Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Your Historical Fiction TBR

SHARE

If you’re always on the lookout for that special book that transports to an older world the second you turn the page, we have a few recommendations you’ll definitely want on your list! Welcome to your historical fiction TBR!

 

Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys

out-of-the-easy

It’s 1950, and as the French Quarter of New Orleans simmers with secrets, seventeen-year-old Josie Moraine is silently stirring a pot of her own. Known among locals as the daughter of a brothel prostitute, Josie wants more out of life than the Big Easy has to offer. She devises a plan get out, but a mysterious death in the Quarter leaves Josie tangled in an investigation that will challenge her allegiance to her mother, her conscience, and Willie Woodley, the brusque madam on Conti Street.

Pssst! Reminder that Out of the Easy ebook is on sale until 3/29 anywhere ebooks are sold!

Orphan Monster Spy by Matt Killeen

Orphan-Monster-Spy

This is the fast-paced immersive thriller read you need to spice up your historical fiction list. Sarah is a blonde-haired blue-eyed Jewish girl in 1939 Germany, hiding in plain sight at a Nazi boarding school. If she can befriend the daughter of a key scientist, she might be able to steal the blueprints to a bomb that could destroy the cities of Western Europe. And once you read this, make sure you pick up…

 

Devil Darling Spy by Matt Killeen

DevilDarlingSpy

Because once you finished Orphan Monster Spyyou’ll be dying to find out what happens to Sarah next. In this utterly gripping sequel, Sarah hunts a rogue German doctor in West Africa who might be a serial murderer. Also, it just looks really nice next to the first one tbh.

 

Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys

Salt-to-the-Sea

Four voices. Four secrets. The lives of four young people come together at the end of WWII, weaving a story that brings to light the greatest maritime disaster in the history of the world.

Chances are if you’re a historical fiction fan, you already know alllll about Ruta, but JUST IN CASE, we’re making sure you know about this queen and her timeless works. In particular, one of our very favs: Salt to the Sea (and all the emotions it will leave you with.)

 

Blood Water Paint by Joy McCullough

If you love books written in verse, and you love historical fiction, we’d like to introduce you to your new favorite book: this.

Artemisia Gentileschi was one of Rome’s most talented painters, even if no one knew her name. After she was sexually assaulted, Artemisia faced a terrible choice: a life of silence or a life of truth, no matter the cost. Joy McCullough’s bold novel in verse is a portrait of Artemisia as a young woman, battling with much more than she should have to.

 

Alex and Eliza: A Love Story by Melissa de la Cruz

Oftentimes, historical fiction can be pretty heavy, and this is a great, light romance to balance out. Some background: after seeing Hamilton, author Melissa de la Cruz’s daughter wanted to know more about the love story of Alexander Hamilton and Eliza Schuyler–and can you blame her? So Melissa researched and re-imagined the story of Alex & Eliza and wrote their story! Basically, if you ship Alex and Eliza, you need to read this asap.

 

The Kingdom of Back by Marie Lu

kingdom-of-back-cover

This.book.is.MAGIC. It is historical fiction + fantasy + strong female lead + so SO many emotions. Oh, and it’s MARIE LU. Make SURE you have this on your immediate 2020 TBR for when it hits shelves March 3rd!! (Pre-order here!)

 

The Fountains of Silence by Ruta Sepetys

The-Fountains-of-Silence-COVER

This book is gorgeous inside and out. Master storyteller Ruta Sepetys once again shines light into one of history’s darkest corners in this epic, heart-wrenching novel about identity, unforgettable love, repercussions of war, and the hidden violence of silence–inspired by the true postwar struggles of Spain.

 

The Game of Hope by Sandra Gulland

For Napoleon’s stepdaughter, nothing is simple – especially love. Inspired by Hortense’s real-life autobiography with charming glimpses of life long ago, this is the story of a girl destined by fate to play a role she didn’t choose.

 

Lovely War by Julie Berry 

LovelyWar1

To put it simply, this book is lovely. Imagine a love story in the midst of World War II, and the Greek Gods watching it all play out from above as Aphrodite stands trial. This book is breathtaking.

 

The Dark Days Club by Alison Goodman

This is like if you put Buffy the Vampire Slayer in historical fiction. And it’s EPIC.

On the eve of Lady Helen Wrexhall’s presentation to the queen, one of her family’s housemaids disappears–and Helen is determined to find her. She meets Lord Carlston, one of the few who can stop the perpetrators: a cabal of demons infiltrating every level of society. Dare she ask for his help, despite his reputation?

 

Ashes in the Snow by Ruta Sepetys

Ashes-in-the-Snow

(One more Ruta Sepetys book on this list. BECAUSE SHE’S THAT GOOD.)

Everything changed for 15-year-old Lina one night in 1941, when Soviet officers forced her family apart into Siberian work camps. A tale of survival, strength, and love that will make you want to hug the person next to you.

 

Alice by Heart by Steven Sater

alice-by-heart

Historical fiction AND an Alice in Wonderland retelling combined into one? Sign us up.

In this coming of age novel, a young girl takes refuge in a London Tube station during WWII and confronts grief, loss, and first love with the help of her favorite book, Alice in Wonderland, in the debut novel from Tony Award-winning playwright Steven Sater. Coming February 4!

The Blossom and the Firefly by Sherri L. Smith

blossom-cover

This book is just as stunning inside as it is outside. From the award-winning author of Flygirl comes this powerful WWII romance between two Japanese teens caught in the cogs of an unwinnable war, perfect for fans of Salt to the SeaLovely War, and Code Name VerityComing February 18th!

Excited for Devil Darling Spy? Read an excerpt here!

#Bookish

Books to #ReadPrideAndBeyond all year long!

June may be coming to an end, but we hope you remember to #ReadPrideAndBeyond all year long. Here are just a few reads to look forward to!     Darius the Great Deserves Better by Adib Khorram – August 25 In this companion to the award-winning Darius the Great Is Not Okay, Darius suddenly has it all: … Continued
See More

Beware: these books will keep you up at night

Spooky season may not be for a little while yet, but we here at Penguin Teen are all about the year-round spooks. So if you’re looking for the next read that’s going to have you either buying a nightlight or bidding sleep adieu altogether, read on! 👻   Rules for Vanishing by Kate Alice Marshall   … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of VERONA COMICS!

From the author of Hot Dog Girl comes a fresh and funny queer YA contemporary novel about two teens who fall in love in an indie comic book shop. Scroll down to read an excerpt of Verona Comics! Chapter One Jubilee “You look like you’re being tortured,” Jayla says. “This is supposed to be fun.” Easy to … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: The Boy in the Red Dress

In continuation of our #ReadPrideAndBeyond celebration, we’re sharing an excerpt from The Boy in the Red Dress by Kristin Lambert, a rollicking romp of truth, lies, and troubled pasts. New Year’s Eve, 1929. Millie is running the show at the Cloak & Dagger, a swinging speakeasy in the French Quarter, while her aunt is out of town. The new … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of They Wish They Were Us!

They Wish They Were Us is one of 2020’s hottest upcoming books and we need to talk.about.it. Imagine this: Gossip Girl + One of Us Is Lying with just a dash of The Secret History. That gives us this thrilling murder mystery set against the backdrop of an exclusive prep school on Long Island. Scroll down to read the excerpt!   Chapter … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: THE UNLEASHED

If The Haunted terrified you last summer, get ready! In the chilling sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that even though Steele House is gone, the hauntings in Drearfield are far from over — and it’s up to her to stop them. Scroll down to start reading the sequel, The Unleashed! The clock beside Samantha Davidson’s bed read 3:17 … Continued
See More

Black Booktubers You Should Be Following

Here is a list of just a few of the Black booktubers you should definitely be following.   Books with Brandie Shanae Follow here   Britney, Melanin Eclectic Follow here   Ochuole, Oh She Reads Follow here   Myonna, Myonna Reads Follow here   Peta-Gay, Comfy Cozy Up Follow here   Justin, Ghost Reader Follow … Continued
See More

Read the first 4 chapters of BEYOND THE BREAK

For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, if you count her faith… and that’s where things may get complicated. Scroll down to read the excerpt! Chapter One The first time a guy felt me up was in the … Continued
See More

Every Book Hitting Shelves in June

Here’s a sneak peek of what’s hitting shelves this June!   6/2: Jo & Laurie by Melissa de la Cruz and Margaret Stohl – Bestselling authors Margaret Stohl and Melissa de la Cruz bring us a romantic retelling of Little Women starring Jo March and her best friend, the boy next door, Theodore “Laurie” Laurence.   6/2: Beyond … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: Forged in Fire and Stars

Forged in Fire and Stars by Andrea Robertson just hit shelves and we’re sharing an excerpt! Games of Thrones meets An Ember in the Ashes in this action-packed fantasy from the internationally bestselling author of the Nightshade series. Ara has always known the legend of the Loresmith: the blacksmith who served alongside the kings and queens of Saetlund, forging legendary … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP