Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

See the EXCLUSIVE Cover Reveal for GIVEN TO THE EARTH by Mindy McGinnis!

SHARE

We’re so thrilled to be revealing the cover of Given to the Earth, the sequel to Given to the Sea by Mindy McGinnis. Given to the Earth concludes this stunning duology, which is perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas. Duty, fate, desire, and destiny collide in this intricately wrought tale. Read more about the book and a Q&A with Mindy below, then check out the incredible cover! Given to the Earth is on sale April 2018!

 

About Given to the Earth:

Although she was born to save the kingdom by sacrificing herself to the rising sea, Khosa’s marriage to King Vincent has redeemed her. As the Queen of Stille, she’s untouchable. But being Queen hasn’t stopped her heart from longing for the King’s stepbrother, Donil. And it hasn’t stopped her body from longing for the sea itself, which still calls for her.

While Khosa is made to choose between loyalty and love, Dara is on a mission for vengeance. Years ago, the Pietra slaughtered the entire Indiri race, leaving only Dara and her twin, Donil, alive. Now, spurned by King Vincent, Dara has embarked on a mission to spill the blood of Pietra’s leader, Witt, and will stop at nothing to show his people the wrath of the last Indiri.

As the waves crash ever closer to Stille, secrets are revealed, hearts are won and lost, and allegiances change like the shifting sand.

 

A Q&A with Mindy McGinnis!

Given to the Sea is set in such a lush, vibrant world, complete with several cultures. Can readers expect to meet new people or creatures in Given to the Earth?

EARTH does expand in a few different ways, taking readers to the village of Hygoden, as well as adding POVs for Donil and Ank, both characters from GIVEN TO THE SEA. You may find yourself becoming attached to a certain feline creature as well…

 

How does publishing your second fantasy novel feel different from publishing your first? 

Writing the second one was more challenging on the level of plot. GIVEN TO THE SEA had a lot of world and character building. With those things established and complex plots ready to come tumbling together, EARTH proved trickier in terms of delivering on all the setup from its predecessor, especially in terms of pacing.

 

What was the inspiration for this cover and what does it tell us about Given to the Earth?

In many ways, GIVEN TO THE SEA focused on Khosa, and GIVEN TO THE EARTH gives center stage to Dara. She’s given a 1st person POV, as well as the opening chapter. Since Dara is the focus of this book, she gets the cover, too!

 

 

And now for the cover!

GvienToTheEarth_ONLINE

Pre-order Given to the Earth!

Add it to your Goodreads shelf!

 

Plus, head over to Mindy’s blog for an ARC giveaway!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#Newsyoucanuse

Start Reading PEOPLE LIKE US, a Psychological Thriller Perfect for Fans of ONE OF US IS LYING

If you read and loved One of Us is Lying, the next book on your TBR needs to be Dana Mele’s People Like Us, a sharp psychological thriller that will have you turning pages late into the night. After Kay Donovan finds a girl’s body in the lake of her elite prep school, she quickly realizes … Continued
See More

We Can’t Stop Talking About I AM STILL ALIVE by Kate Marshall — COVER REVEAL

Here at Penguin Teen HQ, there are some books that we just CAN’T STOP talking about, even before we’ve finished reading. I Am Still Alive by Kate Marshall was absolutely one of those books.     A heart-wrenching yet empowering story of resilience, I Am Still Alive follows one girl, alone in the winter wilderness, struggling for survival. How’d … Continued
See More

Get an EXCLUSIVE Sneak Peek into PIPER by Jay Asher and Jessica Freeburg

From #1 international bestselling author of Thirteen Reasons Why Jay Asher and co-author Jessica Freeburg comes a reimagined tale of the Pied Piper legend as a powerful graphic novel. It’s eerie, magical, romantic, and ultimately a story about loneliness, love, and vengeance. Originally imagined as a movie, Jay and Jessica have envisioned what this darkly beautiful story … Continued
See More

Start Reading I HAVE LOST MY WAY, the New Novel from Gayle Forman

You know Gayle Forman from her beautiful, romantic, and heart-wrenching books like If I Stay, I Was Here, and Just One Day. We’re so happy that she is back with her new novel, I Have Lost My Way, a powerful story of empathy and friendship told from the perspectives of three teens. I Have Lost … Continued
See More

Join Our #TurtlesBookClub On 11/11!

Are you DESPERATE to discuss Turtles All the Way Down? Are your friends taking FOREVER to finish, leaving you stranded on Finished Book Island, all alone? Well, Penguin Teen is here to save the day.   This Saturday, November 11th we’ll be hosting our very own #TurtlesBookClub–discussing all the important moments, our favorite quotes from the book, AND … Continued
See More

Gayle Forman Has a New Book Coming! Here’s Everything We Know.

In case you missed it, Gayle Forman has a new book coming out, and we could. not. be. more. excited. Get your shelves ready because I Have Lost My Way is coming spring 2018! Here’s everything we know about the new book so far.   1. Gayle Forman’s new novel is called I Have Lost My Way! … Continued
See More

Start Reading One of the Hottest Books of Summer 2018!

When the Penguin Teen team read Lies You Never Told Me by Jennifer Donaldson, we could not stop talking about this jaw-dropping thrill ride. Told from alternating perspectives, this story of two teenagers will keep you guessing until the very last page.     About the book: Gabe and Elyse have never met. But they both have something … Continued
See More

Catch Penguin Teen at YALLFest 2017!

We’re heading back to Charleston for YALLFest this weekend, and we are SO excited for the chance to show off our new books, hang with fans, and eat pizza (yes, you read that right). Read on for our happenings in the Penguin Teen booth at YALLFest, and where you can catch us on social if you … Continued
See More

The Cover for Danielle Vega’s THE MERCILESS IV: LAST RITES is Here and it’s Giving Us All the Witchy Vibes

The Merciless series by Danielle Vega has been scaring us senseless since 2014, and we are SO excited to have one last Merciless novel to grace our bookshelves in Summer 2018. The Merciless IV: Last Rites, the fourth book in the scream-worthy cult series combines Stephen King-level terror with true crime stories like the Amanda Knox case. … Continued
See More

Introducing Our Goodreads Choice Nominees for 2017!

It’s that time of year–the Goodreads Choice Awards are here! We have 8 amazing titles nominated, across three categories! We’re highlighting these incredible books, and reminding you to vote for your favorites! Read on for our list of titles and a link to vote!   Best YA Fiction   Once and for All by Sarah Dessen The … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP

I can give you book recommendations.
Please enter your name and email address to begin chatting with me.



What is your date of birth?

START CHAT