Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

See the EXCLUSIVE Cover Reveal for GIVEN TO THE EARTH by Mindy McGinnis!

SHARE

We’re so thrilled to be revealing the cover of Given to the Earth, the sequel to Given to the Sea by Mindy McGinnis. Given to the Earth concludes this stunning duology, which is perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas. Duty, fate, desire, and destiny collide in this intricately wrought tale. Read more about the book and a Q&A with Mindy below, then check out the incredible cover! Given to the Earth is on sale April 2018!

 

About Given to the Earth:

Although she was born to save the kingdom by sacrificing herself to the rising sea, Khosa’s marriage to King Vincent has redeemed her. As the Queen of Stille, she’s untouchable. But being Queen hasn’t stopped her heart from longing for the King’s stepbrother, Donil. And it hasn’t stopped her body from longing for the sea itself, which still calls for her.

While Khosa is made to choose between loyalty and love, Dara is on a mission for vengeance. Years ago, the Pietra slaughtered the entire Indiri race, leaving only Dara and her twin, Donil, alive. Now, spurned by King Vincent, Dara has embarked on a mission to spill the blood of Pietra’s leader, Witt, and will stop at nothing to show his people the wrath of the last Indiri.

As the waves crash ever closer to Stille, secrets are revealed, hearts are won and lost, and allegiances change like the shifting sand.

 

A Q&A with Mindy McGinnis!

Given to the Sea is set in such a lush, vibrant world, complete with several cultures. Can readers expect to meet new people or creatures in Given to the Earth?

EARTH does expand in a few different ways, taking readers to the village of Hygoden, as well as adding POVs for Donil and Ank, both characters from GIVEN TO THE SEA. You may find yourself becoming attached to a certain feline creature as well…

 

How does publishing your second fantasy novel feel different from publishing your first? 

Writing the second one was more challenging on the level of plot. GIVEN TO THE SEA had a lot of world and character building. With those things established and complex plots ready to come tumbling together, EARTH proved trickier in terms of delivering on all the setup from its predecessor, especially in terms of pacing.

 

What was the inspiration for this cover and what does it tell us about Given to the Earth?

In many ways, GIVEN TO THE SEA focused on Khosa, and GIVEN TO THE EARTH gives center stage to Dara. She’s given a 1st person POV, as well as the opening chapter. Since Dara is the focus of this book, she gets the cover, too!

 

 

And now for the cover!

GvienToTheEarth_ONLINE

Pre-order Given to the Earth!

Add it to your Goodreads shelf!

 

Plus, head over to Mindy’s blog for an ARC giveaway!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#Newsyoucanuse

See the EXCLUSIVE Character Reveal for REIGN OF THE FALLEN by Sarah Glenn Marsh!

Here at Penguin Teen, we’re in the business of bringing you the inside scoop about books that you didn’t even know you were dying to read. Today we’re here to reveal the characters from Reign of the Fallen by Sarah Glenn Marsh, complete with a beautiful illustration and a description from the author. Read a bit … Continued
See More

3 Reasons We’re Freaking Out About the New VALIANT CW Show

The CW has just announced that it will be producing a new TV show based off the epic novel The Valiant by Lesley Livingston. TBH we couldn’t be more excited for this silver screen adaptation of one of our favorite books from this past spring for millions of reasons, but we’ve managed to narrow it down … Continued
See More

See the EXCLUSIVE Cover Reveal for BLOOD WATER PAINT by Joy McCullough

We’re so happy to be revealing the cover of Joy McCullough’s Blood Water Paint, a stunning debut novel based on the true story of the iconic painter, Artemisia Gentileschi. This novel in verse, which tells Gentileschi’s story, is a must-buy for any feminist reader’s shelf. Read on for a bit about the book, a note … Continued
See More

Announcing FUSION FOR BEGINNERS AND EXPERTS by Rebecca Sugar and Angie Wang!

You may know Rebecca Sugar as the creator of the hit Cartoon Network show, Steven Universe. You may also know her as the author of the New York Times bestselling The Answer, which is based on the episode of the same name, and came out last fall. This time, she and Angie Wang have created a … Continued
See More

See the EXCLUSIVE Cover Reveal for PEOPLE LIKE US by Dana Mele!

Here at Penguin Teen, we’re in the business of bringing you books we just KNOW you’ll love. That’s why we’re so excited to reveal the cover of People Like Us by Dana Mele, a sharp psychological thriller that will seduce, mislead, and finally, betray you. Read about the book below, then check out the amazing cover. … Continued
See More

See the EXCLUSIVE Cover Reveal for THE DEFIANT by Lesley Livingston!

We are so thrilled to reveal the cover of The Defiant, the followup to Lesley Livingston’s The Valiant. The Valiant is richly imagined fantasy that follows one girl’s gripping journey from fierce Celtic princess to legendary gladiator and darling of the Roman empire. Read a bit about the new book and a few words from Lesley on the … Continued
See More

Stephanie Perkins Announces Tour for THERE’S SOMEONE INSIDE YOUR HOUSE!

Stephanie Perkins, the bestselling author of Anna and the French Kiss, has a new book coming this fall, and you could say it’s a departure from Anna, Lola, and Isla. There’s Someone Inside Your House is Scream meets YA, about a small Nebraska town with a killer on the loose. One by one, students at Osborne … Continued
See More

The TURTLES ALL THE WAY DOWN Cover Was Revealed and People are Freaking Out

This morning, Good Morning America revealed the cover of John Green’s upcoming novel, Turtles All the Way Down, and we weren’t the only ones who lost. our. freaking. minds. Read on for some of our favorite reactions to the cover reveal!   First, make sure you check out the segment on GMA, and feast your … Continued
See More

Everything We Know About A REAPER AT THE GATES So Far

Early this week, Mashable revealed the title, cover, and pub date of A Reaper at the Gates, the third book in the bestselling Ember in the Ashes series by Sabaa Tahir. Because we love you, we’ve gathered a slew of Sabaa’s tweets, instagrams, and the like to compile this list of everything we know about A Reaper … Continued
See More

Catch Penguin Teen at San Diego Comic Con 2017!

We are super excited to be attending San Diego Comic Con again this year, and we’re giving you a preview of all of the amazing stuff that we’ve got going on at Booth #1515H the weekend of July 20-23. Read on for all of the great happenings in the Penguin Teen booth!   If you’re not … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP

I can give you book recommendations.
Please enter your name and email address to begin chatting with me.



What is your date of birth?

START CHAT