Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

YA books to read if you absolutely believe in fate and destiny

SHARE

If you are an avid believer in fate and destiny, here are 9 YA reads that will absolutely fuel your faith in both!

 

Flirting with Fate by J.C. Cervantes

flirting with fate

As the title may imply, this gorgeous novel will definitely have you believing in the power of fate this April, 2022! In her swoony, heartwarming young adult debut, New York Times bestselling author J.C. Cervantes weaves an unforgettable tale about family, fate, and finding love where you least expect it.

 

Beasts of Prey by Ayana Gray

beasts of prey

If you can’t resist a story about destiny, then we think you’ll love Ayana Gray’s debut about finding the power to challenge it against all the odds. In this blockbuster fantasy series, perfect for fans of Kingdom of the Wicked and Iron Widow, fate binds two Black teenagers together as they journey into a magical jungle to hunt down a vicious monster.

 

The Beautiful by Renée Ahdieh

The-Beautiful

Talk about meant to be. There is no world you can convince us that the love between Bastien and Celine was not always fated to be.

 

The Bone Spindle by Leslie Vedder

bone spindle

We can’t talk about fate and destiny without talking about breaking a curse or two. Set in a lush world inspired by beloved fairytales, The Bone Spindle is a fast-paced fantasy full of adventure, romance, found family, and snark.

 

Echoes and Empires by Morgan Rhodes

EchoesAndEmpires_ONLINE

Sometimes destiny can be scary, especially if it revolves around the power in you. From the New York Times bestselling author of the Falling Kingdoms series comes the first book in a brand-new duology about forbidden magic and dangerous secrets.

 

Akata Woman by Nnedi Okorafor

AkataWoman_jkt.indd

Perfect for all believers in uncovering one’s destiny! From the moment Sunny Nwazue discovered she had mystical energy flowing in her blood, she sought to understand and control her powers. Throughout her adventures in Akata Witch and Akata Warrior, she had to navigate the balance between nearly everything in her life—America and Nigeria, the “normal” world and the one infused with juju, human and spirit, good daughter and powerful Leopard Person.

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

AnEmberintheAshes

This story is full of foreshadowing and prophesies of dangers to come…and those who will fight them. Get ready to step into the deadly Martial Empire alongside Laia, Elias, and Helene.

 

Cinder & Glass by Melissa de la Cruz

Cinder_ONLINE

For this princess, winning the crown is no fairytale.

We think we can all agree, you can’t have a lush, gorgeous fairytale retelling without a dash of destiny. Coming March, 2022!

 

Hotel Magnifique by Emily J. Taylor

HotelMag_FINAL_0719_epson.indd

Sometimes destiny is fated to be…and other times, it’s bound by a very dark contract.

For fans of Caraval and The Night Circus, this decadent and darkly enchanting YA fantasy, set against the backdrop of a Belle Époque-inspired hotel, follows seventeen-year-old Jani as she uncovers the deeply disturbing secrets of the legendary Hotel Magnifique. Coming April, 2022!

 

#WhatsTrending

Cover Reveal: FURYSONG by Rosaria Munda

The finale is coming! Furysong is the third and final book in the Fireborne Trilogy. In this explosive conclusion to the epic story that began with Fireborne, Annie and Lee are fighting for their lives—and for each other—as invading dragonfire threatens to burn their home to the ground. A new revolution is underway, and nobody will emerge unscathed. In … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: BREAK THIS HOUSE by Candice Iloh

From Printz honoree and National Book Award Finalist Candice Iloh, a prose novel about a teenager reckoning with her family’s–and her home town’s–secrets. Coming to shelves May 24, 2022! Yaminah Okar left Obsidian and the wreckage of her family years ago. She and her father have made lives for themselves in Brooklyn. She thinks she’s … Continued
See More

Read a sneak peek of THE BONE SPINDLE by Leslie Vedder!

Sleeping Beauty meets Indiana Jones in this thrilling fairytale retelling for fans of Sorcery of Thorns and The Cruel Prince. Fi is a bookish treasure hunter with a knack for ruins and riddles, who definitely doesn’t believe in true love. Shane is a tough-as-dirt girl warrior from the north who likes cracking skulls, pretty girls, and doing things her own … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: THE EDGE OF BEING by James Brandon

The Edge of Being by James Brandon is a tender and heartfelt queer YA novel about the multiplicities of grief, deeply held family secrets, and finding new love. Isaac Griffin has always felt something was missing from his life. And for good reason: he’s never met his dad. He’d started to believe he’d never belong in this … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: The 99 Boyfriends of Micah Summers

The 99 Boyfriends of Micah Summers by Adam Sass is a charming YA rom-com perfect for fans of Red, White, and Royal Blue and What If It’s Us, coming September 20th, 2022! Micah Summers runs a popular Instagram full of drawings of his numerous imaginary boyfriends (ninety-nine so far)—though he’s never had a real boyfriend before. But when a meet-cute with … Continued
See More

Top Trending 2021: Thrillers!

2021 has been filled with amazing reads of all categories, and we want to make sure you haven’t missed out on any! Scroll down to see our recap of some of 2021’s top trending thrillers!   They’ll Never Catch Us by Jessica Goodman From rising star Jessica Goodman, author of They Wish They Were Us, comes a … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: HOW TO SURVIVE YOUR MURDER by Danielle Valentine

Cover reveal time! Scream meets Happy Death Day in How to Survive Your Murder, coming to shelves August 30, 2022! Alice Lawrence is the sole witness in her sister’s murder trial. And in the year since Claire’s death, Alice’s life has completely fallen apart. Her parents have gotten divorced, she’s moved into an apartment that smells like bologna, and she … Continued
See More

8 Winter reads (and where to read them)

Winter is the best time to be a reader–it’s the perfect excuse to stay in, get cozy, and read! Here are some of our favorite wintery picks for your TBR this season (AND the perfect places to read them in!)   About the book: You go through life thinking there’s so much you need. . … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: THE DEPTHS by Nicole Lesperance

A tropical island full of secrets. Two Victorian ghosts, trapped for eternity. And a seventeen-year-old girl determined not to be next. Prepare for Nicole Lesperance’s stunning novel, The Depths, coming to shelves October 4, 2022! Eulalie Island should be a paradise, but to Addie Spencer, it’s more like a prison. Forced to tag along to the … Continued
See More

8 YA books to preorder for your 2022 TBR!

2022 is almost here, and we’re here to make sure you’re ready to kick off that new year TBR! Here are just a few reads to make sure you have on that list.   The Bone Spindle by Leslie Vedder Sleeping Beauty meets Indiana Jones in this thrilling fairytale retelling for fans of Sorcery of Thorns and The … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP