Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

YA love triangles that will BREAK YOU

SHARE

Let’s be real: some tropes never die, and we can’t help but love them. And even though it tears your heart apart just a little, everyone’s down for a good love triangle. Here are 6 of the best!

 

Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

Vampire Academy PB

Spoilers kind of but hey these books have been out for a while now SO:

Adrian and Rose? Rose and Dimitri? HOW DO YOU CHOOSE? (Dimitri. The answer is always Dimitri.) But still, there wasn’t a dry eye among readers when Rose had to bid Adrian adieu. Of course, if you read Bloodlines (if not, omg what are you doing with your life), you know things don’t turn out so bad for Adrian in the end.

But it still leaves us wondering.

What IF???

 

Matched by Ally Condie 

9780142419779

We will never forget the Xander/Ky debacle. Oh, the feels. Cassia choosing between the only life she’s ever known and a path no one has dared to follow…and how best to break all of our hearts by doing so.

 

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

 41LPBRNaVCL._SX355_BO1,204,203,200_

Oof. We can still feel that moment deep in our bleeding hearts when Gale saw Katniss and Peeta fake-falling-in-love-but-yeah-kind-of-falling-in-love on TV. And it didn’t exactly get easier from there. Sorry, Gale.

 

The Beautiful by Renée Ahdieh

The-Beautiful

We won’t spoil something that isn’t out until October 8th, but we’re adding this to the list so you can emotionally prepare now.

 

The Selection by Kiera Cass

61UAcfOo4LL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_

Spoilers again on this one, sorry, but we can’t leave out one of the most well-known love triangles of all time:

Hey remember that time America’s boyfriend broke up with her and then she kind of start falling for Prince Maxon but then Aspen was like “actually I do love you” and we were all REALLY TORN? Just thought we’d bring that up again.

 

Frankly in Love by David Yoon

Frankly-in-Love-COVER

Alright, alright, no spoilers for something that doesn’t come out until September 10th, but if you couldn’t tell from the book trailer, there’s a little something happening here that’s gonna kick you real hard in the feels.

 

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir

AnEmberintheAshes

Laia, how do you choose? Keenan, who understands you to a surprising degree? Or Elias, who IS TOTALLY MEANT TO BE WITH LAIA AND WE’RE NOT BIASED AT ALL.

 

 

 

 

Ready for September? Check out every book getting ready to hit shelves!

 

#ReaderLove

Best of Bookstagram: THE KINGDOM OF BACK

You’ve probably noticed one of the most gorgeous covers of 2020 rolling around bookstagram, and we couldn’t help but round some of our favorites up to share! Marie Lu’s The Kingdom of Back follows the untold story of Nannerl Mozart. Born with a gift for music, Nannerl Mozart has just one wish–to be remembered forever. But … Continued
See More

What to read while desperately waiting for P.S. I Still Love You

The first look photos for P.S. I Still Love You on Netflix are in and WE HAVE A LOT OF FEELINGS.   P.S. I Still Love You first looks…are y’all ready?! https://t.co/9LHm3S06s3 pic.twitter.com/sE5MLLosUV — Jenny Han (@jennyhan) December 12, 2019 More Lara Jean? First love? Friends to lovers? We need it. But waiting is hard, … Continued
See More

Readers who are LOVING The Fountains of Silence by Ruta Sepetys!

The Fountains of Silence by Ruta Sepetys is quickly becoming a 2019 favorite, and it’s pretty easy to see why.   From this heartfelt review     to this extremely relatable tweet 37 pgs into #thefountainsofsilence and like the rest of @RutaSepetys books, it is amazing. I would read the back of shampoo bottles if she … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL: We Walked the Sky Paperback Cover!

We Walked the Sky by Lisa Fiedler has a new cover and it’s pretty hard to take your eyes off it 👀 Check out the new paperback cover below!     New to We Walked the Sky? Here’s a bit about the book!   In 1965 seventeen-year-old Victoria, having just escaped an unstable home, flees to the ultimate … Continued
See More

Best of #Bookstagram: Juliet Takes a Breath

Welcome back to Best of #Bookstagram! This week, we’re sharing our favorite photos that we’ve seen lately of Gabby Rivera’s Juilet Takes a Breath, the story of Juliet learning what it means to come out–to the world, to her family, and to herself.   From this simple beauty, View this post on Instagram A post shared by Allison … Continued
See More

Quotes from Frankly in Love we’re frankly in love with

Frankly in Love is quickly making its way onto the instant YA classics list, and one of our favorite things about it is that it’s one of those books with The Quotes. The ones you want to pluck out and either hang on a wall or sew on a pillow. Either way, we love these lines and … Continued
See More

People who are sooo not prepared for THE CONFERENCE OF THE BIRDS

The Conference of the Birds, aka the fifth installment in Ransom Riggs’s Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children Series, is getting ready to bless our shelves and we cannot WAIT. A Map of Days left us reeling with MANY questions, and they’re all getting answered this Tuesday! But first, here are just a few fans who are not … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: ALL THE DAYS PAST, ALL THE DAYS TO COME

Welcome back to #FridayReads! This week we’re reading All the Days Past, All the Days to Come by Mildred D. Taylor. The saga of the Logan family–made famous in the Newbery Medal-winning Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry–concludes in a long-awaited and deeply fulfilling story. Scroll down to read the excerpt! Moe and Henry were waiting for us … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: The Last Confession of Autumn Casterly

Happy #FridayReads! This week, we’re reading The Last Confession of Autumn Casterly by Meredith Tate, perfect for fans of If I Stay and One of Us is Lying. Read the excerpt below! Autumn On a scale of one to ten, my desire to talk to the cops who’ve spent the last twenty minutes digging through my locker is a raging neg-ative … Continued
See More

A definitive list of YA books for Scorpios

It’s Scorpio season so we made a list of books that will hopefully distract all the Scorpios from burning the world down (written by a Scorpio.)   Rules for Vanishing by Kate Alice Marshall Scorpios are EASILY bored. Like, really, really easily. And when we get bored, we plot. Or hold grudges. That’s why Scorpios should … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP