Dead by Ash Parsons

YoureSoDead_final_rev_10-12[2] (1)

This is the perfect combination of mystery, horror…and yes, humor. This thriller-comedy follows three best friends who sneak into an influencers-only festival event (gone wrong), only to discover a killer is in their midst–and they have to uncover the truth and solve the mystery before it’s too late.

 

Eat Your Heart Out by Kelly deVos

EatYourHeartOut_CV_ONLINE

Shaun of the Dead meets Dumplin’ in this bitingly funny YA thriller about a kickass group of teens battling a ravenous group of…wait for it…zombies!

 

#ReaderLove

Excerpt alert: start reading I GUESS I LIVE HERE NOW by Claire Ahn!

For fans of Anna and the French Kiss and Loveboat Taipei, this effervescent debut takes readers on a journey to the place where trends are born—Seoul, Korea—where Melody Lee unwillingly moves with her family and must start a new life, a new school…and maybe a new romance. Scroll down to read a sneak peek of I Guess I Live Here … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: LEAGUE OF LIARS by Astrid Scholte

League of Liars by Astrid Scholte is coming to shelves THIS MONTH! In this fantasy thriller, four teens charged with murder and caught up with the illegal use of magic band together to devise the ultimate jailbreak. Perfect for fans of Six of Crows and How to Get Away with Murder. Ever since his mother was killed, seventeen-year-old Cayder Broduck has … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: SO, THIS IS CHRISTMAS

That cute holiday romance read you were looking for? It’s right here. Let It Snow meets Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares in So, This Is Christmas by Tracy Andreen, a new small-town Christmas romance. And you can start reading it now! When Finley Brown returned to her hometown of Christmas, Oklahoma, from boarding school, she expected to find it just … Continued
See More

All My Rage Transformed My Idea of the American Dream

All My Rage is a powerful, heart-wrenching, and ultimately uplifting contemporary novel from Sabaa Tahir, on shelves now. We asked Samawia Akhter, a BookToker and superfan of the book, to share about the impact that All My Rage had on her. Keep scrolling to see what Samawia said!   View this post on Instagram A … Continued
See More

A Beginner’s Guide to Ruta Sepetys Books

With more than 1 million copies of her books in print, the critically acclaimed Ruta Sepetys is known for her uncanny ability to uncover some of the darkest corners of history, and tell their stories. But in case you’re new here, it’s time we introduce you to the Queen of Heart-wrenching Historical Fiction. So, think … Continued
See More

Cover Love: Our Favorite Illustrated Covers This Year!

We are LOVING the illustrated cover trend that has blessed YA recently. If you are too, here are 28 of our favorite illustrated covers from this year!   Margot Mertz Takes It Down by Carrie McCrossen and Ian McWethy The laptop decals. The smirk. We’re here for it.   Huda F Are You? by Huda … Continued
See More

2022 Epic Fantasy Covers We’re OBSESSED With

2022 is killing it in the fantasy cover arena. Here are just a few of our favs so far! League of Liars by Astrid Scholte This cover honestly gives us chills. Echoes and Empires by Morgan Rhodes  The box. The magic. The title treatment. The everything. Akata Woman by Nnedi Okorafor We can’t get over … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: Sunny G’s Series of Rash Decisions

For fans of Sandhya Menon and Adam Silvera, Sunny G’s Series of Rash Decisions is a prom-night romantic-comedy romp about a Sikh teen’s search for love and identity. Sunny G’s brother left him one thing when he died: His notebook, which Sunny is determined to fill up with a series of rash decisions. Decision number one was … Continued
See More

Best of #Bookstagram: ALL MY RAGE by Sabaa Tahir

We love #bookstagram, and #bookstagram is loving All My Rage by Sabaa Tahir! Scroll down to see some of our favorite bookish posts so far and what reviewers are saying!   “I’m simultaneously so excited to start and also emotionally unprepared ” — @abookishmarriage View this post on Instagram A post shared by Hillary (@abookishmarriage)   “I … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: ECHOES AND EMPIRES by Morgan Rhodes

From the New York Times bestselling author of the Falling Kingdoms series comes the first book in a brand-new duology about forbidden magic and dangerous secrets, for readers of Victoria Aveyard and Margaret Rogerson. Scroll down to start reading Echoes and Empires, on shelves January 4, 2022! The sound of a crash from around the corner drew my attention. I … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP