Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Inside The Twelve Houses of The Zodiac

SHARE

In Romina Russell’s Zodiac series, your sign is not defined by when you are born, but rather where you are born, so your Zodiac sign is more like your nationality. Romina gave us the inside scoop on some little known facts about each of the Twelve Houses of the Zodiac!

 

ARIES
When warriors of House Aries die, their bodies are burned in the Everblaze (a fire that’s never gone out) so their souls can rise to Helios.

 

TAURUS
Taurians use their Blotters to award Star-Stock to people + businesses in the Star-Stock Market, ensuring consumers have all the power.

 

GEMINI
At the Geminin Zodai Academy, each Acolyte designs her own curriculum based on what she’d like to learn and who she’d like to become.

 

CANCER
House Cancer is a Matriarchal society where women run the household, women write the laws, and women make the first move.

 

LEO
When Leonines turn twelve, they embark on a walkabout through the Nine Prides of House Leo to discover where they belong.

 

VIRGO
On House Virgo, writers always self-publish their books on their Perfectionaries, + for every typo/error, the price gets discounted.

 

LIBRA
After a 12-yr-old Libran has her Scan surgically implanted, it’s tradition for her parents to take her out for a Cold Cream Cloud*.

 

SCORPIO
Scorps travel less than anyone in the Zodiac; almost 90% of Scorps have never left their own constellation.

 

SAGITTARIUS
Every structure on House Sagittarius is covered in holographic graffiti that can’t be erased but fades on its own over time.

 

CAPRICORN
Tierre is the largest inhabited planet in the Zodiac, so a day on House Capricorn lasts longer than anywhere else.

 

AQUARIUS
Aquarians harvest invisible ice from their moons that’s cold enough not to melt + use it to build their most important structures.

 

PISCES
There are no gender roles on House Pisces: Piscenes consider the body a vessel for the soul + pay little attention to physical attributes.

 

*Cold Cream Clouds come in every flavor; it’s ice cream that has the texture of cotton candy!

 

 

Thirteen Rising, the final installment in the Zodiac series, is on sale August 29. Pre-order your copy here!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#Bookish

Read an excerpt of OBVIOUSLY by Akilah Hughes!

Happy #FridayReads! This week we’re obviously reading Obviously by Akilah Hughes! This hilarious, insightful memoir from viral YouTuber and comedian Akilah Hughes is hitting shelves September 24th, scroll down to read the excerpt! What’s in a Name   My name is Akilah Saidah Kamaria Hughes. Contrary to the belief popularized by doctors and substitute teachers, all of … Continued
See More

The official SEAFIRE recap!

Welcome to the official Seafire recap! We’re here to bring you back up to date on all of Caledonia and her crew’s adventures on the Mors Navis in book one before you dive into Steel Tide (pun intended.) These will only be Bullet (also pun intended) points to give you the gist of book one if it’s been a little … Continued
See More

Excerpt alert: read the prologue of WE SPEAK IN STORMS

It’s excerpt time! This week, we’re reading We Speak in Storms by Natalie Lund! We Speak in Storms is a powerful and haunting debut novel about friendship, acceptance, and learning to let go as the balance between the living and the dead is upended, perfect for fans of We Were Liars. Read the excerpt below! On October 7, 1961, … Continued
See More

Juliet Takes a Breath reborn: 5 reasons its rise to publication is important

Juliet is back! You may have heard that we’re re-releasing Juliet Takes a Breath by Gabby Rivera, which was previously published in paperback, now in hardcover for the first time. That makes now the perfect time to celebrate what makes Juliet’s story so special, so here are five reasons why this book’s publication matters to … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of Stars and the Blackness Between Them

Happy #FridayReads! This week we’re reading Stars and the Blackness Between Them by Junauda Petrus, the story of two black girls from very different backgrounds finding love and happiness in a world that seems determined to deny them both. Read the excerpt below! Chapter 1: Audre “Yuh fas’ and arrow and sensual and mango,” Queenie tells me, … Continued
See More

Royal Fantasy MUST Reads!

Ok, ok, ok, is it really surprising that we all continue to be obsessed with kings, queens, kingdoms, and magical ongoings of all sorts? We grow up playing in imaginary castles and then BOOM, we’re just expected to give that up to be adults, make doctors appointments, buy groceries, and do laundry? Ha. No. Welcome to … Continued
See More

5 reasons why James chose Frankly in Love as his book club pick!

Hey there, fellow YA fans! It’s James from Penguin Teen. You may have seen that we’ve just launched the James & Joy Book Club! Watch our September Book Haul, featuring all the new books that we have on shelves this month:     As you know, I’ve selected Frankly in Love by David Yoon as … Continued
See More

These recreations of THE FOUNTAINS OF SILENCE cover are kind of amazing

In case you’ve been perusing instagram and noticed a few absolutely stunning recreations of Ruta Sepetys’s The Fountains of Silence, we rounded them up in one post to bless your eyes in case you missed any! P.S. If you choose to join in on the recreation fun, make sure to tag @penguinteen on instagram!   From this … Continued
See More

7 Books to buddy read this fall!

Fall is upon us, like all the dead crunchy-looking leaves you totally keep going out of your way to step on. But anyway, it’s the season to grab an unnaturally orange pumpkin-flavored beverage and a reading buddy, and time to get that TBR into shape! Here are 7 of the reads you and aforementioned reading buddy will … Continued
See More

The 8 Books Your Bookstagram Needs this Fall

Whether you’re snapping away with the iPhone XS or hipster-ing your way through life with a polaroid camera (kidding but you get the gist), every reader tries their hand at bookstagramming at some point. And we love it! So, we’ve gathered a few of our recent fav photos on bookstagram to round up a few autumn-y … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP