Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

8 Books to Read After You Saw IT and Need a Hug

SHARE

Here’s to all those people who decided to see the IT reboot this weekend and really need a hug, and for everyone who was too scared to see it in the first place. These books are for you.

 

 

Once and For All by Sarah Dessen

Did you know that a wedding is the direct opposite of clowns?* Well, now you do. Sarah Dessen does it again with Once and For All, her newest novel about Louna, a girl who, despite her part-time wedding planning gig, doesn’t exactly believe in the whole love thing.

*evil clowns, I guess

 

Perfect Ten by L. Phillips

Take some magic, add some love, and some laughs, and you’ve got yourself Perfect Ten. Honestly, when John Corey Whaley says a book is “an absolute delight to read,” you listen.

 

The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick

Ahhhhh, Alice and Tim. The perfect will-they-won’t-they (they probably shouldn’t, but CAN THEY PLEASE) couple. Guaranteed to give you the warm fuzzies instead of scaring you half to death.

 

Alex & Eliza: A Love Story by Melissa de la Cruz

Alexander Hamilton and Elizabeth Schuyler. Probably one of the most romantic love stories, well, ever. It changed the course of American history, after all. How lucky we are, and all that.

 

The Season by Jonah Lisa Dyer and Stephen Dyer

Most Pride and Prejudice retellings are not filled with zombies or other things to scare you. This one is filled with Texas debutantes and soccer, which is decidedly less horrifying than the other ones. On board for anything Mr. Darcy related, to be honest.

 

That Inevitable Victorian Thing by E. K. Johnston

Take an alternate future, Austenian writing, and steampunk. Okay, now think about E.K. Johnston writing that. Yeah, need we say more?

 

Trouble is a Friend of Mine by Stephanie Tromly

Digby is reason enough to read Trouble is a Friend of Mine, but when you pair him with the awesome heroine Zoe and some serious mystery, you definitely won’t be worrying about killer clowns. Promise.

 

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Paris is definitely not scary. In fact, is there any place more romantic? It’s easy to see why Stephanie Perkins set her first book in this swoon-y trilogy here. You’ll only need your tissues for this one because of how beautiful the romance is.

On second thought…are you feeling comforted now, ready for more scariness? Check out Stephanie Perkins’ latest, There’s Someone Inside Your House!

 

 

 

Looking for more happy reads? Check out these books!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#WhatsTrending

SUPER FAKE LOVE SONG by David Yoon is coming!!

CAN YOU TELL WE’RE EXCITED? We (and pretty much everyone else) fell MADLY in love with David Yoon’s incredible debut Frankly in Love last year and have been EAGERLY awaiting what David is writing next. Well, now we know! Get ready for Super Fake Love Song and your new obsession. Here are your hints: YA rom com … Continued
See More

9 YA Books to Read for #Blackathon2020

It’s February, which means Blackathon is back! #Blackathon2020 is an Afrocentric read-a-thon challenge inspired by Black History Month. Helmed by BookTubers Jesse from Bowties & Books and Lauren from The Novel Lush, Blackathon has created fun opportunities to celebrate books and works by Black and African American authors and creators throughout the entire month of … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: THE COMPANION

Get ready for the eeriest read of this summer. Today, we’re revealing the cover of Katie Alender’s twisty new novel, The Companion. And this cover.is.CHILLING. The Companion follows Margot. The other orphans claim she’s lucky. Lucky to survive the horrible accident that killed her family. Lucky to have her own room because she wakes up screaming every night. And finally, … Continued
See More

P.S. I Still Love You: the recap by Cameron Lund!

P.S. I Still Love You just hit Netflix and P.S. WE LOVE IT. But we’re not the only ones. Cameron Lund, author of The Best Laid Plans, is a HUGE TATBILB fan herself, so here’s the recap in case you need to catch up!   P.S. I Still Love You: the Recap by Cameron Lund   To … Continued
See More

Excerpt alert: THE KINGDOM OF BACK

We really need to talk about The Kingdom of Back by Marie Lu. Because, honestly? It’s not just going to steal your heart, but it’s going to take it into a mythical land that’s so magical you won’t want to take it back. IT’S THAT GOOD. But on with the excerpt. The Kingdom of Back is … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: BEYOND THE BREAK

It’s COVER REVEAL TIME! We’re revealing the cover of Heather Buchta’s Beyond the Break, a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, if you count her faith… and that’s where things may get complicated. Scroll down to see the cover AND read an excerpt below!   Chapter One The first time … Continued
See More

Missing Marie Lu’s Legend series? Here are 5 books you should read!

It’s been a hot second since Legend by Marie Lu first hit shelves. (We still can’t believe it came out almost a decade ago…) Who can forget the first time they fell in love with June Iparis and Daniel Wing, better known as “Day”? If you’re looking for another pair of star-crossed-lovers in sci-fi, or … Continued
See More

2020 YA Sneak Peek!

Hello and WELCOME to the 2020 YA sneak peek! We’re talking all early info on upcoming 2020 books we cannot WAIT for!   All the Days Past, All the Days to Come by Mildred D. Taylor – January 7, 2020 The saga of the Logan family–made famous in the Newbery Medal-winning Roll of Thunder, Hear My … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: THE VALLEY AND THE FLOOD

Cover reveal time! Today we’re revealing the cover of The Valley and the Flood by Rebecca Mahoney, an immersive novel about magical places, found family, the power of grief and memory, and the journey toward reconciling who you think you’ve become with the person you’ve been all along. Rose Colter is almost home, but she can’t go … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of THE VANISHING DEEP

After Four Dead Queens left us SHOCKED with the killer plot twist of 2019, we have been eagerly awaiting to see what Astrid Scholte has next! Luckily, we don’t have to wait long. The Vanishing Deep is hitting shelves THIS. MARCH. But we have an excerpt, so you can start reading it today! The Vanishing Deep follows seventeen-year-old Tempe, who … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP