Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

A Playlist Inspired by REIGN OF THE FALLEN

SHARE

Every once in a while, a book just SCREAMS to you that it needs a playlist. Reign of the Fallen is doubtlessly one of those books! We created a playlist inspired by Reign of the Fallen, and we even got a little help from the author, Sarah Glenn Marsh! Fact: she says Battlefield by Svrcina is the book’s theme song! Listen to the playlist and read more about the book down below!

 

About the book:

Without the dead, she’d be no one.

Odessa is one of Karthia’s master necromancers, catering to the kingdom’s ruling Dead. Whenever a noble dies, it’s Odessa’s job to raise them by retrieving their soul from a dreamy and dangerous shadow world called the Deadlands. But there is a cost to being raised: the Dead must remain shrouded. If even a hint of flesh is exposed, a grotesque transformation begins, turning the Dead into terrifying, bloodthirsty Shades.

A dramatic uptick in Shade attacks raises suspicions and fears around the kingdom. Soon, a crushing loss of one of her closest companions leaves Odessa shattered, and reveals a disturbing conspiracy in Karthia: Someone is intentionally creating Shades by tearing shrouds from the Dead–and training them to attack. Odessa is forced to contemplate a terrifying question: What if her magic is the weapon that brings the kingdom to its knees?

Fighting alongside her fellow mages–and a powerful girl as enthralling as she is infuriating–Odessa must untangle the gruesome plot to destroy Karthia before the Shades take everything she loves.

Perfect for fans of Three Dark Crowns and Red Queen, Reign of the Fallen is a gutsy, unpredictable read with a surprising and breathtaking LGBT romance at its core.

 

 

 

Excited for book 2, Song of the Dead? Read the excerpt here!

 

#Bookish

Read an Excerpt from E.K. Johnston’s THE AFTERWARD

We’ve all read about the quest. The grand adventure the heroes go on. The glory, the danger, the defeated villain. But…what happens afterward? We may finally have the answer (thanks to E.K. Johnston) and you can dive right into it RIGHT NOW below with this special excerpt from The Afterward!   After As a rule, Olsa Rhetsdaughter … Continued
See More

3 Books to Read on Your Way to the Women’s March

In honor of the anniversary of the epic Women’s March, we just want to give a shout out to all the amazing women taking to the streets again this year! Now, you may be down the street from the event. You may be taking the bus from Ohio. You may be flying in from across … Continued
See More

Bookish New Year’s Resolutions

New Year, new you, new books too! We can all pretend that we will go to the gym more, do our laundry before the basket is overflowing, learn French, find a job that involves napping, or pilot a helicopter. But at some point, reality will set in and those resolutions may prove to be more … Continued
See More

Royal Fantasy MUST Reads!

Ok, ok, ok, is it really surprising that we all continue to be obsessed with kings, queens, kingdoms, and magical ongoings of all sorts? We grow up playing in imaginary castles and then BOOM, we’re just expected to give that up to be adults, make doctors appointments, buy groceries, and do laundry? Ha. No. Welcome to … Continued
See More

4 Series Leaving Us in the First Half of 2019

We knew this day would come, guys. As much as we love these series, all good stories must come to an end. It’s so hard to say goodbye, but the time has come to embrace the stunning 2019 finales of these 4 series.     1. Song of the Dead by Sarah Glenn Marsh   Odessa’s … Continued
See More

Read the First Excerpt from Strange Days!

Basically, Strange Days is the contemporary fiction and sci-fi combo we all need in our lives. Alex Mata doesn’t want to worry about rumors of alien incursions–he’d rather just skate and tag and play guitar. But when he comes home to find an alien has murdered his parents, he’s forced to confront a new reality: … Continued
See More

These books will make you feel all of your feelings

Let’s face it: the best books are the ones that somehow actually make your heart skip, speed up, and occasionally, STOP. They stick with you weeks, months, after, sometimes longer. So, here are six of our favorite books that do JUST THAT.   1. Someday We Will Fly This one will get you right in the feels because it’s … Continued
See More

Can You Find the Hidden Emojis in These Book Covers? …Holiday Edition!

So we tested your skills once in this find-the-emoji in the book covers quiz, but can you do it again? Test your skills with the quiz below, then click to flip and see how you did!       They say don’t judge a book by its hidden emoji cover, but…if you were intrigued by … Continued
See More

Read an Excerpt from Someday We Will Fly!

From the author of Blind, Someday We Will Fly is a heart-wrenching coming-of-age story set during World War II in Shanghai, one of the only places Jews without visas could find refuge. Scroll down for a special excerpt!   In Hongkou, you could meet someone one day and find yourself living with him the next. Even if … Continued
See More

Bookish Christmas trees that will make you spend WAY too much time on Pinterest

  It works like this: you see a cute photo on Instagram. It looks like this: View this post on Instagram A post shared by My Friends Are Fiction 🇺🇸 (@myfriendsarefiction) on Dec 5, 2018 at 9:34am PST   “Hmm!” you think to yourself. “I could do that.” “…I should do that.” This is your first mistake. … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP