Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

What It’s Really Like Being Trans in America Today: A Conversation with FELIX YZ Author Lisa Bunker

SHARE

Here at Penguin Teen, we know that reading is a great way to step into another person’s shoes, to understand someone else’s experience. But sometimes reading isn’t enough. We need to hear from the authors themselves, whether it be about their inspirations for their work or their experiences which lead them here. At Penguin Teen, we want to be a space where authors’ voices can be heard.

Today, we’re here to share an interview with Lisa Bunker, the author of Felix Yz. Lisa spoke to us about her experience being trans in America, especially in the current political climate.

 

Q: First things first: how do you identify, and what pronouns do you use?

A: Thanks for asking. I identify as a trans woman, and I use she/her/hers.

 

Q: So that means you were born…

A: That means I was born with a male body, so they assumed that I was a male person on the inside too. But who I am on the inside maps way better onto “woman” than onto “man,” so I transitioned socially, legally, and medically, and now I live as a woman in the world.

 

Q: Does being trans make your life harder?

A: First of all I have to say, the answer to that question is different for every trans person, and there are lots of people in America today who have a really hard time because they’re trans, facing loss of family, work, housing, living with the threat of violence, etc. I’m better off than most. I do my work and have my life with my partner and family and friends and church, and gender doesn’t intrude. Much.

 

Q: But it does a little.

A: Yeah.

 

Q: How?

A: Well, when I go out in public, I’m always braced for sudden random ickiness. I “pass,” as trans folk say, really well, but every once in a while someone still somehow perceives me as male, and then I get called “sir” or whatever, and it just dumps a load of yuck into whatever moment that is.

 

Q: A casual word from a random stranger.

A: Yeah, I know, but it matters. When people mis-gender you, it’s like they’re taking away part of your right to exist in the world. And it echoes back to the long dark years of locked-inside loneliness. Also, you’re always aware of the possibility of a fearful or hateful reaction.

 

Q: Has that ever happened to you?

A: Yeah, a couple times. The one that bothered me the most was when, one of the first times I ever went out wearing women’s clothes, a man in a Goodwill parking lot did a double take as I drove past him and yelled “faggot” at me through the car window.

 

Q: What did you do?

A: I just kept driving. And went home and cried myself to sleep. And didn’t go out again dressed as a woman for six weeks.

 

Q: Sounds like transition was hard at times.

A: Yeah, it was. It was a long hard slog and it just about broke me both emotionally and financially.

 

Q: But it was worth it.

A: Absolutely it was worth it. My other choice was to self-destruct in some way. And to say I am so much happier now doesn’t say it strongly enough. I am so much more real now, because I’m not living behind a mask any more. I have found love, and it’s real because I’m real. And I’ve found success as a writer, and it’s real because the work came clean and clear from the real heart of me.

 

Q: Trans people are in the news these days because of states debating laws about bathrooms and such, and now President Trump’s tweets about a ban on trans people serving in the military. How do you feel about that?

A: I feel sad and angry about that. What really bothers me is that trans people have become a new political scapegoat. It seems like people with certain political agendas think we’re an easy target because there aren’t that many of us, and because most of the world still doesn’t know anything about us, so it’s easy to paint us as scary freaks who need to be stopped.

 

Q: Are you?

A: We are not. So totally not. Except for this one thing of our internal gender not matching our outward biological sex, we are totally normal people. And there are trans people from every walk of life, in every culture and religion and political mindset. It’s just a thing that happens to a small percentage of humans when they’re born.

 

Q: But people are afraid of you.

A: Some people are, yes. And that’s dangerous, because fearful people can do awful things.

 

Q: So what do we do about the fear?

A: Well, I think the fear comes in two ways. The first is just not knowing. People fear what they don’t know about and don’t understand. And the solution to that is easy: learn. Engage with stories of trans lives. Real stories, not sensational ones. They’re easy to find online – blogs and YouTube and so on.

 

Q: And the other?

A: The other is tougher. Because I think the mere existence of trans people is threatening to many people. That would be people who have committed to belief systems that have no room for us in their explanations of the world, and/or people who depend on clear black and white categories for a sense of safety. And most of these people are good, decent, honorable people, but just by existing, we trans folk challenge their belief systems or suggest that their neat categories aren’t so neat after all, and that makes them feel unsafe.

 

Q: What do we do about that?

A: Honestly, I’m not sure. Education is part of it, no doubt. But also, I think, respect is so important. Some of these fearful, reactive people honestly don’t see me as a human being, and that’s so unpleasant for me—terrifying, really—but I think it’s crucial for me to still see them as humans, try to understand them as humans, not as some other kind of imaginary monster to mirror the imaginary monster they’re seeing me as. Once you go there, no real communication can happen anymore. So, just keep being kind and respectful. While still also, always, insisting on my right to exist, my right to dignity, my right to equal protection under the law.

 

Q: Any good side to being trans in America today?

A: Yeah, sure. There’s a vibrant sense of community, of a movement, a quickly evolving new culture which is so much more open to all the amazing different gender variations that people really truly have and deserve to freely inhabit in the world. It’s thrilling to be a part of that. And transness teaches us about ways to bridge divides. We have so many divisions in our world today, so much mistrust and anger and hate, and trans people can help with that. To use myself as an example, I’ve lived as both a man and a woman in the world. That gives me a unique perspective on gender roles, sexism, misogyny . . . but also the challenges male-type people face figuring out how to express masculinity in our twenty-first century American society.

 

Q: So you, and other trans people like you, can help heal divisions.

A: If the world will let us, yeah.

 

Q: If you could say one thing to someone who fears trans people, what would it be?

A: I would say, I’m sorry if my existence makes you uncomfortable, and, believe it or not, I respect your right to your beliefs . . . right up to the point where your beliefs say that people like me are less than fully human. That’s where I have to respectfully disagree, and insist on my complete and healthy selfhood, no matter how squirmy that makes anyone else feel.

 

 

Get your copy of Lisa’s book, Felix Yz, here!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#AuthorSpotlight

ZODIAC Re-readers: This is your character and house guide! *SPOILERS AHEAD*

Thirteen Rising, the final book in Romina Russell’s Zodiac series, is almost here, and we’re getting you ready by giving you an in-depth look at the twelve houses of the Zodiac, including a reminder about each of the characters. Luckily, Romina was here to provide us with all of the info that you need to … Continued
See More

Aditi Khorana Explains THE LIBRARY OF FATES in 30 Seconds!

Watch Aditi Khorana, author of The Library of Fates, pitch her book in 30 seconds!           Read more and get your copy of The Library of Fates here!                                  
See More

Julie Israel Shares 5 Things You Need to Know About JUNIPER LEMON’S HAPPINESS INDEX

Watch Julie Israel, author of Juniper Lemon’s Happiness Index, share 5 things to know about her debut novel!         Get your copy here!                                
See More

Enter the Graceling Realm with Excerpts from Kristin Cashore’s Bestselling Fantasy Novels

Whether you’re a fan of Kristin Cashore’s Graceling series, or have just read the dozens of fantasies that it has inspired, there’s no denying that it’s one of the most iconic fantasy series out there. As you might have heard, her first book in five years, Jane, Unlimited, is coming out September 19, and we. … Continued
See More

Everything You Need to Know About THINGS I’M SEEING WITHOUT YOU Author Peter Bognanni

Name: Peter Bognanni Novel: Things I’m Seeing Without You Available: October 3, 2017 About the book: Fans of Eleanor and Park and All the Bright Places will laugh and cry as they read this heartbreaking and life-affirming novel about love after the most profound loss. Seventeen-year-old Tess Fowler has just dropped out of high school. She can barely function after … Continued
See More

5 Reasons to Read The 5th Wave Series

  All three books in Rick Yancey’s The 5th Wave series will be out in paperback tomorrow, and we think it’s the absolute perfect time to binge the entire series. Whether you’ve seen The 5th Wave movie, or are brand new to the story, here are five reasons that this should be the next series … Continued
See More

Julie Shepard Shares 5 Things You Need to Know About ROSIE GIRL!

Watch Julie Shepard, the author of Rosie Girl, share 5 things you should know about her new book!     About the book: Little Peach meets We Were Liars in this haunting YA debut about a troubled teen searching for her birth mom who uncovers disturbing family secrets along the way. After her father passes … Continued
See More

The Official Conspiracy of Us Series Recap *SPOILERS AHEAD*

Maggie Hall, the incredible author of the Conspiracy of Us series, graciously wrote this amazing recap post of books one and two in the series: The Conspiracy of Us and Map of Fates. So, if you’ve read these two and need a refresher before jumping into book three, The Ends of the World, read on! … Continued
See More

The Complete Zodiac Books Series Recap! *SPOILERS ABOUND*

Thirteen Rising, the fourth and final book in Romina Russell’s Zodiac series, comes out at the end of August, and we felt like you *might* need a bit of a refresher of the first three. Luckily, Romina offered to write up a totally amazing, totally spoilery, totally gif-filled recap that’s sure to refresh your memory in … Continued
See More

Everything You Need to Know About ROSIE GIRL Author Julie Shepard

Name: Julie Shepard Novel: Rosie Girl Available: July 11, 2017 About the book: After her father passes away, seventeen-year-old Rosie is forced to live with her abusive stepmom Lucy and her deadbeat boyfriend, Judd, who gives Rosie the sort of looks you shouldn’t give your girlfriend’s step-daughter. Desperate for a way out, Rosie would do just … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP

I can give you book recommendations.
Please enter your name and email address to begin chatting with me.



What is your date of birth?

START CHAT