Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Get Into the Halloween Spirit With These Wicked Reads

SHARE

Can you survive these wicked reads? From ghosts to straight up monsters, eerie settings to exorcisms, there’s a plethora of books to read to get you in the Halloween spirit. Read on to find out which one is perfect for you, whether you’re a scared-y cat or a horror expert! And don’t forget to enter for your chance to win ALL of these books at the bottom of this post!

 

There’s Someone Inside Your House by Stephanie Perkins

We’ll say it now: this is the scariest book you’ll read this fall. Students at Osborne High are being murdered one by one, and as the terror grows closer and the hunt intensifies for the killer, the dark secrets among them must finally be confronted. You probably shouldn’t read this one while you’re alone…

Fear factor: off the charts 🎃🎃🎃😱😱😱

 

A Line in the Dark by Malinda Lo

Since it hits shelves on October 17th, you’ll have plenty of time to devour this new psychological thriller before Halloween. However, with all of the thrills, friendship, and page-turning excitement, you’ll probably finish well before then. That’s okay though, you’ll want to re-read this entry into the twisted human mind as soon as you’re done.

Fear factor: high 😱😱😱

 

And Then There Were Four by Nancy Werlin

When a building collapses around five teenagers—and they just barely escape—they know something strange is going on. Little by little, the group pieces together a theory: Their parents are working together to kill them all.

Fear factor: high 😱😱😱

 

The Merciless III by Danielle Vega

Horror queen Danielle Vega finally reveals the sinister mystery of how a teen girl named Brooklyn became the epitome of evil in this terrifying prequel to the Merciless series.

Fear factor: high 😱😱😱

 

Beasts Made of Night by Tochi Onyebuchi

Taj is the most talented of the aki, young sin-eaters indentured by the mages to slay the sin-beasts. But Taj’s livelihood comes at a terrible cost. When he kills a sin-beast, a tattoo of the beast appears on his skin while the guilt of committing the sin appears on his mind. A deep, dark, and twisty Nigerian fantasy, Beasts Made of Night is unlike anything you’ve ever read.

Fear factor: medium 🎃🎃

 

Forest of a Thousand Lanterns by Julie C. Dao

Julie Dao’s debut is an East Asian fantasy reimagining of The Evil Queen legend about one peasant girl’s quest to become Empress. Undoubtedly the darkest fairytale retelling you’ve ever read…

Fear factor: low 🎃

 

Spellbook of the Lost and Found by Moïra Fowley-Doyle

The highly anticipated new book from the acclaimed author of The Accident Season is a gorgeous, twisty story about things gone missing, things returned from the past, and a group of teenagers, connected in ways they could never have imagined. It all begins one stormy summer night…

Fear factor: low 🎃

 

Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor

Affectionately dubbed “the Nigerian Harry Potter,” Akata Witch weaves together a heart-pounding tale of magic, mystery, and finding one’s place in the world. Add in a killer targeting children on the loose, and well, you’ve got a perfect Halloween read.

Fear factor: medium 🎃🎃

 

A Semi-definitive List of Worst Nightmares by Krystal Sutherland

Imagine knowing you have a phobia that will consume your life and eventually lead to your death. Then imagine not knowing which phobia that is. This is exactly Esther’s problem, and she keeps a list of phobias (worst nightmares) that she avoids at all costs for fear of figuring out her phobia. But what if she went through the list and faced each one of them one by one?

Fear factor: low 🎃

 

The Merciless by Danielle Vega

Sofia Flores is just trying to fit iin at a new school, but the Devil has other plans. Drawn in by her new friends, she quickly finds herself in over her head in this haunting horror that will keep you up all night…and all the nights to follow.

Fear factor: high 😱😱😱

 

The Merciless II by Danielle Vega

In the sequel to The Merciless, Sofia finds herself being sent to St. Mary’s, a creepy Catholic boarding school in Mississippi. She meets the mysterious Jude, who is convinced that Sofia is being possessed by the Devil and that an exorcism is the only way to save her.

Fear factor: high 😱😱😱

 

Survive the Night by Danielle Vega

An all-night, underground rave in the subway system of New York City—what could go wrong? Mutilated bodies showing up in the tunnels, that’s what.

Fear factor: high 😱😱😱

 

The Replacement by Brenna Yovanoff

A lot of people feel like they don’t belong, but Mackie knows for sure that he doesn’t. He’s a replacement, a fae child left in the crib of a human baby sixteen years ago—one whose allergies to blood and iron have him fighting to survive in the human world.

Fear factor: medium 🎃🎃

 

The Appearance of Annie Van Sinderen by Katherine Howe

There’s something strange about the hipster girl Wes met while filming a séance in the East Village, and he’s starting to think it’s more than her outlandish style and way of talking…

Fear factor: low 🎃

 

The Accident Season by Moïra Fowley-Doyle

Every October, Cara’s family becomes inexplicably accident-prone. But is it a curse or coincidence?

Fear factor: low 🎃

Slasher Girls and Monster Boys, stories selected by April Genevieve Tucholke

Lock the doors and make sure all the lights are on before reading these fourteen horrifying short stories from your favorite YA authors.

Fear factor: off the charts 🎃🎃🎃😱😱😱

 

 

Enter for a chance to win these wicked reads!

 

 

Start reading right here!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

Read an excerpt of IMAGINARY BORDERS!

We’ve been spotlighting some of our favorite reads by Latinx authors in honor of #LatinxHeritageMonth, and today we’re sharing an excerpt of Imaginary Borders by Xiuhtezcatl Martinez. In this personal, moving essay, environmental activist and hip-hop artist Xiuhtezcatl Martinez uses his art and his activism to show that climate change is a human issue that can’t be ignored. … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: VICIOUS SPIRITS by Kat Cho

We fell completely in LOVE with Kat Cho’s Wicked Fox last year. And we may be even more in love with its stunning companion novel, Vicious Spirits! Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE As with any tragedy, it came about because he loved. When he was on the cusp of manhood, a young man met a … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi & Fantasy reads to move up on your TBR asap

2020 has brought a LOT of amazing reads to our shelf. Here are just a few of our favorite sci-fi/fantasy reads you’ll want to make sure you didn’t miss!   Want to win them all? Click here to enter our sweepstakes! The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae You will laugh. You will cry. You will … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: WE ARE NOT FROM HERE

We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez is a poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, inspired by current events. Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE   When you live in a place like this, you’re always planning your escape. Even if you don’t know when you’ll go. Even if … Continued
See More

Start reading HARROW LAKE by Kat Elis

Calling all horror movie fans! Harrow Lake is a can’t-put-down, creepy thriller about the daughter of a horror film director who’s not afraid of anything–until she gets to Harrow Lake. Scroll down to start reading! Transcript of interview with Nolan Nox, Director of Nightjar, for Scream Screen magazine (Nightjar twentieth-anniversary special feature) CJL: C. J. Lahey, columnist with Scream Screen NN: Nolan … Continued
See More

What to read if you’re not over The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

If you’ve binge re-read the entire Hunger Games series and flew through the new prequel, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, we’ve got some recommendations for what to pick up next! From the Katniss energy of standing up to oppressive governing forces, to death-defying, high-stakes competitions, let’s get started!   The Kinder Poison by Natalie … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of When I Am Through With You

When I Am Through With You by Stephanie Kuehn is a gripping story of survival and the razor’s-edge difference between perfect cruelty and perfect love. Ben Gibson is many things, but he’s not sorry and he’s not a liar. He will tell you exactly about what happened on what started as a simple school camping trip … Continued
See More

Start Reading CHEMICAL HEARTS by Krystal Sutherland!

Chemical Hearts is now streaming on Amazon Prime Video and we are SO excited to see Krystal Sutherland’s gorgeous novel come to life on screen. But in case you still have some catching up to do on reading the book, here’s an excerpt to get you started! About Chemical Hearts: Henry Page has never been in love. He … Continued
See More

Books to Read for Latinx Heritage Month

September 15-October 15 is Latinx Heritage Month. We’re inviting you to join us in reading stories by Latinx authors–and if you don’t know where to start, here are a few of our recommendations!   We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez A poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, … Continued
See More

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP