Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Realistic Fiction That Will Change Your Life

SHARE
Put on your empathy glasses and look at our world through someone else’s eyes with these great new pieces of realistic fiction.

 

Written in the Stars by Aisha Saeed

Reality check moment: When Naila thought she was on a normal family vacation in Pakistan but her parents actually took her there to marry her off.

What makes it great: Aisha Saeed is one of the first people to tackle the issue of forced marriages in YA, and she explores how it affects everyone involved, not only Naila. There are no villains here, just complicated people trying to hold on to tradition in a changing world.

 

I Was Here by Gayle Forman

Reality check moment: When everything Cody knew about her best friend’s suicide implodes because of one encrypted computer file.

What makes it great: Gayle Forman has said that I Was Here is a book about a suicide the way that If I Stay is a book about a car crash–i.e. only incidentally. The true core of I Was Here is the struggle to understand the people we love and make peace with who they are, who we are in the face of loss and uncertainty.

 

Still Waters by Ash Parsons

Reality check moment: When Jason finds a questionable way to fund his escape with his sister from his abusive father.

What makes it great: Still Waters brings to mind a classic YA favorite, The Outsidersby S.E. Hinton. It’s an intense, gritty thriller that explores the dark relationship between poverty and privilege, and shows what lengths one boy will go to protect his family.

 

Mosquitoland by David Arnold

Reality check moment: When 16-year-old Mim hops a bus from Jackson, MS to Ohio, braving a 1,000 mile journey alone to find her missing mother.

What makes it great: Mosquitoland takes us on a road trip through the South, as well a road trip through the brain of Mim Malone, who is definitely not okay. You’ll have to read to find out why. Note: the feels in this book are industrial strength.

 

First There Was Forever by Juliana Romano

Reality check moment: when Lima makes an irreversible decision that alters her relationship with her best friend forever.

What makes it great: First There Was Forever beautifully and authentically deals with something that has happened to all of us at one time or another: when a friendship we thought unbreakable changes.

 

The Truth Commission by Susan Juby

Reality check moment: when out of all the biggest secrets Normandy uncovers, the most eye-opening is actually within her own home.

What makes it great: You will not be able to get enough of this book’s voice. It’s funny, witty, original, and ultimately plunges into your heart with truth.

 

What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick

Reality check moment: when a boy Gwen considers a mistake reappears for the summer and forces her to question everything she’s been trying to escape.

What makes it great: The romance in this book will give your summer reading some edge: it’s a deep, sometimes dark look at identity, boundaries, regret, and passion set against a gorgeous beachside summer.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#ShelfGoals

Read an excerpt of When I Am Through With You

When I Am Through With You by Stephanie Kuehn is a gripping story of survival and the razor’s-edge difference between perfect cruelty and perfect love. Ben Gibson is many things, but he’s not sorry and he’s not a liar. He will tell you exactly about what happened on what started as a simple school camping trip … Continued
See More

Start Reading CHEMICAL HEARTS by Krystal Sutherland!

Chemical Hearts is now streaming on Amazon Prime Video and we are SO excited to see Krystal Sutherland’s gorgeous novel come to life on screen. But in case you still have some catching up to do on reading the book, here’s an excerpt to get you started! About Chemical Hearts: Henry Page has never been in love. He … Continued
See More

Middle Grade Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

  What Lane? by Torrey Maldonado “STAY IN YOUR LANE.” Stephen doesn’t want to hear that–he wants to have no lane.Anything his friends can do, Stephen should be able to do too, right? So when they dare each other to sneak into an abandoned building, he doesn’t think it’s his lane, but he goes. Here’s … Continued
See More

Books to Read for Latinx Heritage Month

September 15-October 15 is Latinx Heritage Month. We’re inviting you to join us in reading stories by Latinx authors–and if you don’t know where to start, here are a few of our recommendations!   We Are Not From Here by Jenny Torres Sanchez A poignant novel of desperation, escape, and survival across the U.S.-Mexico border, … Continued
See More

10 Swoony Romances to Read Before Summer Ends!

Summer has been a whirlwind, but there are a few summer romances we recommend you pick up to read in the sunshine before summer is over!   Beyond the Break by Heather Buchta For fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han, Beyond the Break is a funny and gorgeous debut about a girl experiencing her first love. Well, second, … Continued
See More

YA Books by Black Authors You Should Be Reading

From award winning icons such as Mildred D. Taylor to debut voices such as Patrice Caldwell, here are some of the Black authors you should be reading.   A Phoenix First Must Burn edited by Patrice Caldwell Sixteen tales by bestselling and award-winning authors that explore the Black experience through fantasy, science fiction, and magic. … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: VICIOUS SPIRITS by Kat Cho

We fell completely in LOVE with Kat Cho’s Wicked Fox last year. And we may be even more in love with its stunning companion novel, Vicious Spirits! Scroll down to read an excerpt! PROLOGUE As with any tragedy, it came about because he loved. When he was on the cusp of manhood, a young man met a … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi & Fantasy reads to move up on your TBR asap

2020 has brought a LOT of amazing reads to our shelf. Here are just a few of our favorite sci-fi/fantasy reads you’ll want to make sure you didn’t miss!   Want to win them all? Click here to enter our sweepstakes! The Kinder Poison by Natalie Mae You will laugh. You will cry. You will … Continued
See More

Start reading HARROW LAKE by Kat Elis

Calling all horror movie fans! Harrow Lake is a can’t-put-down, creepy thriller about the daughter of a horror film director who’s not afraid of anything–until she gets to Harrow Lake. Scroll down to start reading! Transcript of interview with Nolan Nox, Director of Nightjar, for Scream Screen magazine (Nightjar twentieth-anniversary special feature) CJL: C. J. Lahey, columnist with Scream Screen NN: Nolan … Continued
See More

What to read if you’re not over The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes

If you’ve binge re-read the entire Hunger Games series and flew through the new prequel, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, we’ve got some recommendations for what to pick up next! From the Katniss energy of standing up to oppressive governing forces, to death-defying, high-stakes competitions, let’s get started!   The Kinder Poison by Natalie … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP