Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

8 Books to Read After You Saw IT and Need a Hug

SHARE

Here’s to all those people who decided to see the IT reboot this weekend and really need a hug, and for everyone who was too scared to see it in the first place. These books are for you.

 

 

Once and For All by Sarah Dessen

Did you know that a wedding is the direct opposite of clowns?* Well, now you do. Sarah Dessen does it again with Once and For All, her newest novel about Louna, a girl who, despite her part-time wedding planning gig, doesn’t exactly believe in the whole love thing.

*evil clowns, I guess

 

Perfect Ten by L. Phillips

Take some magic, add some love, and some laughs, and you’ve got yourself Perfect Ten. Honestly, when John Corey Whaley says a book is “an absolute delight to read,” you listen.

 

The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick

Ahhhhh, Alice and Tim. The perfect will-they-won’t-they (they probably shouldn’t, but CAN THEY PLEASE) couple. Guaranteed to give you the warm fuzzies instead of scaring you half to death.

 

Alex & Eliza: A Love Story by Melissa de la Cruz

Alexander Hamilton and Elizabeth Schuyler. Probably one of the most romantic love stories, well, ever. It changed the course of American history, after all. How lucky we are, and all that.

 

The Season by Jonah Lisa Dyer and Stephen Dyer

Most Pride and Prejudice retellings are not filled with zombies or other things to scare you. This one is filled with Texas debutantes and soccer, which is decidedly less horrifying than the other ones. On board for anything Mr. Darcy related, to be honest.

 

That Inevitable Victorian Thing by E. K. Johnston

Take an alternate future, Austenian writing, and steampunk. Okay, now think about E.K. Johnston writing that. Yeah, need we say more?

 

Trouble is a Friend of Mine by Stephanie Tromly

Digby is reason enough to read Trouble is a Friend of Mine, but when you pair him with the awesome heroine Zoe and some serious mystery, you definitely won’t be worrying about killer clowns. Promise.

 

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Paris is definitely not scary. In fact, is there any place more romantic? It’s easy to see why Stephanie Perkins set her first book in this swoon-y trilogy here. You’ll only need your tissues for this one because of how beautiful the romance is.

On second thought…are you feeling comforted now, ready for more scariness? Check out Stephanie Perkins’ latest, There’s Someone Inside Your House!

 

 

 

Looking for more happy reads? Check out these books!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#WhatsTrending

COVER REVEAL: Rules for Vanishing got a glow-up!

Our favorite scary mixed-media Blair Witch Project-vibes novel just got a glow-up! Rules for Vanishing is back with a brand new paperback cover and we officially have chills. Scroll down to see the new cover and read a bit about the book! Jacket & cover design by Kristin Boyle   About Rules for Vanishing: In the faux-documentary … Continued
See More

Summer Scares: reads that will give you CHILLS

Halloween may not be for a little while yet, but we here at Penguin Teen are all about the summer scares. So if you’re looking for the next read that’s going to have you either buying a nightlight or bidding sleep adieu altogether, read on! 👻   The Companion by Katie Alender  Simply put: THIS FAMILY IS NOT … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL: House of Hollow

One of our most HOTLY anticipated reads of 2021 has a cover and your eyes aren’t ready. House of Hollow by Krystal M. Sutherland is a dark, twisty modern fairytale where three sisters discover they are not exactly all that they seem and evil things really do go bump in the night, coming April 6, 2021! Iris … Continued
See More

Mysteries to pick up if you just finished Enola Holmes

Did you just finish Enola Holmes? Are you now finding yourself really sad that it isn’t a full series because we need 1000% more Millie Bobby Brown being badass? Well, us too. So, here are a few of our recommendations if you loved Enola Holmes (+ one that WILL star Millie Bobby Brown in a … Continued
See More

Do’s and Don’ts for encountering a vampire: things YA taught us

Let’s face it: we all have a soft spot for the eternally damned. YA made us love vampires and we aren’t sorry about it. HOWEVER, our favorite books have ALSO taught us that there are certain things to do and not do if you encounter a handsome broody potentially blood-thirsty character. At no. 1…   1. DO … Continued
See More

Books to Read if You Love Unsolved Mysteries

Whether you’re obsessed with Netflix’s recent docuseries Unsolved Mysteries or love to binge Buzzfeed Unsolved here and there, we’ve got the reads to keep your mind spinning around What really happened? for days. Let’s get to it!   They Wish They Were Us by Jessica Goodman Gossip Girl meets One of Us Is Lying with a dash of The Secret History in … Continued
See More

Readers are falling absolutely in love with WATCH OVER ME by Nina LaCour

Nina LaCour’s Watch Over Me just hit shelves (and also our feelings.) Readers have been sharing their own reaction and emotions while experiencing Nina’s latest novel, and here are a few of our favorites!   About Watch Over Me: Mila is used to being alone.Maybe that’s why she said yes. Yes to a second chance in this remote … Continued
See More

The thriller TBR for anyone who loved ONE OF US IS LYING

If the plot twist of One of Us Is Lying knocked your socks right off, we have a few twisty thrillers recommendations for that TBR.   They Wish They Were Us by Jessica Goodman  Gossip Girl meets One of Us Is Lying with a dash of The Secret History in this slick, taut murder mystery set against the backdrop of an exclusive prep … Continued
See More

Cover & Excerpt Reveal: THE GIRLS I’VE BEEN

Today we’re revealing the cover for Tess Sharpe’s The Girls I’ve Been, a slick, twisty YA page-turner about the daughter of a con artist who is taken hostage in a bank heist. Oh, and did we mention it’s already planned to be adapted by Netflix, starring and produced by Millie Bobby Brown?!   Scroll down to … Continued
See More

Taylor Swift’s FOLKLORE is here, and so is your ultimate book match!

Taylor Swift dropped her new album Folklore last night and not to be dramatic but we’ve had this cottagecore goodness on repeat ever since. And we have been working fast to get you your ULTIMATE Folklore book match!   Track: The No 1 Book Match: Lovely War “But it would have been fun, if you would … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP