Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

YA Graphic Novel MUST Reads for Your Shelf!

SHARE

Calling all graphic novel lovers! Before 2021 ends, we’re here to make sure you have these 3 graphic novels to take into the new year!

 

Huda F Are You? by Huda Fahmy

huda f are you

From the creator of Yes, I’m Hot In This, this cheeky, hilarious, and honest graphic novel asks the question everyone has to figure out for themselves: Who are you?

Huda and her family just moved to Dearborn, Michigan, a small town with a big Muslim population. In her old town, Huda knew exactly who she was: She was the hijabi girl. But in Dearborn, everyone is the hijabi girl.

Huda is lost in a sea of hijabis, and she can’t rely on her hijab to define her anymore. She has to define herself. So she tries on a bunch of cliques, but she isn’t a hijabi fashionista or a hijabi athlete or a hijabi gamer. She’s not the one who knows everything about her religion or the one all the guys like. She’s miscellaneous, which makes her feel like no one at all. Until she realizes that it’ll take finding out who she isn’t to figure out who she is.

 

Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys

between shades of gray

Just in time for the 10th anniversary of Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys’s award-winning debut novel, and inspiration for the major motion picture Ashes in the Snow, is now a gorgeous graphic novel!

June, 1941. A knock comes at the door and the life of fifteen-year-old Lina Vilkas changes forever. She’s arrested by the Soviet secret police and deported from Lithuania to Siberia with her mother and younger brother. The conditions are horrific and Lina must fight for her life and for the lives of those around her, including the boy that she loves. Risking everything, she secretly passes along clues in the form of drawings, hoping they will reach her father’s prison camp. But will her messages, and her courage, be enough to reunite her family? Will they be enough to keep her alive?

 

Dancing at the Pity Party by Tyler Feder

9780525553021_DancingatthePityParty_CV.indd

Part poignant cancer memoir and part humorous reflection on a motherless life, this debut graphic novel is extraordinarily comforting and engaging.

From before her mother’s first oncology appointment through the stages of her cancer to the funeral, sitting shiva, and afterward, when she must try to make sense of her life as a motherless daughter, Tyler Feder tells her story in this graphic novel that is full of piercing–but also often funny–details. She shares the important post-death firsts, such as celebrating holidays without her mom, the utter despair of cleaning out her mom’s closet, ending old traditions and starting new ones, and the sting of having the “I’ve got to tell Mom about this” instinct and not being able to act on it. This memoir, bracingly candid and sweetly humorous, is for anyone struggling with loss who just wants someone to get it.

 

 

Love a good mystery? Here are 6 of our favorites for your shelf!

#ReaderLove

Excerpt alert: start reading I GUESS I LIVE HERE NOW by Claire Ahn!

For fans of Anna and the French Kiss and Loveboat Taipei, this effervescent debut takes readers on a journey to the place where trends are born—Seoul, Korea—where Melody Lee unwillingly moves with her family and must start a new life, a new school…and maybe a new romance. Scroll down to read a sneak peek of I Guess I Live Here … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: LEAGUE OF LIARS by Astrid Scholte

League of Liars by Astrid Scholte is coming to shelves THIS MONTH! In this fantasy thriller, four teens charged with murder and caught up with the illegal use of magic band together to devise the ultimate jailbreak. Perfect for fans of Six of Crows and How to Get Away with Murder. Ever since his mother was killed, seventeen-year-old Cayder Broduck has … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: SO, THIS IS CHRISTMAS

That cute holiday romance read you were looking for? It’s right here. Let It Snow meets Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares in So, This Is Christmas by Tracy Andreen, a new small-town Christmas romance. And you can start reading it now! When Finley Brown returned to her hometown of Christmas, Oklahoma, from boarding school, she expected to find it just … Continued
See More

All My Rage Transformed My Idea of the American Dream

All My Rage is a powerful, heart-wrenching, and ultimately uplifting contemporary novel from Sabaa Tahir, on shelves now. We asked Samawia Akhter, a BookToker and superfan of the book, to share about the impact that All My Rage had on her. Keep scrolling to see what Samawia said!   View this post on Instagram A … Continued
See More

A Beginner’s Guide to Ruta Sepetys Books

With more than 1 million copies of her books in print, the critically acclaimed Ruta Sepetys is known for her uncanny ability to uncover some of the darkest corners of history, and tell their stories. But in case you’re new here, it’s time we introduce you to the Queen of Heart-wrenching Historical Fiction. So, think … Continued
See More

Cover Love: Our Favorite Illustrated Covers This Year!

We are LOVING the illustrated cover trend that has blessed YA recently. If you are too, here are 28 of our favorite illustrated covers from this year!   Margot Mertz Takes It Down by Carrie McCrossen and Ian McWethy The laptop decals. The smirk. We’re here for it.   Huda F Are You? by Huda … Continued
See More

2022 Epic Fantasy Covers We’re OBSESSED With

2022 is killing it in the fantasy cover arena. Here are just a few of our favs so far! League of Liars by Astrid Scholte This cover honestly gives us chills. Echoes and Empires by Morgan Rhodes  The box. The magic. The title treatment. The everything. Akata Woman by Nnedi Okorafor We can’t get over … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: Sunny G’s Series of Rash Decisions

For fans of Sandhya Menon and Adam Silvera, Sunny G’s Series of Rash Decisions is a prom-night romantic-comedy romp about a Sikh teen’s search for love and identity. Sunny G’s brother left him one thing when he died: His notebook, which Sunny is determined to fill up with a series of rash decisions. Decision number one was … Continued
See More

Best of #Bookstagram: ALL MY RAGE by Sabaa Tahir

We love #bookstagram, and #bookstagram is loving All My Rage by Sabaa Tahir! Scroll down to see some of our favorite bookish posts so far and what reviewers are saying!   “I’m simultaneously so excited to start and also emotionally unprepared ” — @abookishmarriage View this post on Instagram A post shared by Hillary (@abookishmarriage)   “I … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: ECHOES AND EMPIRES by Morgan Rhodes

From the New York Times bestselling author of the Falling Kingdoms series comes the first book in a brand-new duology about forbidden magic and dangerous secrets, for readers of Victoria Aveyard and Margaret Rogerson. Scroll down to start reading Echoes and Empires, on shelves January 4, 2022! The sound of a crash from around the corner drew my attention. I … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP