Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

See the EXCLUSIVE Cover Reveal for GIVEN TO THE EARTH by Mindy McGinnis!

SHARE

We’re so thrilled to be revealing the cover of Given to the Earth, the sequel to Given to the Sea by Mindy McGinnis. Given to the Earth concludes this stunning duology, which is perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas. Duty, fate, desire, and destiny collide in this intricately wrought tale. Read more about the book and a Q&A with Mindy below, then check out the incredible cover! Given to the Earth is on sale April 2018!

 

About Given to the Earth:

Although she was born to save the kingdom by sacrificing herself to the rising sea, Khosa’s marriage to King Vincent has redeemed her. As the Queen of Stille, she’s untouchable. But being Queen hasn’t stopped her heart from longing for the King’s stepbrother, Donil. And it hasn’t stopped her body from longing for the sea itself, which still calls for her.

While Khosa is made to choose between loyalty and love, Dara is on a mission for vengeance. Years ago, the Pietra slaughtered the entire Indiri race, leaving only Dara and her twin, Donil, alive. Now, spurned by King Vincent, Dara has embarked on a mission to spill the blood of Pietra’s leader, Witt, and will stop at nothing to show his people the wrath of the last Indiri.

As the waves crash ever closer to Stille, secrets are revealed, hearts are won and lost, and allegiances change like the shifting sand.

 

A Q&A with Mindy McGinnis!

Given to the Sea is set in such a lush, vibrant world, complete with several cultures. Can readers expect to meet new people or creatures in Given to the Earth?

EARTH does expand in a few different ways, taking readers to the village of Hygoden, as well as adding POVs for Donil and Ank, both characters from GIVEN TO THE SEA. You may find yourself becoming attached to a certain feline creature as well…

 

How does publishing your second fantasy novel feel different from publishing your first? 

Writing the second one was more challenging on the level of plot. GIVEN TO THE SEA had a lot of world and character building. With those things established and complex plots ready to come tumbling together, EARTH proved trickier in terms of delivering on all the setup from its predecessor, especially in terms of pacing.

 

What was the inspiration for this cover and what does it tell us about Given to the Earth?

In many ways, GIVEN TO THE SEA focused on Khosa, and GIVEN TO THE EARTH gives center stage to Dara. She’s given a 1st person POV, as well as the opening chapter. Since Dara is the focus of this book, she gets the cover, too!

 

 

And now for the cover!

GvienToTheEarth_ONLINE

Pre-order Given to the Earth!

Add it to your Goodreads shelf!

 

Plus, head over to Mindy’s blog for an ARC giveaway!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#Newsyoucanuse

Books that offer understanding to the refugee experience

On World Refugee Day, in a time when understanding and empathizing with the plight of refugees is vitally important, these reads offer insight and experience. From a World War II tragedy to the very recent Syrian refugee crisis, these books are important additions to your shelf. A Land of Permanent Goodbyes Narrated by Destiny, this heartbreaking … Continued
See More

See the EXCLUSIVE Cover Reveal for FOUR DEAD QUEENS by Astrid Scholte!

 Get ready for your first 2019 obsession from debut author and superstar in the making, Astrid Scholte. Four Dead Queens is a high-stakes standalone fantasy novel, full of twists and turns, and an ending that will leave you shook! Check out the gorgeous cover below, read about the book, and try not to be *too* … Continued
See More

Catch Penguin Teen at YALLWest 2018!

This weekend we’re heading to sunny Santa Monica, California for YALLWest 2018! Check out what we’ve got going on this weekend, and make sure to come by the booth and say hi! Can’t wait to see you there. Can’t make it to YALLWest? Make sure you’re following along on our Instagram, Twitter, and Snapchat!   … Continued
See More

Sabaa Tahir Recaps Laia’s An Ember in the Ashes journey

The Ember in the Ashes world is DEEP! And with so much going on – all that death and destruction – it can be hard to remember exactly who is betraying who. Don’t worry though, we had Sabaa Tahir recap Laia of Serra’s journey in the first two books in the series to help refresh … Continued
See More

Sabaa Tahir Recaps Elias’ An Ember in the Ashes journey

Son of The Commandant, and just trying to be a good guy Elias Veturius can’t catch a break. He really wants to escape this life but circumstance, family and promises aren’t making things easy. If you need a refresher on exactly what Elias has been through in An Ember in the Ashes and A Torch … Continued
See More

Catch Penguin Teen at North Texas Teen Book Festival!

We’re so excited to be heading back to North Texas Teen Book Festival next week and we couldn’t wait to give you a little preview of all the free swag, buzz-worthy panels, and awesome activities we have planned for the day. Read on for more info and on April 21st, be sure to stop by our booth for exclusive … Continued
See More

The Truth and Lies of Ella Black cover is HERE!

After the internationally acclaimed The One Memory of Flora Banks, Emily Barr is back and her next book The Truth and Lies of Ella Black is a twisty, who-can-you-trust thriller set a global stage!   Ella Black has always had dark inclinations. She’s successfully hidden her evil alter ego from her family and friends, but … Continued
See More

Catch Penguin Teen at BookCon 2018!

It’s that time again–we’re heading to BookCon! Read on for our full schedule and join us at Booth 2121 for exclusive games and giveaways*, author signings, and sneak peeks at our upcoming books.   SATURDAY JUNE 2ND Ticketed Photo-Op with Sabaa Tahir 10:15AM SOLD OUT! Fear the Reaper. Come get a picture with Sabaa and some … Continued
See More

Sabaa Tahir Recaps Helene’s An Ember in the Ashes journey

Poor Helene! We all know our Blood Shrike really has not had much joy in the Ember in the Ashes series so far, but in case the details are a little fuzzy, we had Sabaa Tahir recap her journey so far. While the path has definitely not been easy for Helene heading into A Reaper at the … Continued
See More

Are You Ready for A REAPER AT THE GATES?

A Reaper at the Gates is the hotly-anticipated third book in Sabaa Tahir’s An Ember in the Ashes series, and it’s finally hitting shelves June 12! We could not be more excited. To get you ready, we’re putting all of this pre-release goodness in one place! Read on for a digital sampler of the three … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP