Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

A Playlist Inspired by REIGN OF THE FALLEN

SHARE

Every once in a while, a book just SCREAMS to you that it needs a playlist. Reign of the Fallen is doubtlessly one of those books! We created a playlist inspired by Reign of the Fallen, and we even got a little help from the author, Sarah Glenn Marsh! Fact: she says Battlefield by Svrcina is the book’s theme song! Listen to the playlist and read more about the book down below!

 

About the book:

Without the dead, she’d be no one.

Odessa is one of Karthia’s master necromancers, catering to the kingdom’s ruling Dead. Whenever a noble dies, it’s Odessa’s job to raise them by retrieving their soul from a dreamy and dangerous shadow world called the Deadlands. But there is a cost to being raised: the Dead must remain shrouded. If even a hint of flesh is exposed, a grotesque transformation begins, turning the Dead into terrifying, bloodthirsty Shades.

A dramatic uptick in Shade attacks raises suspicions and fears around the kingdom. Soon, a crushing loss of one of her closest companions leaves Odessa shattered, and reveals a disturbing conspiracy in Karthia: Someone is intentionally creating Shades by tearing shrouds from the Dead–and training them to attack. Odessa is forced to contemplate a terrifying question: What if her magic is the weapon that brings the kingdom to its knees?

Fighting alongside her fellow mages–and a powerful girl as enthralling as she is infuriating–Odessa must untangle the gruesome plot to destroy Karthia before the Shades take everything she loves.

Perfect for fans of Three Dark Crowns and Red Queen, Reign of the Fallen is a gutsy, unpredictable read with a surprising and breathtaking LGBT romance at its core.

 

 

 

Excited for book 2, Song of the Dead? Read the excerpt here!

 

#Bookish

These books will make you feel all of your feelings

Let’s face it: the best books are the ones that somehow actually make your heart skip, speed up, and occasionally, you know, stop. They stick with you weeks, months, after, sometimes longer. So, here are six of our favorite tear-jerkers.   1. Someday We Will Fly This one will get you right in the feels because it’s so real. Set … Continued
See More

Book recs for the Greek Gods

In case you didn’t know, Lovely War by Julie Berry is a masterpiece of the Greek Gods intervening in two sweeping love stories caught in the crossfire of World War II. There, we meet Aphrodite, on trial and defending her decision to intervene amongst the mortals in the midsts of Ares, Hephaestus, Apollo, and Hades. Although each … Continued
See More

5 Times Seafire Broke Our Cold Dead Hearts

  ATTENTION ALL READERS: THERE ARE ALL KINDS OF SPOILERS FOR SEAFIRE AHEAD via GIPHY Additional warning: this is going to hurt.   So here’s the thing: via GIPHY Seafire got a glow up, and that meant it was time for a re-read. Which was a good reminder that apparently this book thought it would be … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of Darius the Great Is Not Okay

Welcome back to #FridayReads! With all the excitement over the paperback of Darius the Great Is Not Okay hitting shelves this August, we’re sharing an excerpt! Hilarious and heartbreaking, this unforgettable debut is one you’ll want to get on your TBR asap in case you haven’t already. Scroll down to read an excerpt! My grandmother loomed large on … Continued
See More

#FridayReads: The Virtue of Sin

Happy #FridayReads! This week’s excerpt comes from The Virtue of Sin by Shannon Schuren, a compelling novel about speaking out, standing up, and breaking free, and perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale! Scroll down to start reading! Chapter 1 The girls never get a choice. Recite your Prayers, report for Lessons, respect your Elders. Do unto others and … Continued
See More

A Playlist Inspired by TURTLES ALL THE WAY DOWN

Sometimes when you read a book, a playlist starts instantly forming in your mind, whether inspired by the characters, the mood, your personal reactions, or a combination of them all. That’s how we felt after reading John Green’s new book, Turtles All the Way Down. Each individual’s experience with a book is unique, but here is … Continued
See More

If Books Were Sharks

Shark Week is coming to an end, but these reads will live on forever. So, we’ve compiled our top pairings of books as sharks!   An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir – Great White Shark Let’s face it. Both are awesome but can also rip your insides up pretty quickly.     The Last Voyage … Continued
See More

Best of Bookstagram: Turtles All the Way Down

Prepare your eyeballs, it’s #bookstagram time and we found some beauties we just can’t resist sharing of John Green’s Turtles All the Way Down!   From the simplicity of a brick wall and portrait mode: View this post on Instagram 🐢🐢🐢 John Green’s #TurtlesAllTheWayDown is now available in paperback! TURTLES tells the story of Aza Holmes, … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of The Downstairs Girl

Happy #FridayReads! This week, we’re reading The Downstairs Girl by Stacey Lee, a powerful novel about identity, betrayal, and the meaning of family. By day, seventeen-year-old Jo Kuan works as a lady’s maid for the cruel Caroline Payne, the daughter of one of the wealthiest men in Atlanta. But by night, Jo moonlights as the pseudonymous author of … Continued
See More

5 Reasons you’re going to fall in LOVE with Wicked Fox

If you haven’t heard yet, the most epic fantasy-romance is coming out June 25th. Wicked Fox, set in modern day Seoul, promises to deliver fantasy, drama, suspense and romance…what more could you ask for??? We’ve been obsessing over Kat Cho’s debut novel and can’t wait for everyone else to get their hands on it too. So, … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP