Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Time Travel Books that Give #TBT A Whole New Meaning

SHARE

It just feels right to read time travel books on #TBT (but for the record, they’re actually awesome to read any day of the week). Read on for 7 of our favorite books that will shake up your sense of time:

 

The Love that Split the World by Emily Henry

The summer before college, Nat starts seeing strange changes in her Kentucky hometown, and then a mysterious apparition tells her “You have three months to save him.” The next night, she meets a beautiful boy named Beau under the lights of the high school football field, and everything about her reality will fall into question.

 

Once Upon a Kiss by Robin Palmer 

In 1986, a freak Fun-Dip choking accident leaves Zoe Brenner unconscious… and she wakes up in 2016. As she tries to rekindle decade old friendships and maneuver high school and technology, she must decide if she even wants to go back.

 

Where Futures End by Parker Peevyhouse

Hint: You might want to take a break from Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr…really everything after reading this book. Where Futures End is a collection of 5 time-spanning, interconnected novellas about five teens navigating eerily plausible futures determined by social media, corporate sponsorship, and an alternate world.

 

The Appearance of Annie Van Sinderen by Katherine Howe

Wes met a beautiful girl named Annie while filming a seance in the East Village, but he can’t help but feel that there’s something strange about her – almost as if she belong to another place…or another time.

Hawthorn by Carol Goodman

In the third book of the Blythewood series, Avaline Hall is briefly transported to the future, where she glimpses a terrifying war that would destroy the human and faerie worlds. Will she and her allies be able to prevent fate?

 

Popular by Maya Van Wagenen

Ok, there’s no real time-travel in this book, but it’s pretty close: This is the heartwarmingly delightful true story of Maya Van Wagenen, who followed a popularity guide from the 1950′s and discovered the true meaning of popular.

 

Obsidian Mirror by Catherine Fisher

The power of the obsidian mirror is great and terrible: it can send you to the past, but it will not bring you back.

Check out this list of 5 of the worst things a book lover could lose!

#ShelfGoals

Read an excerpt of When I Am Through With You

When I Am Through With You by Stephanie Kuehn is a gripping story of survival and the razor’s-edge difference between perfect cruelty and perfect love. Ben Gibson is many things, but he’s not sorry and he’s not a liar. He will tell you exactly about what happened on what started as a simple school camping trip … Continued
See More

Start Reading CHEMICAL HEARTS by Krystal Sutherland!

Chemical Hearts is now streaming on Amazon Prime Video and we are SO excited to see Krystal Sutherland’s gorgeous novel come to life on screen. But in case you still have some catching up to do on reading the book, here’s an excerpt to get you started! About Chemical Hearts: Henry Page has never been in love. He … Continued
See More

Middle Grade Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

  What Lane? by Torrey Maldonado “STAY IN YOUR LANE.” Stephen doesn’t want to hear that–he wants to have no lane.Anything his friends can do, Stephen should be able to do too, right? So when they dare each other to sneak into an abandoned building, he doesn’t think it’s his lane, but he goes. Here’s … Continued
See More

Books to Read for Latinx Heritage Month

September 15-October 15 is Latinx Heritage Month. We’re inviting you to join us in reading stories by Latinx authors–and if you don’t know where to start, here are a few of our recommendations!   We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez A poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, … Continued
See More

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More

YA Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

From award winning icons such as Mildred D. Taylor to debut voices such as Patrice Caldwell, here are some of the Black authors you should be reading.   A Phoenix First Must Burn edited by Patrice Caldwell Sixteen tales by bestselling and award-winning authors that explore the Black experience through fantasy, science fiction, and magic. … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: VICIOUS SPIRITS by Kat Cho

We fell completely in LOVE with Kat Cho’s Wicked Fox last year. And we may be even more in love with its stunning companion novel, Vicious Spirits! Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE As with any tragedy, it came about because he loved. When he was on the cusp of manhood, a young man met a … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi & Fantasy reads to move up on your TBR asap

2020 has brought a LOT of amazing reads to our shelf. Here are just a few of our favorite sci-fi/fantasy reads you’ll want to make sure you didn’t miss!   Want to win them all? Click here to enter our sweepstakes! The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae You will laugh. You will cry. You will … Continued
See More

Start reading HARROW LAKE by Kat Elis

Calling all horror movie fans! Harrow Lake is a can’t-put-down, creepy thriller about the daughter of a horror film director who’s not afraid of anything–until she gets to Harrow Lake. Scroll down to start reading! Transcript of interview with Nolan Nox, Director of Nightjar, for Scream Screen magazine (Nightjar twentieth-anniversary special feature) CJL: C. J. Lahey, columnist with Scream Screen NN: Nolan … Continued
See More

What to read if you’re not over The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

If you’ve binge re-read the entire Hunger Games series and flew through the new prequel, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, we’ve got some recommendations for what to pick up next! From the Katniss energy of standing up to oppressive governing forces, to death-defying, high-stakes competitions, let’s get started!   The Kinder Poison by Natalie … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP