Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Untold secrets: these historical fiction novels will take you into the most hidden corners of history!

SHARE

Love historical fiction? Here are 10 novels that will absolutely sweep you away into some of history’s most hidden corners!

 

Luck of the Titanic by Stacey Lee 

LuckoftheTitanic_CV_ONLINE

From the critically-acclaimed author of The Downstairs Girl comes the richly imagined story of Valora and Jamie Luck, twin British-Chinese acrobats traveling aboard the Titanic on its ill-fated maiden voyage.

 

Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys

Salt-to-the-Sea

Four voices. Four secrets. The lives of four young people come together at the end of WWII, weaving a story that brings to light the greatest maritime disaster in the history of the world.

Last Night at the Telegraph Club by Malinda Lo

Last Night at the Telegraph Club

Blood Water Paint by Joy McCullough

Artemisia Gentileschi was one of Rome’s most talented painters, even if no one knew her name. After she was sexually assaulted, Artemisia faced a terrible choice: a life of silence or a life of truth, no matter the cost. Joy McCullough’s bold novel in verse is a portrait of Artemisia as a young woman, battling with much more than she should have to.

 

The Downstairs Girl by Stacey Lee

TheDownstairsGirl

From the critically-acclaimed author of Under a Painted Sky and Outrun the Moon and founding member of We Need Diverse Books comes a powerful novel about identity, betrayal, and the meaning of family. Now available in paperback!

 

The Kingdom of Back by Marie Lu

kingdom-of-back-cover

The Fountains of Silence by Ruta Sepetys

The-Fountains-of-Silence-COVER

Master storyteller Ruta Sepetys once again shines light into one of history’s darkest corners in this epic, heart-wrenching novel about identity, unforgettable love, repercussions of war, and the hidden violence of silence–inspired by the true postwar struggles of Spain.

 

Someday We Will Fly by Rachel DeWoskin

9780147508911_somedaywewillfly_cvr_2P_working.indd

From the author of Blind, a heart-wrenching coming-of-age story set during World War II in Shanghai, one of the only places Jews without visas could find refuge.

Warsaw, Poland. The year is 1940 and Lillia is fifteen when her mother, Alenka, disappears and her father flees with Lillia and her younger sister, Naomi, to Shanghai, one of the few places that will accept Jews without visas. There they struggle to make a life; they have no money, there is little work, no decent place to live, a culture that doesn’t understand them. And always the worry about Alenka. How will she find them? Is she still alive?

 

We Are the Ashes, We Are the Fire by Joy McCullough

we are the ashes

This beautiful contemporary YA novel in prose and verse is combined with the historical legend of Marguerite de Bressieux, a fifteenth-century French noblewoman who is legendary as an avenging knight for rape victims.

 

Flygirl by Sherri L. Smith

flygirl

All Ida Mae Jones wants to do is fly. Her daddy was a pilot, and years after his death she feels closest to him when she’s in the air. But as a young black woman in 1940s Louisiana, she knows the sky is off limits to her, until America enters World War II, and the Army forms the WASP-Women Airforce Service Pilots. Ida has a chance to fulfill her dream if she’s willing to use her light skin to pass as a white girl. She wants to fly more than anything, but Ida soon learns that denying one’s self and family is a heavy burden, and ultimately it’s not what you do but who you are that’s most important.

 

 

 

Genre jump time! Check out these royal fantasy MUST reads!  

#Bookish

Excerpt Alert: CHASING THE TRUTH by Jodi Kantor and Megan Twohey, edited by Ruby Shamir

Do you want to know how to bring secrets to light? How journalists can hold the powerful to account? And how to write stories that can make a difference? In Chasing the Truth, award-winning journalists Jodi Kantor and Megan Twohey share their thoughts from their early days writing their first stories to their time as award-winning … Continued
See More

Start reading THE TAKING OF JAKE LIVINGSTON

The Taking of Jake Livingston is the perfect Halloween read, so we’re sharing an excerpt today to get you started! Scroll down to start reading about Jake Livingston, a sixteen-year-old who sees dead people everywhere. I live in Atlanta, but not really. Clark City is too far out for the train to come, unless it’s one of … Continued
See More

Start reading HELLO (FROM HERE) by Chandler Baker and Wesley King!

A love story? In quarantine? Yes! Hello (From Here) by Chandler Baker and Wesley King is a heartfelt, witty, and thought-provoking YA love story about two teens who fall for each other while forced apart during quarantine, written by two New York Times bestselling authors, and for fans of Five Feet Apart, Anna and the French Kiss, and My Life Next Door. … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: CATCH THE LIGHT by Kate Sweeney

Excerpt alert! Catch the Light by Kate Sweeney is a love story perfect for fans of Nina LaCour and Jandy Nelson, about a girl who moves cross country and finds herself falling for someone new who throws her whole life out of order. Nine months after the death of her father, Marigold is forced to pick up … Continued
See More

Reads by Filipino-American authors for your shelf!

October is Filipino American History Month, and here are a few amazing reads by Filipino American authors we recommend you add to your shelf if you haven’t already!   Patron Saints of Nothing by Randy Ribay A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks a Filipino-American teenager takes to uncover the truth about his cousin’s … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: THE CORPSE QUEEN by Heather M. Herrman

Excerpt alert! The Corpse Queen by Heather M. Herrman is a dark and twisty feminist historical mystery, in which a teenage girl starts a new life as a grave robber…but quickly becomes entangled in a murderer’s plans. Coming to shelves September 14th! Scroll down to read a sneak peek! The dead do not always keep their secrets. Sometimes the … Continued
See More

Mystery books: our favorite detectives in YA!

We can’t resist a good mystery, or a protagonist determined to get to the bottom of one! So, if you’re looking for your next mystery to unravel, read on for 6 of our favorites!   Margot Mertz Takes It Down by Carrie McCrossen and Ian McWethy Hell hath no fury like Margot, who discovers a … Continued
See More

Books that PROVE the woods are the scariest place to be in a thriller

If you ever find yourself in a thriller novel, it’s probably best to steer towards the nearest exit. But more importantly, do NOT go into the woods, and here are 6 books that show why!   The Woods Are Always Watching by Stephanie Perkins Simply put: the only thing being lost in the woods…is being … Continued
See More

Last Minute Bookish Costumes for Lazy People

We all know how this goes. You spend most of October binge-watching scary movies, going to corn mazes, and drinking pumpkin spice anything. Then, suddenly BOOM. Halloween is actually here and OOPS you forgot to get a costume. Panicking? No worries, we’ve got you covered.   Emika Chen – Warcross   Grab some hair chalk! Time to rainbow-up … Continued
See More

Start reading THE OTHER MERLIN by Robyn Schneider

Channeling the modern humor of The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue, bestselling author Robyn Schneider creates a Camelot that becomes the ultimate teen rom-com hotspot in this ultra-fresh take on the Arthurian legend. Scroll down to start reading The Other Merlin! Everything was going to be fine. Emry Merlin staggered out the back door of the … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP