Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

8 Books to Read After You Saw IT and Need a Hug

SHARE

Here’s to all those people who decided to see the IT reboot this weekend and really need a hug, and for everyone who was too scared to see it in the first place. These books are for you.

 

 

Once and For All by Sarah Dessen

Did you know that a wedding is the direct opposite of clowns?* Well, now you do. Sarah Dessen does it again with Once and For All, her newest novel about Louna, a girl who, despite her part-time wedding planning gig, doesn’t exactly believe in the whole love thing.

*evil clowns, I guess

 

Perfect Ten by L. Phillips

Take some magic, add some love, and some laughs, and you’ve got yourself Perfect Ten. Honestly, when John Corey Whaley says a book is “an absolute delight to read,” you listen.

 

The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick

Ahhhhh, Alice and Tim. The perfect will-they-won’t-they (they probably shouldn’t, but CAN THEY PLEASE) couple. Guaranteed to give you the warm fuzzies instead of scaring you half to death.

 

Alex & Eliza: A Love Story by Melissa de la Cruz

Alexander Hamilton and Elizabeth Schuyler. Probably one of the most romantic love stories, well, ever. It changed the course of American history, after all. How lucky we are, and all that.

 

The Season by Jonah Lisa Dyer and Stephen Dyer

Most Pride and Prejudice retellings are not filled with zombies or other things to scare you. This one is filled with Texas debutantes and soccer, which is decidedly less horrifying than the other ones. On board for anything Mr. Darcy related, to be honest.

 

That Inevitable Victorian Thing by E. K. Johnston

Take an alternate future, Austenian writing, and steampunk. Okay, now think about E.K. Johnston writing that. Yeah, need we say more?

 

Trouble is a Friend of Mine by Stephanie Tromly

Digby is reason enough to read Trouble is a Friend of Mine, but when you pair him with the awesome heroine Zoe and some serious mystery, you definitely won’t be worrying about killer clowns. Promise.

 

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Paris is definitely not scary. In fact, is there any place more romantic? It’s easy to see why Stephanie Perkins set her first book in this swoon-y trilogy here. You’ll only need your tissues for this one because of how beautiful the romance is.

On second thought…are you feeling comforted now, ready for more scariness? Check out Stephanie Perkins’ latest, There’s Someone Inside Your House!

 

 

 

Looking for more happy reads? Check out these books!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#WhatsTrending

Girl Wonder: Tochi Onyebuchi on Shuri’s Role in Black Panther

Revolution hums like a drumbeat through every frame of Black Panther. Revolution roars in the plot. It sings every time a freight train whisks down a length of high-speed rail. It glows in the beautiful black skin of every single principal character in this film. And it shines as bright as a million suns in … Continued
See More

8 Book Recommendations from Alwyn Hamilton for Your LAST JEDI Hangover

Alwyn Hamilton, author of the Rebel of the Sands series and one of our resident Star Wars enthusiasts, has blessed us with a list of books to read after seeing The Last Jedi, because we know it’s hard to go on with life after you’ve seen it. Never fear, we’ve got exactly what you need right … Continued
See More

11 Creepiest Lines From Books That Will Give You Chills

October 31st is practically on our doorstep, which means every day should be spent selecting Halloween candy, picking out scary movies, and cuddling up with books that will chill your blood, send shivers down your spine, and bring out the goosebumps. Read on for some of the creepiest lines from YA books to get you … Continued
See More

7 Important Books to Celebrate During Black History Month

Black History Month is here, and now, more than ever, we need to celebrate the accomplishments of those who have left a mark on black history and acknowledge that there is still work (and reading!) to do. Luckily, we have a long list of books to explore. Read on for some of our favorite books that … Continued
See More

9 Heroines Who Are Ready to Join the Rebel Alliance

  Already seen Star Wars: The Last Jedi but can’t seem to get enough of it? Want to see Star Wars: The Last Jedi but you’re too worried about what is going to happen to our friends in the Rebel Alliance to do so? Have no fear–we’ve got you covered, regardless of your current Star … Continued
See More

8 Books To Read If You Can’t Get Enough Riverdale

Fall is here, which means it’s the best time for TV! Riverdale, the addictive drama based on the Archie comics, is finally back after a long wait (too long, tbh). But let’s be real: waiting each week for the next episode can be hard. Never fear–we’ve got a few books to tide you over while … Continued
See More

Artemisia Gentileschi and 7 Other Real Women to Inspire You on the Anniversary of the Women’s March

One year ago, millions of women marched on Washington in one of the more inspiring demonstrations in our nation’s history. The power of a woman is undeniable. That’s why we’re telling you about 8 real women–some you may know, some you may not–that have been seriously inspirational to us. From seventeenth century rome to today, these … Continued
See More

10 Books to Read if You’ve Already Finished Stranger Things

Stranger Things season 2 just came out on Friday, and if you’re like all of us over at Penguin Teen HQ, then you’ve deffffinitely already finished. (Why are we like this??) Never fear—we’ve got plenty of eerie reads to tide you over until (hopefully) the next season.   Spellbook of the Lost and Found by Moïra … Continued
See More

Ocean’s 8: The YA Cast

The Ocean’s 8 trailer dropped today and we can’t. stop. watching. it. Unfortunately we have to wait until next June to see it, but that doesn’t mean we’re just going to sit over here stamping our feet like Veruca Salt. What are we doing? Assembling a crime team made up entirely of our favorite YA … Continued
See More

9 Houses You Definitely Wouldn’t Want to Trick-or-Treat At

Halloween is a great time—candy for everyone, costume contests, Halloween parties, and most importantly: trick-o-treating. But let’s be real – there’s always a house on the block that’s best avoided. For example, stay away from houses with histories of murders, exorcisms, and of course, hauntings. Steer clear of these fictional houses and you’ll be just fine.   The Merciless Series Whether … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP

I can give you book recommendations.
Please enter your name and email address to begin chatting with me.



What is your date of birth?

START CHAT