Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

See the EXCLUSIVE Cover Reveal for THE DEFIANT by Lesley Livingston!

SHARE

We are so thrilled to reveal the cover of The Defiant, the followup to Lesley Livingston’s The Valiant. The Valiant is richly imagined fantasy that follows one girl’s gripping journey from fierce Celtic princess to legendary gladiator and darling of the Roman empire. Read a bit about the new book and a few words from Lesley on the cover and the new novel, then check out the amazing cover that’s giving us some SERIOUS Wonder Woman feels.

About the book:

The darling of the Roman Empire is in for the fight of her life.

Be brave, gladiatrix… And be wary. Once you win Caesar’s love, you’ll earn his enemies’ hate.

Fallon was warned.

Now she is about to pay the price for winning the love of the Roman people as Caesar’s victorious gladiatrix.

In this highly anticipated sequel to THE VALIANT, Fallon and her warrior sisters find themselves thrust into a vicious conflict with a rival gladiator academy, one that will threaten not only Fallon’s heart – and her love for Roman soldier Cai – but the very heart of the ancient Roman Empire.

When dark treachery and vicious power struggles threaten her hard-won freedom, the only thing that might help the girl known as Victrix save herself and her sisters is a tribe of long-forgotten mythic Amazon warriors.

The only trouble is, they might just kill her themselves first.

 

A note from Lesley:

I am so excited about the cover reveal for this book for so many reasons. First of all, it’s beautiful! But even more than that, it’s just so… right. It was months ago when I got my first sneak peek of the gorgeous cover image for THE DEFIANT and it’s been almost impossible to contain my excitement over it. The moment captured by the artist is both intensely personal and gloriously epic. It’s like a battle scene painted on an ancient vase. And yet, it’s so very timely.

In writing THE VALIANT and its sequel, THE DEFIANT, I knew I would be delving into a world of myth and legend where female gladiators were concerned. So it’s probably not surprising that my research—and, indeed, the story itself—would dovetail with a society of women warriors who were a vital part of the myths and legends of the period I was writing about: the Amazons.

To say the ancient civilizations of the Greeks and Romans were fascinated by tales of the Amazons and their heroic exploits would be a glaring understatement. Stories of Amazonian exploits were wildly popular—their legends were immortalized in artistic depictions called “amazonomachy”, painted on vases or pictured in mosaics, carved in intricate marble reliefs on the sides of monuments and the tombs of the wealthy. They were, in essence, the superheroes of their day.  A pop culture phenomenon.

And, I have to say, it was pretty motivational to take a break from doing manuscript revisions on THE DEFIANT—a story that sees my heroine Fallon and her gladiatrix friends dealing with a tribe of Amazons in a particularly up-close-and-personal way—to flip over my laptop screen and revel in the latest WONDER WOMAN trailers and GIFs and reviews. I’d like to think that, if they ever met, my gladiatrix heroine Fallon, and Princess Diana of Themyscira would be pals. And it’s been amazing to see so much appreciation—finally—for a female-led super-story on the big screen.

After all, it was the mythic, magnificent Amazon Queen Penthesilea, who was reputed to have said during the Trojan War: “Not in strength are we inferior to men; the same our eyes, our limbs the same; one common light we see, one air we breathe; nor different is the food we eat. What then denied to us hath heaven on man bestowed?”

The fact that there’s this new, feverish enthusiasm surrounding these wondrous women warriors right now is so exciting to me. It’s warmed my comic-loving geek heart and my history-loving nerd soul and wrapped my mythology-loving egghead in a great big hug. And, most of all, it sustained me in the months leading up to this very moment when I get to share this extraordinary cover image of my own fierce female fighters with all of you! And, eventually, in the not-too-distant future… the story inside the cover.

 

And now for the cover!

 

defiant_final_061917

 

 

 

Haven’t read The Valiant yet? Start reading here!

And add The Defiant to your Goodreads shelf!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#Newsyoucanuse

See the EXCLUSIVE Character Reveal for REIGN OF THE FALLEN by Sarah Glenn Marsh!

Here at Penguin Teen, we’re in the business of bringing you the inside scoop about books that you didn’t even know you were dying to read. Today we’re here to reveal the characters from Reign of the Fallen by Sarah Glenn Marsh, complete with a beautiful illustration and a description from the author. Read a bit … Continued
See More

3 Reasons We’re Freaking Out About the New VALIANT CW Show

The CW has just announced that it will be producing a new TV show based off the epic novel The Valiant by Lesley Livingston. TBH we couldn’t be more excited for this silver screen adaptation of one of our favorite books from this past spring for millions of reasons, but we’ve managed to narrow it down … Continued
See More

Catch Penguin Teen at San Diego Comic Con 2017!

We are super excited to be attending San Diego Comic Con again this year, and we’re giving you a preview of all of the amazing stuff that we’ve got going on at Booth #1515H the weekend of July 20-23. Read on for all of the great happenings in the Penguin Teen booth!   If you’re not … Continued
See More

Announcing FUSION FOR BEGINNERS AND EXPERTS by Rebecca Sugar and Angie Wang!

You may know Rebecca Sugar as the creator of the hit Cartoon Network show, Steven Universe. You may also know her as the author of the New York Times bestselling The Answer, which is based on the episode of the same name, and came out last fall. This time, she and Angie Wang have created a … Continued
See More

See the EXCLUSIVE Cover Reveal for PEOPLE LIKE US by Dana Mele!

Here at Penguin Teen, we’re in the business of bringing you books we just KNOW you’ll love. That’s why we’re so excited to reveal the cover of People Like Us by Dana Mele, a sharp psychological thriller that will seduce, mislead, and finally, betray you. Read about the book below, then check out the amazing cover. … Continued
See More

See the EXCLUSIVE Cover Reveal for BLOOD WATER PAINT by Joy McCullough

We’re so happy to be revealing the cover of Joy McCullough’s Blood Water Paint, a stunning debut novel based on the true story of the iconic painter, Artemisia Gentileschi. This novel in verse, which tells Gentileschi’s story, is a must-buy for any feminist reader’s shelf. Read on for a bit about the book, a note … Continued
See More

Stephanie Perkins Announces Tour for THERE’S SOMEONE INSIDE YOUR HOUSE!

Stephanie Perkins, the bestselling author of Anna and the French Kiss, has a new book coming this fall, and you could say it’s a departure from Anna, Lola, and Isla. There’s Someone Inside Your House is Scream meets YA, about a small Nebraska town with a killer on the loose. One by one, students at Osborne … Continued
See More

The TURTLES ALL THE WAY DOWN Cover Was Revealed and People are Freaking Out

This morning, Good Morning America revealed the cover of John Green’s upcoming novel, Turtles All the Way Down, and we weren’t the only ones who lost. our. freaking. minds. Read on for some of our favorite reactions to the cover reveal!   First, make sure you check out the segment on GMA, and feast your … Continued
See More

Everything We Know About A REAPER AT THE GATES So Far

Early this week, Mashable revealed the title, cover, and pub date of A Reaper at the Gates, the third book in the bestselling Ember in the Ashes series by Sabaa Tahir. Because we love you, we’ve gathered a slew of Sabaa’s tweets, instagrams, and the like to compile this list of everything we know about A Reaper … Continued
See More

See the EXCLUSIVE Cover Reveal for GIVEN TO THE EARTH by Mindy McGinnis!

We’re so thrilled to be revealing the cover of Given to the Earth, the sequel to Given to the Sea by Mindy McGinnis. Given to the Earth concludes this stunning duology, which is perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas. Duty, fate, desire, and destiny collide in this intricately wrought tale. Read more about the book and a Q&A with … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP

I can give you book recommendations.
Please enter your name and email address to begin chatting with me.



What is your date of birth?

START CHAT