Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

8 Books to Read After You Saw IT and Need a Hug

SHARE

Here’s to all those people who decided to see the IT reboot this weekend and really need a hug, and for everyone who was too scared to see it in the first place. These books are for you.

 

 

Once and For All by Sarah Dessen

Did you know that a wedding is the direct opposite of clowns?* Well, now you do. Sarah Dessen does it again with Once and For All, her newest novel about Louna, a girl who, despite her part-time wedding planning gig, doesn’t exactly believe in the whole love thing.

*evil clowns, I guess

 

Perfect Ten by L. Phillips

Take some magic, add some love, and some laughs, and you’ve got yourself Perfect Ten. Honestly, when John Corey Whaley says a book is “an absolute delight to read,” you listen.

 

The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick

Ahhhhh, Alice and Tim. The perfect will-they-won’t-they (they probably shouldn’t, but CAN THEY PLEASE) couple. Guaranteed to give you the warm fuzzies instead of scaring you half to death.

 

Alex & Eliza: A Love Story by Melissa de la Cruz

Alexander Hamilton and Elizabeth Schuyler. Probably one of the most romantic love stories, well, ever. It changed the course of American history, after all. How lucky we are, and all that.

 

The Season by Jonah Lisa Dyer and Stephen Dyer

Most Pride and Prejudice retellings are not filled with zombies or other things to scare you. This one is filled with Texas debutantes and soccer, which is decidedly less horrifying than the other ones. On board for anything Mr. Darcy related, to be honest.

 

That Inevitable Victorian Thing by E. K. Johnston

Take an alternate future, Austenian writing, and steampunk. Okay, now think about E.K. Johnston writing that. Yeah, need we say more?

 

Trouble is a Friend of Mine by Stephanie Tromly

Digby is reason enough to read Trouble is a Friend of Mine, but when you pair him with the awesome heroine Zoe and some serious mystery, you definitely won’t be worrying about killer clowns. Promise.

 

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Paris is definitely not scary. In fact, is there any place more romantic? It’s easy to see why Stephanie Perkins set her first book in this swoon-y trilogy here. You’ll only need your tissues for this one because of how beautiful the romance is.

On second thought…are you feeling comforted now, ready for more scariness? Check out Stephanie Perkins’ latest, There’s Someone Inside Your House!

 

 

 

Looking for more happy reads? Check out these books!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#WhatsTrending

10 Books to Read if You’ve Already Finished Stranger Things

Stranger Things season 2 just came out on Friday, and if you’re like all of us over at Penguin Teen HQ, then you’ve deffffinitely already finished. (Why are we like this??) Never fear—we’ve got plenty of eerie reads to tide you over until (hopefully) the next season.   Spellbook of the Lost and Found by Moïra … Continued
See More

10 Books to Celebrate During Banned Books Week

Each fall, we celebrate the books that have been banned or challenged, and remember why it’s important to read banned books. These books have been challenged for a number of reasons, but each book has so much more to it than just the reason that it’s banned. Many banned books deal with real issues, and in … Continued
See More

11 Pick-Up Lines That’ll Make Hamilton Fans Swoon

With pick-up lines like these, even Aaron Burr wouldn’t be able to resist you! Before Alexander Hamilton became one of the founding fathers and way before his life was made into a musical, he fell in love Elizabeth Schuyler. And, as we all know, before any relationship starts someone has to make the first move. … Continued
See More

9 Houses You Definitely Wouldn’t Want to Trick-or-Treat At

Halloween is a great time—candy for everyone, costume contests, Halloween parties, and most importantly: trick-o-treating. But let’s be real – there’s always a house on the block that’s best avoided. For example, stay away from houses with histories of murders, exorcisms, and of course, hauntings. Steer clear of these fictional houses and you’ll be just fine.   The Merciless Series Whether … Continued
See More

What to Read Based on Your Favorite Fall TV Show!

Fall is here which means great TV is finally upon us. But for those shows where a binge session isn’t a possibility, and you have to wait A WHOLE WEEK for the next one, you can get bored. Luckily, we’re here with great reads to accompany your fall TV picks. Read on!   If you … Continued
See More

9 Dystopian Novels to Read While You Wait for the Next Episode of The Handmaid’s Tale

If you’re like us, you’re completely obsessed with Hulu’s adaptation of Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale. That also means that you’re living for Wednesdays, waiting to see what’s next for Offred and the other handmaids. While you wait for the next chapter, here are 9 books to satisfy you. Praise be!     Matched by Allie Condie … Continued
See More

11 Creepiest Lines From Books That Will Give You Chills

October 31st is practically on our doorstep, which means every day should be spent selecting Halloween candy, picking out scary movies, and cuddling up with books that will chill your blood, send shivers down your spine, and bring out the goosebumps. Read on for some of the creepiest lines from YA books to get you … Continued
See More

7 Books to Read Once You’ve Overplayed “Look What You Made Me Do”

Unless you’re living under a rock, you’ve been seeing Taylor Swift counting down to her new single, which she finally dropped late last night. We’ve obv listened to the single (ok, a few times), and it’s giving us serious strong-female-character-with-a-bone-to-pick vibes. Naturally, we’ve rounded up some of our favorite leading ladies that would totally jam to … Continued
See More

8 Books To Read If You Can’t Get Enough Riverdale

Fall is here, which means it’s the best time for TV! Riverdale, the addictive drama based on the Archie comics, is finally back after a long wait (too long, tbh). But let’s be real: waiting each week for the next episode can be hard. Never fear–we’ve got a few books to tide you over while … Continued
See More

5 Books to Tide You Over Until the Next Solar Eclipse

Let’s get one thing straight: space is cool. Some of the best franchises take place in space (Doctor Who, Star Wars, Guardians of the Galaxy), but it’s also home to some awesome natural phenomenon—like solar eclipses! In case you missed it, or saw it and loved it, here are some of our favorite celestial-themed books … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP

I can give you book recommendations.
Please enter your name and email address to begin chatting with me.



What is your date of birth?

START CHAT