Site Loader

A talented witch competes for a prestigious scholarship at her cutthroat high school in this contemporary fantasy for fans of Never Have I Ever and Sabrina the Teen Witch.

“Captivating, romantic, and deeply powerful" —Aiden Thomas, New York Times bestselling author of Cemetery Boys


Magically brilliant, academically perfect, chronically overcommitted—

Shay Johnson has all the makings of a successful witch. As a junior at T.K. Anderson Magical Magnet School, she’s determined to win the Brockton Scholarship—her ticket into the university of her dreams. Her competition? Ana freaking Álvarez. The key to victory? Impressing Mr. B, drama teacher and head of the scholarship committee.

When Mr. B asks Shay to star in this year’s aggressively inclusive musical, she warily agrees, even though she’ll have to put up with Ana playing the other lead. But in rehearsals, Shay realizes Ana is . . . not the despicable witch she’d thought. Perhaps she could be a friend—or more. And Shay could use someone in her corner once she becomes the target of Mr. B’s unwanted attention. When Shay learns she’s not the first witch to experience his inappropriate behavior, she must decide if she’ll come forward. But how can she speak out when her future's on the line?

"The perfect witchy read" —BuzzFeed

Praise for How to Succeed in Witchcraft

"Aislinn Brophy has brought a fresh new voice to YA fantasy! How to Succeed in Witchcraft delivers a killer plot packed with meaty metaphor and soul-warming sapphic romance. This book is captivating, romantic, and deeply powerful—it left me wanting more!" —Aiden Thomas, New York Times bestselling author of Cemetery Boys

"How to Succeed in Witchcraft is a delightful debut brimming with enemies-to-lovers antics and a plucky protagonist you can’t help but root for. Come for the crackling queer banter, stay for the history of magic (steeped in shrewd social consciousness)." —Ryan Douglass, New York Times bestselling author of The Taking of Jake Livingston

"How to Succeed in Witchcraft is perfect blend of contemporary and fantasy. Featuring awkward, lovable, queer characters put into heartbreaking, all too real scenarios, this story is sure to delight and burn with righteous rage at the same time." —Jessica Lewis, author of Bad Witch Burning

"The perfect witchy read for fall, this debut is a wonderful contemporary fantasy." —BuzzFeed

"The lightly magical world with two queer leads that debut author Brophy creates closely mirrors ours, from social issues regarding race and gender to the dilemmas teenagers face in planning their futures. . . . #MeToo with a magical twist." —Kirkus Reviews

"Brophy’s narrative will resonate with readers. . . . Despite the creative use of magic, the novel succeeds even beyond its fantasy components. Brophy’s engrossing writing is a welcome addition to the fantasy genre." —Booklist

"A well-developed modern world where magic is assumed, though not everyone has the same wielding abilities, and a sparkling first romance. . . . With cool magic in a deeply diverse world, this begs for a sequel." —The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

  • Pages: 416 Pages
  • Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group
  • Imprint: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers
  • ISBN: 9780593354520
Penguin Teen