Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

The 5 Senses Of A Book Lover

SHARE

One of the coolest things about Richelle Mead’s Soundless, which is set in a world without sound, is that it asks the question of how life changes according to our senses. This got us thinking about how grateful we are for OUR senses, because without them, how would we appreciate the glorious books around us? In fact, to celebrate them, we decided to break down the 5 highly refined senses of a standard book lover:

 

Beautiful Cover Identification (A.k.a. sight)

A book lover’s sense of sight can be quite fickle. In some instances, late nights spent turning pages may hamper their vision, but the occurrence of a stunning book cover on the shelves will IMMEDIATELY draw their eye, and potentially lead to a #Coverbuy* situation.

*A purchase made as a result of being seduced by a beautiful cover without regard to any other factors such as genre, summary, $$ in the bank.

 

Page Scent Appreciation (A.k.a smell)

A book lover’s sense of smell is actually quite finely tuned, and they have been known to locate bookstores and libraries by simply following the scent of pages yet to be read. In the occurrence that you find them sniffing books in the shelves, respectfully leave them in peace.

 

Reading Intruder Recognition (A.k.a. sound)

Reading time is a sacred time. That’s why you’ll receive ‘the glare’ when conversing too loudly near or to a book lover. Your best bet is to switch to whispering or relocate entirely.

 

Book Body Admiration (A.k.a. feel)

Sometimes, the gaze of a book lover upon a book gives way to something more: touch. Whether it’s the stroking of deckled edges, a stunning spine, or simply feeling the weight of a novel in their hands, the book lover has been known to have an almost otherworldly experience by simply touching a book.

 

Binge Reading Fuel Discovery (A.k.a. taste)

 

The book lover taste buds are discerning ones – they’ve adapted to identify the perfect snacks to eat while reading: anything they can nibble on with one hand, has minimal crumbs, and can devour in large quantities in the case of a binge reading session.

 

 

What would a world without senses be like? Peek inside Soundless to find out!

 

 

#Bookish

Excerpt Alert: CHASING THE TRUTH by Jodi Kantor and Megan Twohey, edited by Ruby Shamir

Do you want to know how to bring secrets to light? How journalists can hold the powerful to account? And how to write stories that can make a difference? In Chasing the Truth, award-winning journalists Jodi Kantor and Megan Twohey share their thoughts from their early days writing their first stories to their time as award-winning … Continued
See More

Start reading THE TAKING OF JAKE LIVINGSTON

The Taking of Jake Livingston is the perfect Halloween read, so we’re sharing an excerpt today to get you started! Scroll down to start reading about Jake Livingston, a sixteen-year-old who sees dead people everywhere. I live in Atlanta, but not really. Clark City is too far out for the train to come, unless it’s one of … Continued
See More

Start reading HELLO (FROM HERE) by Chandler Baker and Wesley King!

A love story? In quarantine? Yes! Hello (From Here) by Chandler Baker and Wesley King is a heartfelt, witty, and thought-provoking YA love story about two teens who fall for each other while forced apart during quarantine, written by two New York Times bestselling authors, and for fans of Five Feet Apart, Anna and the French Kiss, and My Life Next Door. … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: CATCH THE LIGHT by Kate Sweeney

Excerpt alert! Catch the Light by Kate Sweeney is a love story perfect for fans of Nina LaCour and Jandy Nelson, about a girl who moves cross country and finds herself falling for someone new who throws her whole life out of order. Nine months after the death of her father, Marigold is forced to pick up … Continued
See More

Reads by Filipino-American authors for your shelf!

October is Filipino American History Month, and here are a few amazing reads by Filipino American authors we recommend you add to your shelf if you haven’t already!   Patron Saints of Nothing by Randy Ribay A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks a Filipino-American teenager takes to uncover the truth about his cousin’s … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: THE CORPSE QUEEN by Heather M. Herrman

Excerpt alert! The Corpse Queen by Heather M. Herrman is a dark and twisty feminist historical mystery, in which a teenage girl starts a new life as a grave robber…but quickly becomes entangled in a murderer’s plans. Coming to shelves September 14th! Scroll down to read a sneak peek! The dead do not always keep their secrets. Sometimes the … Continued
See More

Mystery books: our favorite detectives in YA!

We can’t resist a good mystery, or a protagonist determined to get to the bottom of one! So, if you’re looking for your next mystery to unravel, read on for 6 of our favorites!   Margot Mertz Takes It Down by Carrie McCrossen and Ian McWethy Hell hath no fury like Margot, who discovers a … Continued
See More

Books that PROVE the woods are the scariest place to be in a thriller

If you ever find yourself in a thriller novel, it’s probably best to steer towards the nearest exit. But more importantly, do NOT go into the woods, and here are 6 books that show why!   The Woods Are Always Watching by Stephanie Perkins Simply put: the only thing being lost in the woods…is being … Continued
See More

Last Minute Bookish Costumes for Lazy People

We all know how this goes. You spend most of October binge-watching scary movies, going to corn mazes, and drinking pumpkin spice anything. Then, suddenly BOOM. Halloween is actually here and OOPS you forgot to get a costume. Panicking? No worries, we’ve got you covered.   Emika Chen – Warcross   Grab some hair chalk! Time to rainbow-up … Continued
See More

Start reading THE OTHER MERLIN by Robyn Schneider

Channeling the modern humor of The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue, bestselling author Robyn Schneider creates a Camelot that becomes the ultimate teen rom-com hotspot in this ultra-fresh take on the Arthurian legend. Scroll down to start reading The Other Merlin! Everything was going to be fine. Emry Merlin staggered out the back door of the … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP