Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Inside The Twelve Houses of The Zodiac

SHARE

In Romina Russell’s Zodiac series, your sign is not defined by when you are born, but rather where you are born, so your Zodiac sign is more like your nationality. Romina gave us the inside scoop on some little known facts about each of the Twelve Houses of the Zodiac!

 

ARIES
When warriors of House Aries die, their bodies are burned in the Everblaze (a fire that’s never gone out) so their souls can rise to Helios.

 

TAURUS
Taurians use their Blotters to award Star-Stock to people + businesses in the Star-Stock Market, ensuring consumers have all the power.

 

GEMINI
At the Geminin Zodai Academy, each Acolyte designs her own curriculum based on what she’d like to learn and who she’d like to become.

 

CANCER
House Cancer is a Matriarchal society where women run the household, women write the laws, and women make the first move.

 

LEO
When Leonines turn twelve, they embark on a walkabout through the Nine Prides of House Leo to discover where they belong.

 

VIRGO
On House Virgo, writers always self-publish their books on their Perfectionaries, + for every typo/error, the price gets discounted.

 

LIBRA
After a 12-yr-old Libran has her Scan surgically implanted, it’s tradition for her parents to take her out for a Cold Cream Cloud*.

 

SCORPIO
Scorps travel less than anyone in the Zodiac; almost 90% of Scorps have never left their own constellation.

 

SAGITTARIUS
Every structure on House Sagittarius is covered in holographic graffiti that can’t be erased but fades on its own over time.

 

CAPRICORN
Tierre is the largest inhabited planet in the Zodiac, so a day on House Capricorn lasts longer than anywhere else.

 

AQUARIUS
Aquarians harvest invisible ice from their moons that’s cold enough not to melt + use it to build their most important structures.

 

PISCES
There are no gender roles on House Pisces: Piscenes consider the body a vessel for the soul + pay little attention to physical attributes.

 

*Cold Cream Clouds come in every flavor; it’s ice cream that has the texture of cotton candy!

 

 

Thirteen Rising, the final installment in the Zodiac series, is on sale August 29. Pre-order your copy here!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#Bookish

Books to #ReadPrideAndBeyond all year long!

June may be coming to an end, but we hope you remember to #ReadPrideAndBeyond all year long. Here are just a few reads to look forward to!     Darius the Great Deserves Better by Adib Khorram – August 25 In this companion to the award-winning Darius the Great Is Not Okay, Darius suddenly has it all: … Continued
See More

Beware: these books will keep you up at night

Spooky season may not be for a little while yet, but we here at Penguin Teen are all about the year-round spooks. So if you’re looking for the next read that’s going to have you either buying a nightlight or bidding sleep adieu altogether, read on! 👻   Rules for Vanishing by Kate Alice Marshall   … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of VERONA COMICS!

From the author of Hot Dog Girl comes a fresh and funny queer YA contemporary novel about two teens who fall in love in an indie comic book shop. Scroll down to read an excerpt of Verona Comics! Chapter One Jubilee “You look like you’re being tortured,” Jayla says. “This is supposed to be fun.” Easy to … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: The Boy in the Red Dress

In continuation of our #ReadPrideAndBeyond celebration, we’re sharing an excerpt from The Boy in the Red Dress by Kristin Lambert, a rollicking romp of truth, lies, and troubled pasts. New Year’s Eve, 1929. Millie is running the show at the Cloak & Dagger, a swinging speakeasy in the French Quarter, while her aunt is out of town. The new … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of They Wish They Were Us!

They Wish They Were Us is one of 2020’s hottest upcoming books and we need to talk.about.it. Imagine this: Gossip Girl + One of Us Is Lying with just a dash of The Secret History. That gives us this thrilling murder mystery set against the backdrop of an exclusive prep school on Long Island. Scroll down to read the excerpt!   Chapter … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: THE UNLEASHED

If The Haunted terrified you last summer, get ready! In the chilling sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that even though Steele House is gone, the hauntings in Drearfield are far from over — and it’s up to her to stop them. Scroll down to start reading the sequel, The Unleashed! The clock beside Samantha Davidson’s bed read 3:17 … Continued
See More

Black Booktubers You Should Be Following

Here is a list of just a few of the Black booktubers you should definitely be following.   Books with Brandie Shanae Follow here   Britney, Melanin Eclectic Follow here   Ochuole, Oh She Reads Follow here   Myonna, Myonna Reads Follow here   Peta-Gay, Comfy Cozy Up Follow here   Justin, Ghost Reader Follow … Continued
See More

Read the first 4 chapters of BEYOND THE BREAK

For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, if you count her faith… and that’s where things may get complicated. Scroll down to read the excerpt! Chapter One The first time a guy felt me up was in the … Continued
See More

Every Book Hitting Shelves in June

Here’s a sneak peek of what’s hitting shelves this June!   6/2: Jo & Laurie by Melissa de la Cruz and Margaret Stohl – Bestselling authors Margaret Stohl and Melissa de la Cruz bring us a romantic retelling of Little Women starring Jo March and her best friend, the boy next door, Theodore “Laurie” Laurence.   6/2: Beyond … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: Forged in Fire and Stars

Forged in Fire and Stars by Andrea Robertson just hit shelves and we’re sharing an excerpt! Games of Thrones meets An Ember in the Ashes in this action-packed fantasy from the internationally bestselling author of the Nightshade series. Ara has always known the legend of the Loresmith: the blacksmith who served alongside the kings and queens of Saetlund, forging legendary … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP