Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

What to read if you’re not over The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

SHARE

If you’ve binge re-read the entire Hunger Games series and flew through the new prequel, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, we’ve got some recommendations for what to pick up next! From the Katniss energy of standing up to oppressive governing forces, to death-defying, high-stakes competitions, let’s get started!

 

The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae

The-Kinder-Poison

If deadly competitions are your jam, do not sleep on The Kinder Poison. This book has the cut-throat competition you fell in love with in the Hunger Games all that time ago and then again in A Ballad of Songsbirds and Snakes. It also happens to be hilarious/magical.

 

 

A River of Royal Blood by Amanda Joy

river of royal blood

If you fell in love with the rich backstory in A Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes and the buildup to Katniss’s journey later of finding her strength to overcome evil forces at work, you will love Eva in A River of Royal Blood.

About A River of Royal Blood:

 

 

WAR GIRLS by Tochi Onyebuchi

war-girls-cover

Willing to do anything for your sister’s wellbeing is one of the themes that made us fall in love with The Hunger Games in the first place. If you adored the fierce sisterly love between Katniss and Primrose, it’s definitely time you met Onyii and Ify.

About WAR GIRLS: 

 

Girls Save the World in This One by Ash Parsons

girls-save-the-world-in-this-one

If you expected the unexpected in A Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes and were still constantly taken by surprise by the twists and turns, it’s time to pick up Girls Save the World in This One.

Also, the bow and arrows on the cover kind of speak for themselves.

About Girls Save the World in This One:

Shaun of the Dead meets Clueless in this hilarious YA horror comedy set at a local zombie convention–featuring a teenage girl gang that has to save the world from a horde of actual zombies. Perfect for fans of Geekerella, Undead Girl Gang, and Anna and the Apocalypse.

Mega-fan June Blue’s whole life has been leading up to this moment: ZombieCon!The Ultimate in Undead Entertainment has finally come to her hometown. She and her two best friends–gorgeous, brilliant Imani and super-sweet, outrageously silly Siggy–plan on hitting all the panels and photo ops, and meeting the heartthrob lead of their favorite zombie apocalypse show, Human Wasteland. It’s going to be the best time of their lives–and one of their last adventures before they all split up for college.

And when they arrive, everything seems perfect. June’s definitely not going to let anything get in the way
of the flawless con experience–even though she’s endlessly anxious about the SATs and college admissions,
and she can’t seem to avoid her ex-best friend Blair, whose VIP badge lets her walk straight to the front of every single line. No matter what, June is determined to make the best of her dream day at ZombieCon!

But something’s not quite right at the con–there are strange people in hazmat suits running around, enthusiastic cosplayers taking their shambling a little too far, and someone actually biting a cast member. Then, at a panel gone wrong, June and her friends discover the truth: the zombie apocalypse is here.

Now June, Imani, and Siggy must do whatever it takes to survive a horde of actual flesh-eating zombies–
and save the world. A hilarious and heartfelt horror comedy, that is an ode to zombies, friendship, and girl power.

 

To add to your TBR…

Sanctuary by Paola Mendoza & Abby Sher – Coming September 1!

sanctuary

If the heart-pumping action in A Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes grabbed your attention and never let go, mark your TBR for this one.

 

Stormbreak by Natalie C. Parker – Coming November 10!

Stormbreak_Online[1]

Caledonia gives us fierce Katniss vibes.

About Stormbreak:

 

A Sky Beyond the Storm by Sabaa Tahir

sky beyond the storm

If you’re drawn to stories about fighting against all the odds and never giving up, get ready for the most-anticipated finale of the year, A Sky Beyond the Storm!

About A Sky Beyond the Storm: 

 

 

Have you heard? We just revealed 6 new 2021 covers! See them here!

#ShelfGoals

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More

The 2020/2021 books you need to add to your TBR ASAP

Did you join us for Penguin Teen’s 2020/2021 preview show? Here are the books we talked about! Scroll down to read about some of our most anticipated reads!   They Wish They Were Us by Jessica Goodman – July 21, 2020 Gossip Girl meets One of Us Is Lying with a dash of The Secret History in this slick, taut murder mystery … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of THIS COVEN WON’T BREAK

This Coven Won’t Break is hitting shelves next month! We are so excited for the thrilling sequel to These Witches Don’t Burn and are sharing an excerpt in anticipation of book 2. Scroll down to read! High school. They say it’s the best time of our lives. A time of exploration and endless possibilities. We can try … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi & Fantasy reads to move up on your TBR asap

2020 has brought a LOT of amazing reads to our shelf. Here are just a few of our favorite sci-fi/fantasy reads you’ll want to make sure you didn’t miss!   Want to win them all? Click here to enter our sweepstakes! The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae You will laugh. You will cry. You will … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: WE ARE NOT FROM HERE

We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez is a poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, inspired by current events. Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE   When you live in a place like this, you’re always planning your escape. Even if you don’t know when you’ll go. Even if … Continued
See More

17 Mystery Books That Will Keep You Guessing

There’s nothing like the adrenaline rush of reading a mystery book, and we’re here to tell you about 17 that will absolutely stump you. Read on for our list of favorite YA mysteries that are ANYTHING but elementary, my dear Watson.   People Like Us by Dana Mele Clue you’ll love it: At Bates Academy, … Continued
See More

Middle Grade Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

  What Lane? by Torrey Maldonado “STAY IN YOUR LANE.” Stephen doesn’t want to hear that–he wants to have no lane.Anything his friends can do, Stephen should be able to do too, right? So when they dare each other to sneak into an abandoned building, he doesn’t think it’s his lane, but he goes. Here’s … Continued
See More

9 Books That Make Great Gift Ideas For Mother’s Day

Mother’s Day is right around the corner, and we know that gift lists for moms are running rampant everywhere. But the best thing about giving books is that you give an experience, too. So we rounded up some of our favorite heartfelt, historical, and humorous books that make great gift ideas for Mother’s Day.   … Continued
See More

YA Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

From award winning icons such as Mildred D. Taylor to debut voices such as Patrice Caldwell, here are some of the Black authors you should be reading.   A Phoenix First Must Burn edited by Patrice Caldwell Sixteen tales by bestselling and award-winning authors that explore the Black experience through fantasy, science fiction, and magic. … Continued
See More

14 Books to Read During Mental Health Awareness Month

May is Mental Health Awareness Month and we find that books can not only help us understand or sympathize, but can often help us talk about difficult topics. Here are 15 books to read this month to help start a conversation and #endthestigma.   Turtles All the Way Down by John Green Aza is trying. She is trying … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP