Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Heartstopper has landed on Netflix, and we’ve got your ultimate character book match!

SHARE

If your heart stopped while watching Heartstopper on Netflix, we’re here to help you recover! Like leaves from a cool fall breeze, Heartstopper swept us off our feet with its themes of friendship, queer joy, mental health awareness, and found family. Welcome to your Ultimate Character Book Match for what we think the main characters of Heartstopper should read!

 

Charlie: Darius the Great is Not Okay

Darius-the-Great-Is-Not-Okay-pb

Charlie’s struggle with bullying, and how it impacts the way he sees himself, is a recurring theme in Heartstopper. If there are two things that Charlie can learn from Darius Kellner in Darius the Great is Not Okay, it’s that 1) being a victim of bullying is never your fault, and 2) looking to your support system for help (whether that’s friends and/or family) can help you learn how to avoid internalizing it.

 

Nick: The Passing Playbook

passing playbook

Nick Nelson may be the star rugby player—and so-called Rugby King—of Truman Grammar School for Boys, so we think he’d enjoy hopping over from the rugby pitch to the soccer field for another queer sports romance, The Passing Playbook! Teammates-to-lovers is definitely a romantic trope 😉

 

Elle: Right Where I Left You

Right Where I Left You by Julian Winters

Without getting too much into spoilers, we think the best-friends-to-lovers romance in Right Where I Left You would make Elle feel particularly seen—and maybe give her some much-needed advice, too, about the power of being honest with your friends about your feelings ❤️

 

Tao: Kings of B’more

kings of 'bmore

While Tao’s friendship with Charlie is wonderful, it also undergoes some ups and downs throughout Heartstopper. So we think Tao would really find it helpful to read a platonic friendship story like Kings of B’more, as a reminder for what healthy and supportive friendships can look like!

 

Isaac: The Afterward

The-Afterward-pb

Heartstopper creator Alice Oseman has shared that Isaac was intended to have asexual/aromantic vibes. Also, Isaac is a HUGE reader on the show and loves fantasy books, so we think he’d particularly enjoy The Afterward, as several of its characters are on the asexual spectrum!

 

Darcy: Juliet Takes a Breath

juliet

Darcy is chaotic in the VERY best way (that’s a compliment, we swear!), and we think she and her girlfriend Tara would really vibe with Juliet and Kira from Juliet Takes a Breath! Double date, anyone?

 

Tara: Some Girls Do

somegirlsdo_ONLINE

Coming out can be challenging, especially if it changes how others see you in ways that you aren’t prepared for. As we see in Heartstopper, Tara faces some bullying after she comes out and makes her relationship with Darcy public. All Tara wants to do is live her life, and Ruby and Morgan’s story in Some Girls Do might be able to offer some helpful perspectives on how to do that, and the role that being out plays in it.

 

Ben: The 99 Boyfriends of Micah Summers (coming soon!)

micah summers

All the main characters in Heartstopper would love The 99 Boyfriends of Micah Summers, an upcoming queer rom-com that’s equal parts joy and epic love story. But we do think the character who would benefit from reading it the most would be Ben. Ben is one of the bullies in Heartstopper, and while we in no way condone his behavior, it’s clear that he’s still figuring out his sexuality—so reading a book with epic queer joy like Micah Summers might help him find some clarity about how he can accept himself.

 

Looking for more queer book recs? Check out more YA stories to #ReadPrideAndBeyond!

#WhatsTrending

Non-Fiction YA Books Everyone Should Read

We love escaping into a fantasy world, but also love a good read to pull us back down to earth. Here’s a stack of non-fiction YA books everyone should have on their shelf!   Cramm This Book by Olivia Seltzer  From the founder of The Cramm, a news outlet by and for the incredible Gen Z … Continued
See More

Top Tier Tropes (and Reads to Go With Them!)

Whether you can’t resist a good chosen one trope, or enemies-to-lovers is your jam, we’ve got reads for all your top tier YA tropes! Scroll down to start stacking your TBR!   Love Decoded by Jennifer Yen A hilarious, heartfelt rom-com about the unexpected consequences of one teen’s quest to help her friends find love, perfect … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: EIGHT NIGHTS OF FLIRTING by Hannah Reynolds

Cover reveal time! A sixteen-year-old girl is on a mission to find the perfect boyfriend this Hanukkah, but love might not go according to plan, in this charming winter romcom from the author of The Summer of Lost Letters. Shira Barbanel has a plan: this Hanukkah, she’s going to get a boyfriend. And she has the … Continued
See More

Everything we know about the TURTLES ALL THE WAY DOWN movie adaptation

We are so excited that one of our favorite John Green novels Turtles All the Way Down is on its way to our screens! Here’s everything we know about the adaptation so far.   1. Hannah Marks is directing Actress-turned-director Hannah Marks is helming from a script by Isaac Aptaker and Elizabeth Berger, best known for co-showrunning This … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: HOW TO SUCCEED IN WITCHCRAFT by Aislinn Brophy

Cover reveal time! An overachieving teen witch vies for a prestigious scholarship at her elite high school in this contemporary YA fantasy for fans of Never Have I Ever and Sabrina the Teen Witch.  Magically brilliant, academically perfect, chronically overcommitted… Shay Johnson has all the makings of a successful witch. Now that she’s a junior at T.K. Anderson … Continued
See More

Read an sneak peek of REMEMBER ME GONE

Lucy Miller’s family has the unique ability to remove people’s painful memories—but Lucy isn’t prepared for truths she will uncover in this twisty speculative thriller, perfect for fans of Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind.  People come from everywhere to forget. At the Memory House, in Tumble Tree, Texas, Lucy’s father can literally erase folks’ heartache … Continued
See More

YA Books to read while you wait for Stranger Things season 4!

If you just watched the Stranger Things season 4 trailer 35 times like us, you might be counting down the days until May 27th when Netflix releases it. And we know waiting is hard, so here are 9 books with definite Stranger Things vibes to read while you wait!   1. The Electric Kingdom by David … Continued
See More

Join us for Penguin Teen Fantasy Day!

Games, panels, and giveaways, oh my! Join us for Penguin Teen Fantasy Day on March 26th, and scroll down to begin registering for events!   EVENTS Join Penguin Teen authors Ayana Gray (Beasts of Prey), David Arnold (The Electric Kingdom), Kristin Cashore (Winterkeep), and Krystal Sutherland (House of Hollow) for a panel on the shocking … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: A SCATTER OF LIGHT by Malinda Lo

Today we’re revealing the cover for Malinda Lo’s A Scatter of Light–AND giving you a sneak peek interview with the author! Award-winning author Malinda Lo returns to the Bay Area with another masterful coming-of-queer-age story, this time set against the backdrop of the first major Supreme Court decisions legalizing gay marriage. And almost sixty years after … Continued
See More

YA books and what they were *ALMOST* called!

Did you know some YA books change title before going to publication? Here are 6 books that did!   They Wish They Were Us by Jessica Goodman Original title: The Players’ Table Fun fact: this will actually be the title of the TV adaptation currently in development!   Beasts of Prey by Ayana Gray Original title: The … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP