Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Inside The Twelve Houses of The Zodiac

SHARE

In Romina Russell’s Zodiac series, your sign is not defined by when you are born, but rather where you are born, so your Zodiac sign is more like your nationality. Romina gave us the inside scoop on some little known facts about each of the Twelve Houses of the Zodiac!

 

ARIES
When warriors of House Aries die, their bodies are burned in the Everblaze (a fire that’s never gone out) so their souls can rise to Helios.

 

TAURUS
Taurians use their Blotters to award Star-Stock to people + businesses in the Star-Stock Market, ensuring consumers have all the power.

 

GEMINI
At the Geminin Zodai Academy, each Acolyte designs her own curriculum based on what she’d like to learn and who she’d like to become.

 

CANCER
House Cancer is a Matriarchal society where women run the household, women write the laws, and women make the first move.

 

LEO
When Leonines turn twelve, they embark on a walkabout through the Nine Prides of House Leo to discover where they belong.

 

VIRGO
On House Virgo, writers always self-publish their books on their Perfectionaries, + for every typo/error, the price gets discounted.

 

LIBRA
After a 12-yr-old Libran has her Scan surgically implanted, it’s tradition for her parents to take her out for a Cold Cream Cloud*.

 

SCORPIO
Scorps travel less than anyone in the Zodiac; almost 90% of Scorps have never left their own constellation.

 

SAGITTARIUS
Every structure on House Sagittarius is covered in holographic graffiti that can’t be erased but fades on its own over time.

 

CAPRICORN
Tierre is the largest inhabited planet in the Zodiac, so a day on House Capricorn lasts longer than anywhere else.

 

AQUARIUS
Aquarians harvest invisible ice from their moons that’s cold enough not to melt + use it to build their most important structures.

 

PISCES
There are no gender roles on House Pisces: Piscenes consider the body a vessel for the soul + pay little attention to physical attributes.

 

*Cold Cream Clouds come in every flavor; it’s ice cream that has the texture of cotton candy!

 

 

Thirteen Rising, the final installment in the Zodiac series, is on sale August 29. Pre-order your copy here!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#Bookish

Replace Your Family With Your Favorite Characters This Thanksgiving!

Thanksgiving is almost here! That means your favorite (and not-so-favorite) cousins, aunts, uncles, brothers, sisters, neighbors, grandparents, step-siblings, pets, mailmen, and more are going to be up in your business for at least 3 hours or more *shudders*. And while Thanksgiving is all about being grateful, you can still be grateful for your family while … Continued
See More

Eerie Ireland: a Short Guide for the Magic Realist Visitor

Our resident Irish author, Moïra Fowley-Doyle, author of Spellbook of the Lost and Found and The Accident Season, is a genius when it comes to writing beautiful, creepy, atmospheric stories set in the Irish countryside. We asked her to share her expertise with us, and she bestowed this eerie travel guide to Ireland upon us! Read on for the … Continued
See More

The Official THE LAKE EFFECT Playlist

Erin McCahan, author of The Lake Effect, created this amazing playlist for her main characters, Briggs Henry and Abigail Howe. The Lake Effect, coming July 11, is a funny, bracing, poignant romance and coming-of-age story for fans of Huntley Fitzpatrick, Me and Earl and the Dying Girl, and The Beginning of Everything.   About the … Continued
See More

A Playlist Inspired by TURTLES ALL THE WAY DOWN

Sometimes when you read a book, a playlist starts instantly forming in your mind, whether inspired by the characters, the mood, your personal reactions, or a combination of them all. That’s how we felt after reading John Green’s new book, Turtles All the Way Down. Each individual’s experience with a book is unique, but here is … Continued
See More

The 5 Worst Things for Book Lovers to Lose

We all have those days where we lose things. Keys, pens, earrings…we’ve all been there. But as book lovers, we know there are some essentials that we can’t misplace. We’ve rounded up 5 of the worst think book lovers can lose.   Their library card The library is a magical place. It’s quiet and full … Continued
See More

Our 5 Ultimate Favorite Fictional Libraries

  As bookworms, we know that there’s no better place than an awesome library (the books are free, I mean, come on). With that in mind, we’ve rounded up 5 of our favorite fictional libraries. Before you read on, remember to support your libraries by visiting, checking out books, and using the many awesome services … Continued
See More

7 Books to Inspire Your Halloween Costume This Year

Halloween is quickly approaching, and we are ready! Bring on the costumes, candy, and scares! To help you get in the mood, we have some easy bookish costume suggestions that will make you Halloween ready in no time.   Alex & Eliza: A Love Story by Melissa de la Cruz For a simple Eliza costume, wear … Continued
See More

8 Spells that Book Lovers Need

As readers (and especially as readers of fantasy), we sometimes wish we could add a little magic from some of our favorite books to our everyday life. Because wouldn’t life as a booklover be a little better if you had a few spells to spice things up?   The no spoilers spell So, maybe you’re a slow … Continued
See More

Penguin Teen’s Wicked Reads Presents: #ScareABook

October is the month of Ghouls and Ghosties, and we here at Penguin know exactly how to celebrate a month-long halloween: with these #WickedReads! But also by remixing some of our favorite titles to be a little more…spooky. Read on! If you dare…     The Fault in Our Stars by John Green Hazel and … Continued
See More

What’s the One Thing You Couldn’t Live Without if You Were Shipwrecked on an Island?

Inspired by Jessica Taylor’s upcoming A Map for Wrecked Girls, we asked readers the one thing they’d want if stranded on a deserted island. As expected, lots of people said books (duh!), but we had a lot of other creative answers as well!   What’s one thing you couldn’t live without if you were shipwrecked … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP

I can give you book recommendations.
Please enter your name and email address to begin chatting with me.



What is your date of birth?

START CHAT