Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

See the EXCLUSIVE Cover Reveal for GIVEN TO THE EARTH by Mindy McGinnis!

SHARE

We’re so thrilled to be revealing the cover of Given to the Earth, the sequel to Given to the Sea by Mindy McGinnis. Given to the Earth concludes this stunning duology, which is perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas. Duty, fate, desire, and destiny collide in this intricately wrought tale. Read more about the book and a Q&A with Mindy below, then check out the incredible cover! Given to the Earth is on sale April 2018!

 

About Given to the Earth:

Although she was born to save the kingdom by sacrificing herself to the rising sea, Khosa’s marriage to King Vincent has redeemed her. As the Queen of Stille, she’s untouchable. But being Queen hasn’t stopped her heart from longing for the King’s stepbrother, Donil. And it hasn’t stopped her body from longing for the sea itself, which still calls for her.

While Khosa is made to choose between loyalty and love, Dara is on a mission for vengeance. Years ago, the Pietra slaughtered the entire Indiri race, leaving only Dara and her twin, Donil, alive. Now, spurned by King Vincent, Dara has embarked on a mission to spill the blood of Pietra’s leader, Witt, and will stop at nothing to show his people the wrath of the last Indiri.

As the waves crash ever closer to Stille, secrets are revealed, hearts are won and lost, and allegiances change like the shifting sand.

 

A Q&A with Mindy McGinnis!

Given to the Sea is set in such a lush, vibrant world, complete with several cultures. Can readers expect to meet new people or creatures in Given to the Earth?

EARTH does expand in a few different ways, taking readers to the village of Hygoden, as well as adding POVs for Donil and Ank, both characters from GIVEN TO THE SEA. You may find yourself becoming attached to a certain feline creature as well…

 

How does publishing your second fantasy novel feel different from publishing your first? 

Writing the second one was more challenging on the level of plot. GIVEN TO THE SEA had a lot of world and character building. With those things established and complex plots ready to come tumbling together, EARTH proved trickier in terms of delivering on all the setup from its predecessor, especially in terms of pacing.

 

What was the inspiration for this cover and what does it tell us about Given to the Earth?

In many ways, GIVEN TO THE SEA focused on Khosa, and GIVEN TO THE EARTH gives center stage to Dara. She’s given a 1st person POV, as well as the opening chapter. Since Dara is the focus of this book, she gets the cover, too!

 

 

And now for the cover!

GvienToTheEarth_ONLINE

Pre-order Given to the Earth!

Add it to your Goodreads shelf!

 

Plus, head over to Mindy’s blog for an ARC giveaway!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

#Newsyoucanuse

DIG by A.S. King is a Printz Award Winner!

Dig by A.S. King just won the Printz Award! For those of you who might be new, the Michael L. Printz Award awards the best books written for teens each year, based purely on its literary merit. Basically: it’s a big deal. Think the Oscars for books. So, we are SO excited to share that Dig by A.S. … Continued
See More

Catch Penguin Teen at YALLFest 2019!

We’re getting ready to cruise on over to Charleston, SC for YALLFest 2019! Check out what we’ve got going on, and make sure to come by the booth and say hi! Can’t make it to YALLFest? Make sure you’re following along on our Instagram and Twitter @penguinteen!   FRIDAY, NOVEMBER 8   4:00pm RED CARPET … Continued
See More

Our top takeaways from the LET IT SNOW trailer

Have you seen the trailer?! Let It Snow is on Netflix November 8th and it looks MAGICAL! Watch the trailer below, and scroll down for our fav takeaways!   1. KIERNAN IS THE DUKE!! First Sabrina, now The Duke?! Kiernan is killing it with the iconic character thing.   2. Jubilee and Stewart?! We’re guessing … Continued
See More

Every Book Hitting Shelves in February!

February is here and so are these AMAZING READS!   2/4: The Queen’s Assassin by Melissa de la Cruz – Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Red Queen, this is the first novel in a sweeping YA fantasy-romance duet about a deadly assassin, his mysterious apprentice, and the country they are sworn to protect from #1 NYT bestselling author … Continued
See More

SURPRISE! New 2020 Covers!

Watch your step because we’re about to drop some COVERS! 2020 is packed full of highly-anticipated reads, from sweet to spooky, and we’re here to tell you about a few of them today in our surprise cover drop! First up…   SKYWATCHERS by Carrie Arcos – August 18, 2020 If you loved In the Woods by Tana … Continued
See More

5 reasons why you need An Ember in the Ashes Collector’s Edition

Unless you’ve been trapped inside the Martial Empire’s Kauf Prison, you’ve probably heard that An Ember in the Ashes is getting a beautiful collector’s edition this fall! Exclusively at Barnes & Noble, this must-have edition (available in HARDCOVER) contains never-before-seen content that will have even the most diehard Ember fan swooning. Here are five reasons … Continued
See More

Best Bookish Moments of 2019!

Books were read, you voted, and now it’s time to announce the winners! This is Best Bookish Moments of 2019. The competition was FIERCE, but it’s time to meet your winners for Best Fight, Best Kiss, Best Villain, Best Tearjerker, and Best Plot Twist!   BEST FIGHT: Fireborne by Rosaria Munda We nod at each other, exchange … Continued
See More

5 reasons you need to pre-order A River of Royal Blood

Searching for your next fantasy series to dive into? Well, then your search is over! A River of Royal Blood will be on shelves October 29, 2019, which means you have until October 28 to pre-order the first installment in this magickal new series. Here’s why you should pre-order it RIGHT NOW!   1. The … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: GODDESS IN THE MACHINE

PREPARE YOUR EYEBALLS! Because we have the cover of Goddess in the Machine by Lora Beth Johnson and it.is.STELLAR. Oh, and also? We’ve got an author Q&A and an excerpt to share! Goddess in the Machine is a thrilling sci-fi adventure, perfect for anyone who loves Renegades and Aurora Rising, in which Andra wakes up from a cryogenic sleep 1,000 years later than she was … Continued
See More

Every book hitting shelves in November!

November is here and new books are too! Scroll down to see what’s hitting shelves this month!   11/5: Song of the Crimson Flower by Julie C. Dao – Will love break the spell? From the acclaimed author of Forest of a Thousand Lanterns comes a fantastical new tale of darkness and love, in which magical bonds are stronger … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP