Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Jay Asher tells why the Thirteen Reasons Why anniversary edition contains the book’s original ending

SHARE

It’s been ten years since we first published Thirteen Reasons Why, and to celebrate we’re releasing a 10th Anniversary edition with exclusive content including the never-before-seen original ending in which Hannah Baker lives.

 

Got your attention? Need to know more ASAP? So did we! Luckily, we got to ask Jay Asher ten burning questions we had about this momentous publication, the Thirteen Reasons Why Netflix series, and more:

JayAsher_credit_SonyaSones_small
Why did you decide to release the original ending of Thirteen Reasons Why?
Since the book came out, readers have asked if I ever considered—somehow—keeping Hannah alive at the end of the novel. I get a great reaction when I tell them that’s precisely how it originally ended. Their jaws drop! Then I explain the particulars of how it unfolded, and why it needed to change. So, since I’d already been talking about it, it felt appropriate to finally share that chapter for the 10th anniversary edition.

 

What made you change the ending in the first place?
To start, I’m not exactly sure what my thought process was behind the original ending. I had a relative who survived a suicide attempt when she was a junior in high school, which years later inspired the novel. So maybe that’s why my initial thought was to have Hannah’s character also survive. Or maybe I thought it was a creative twist that no one would see coming, allowing me to give all of the characters a second chance. Whatever the reasoning, it felt false for this particular story and for the seriousness of the issue. If someone goes through with a suicide, there are no second chances for anyone involved.

 

When you were writing Thirteen Reasons Why, did you want the book to have a particular message to teens?
The main thing I wanted to say, which is more of a reminder, is that we do affect each other. When we do or say things, we can never know exactly how another person is going to take it because we don’t know what they’ve already dealt with. But that doesn’t apply only to the bad things we do or say. We also don’t know how massive a simple kind work or action can be to someone.

 

How do you think one ending versus another affects the message of the novel?
What I wanted to say wouldn’t have changed, but the original ending would have let readers off the hook from needing to consider my message. They may have been following my message from the beginning, but when they finished that last chapter they would have let out a sigh of relief that everything could potentially be righted. But with suicide there are no second chances, and with the final ending, that isn’t an option to even consider. But readers are shown that people can change for the better, even after a tragedy, and that was very important to me.

 

What do you hope or think Thirteen Reasons Why fans will think of this ending?
As a reader myself, I’m always curious about the thought processes behind what other authors do, from the big decisions down to things like name selection. So I hope it’s interesting for them to read, and I think they’ll understand why the story needed to end the way it does.

 

How does it feel to be coming up on the 10th anniversary of the book?
I could not have imagined the book would be where it is ten years later. Honestly, I didn’t think the book would be a great commercial success (though I didn’t tell my publisher that). I thought a few people would really love it, but I just had no idea it would resonate with such a large audience. It’s still hard for me to put it all into focus.

 

How do you feel about the overwhelmingly positive teen response to the book over the last ten years?
I have two opposing feelings about that. Part of that response, I recognize, comes from teens thankful that my book addresses issues that our society has a hard time discussing. And because it’s hard to discuss, sometimes we don’t, which is dangerous. So the necessity of books like this means the positive response will always come with a twinge of sadness. But to hear about communities using my book is to open discussions, or when someone reads it and finally feels understand, that’s such a heartwarming honor. When the positive remark is about the writing or storytelling alone, that I can find pure joy in!

 

What role has Thirteen Reasons Why played in the bullying prevention movement?
There have been so many people who said the book inspired them to start an anti-bullying group at their school, or provide a Safe Space, or just adjust how they treat others. On a larger scale, a lot of schools and communities have been using my book as one means of opening up a discussion.

 

What are you most looking forward to about the upcoming Netflix series?
I’m most excited for my readers—that they’ll get to experience this story in a whole new way! The cast and crew are phenomenal, personally and professionally, and their love for the story will be evident throughout each episode. Yes, I am excited that the story will be shared with people who’ve never read the book, but I’m most excited for my readers.

 

What would you tell new readers to Thirteen Reasons Why?
This is your book. Don’t be concerned with what anyone else says about it—good or bad. Just like with any book, it’s your experience with these characters that matters.

 

The anniversary edition contains:

  • A new introduction from Jay Asher

  • The never-before-seen original ending accompanied by an essay from Jay Asher

  • Pages from Jay Asher’s notebook that he used while he was writing Thirteen Reasons Why

  • The original synopsis of Thirteen Reasons Why that went out to publishers

  • Reader reactions

  • A reading guide

 

Get your copy of the Thirteen Reasons Why 10th Anniversary Edition!

 

 

 

#Newsyoucanuse

What to know about the BookCon Read-A-Thon

The first-ever BookCon Read-A-Thon online is happening. Make sure you tune in this Saturday, April 11th to see some of YA’s most beloved authors do readings, panels, and more. Join the virtual event here and scroll down to see the Penguin Teen lineup!     2:30pm-2:45pm Marie Lu, The Kingdom of Back Two siblings. Two brilliant talents. But only … Continued
See More

Catch Penguin Teen at NTTBF 2020!

This weekend we’re heading to Texas for NTTBF 2020! Check out what we’ve got going on this weekend, and make sure to come by the booth and say hi! Can’t make it to North Texas Teen Book Festival? Make sure you’re following along on our Instagram and Twitter at @penguinteen!   10:30am Jo & Laurie … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL & SNEAK PEEK: The Boy in the Red Dress

Cover reveal (AND excerpt) time! Get ready for The Boy in the Red Dress by Kristin Lambert hitting shelves this May, is a rollicking romp of truth, lies, and troubled pasts. It’s New Year’s Eve, 1929.Millie is running the show at the Cloak & Dagger, a swinging speakeasy in the French Quarter, while her aunt is out of town. … Continued
See More

Every Book Hitting Shelves in April!

April is almost here, and she’s bringing books!   4/7: The Best Laid Plans by Cameron Lund – High school senior Keely Collins takes on firsts, lasts, and everything in between in this sweet, sex-positive rom-com for fans of Meg Cabot and Jenny Han.   4/7: Holding on to You by Ash Parsons – A gripping and … Continued
See More

Every Book Hitting Shelves in March!

March is making the rest of 2020 BLUSH with how amazing it is. Ready your shelves. Prepare your TBR. LET’S GO!   3/3: The Kingdom of Back by Marie Lu – Two siblings. Two brilliant talents. But only one Mozart. Born with a gift for music, Nannerl Mozart has just one wish–to be remembered forever. And as Nannerl’s hope of … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL: The Sky Above Us by Natalie Lund

Cover reveal time! Today we’re revealing the cover for Natalie Lund’s The Sky Above Us. After her stunning debut, We Speak in Storms, we absolutely cannot wait what she’s cooked up next. So we’re celebrating with an excerpt! Get ready for a twisty, psychological thriller about three friends searching for the truth in the aftermath of a plane … Continued
See More

A Book for Every Reader: Ebooks on Sale!

Bored at home? We’re here to help! This week on Penguin Teen, we’re featuring a book for every reader of every genre. Scroll down to see all the ebooks on sale this week, and get your copies anywhere ebooks are sold (before it ends on 3/29!)   For Horror fans… The Merciless by Danielle Vega … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: STORMBREAK by Natalie C. Parker

It’s coming. Seafire left us on the edge of our seats. Steel Tide left us with questions that NEED answers. And now, Natalie C. Parker is bringing it home with the epic finale to Caledonia’s journey in Stormbreak. In the thrilling conclusion to the Seafire trilogy, Caledonia Styx will risk everything–her heart, her crew, and even her life–to defeat Lir … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: VICIOUS SPIRITS by Kat Cho

Cover reveal time! We all fell MADLY in love with Kat Cho’s Wicked Fox. But it also left us with questions. We need to know what’s next for Miyoung and Jihoon! We don’t have all the answers yet, but luckily, we DO have a cover to show you. And it. is. GORGEOUS. Prepare your eyeballs and scroll down … Continued
See More

Cover reveal and excerpt: EVERY BODY LOOKING by Candice Iloh

Jacqueline Woodson loves it, Nic Stone loves it, Jason Reynolds loves it! And we just know you’re going to love it too! Every Body Looking by Candice Iloh, is a that book tells the story of Ada–daughter of an immigrant father and an African American mother–and her struggle to find a place for herself in … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP