Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

8 Books to Read After You Saw IT and Need a Hug

SHARE

Here’s to all those people who decided to see the IT reboot this weekend and really need a hug, and for everyone who was too scared to see it in the first place. These books are for you.

 

 

Once and For All by Sarah Dessen

Did you know that a wedding is the direct opposite of clowns?* Well, now you do. Sarah Dessen does it again with Once and For All, her newest novel about Louna, a girl who, despite her part-time wedding planning gig, doesn’t exactly believe in the whole love thing.

*evil clowns, I guess

 

Perfect Ten by L. Phillips

Take some magic, add some love, and some laughs, and you’ve got yourself Perfect Ten. Honestly, when John Corey Whaley says a book is “an absolute delight to read,” you listen.

 

The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick

Ahhhhh, Alice and Tim. The perfect will-they-won’t-they (they probably shouldn’t, but CAN THEY PLEASE) couple. Guaranteed to give you the warm fuzzies instead of scaring you half to death.

 

Alex & Eliza: A Love Story by Melissa de la Cruz

Alexander Hamilton and Elizabeth Schuyler. Probably one of the most romantic love stories, well, ever. It changed the course of American history, after all. How lucky we are, and all that.

 

The Season by Jonah Lisa Dyer and Stephen Dyer

Most Pride and Prejudice retellings are not filled with zombies or other things to scare you. This one is filled with Texas debutantes and soccer, which is decidedly less horrifying than the other ones. On board for anything Mr. Darcy related, to be honest.

 

That Inevitable Victorian Thing by E. K. Johnston

Take an alternate future, Austenian writing, and steampunk. Okay, now think about E.K. Johnston writing that. Yeah, need we say more?

 

Trouble is a Friend of Mine by Stephanie Tromly

Digby is reason enough to read Trouble is a Friend of Mine, but when you pair him with the awesome heroine Zoe and some serious mystery, you definitely won’t be worrying about killer clowns. Promise.

 

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Paris is definitely not scary. In fact, is there any place more romantic? It’s easy to see why Stephanie Perkins set her first book in this swoon-y trilogy here. You’ll only need your tissues for this one because of how beautiful the romance is.

On second thought…are you feeling comforted now, ready for more scariness? Check out Stephanie Perkins’ latest, There’s Someone Inside Your House!

 

 

 

Looking for more happy reads? Check out these books!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#WhatsTrending

While you wait for the To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before movie

August!!! Why are you so far away?! After the cutest teen rom-com trailer ever (go on, you can watch it again, we’ll be here) released yesterday, To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before movie seems WAY too far away. These hella swoony reads might just make the wait for Lara Jean’s story just a little easier to handle. … Continued
See More

Four YA Characters Who Pulled a Steve Trevor from Wonder Woman

If you’re a fan of the recent 2017 Wonder Woman movie like us, then you were left pretty devastated by the ending that – SPOILER ALERT – left Steve Trevor (Chris Pine at his most-Chris-tastic) sacrificing himself to save …well everyone! But with Wonder Woman 2 beginning production, the first set photos were revealed by … Continued
See More

9 Books to Read During Asian Pacific American Heritage Month

May is Asian Pacific American Heritage Month, and 2018 marks the 40th anniversary that it’s been celebrated. Asian Pacific American Heritage Month celebrates the culture, traditions, and history of Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders in the United States. How are we celebrating? By reading, of course! Read on for 9 great books to add to … Continued
See More

Three reads perfect for the ladies of The Bold Type

If you haven’t been watching Freeform’s The Bold Type, then you are missing out! Three young women at the beginning of their careers taking on the workforce, New York city, life and love drama. Basically, it’s our JAM! The leading trio definitely have a WHOLE lot of personality so we picked three great reads for … Continued
See More

#ReadProud With These LGBTQIA+ Books

This Pride Month, we’re celebrating with books that highlight extraordinary LGBTQIA+ voices and amazing LGBT books. Funny, heartbreaking, suspenseful, romantic – there’s a little something for everyone on this list, so scroll down on for some of our favorites! Plus, don’t forget to enter our sweeps to win a stack!   Reign of the Fallen by Sarah Glenn … Continued
See More

8 Music Books to Help With Your Musical Festival FOMO

Spring is upon us, which means one very important thing: it’s music festival season! If you’re feeling the end of Coachella even harder this year (#Beychella and that Destiny’s Child reunion, anyone?) or can’t wait for Governors Ball or Bonnaroo, we have a list of the perfect reads to tide you over until your next … Continued
See More

What To Read After Watching Netflix’s The Kissing Booth

So you’ve watched Netflix’s The Kissing Booth a few hundred times and now you’re finally ready to search for your next YA rom-com, that has friendship, sibling drama and sexy forbidden love interests! Step right up, because we’ve got you covered.   Always, Never, Yours If you loved the banter of Elle and Noah and … Continued
See More

13 Books to Read After You Finish 13 Reasons Why

You’ve read the book (haven’t you?!), you’ve now binged both seasons of the show (maybe more than once), and now all you want is more. Never fear, we’ve got thirteen great emotional reads to get you through your 13 Reasons Why book/Netflix hangover!   Things I’m Seeing Without You by Peter Bognanni Seventeen-year-old Tess Fowler has … Continued
See More

Four YA Sporty Girls Who Are Kicking Goals

Soccer is the hot sport of the moment, thanks to that big game happening in Russia. But don’t let the dudes rule the field, these books feature sport loving ladies who deserve their time in the spotlight.   The Season A Pride and Prejudice retelling with a soccer mad main character and set during the … Continued
See More

8 Books To Read If You Can’t Get Enough Riverdale

Last night was a sad night for TV. Riverdale, the addictive drama based on the Archie comics, just had its season finale. But never fear–we’ve got a few books to tide you over while you wait for season three!   If you can’t get enough of retellings… Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh   If … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP