Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

3 Books to Read on Your Way to the Women’s March

SHARE

In honor of the anniversary of the epic Women’s March, we just want to give a shout out to all the amazing women taking to the streets again this year!

Now, you may be down the street from the event. You may be taking the bus from Ohio. You may be flying in from across the world. Who knows! But, wherever you are, we want to make sure you’re equipped with some good reads to keep you march-ready on the way there. So, here are three books to read on your way to the Women’s March!

 

1. Blood Water Paint

BloodWaterPaintCOVER

Joy McCullough’s bold novel in verse is a portrait of an artist as a young woman, filled with the soaring highs of creative inspiration and the devastating setbacks of a system built to break her. This read is equal parts mesmerizing and important, and just waiting to join you on your way to the Women’s March!

 

2. Glimmer of Hope

GlimmerOfHopeCover

If ever you needed proof of what a group of united people can do, it’s right here. By the founders of March For Our Lives, Glimmer of Hope tells the story of how a group of teenagers raced to channel their rage and sorrow into action, and went on to create one of the largest youth-led movements in global history. As marches around the world continue to break ground and make change, this is an especially good read for anyone ready to let their voice be heard.

 

3. Hope Nation 

Hope-Nation

We all know the fight doesn’t end when we all disperse and go home, letting our voices be heard is an ongoing battle. In Hope Nation, some of today’s most influential young adult authors come together in this highly personal collection of essays and original stories that offer moments of light in the darkness, and show that hope is a decision we all can make.

 

And don’t forget…

4. SHOUT

SHOUT

This searing, poetic call to action isn’t hitting shelves until March 12–so while it can’t join you for the Women’s March this year, it’ll definitely be the perfect follow-up and reminder to people everywhere: it’s time to #SHOUTTogether

 

 

Already ready for March? Checkout these 8 books to inspire you for Women’s History Month!

#Bookish

These books will make you feel all of your feelings

Let’s face it: the best books are the ones that somehow actually make your heart skip, speed up, and occasionally, you know, stop. They stick with you weeks, months, after, sometimes longer. So, here are six of our favorite tear-jerkers.   1. Someday We Will Fly This one will get you right in the feels because it’s so real. Set … Continued
See More

Book recs for the Greek Gods

In case you didn’t know, Lovely War by Julie Berry is a masterpiece of the Greek Gods intervening in two sweeping love stories caught in the crossfire of World War II. There, we meet Aphrodite, on trial and defending her decision to intervene amongst the mortals in the midsts of Ares, Hephaestus, Apollo, and Hades. Although each … Continued
See More

5 Times Seafire Broke Our Cold Dead Hearts

  ATTENTION ALL READERS: THERE ARE ALL KINDS OF SPOILERS FOR SEAFIRE AHEAD via GIPHY Additional warning: this is going to hurt.   So here’s the thing: via GIPHY Seafire got a glow up, and that meant it was time for a re-read. Which was a good reminder that apparently this book thought it would be … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of Darius the Great Is Not Okay

Welcome back to #FridayReads! With all the excitement over the paperback of Darius the Great Is Not Okay hitting shelves this August, we’re sharing an excerpt! Hilarious and heartbreaking, this unforgettable debut is one you’ll want to get on your TBR asap in case you haven’t already. Scroll down to read an excerpt! My grandmother loomed large on … Continued
See More

#FridayReads: The Virtue of Sin

Happy #FridayReads! This week’s excerpt comes from The Virtue of Sin by Shannon Schuren, a compelling novel about speaking out, standing up, and breaking free, and perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale! Scroll down to start reading! Chapter 1 The girls never get a choice. Recite your Prayers, report for Lessons, respect your Elders. Do unto others and … Continued
See More

A Playlist Inspired by TURTLES ALL THE WAY DOWN

Sometimes when you read a book, a playlist starts instantly forming in your mind, whether inspired by the characters, the mood, your personal reactions, or a combination of them all. That’s how we felt after reading John Green’s new book, Turtles All the Way Down. Each individual’s experience with a book is unique, but here is … Continued
See More

If Books Were Sharks

Shark Week is coming to an end, but these reads will live on forever. So, we’ve compiled our top pairings of books as sharks!   An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir – Great White Shark Let’s face it. Both are awesome but can also rip your insides up pretty quickly.     The Last Voyage … Continued
See More

Best of Bookstagram: Turtles All the Way Down

Prepare your eyeballs, it’s #bookstagram time and we found some beauties we just can’t resist sharing of John Green’s Turtles All the Way Down!   From the simplicity of a brick wall and portrait mode: View this post on Instagram 🐢🐢🐢 John Green’s #TurtlesAllTheWayDown is now available in paperback! TURTLES tells the story of Aza Holmes, … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of The Downstairs Girl

Happy #FridayReads! This week, we’re reading The Downstairs Girl by Stacey Lee, a powerful novel about identity, betrayal, and the meaning of family. By day, seventeen-year-old Jo Kuan works as a lady’s maid for the cruel Caroline Payne, the daughter of one of the wealthiest men in Atlanta. But by night, Jo moonlights as the pseudonymous author of … Continued
See More

5 Reasons you’re going to fall in LOVE with Wicked Fox

If you haven’t heard yet, the most epic fantasy-romance is coming out June 25th. Wicked Fox, set in modern day Seoul, promises to deliver fantasy, drama, suspense and romance…what more could you ask for??? We’ve been obsessing over Kat Cho’s debut novel and can’t wait for everyone else to get their hands on it too. So, … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP