Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Transport Yourself Into a Bookish Winter Wonderland

SHARE

It’s the perfect time of year to cuddle up under a blanket with a warm drink and dive into a winter wonderland of books, and these are the perfect candidates! Some are funny, some are heartbreaking. Some romantic, and some are unforgettable classics you’ll come back to over and over again.

 

Let It Snow by John Green, Maureen Johnson, and Lauren Myracle

This three story collection is a holiday classic, as the lives of the residents of one small town intertwine during a Christmas Eve snowstorm that transforms it into a romantic haven. The magic of the holidays truly shines on these hilarious and charming interconnected tales of love, romance, and breathtaking kisses from three of today’s bestselling teen authors! Now coming to Netflix!

 

Whichwood by Tahereh Mafi

In the frigid land of Whichwood, orphaned Laylee works as a mordeshoor, destined to spend her days scrubbing the skins and souls of the dead in preparation for the afterlife. But when two strangers appear on her doorstep, they just might help Laylee rediscover the color and magic lost form her life with the healing power of friendship.

 

Kids of Appetite by David Arnold

Winter in New Jersey is tough when you’ve run away from home, but luckily for Victor Benucci, he joins up with the KOA, a group of runaways and misfits trying their best to scrape by and live on the right side of the law (as much as they can). This quiet, character driven novel explores the meaning of family, how the past influences our present, and all the ways we show one another we are loved.

 

Ashes in the Snow/Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys

Lina is a Lithuanian girl living an ordinary life until Soviet officers force her and her family into a Siberian work camp, where they are forced to fight for their lives. A moving and haunting novel perfect for readers of The Book Thief, Ashes in the Snow is now also coming to select theaters in January as a major motion picture!

 

We Are Okay by Nina LaCour

Winner of the 2018 Michael L. Printz Award this is an achingly beautiful novel about grief and the enduring power of friendship. Set on a deserted college campus over winter break, We Are Okay will make you want to call your best friend and hug your loved ones, perfect for all the winter feels.

 

Charles Dickens’s A Christmas Carol: A Book-to-Table Classic

MyHouse_Cover.indd

The only thing better than reading is EATING while reading, and with this two-in-one edition of the classic Christmas tale you can snack along with recipes from Giada de Laurentiis, Ina Garten, Martha Stewart and more!

 

If you’re looking for a little romance, try these steamy reads to keep you warm this winter!

#ShelfGoals

#FridayReads: RULES FOR VANISHING

Prepare yourself. PREPARE. YOURSELF. Rules for Vanishing may be one of the spookiest books hitting shelves this year. It may be on of the most chilling YA’s ever. Imagine if The Blair Witch Project had a baby with the magical realism genre. It’s terrifying, and we love it. Be warned: the excerpt starts out subtle, but … Continued
See More

Summer time feels! These books will make you sob in the BEST way

If you love to have your heartstring tugged and your tear ducts in working order, you can’t miss these top 3 summer feels paperbacks!   Turtles All the Way Down by John Green   Do we even need to tell you to pick this one up? An unflinching look at OCD and the struggles mental illnesses … Continued
See More

15 Books to Read During Mental Health Month

May is Mental Health Month and we find that books can not only help us understand or sympathize, but can often help us talk about difficult topics. Here are 15 books to read this month to help you start a conversation and #endthestigma.   Turtles All the Way Down by John Green Aza is trying. She is trying … Continued
See More

Read an excerpt of The Smoke Thieves 2: The Demon World

Did you hear? Smoke Thieves 2 is almost here! The Demon World is packed with all the epic adventure and intricate plot we fell in love with the first time around, and we can’t wait to see where the second installment takes us! But you don’t have to wait too long, we have an excerpt for you … Continued
See More

11 Fictional Boarding Schools We’d Like to Attend

There is something so exciting about the idea of boarding schools–at least for those of us who never attended one. Living with your friends without the watchful eyes of your parents? The dream, and the perfect setting for a book if we do say so ourselves–Hogwarts, anyone? Here’s a list of ten fictional boarding schools … Continued
See More

7 Alternate Histories to Answer Your Biggest “What If’s…”

Historical fiction is great, but sometimes you need your history with a twist. What if one thing had changed about your favorite historical time period? We’ve rounded up 7 reads that answer some of our favorite “what if’s”.   What if Victorian England ruled the future? That Inevitable Victorian Thing by E.K. Johnston In the … Continued
See More

3 books to read if you still aren’t over Black Mirror

So season 5 of Black Mirror dropped on Netflix and it’s probably safe to say everyone was pretty excited to see Miley Cyrus as a wig-wearing popstar again (shoutout to everyone out there who still isn’t over the last season of Hannah Montana *cries*.) But then, alas, the inevitable happens. You watch. You binge-watch. You run out of episodes. So, … Continued
See More

The 5 MOST MAGICAL YA Books Getting Ready to Hit Shelves

Omg ok so we just need to talk about a few things real quick: We love magic We love new books There are new magical books getting ready to hit shelves so let’s discuss   Wicked Fox by Kat Cho Chances are, you’ve heard a few people screaming about this one already. Because it’s–get ready–KOREAN MYTHOLOGY mixed … Continued
See More

#FridayReads: All the Bad Apples by Möira Fowley-Doyle!

This week’s FridayReads excerpt comes from Möira Fowley-Doyle’s new book, All the Bad Apples! When Deena’s wild older sister Mandy goes missing, presumed dead, Deena refuses to believe it’s true. Especially when letters start arriving–letters from Mandy–which proclaim that their family’s blighted history is not just bad luck or bad decisions…but a curse. Scroll down to … Continued
See More

Sci-Fi for People Who Don’t Like Sci-Fi

Okay, we know, we know–sci-fi often features the usual suspects: aliens, spaceships, and evil villains who wants to destroy the intergalactic world. But let’s be real: there’s also mystery, action, suspense, and of course, romance *wink wink*. Here are some great sci-fi books that’ll make you forget you’re not a sci-fi fan!   Girl Gone … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP