Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Excerpt Alert: The Boy in the Red Dress

SHARE

In continuation of our #ReadPrideAndBeyond celebration, we’re sharing an excerpt from The Boy in the Red Dress by Kristin Lambert, a rollicking romp of truth, lies, and troubled pasts.

Scroll down to read an excerpt!

The-Boy-in-the-Red-DressWR

When I got back to the bar, Duke and I kept up the steady flow of alcohol into the hands of our increasingly sloppy customers. Every time I got a second to spare, I peeked at the hallway, waiting for Marion to return, trying to gauge what each minute that passed signaled about his state of mind.

I checked the stock of clean glasses stacked under the bar—we were getting low, but I thought we’d probably make it. The flow of customers would slow once Marion’s second set started and most folks settled into their seats. After midnight, a stream of people would start trickling out of the club, though there were always stragglers hanging on until the very end when we closed at two. But by then, business at the bar would be slow enough that we could wash glasses if we had to and catch our breath.

I glanced up at the hallway again, and this time, Marion was there. According to my watch, it had been exactly twenty-nine minutes since I talked to him through the dressing room door, and now he looked exactly as glamorous as he had at the beginning of the night. No puffy eyes or red blotches on his cheeks to show he’d been crying, but then he was an expert at makeup. You couldn’t tell he had a spray of freckles across his nose either, or that he’d over-plucked his left eyebrow the other day.

I started to put down my bar rag and grab my top hat, but this time Marion didn’t wait for my announcement. She strode right up onto the stage, swished her red skirt, and kicked out one silk-­clad leg. Hoots and whistles went up from the crowd. Marion leaned over the piano and gave an instruction to Lewis, who deftly changed direction mid-song. The band followed behind a beat later.

Marion led with a splashy song she usually saved for last and performed the second set even more fiercely than the first. Her voice was always throatier by now from the heavy smoke in the room, her body always looser from the single shot of honey-and­whiskey she’d sneak between sets in her dressing room. But tonight, every smile was a little too intense; every word she sang teetered on the brink of too much. Something was off, and I knew it had to do with that girl.

I slipped away from the bar when Duke wasn’t looking and braced my shoulder against a brick column in the middle of the room to watch the show, and the audience. A nervous energy built in my stomach, like I was waiting, though I didn’t know for what.

“Marion copacetic?” Olive slouched against the column beside me, with one hand in the pocket of her dress and another propping a tray against her waist.

Anyone else, and I would’ve lied and said Marion was aces. But Olive’s eyes said she already saw the truth.

“I don’t know,” I said. “He’s putting on a good show, but I think he’s rattled.”

Olive jerked her chin toward the piano. “Look at Lewis. He sees it, too.”

Olive was right. She usually was.

Lewis’s fingers played the piano, but even from across the room, it was plain his mind was on Marion. And not in the usual way. His thin shoulders were tense, and he wasn’t just watching—he was watchful. Protective. I knew that feeling, and I was glad someone else shared it. Two someones, or else Olive wouldn’t be over here.

“He knew that blonde girl asking around with the picture,” I said. “But the stubborn fool won’t tell me how.”

Olive laughed. “I think Cal made that rule about secrets just for you.”

“Hey!” I made a face at her and folded my arms across my chest. “I was right next to that girl, could’ve asked her anything I wanted to know, and she would’ve spilled it all. But I didn’t say a word.”

“You’re a real saint, Millie Coleman.” Olive’s gaze slid sideways, her mouth curving upward. “You should see if Ursuline is looking for any new nuns.”

I nudged her shoulder with mine. “I do hear there are some perks to the nunnery.”

“Oh, really? What sort of perks?” Her body moved closer, and I wasn’t inclined to get out of her way.

But over her shoulder, I saw Frank let Fitzroy return through the front door, without Arimentha, his hair no longer perfect, and an irritated expression on his face. He weaved through the crowd, smoothing his stray hairs back in place, and sat down with the rest of the Uptowners, who gave him odd looks. He’d probably stuck Arimentha in a cab and come back to watch the last minutes of 1929 drain away without her. Clearly, owning a tuxedo did not make him a gentleman.

The two girls at the table abruptly stood up, clutching their little handbags, and navigated single file between the tables toward the back of the club.

Olive thumped my arm. “You see someone you’d rather be talking to?” Her eyebrows were raised in neat, incredulous arches.

“Than you?” I forced my attention back to her face. “Hardly.”

“Then what’re you looking at?”

“That rich girl’s date is back.”

Olive cast a surreptitious glance at their table. “But she’s not back, is she?”

“No.”

“Then I don’t see why you should care. A table’s waving for drinks. Talk to you later.”

“Later,” I mumbled. I looked at my watch. Eight minutes till midnight.

Marion and the band were performing the final bars of a slow song. Next up, they’d do a real toe-tapper to draw
everybody out on the dance floor ahead of the big countdown, and at midnight, Marion might lean down and give Lewis a kiss, and they’d both pretend it was for show. I’d get a bottle of terrible champagne from the bar and pour it in glasses, while the band started up “Auld Lang Syne,” and people would hug and cry like they even knew what those words meant.

That’s how it was supposed to happen. But between the slow song and what was supposed to be a fast one, there came a three-second breath of silence.

And in that silence came the scream.

Long and shrill and terrible, too strangled with emotion and fear to be a joke.

My head shot up. Every head shot up. More screams pierced the air from the same direction as the first. My eyes darted toward the back hallway, where those two raccoon-coat girls had gone.

The screams were coming from there.

I looked back at the Uptowners’ table. Fitzroy and the two other boys stared at one another with wide eyes and leaped to their feet. They’d obviously come to the same conclusion. Fitzroy grabbed his coat off the back of his chair, knocking it over in the process, but the other two left theirs and started weaving through the crowd.

Some of the customers stayed in their seats and craned their necks to see what was going on, but a good many downed their drinks and surged toward the exits in case this was a raid. Marion stood stock-­still on the stage, mouth open in an O. The band members froze in place, too, embracing their instruments protectively. Olive and the other waitress, Zuzu, were in the middle of the crowd, holding on tight to their trays as overly excited customers jostled around them.

Instinctively, I looked around for Aunt Cal and then remembered she wasn’t here. I caught Lewis’s eye and gestured for him to start up the music again, and he played the first notes of “Auld Lang Syne,” even though midnight was still at least five minutes away. The cornetist lifted his instrument to his lips and joined in a beat later, and someone popped premature confetti into the air.

I spotted Frank pushing his way through the crowd toward the back hall, and I fell in beside him.

“I’m going with you,” I shouted over the din, and he nodded, his face solemn.

Whatever trouble was happening with those two girls, it was my responsibility tonight.

 

Looking for more books to #ReadPrideAndBeyond? Click here to see the full list!

 

#Bookish

Books to #ReadPrideAndBeyond all year long!

June may be coming to an end, but we hope you remember to #ReadPrideAndBeyond all year long. Here are just a few reads to look forward to!     Darius the Great Deserves Better by Adib Khorram – August 25 In this companion to the award-winning Darius the Great Is Not Okay, Darius suddenly has it all: … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of They Wish They Were Us!

They Wish They Were Us is one of 2020’s hottest upcoming books and we need to talk.about.it. Imagine this: Gossip Girl + One of Us Is Lying with just a dash of The Secret History. That gives us this thrilling murder mystery set against the backdrop of an exclusive prep school on Long Island. Scroll down to read the excerpt!   Chapter … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: THE UNLEASHED

If The Haunted terrified you last summer, get ready! In the chilling sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that even though Steele House is gone, the hauntings in Drearfield are far from over — and it’s up to her to stop them. Scroll down to start reading the sequel, The Unleashed! The clock beside Samantha Davidson’s bed read 3:17 … Continued
See More

Black Booktubers You Should Be Following

Here is a list of just a few of the Black booktubers you should definitely be following.   Books with Brandie Shanae Follow here   Britney, Melanin Eclectic Follow here   Ochuole, Oh She Reads Follow here   Myonna, Myonna Reads Follow here   Peta-Gay, Comfy Cozy Up Follow here   Justin, Ghost Reader Follow … Continued
See More

Read the first 4 chapters of BEYOND THE BREAK

For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, if you count her faith… and that’s where things may get complicated. Scroll down to read the excerpt! Chapter One The first time a guy felt me up was in the … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of IMAGINARY BORDERS for Earth Day!

Pocket Change Collective was born out of a need for space. Space to think. Space to connect. Space to be yourself. And this is your invitation to join us. In this personal, moving Imaginary Borders, environmental activist and hip-hop artist Xiuhtezcatl Martinez uses his art and his activism to show that climate change is a … Continued
See More

Every Book Hitting Shelves in June

Here’s a sneak peek of what’s hitting shelves this June!   6/2: Jo & Laurie by Melissa de la Cruz and Margaret Stohl – Bestselling authors Margaret Stohl and Melissa de la Cruz bring us a romantic retelling of Little Women starring Jo March and her best friend, the boy next door, Theodore “Laurie” Laurence.   6/2: Beyond … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: Forged in Fire and Stars

Forged in Fire and Stars by Andrea Robertson just hit shelves and we’re sharing an excerpt! Games of Thrones meets An Ember in the Ashes in this action-packed fantasy from the internationally bestselling author of the Nightshade series. Ara has always known the legend of the Loresmith: the blacksmith who served alongside the kings and queens of Saetlund, forging legendary … Continued
See More

Beware: these books will keep you up at night

Spooky season may not be for a little while yet, but we here at Penguin Teen are all about the year-round spooks. So if you’re looking for the next read that’s going to have you either buying a nightlight or bidding sleep adieu altogether, read on! 👻   Rules for Vanishing by Kate Alice Marshall   … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of VERONA COMICS!

From the author of Hot Dog Girl comes a fresh and funny queer YA contemporary novel about two teens who fall in love in an indie comic book shop. Scroll down to read an excerpt of Verona Comics! Chapter One Jubilee “You look like you’re being tortured,” Jayla says. “This is supposed to be fun.” Easy to … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP