Site Loader

Reading Recs

A Mood Reader’s Roadmap to 2023

Are you a mood reader? We get it. Sometimes you just feel like it’s historical fiction time. So, if you’re looking for a book to match the current vibe of your life, read on for your mood reader roadmap to 2023 books!

Our 2023 recommendations

The Severed Thread by Leslie Vedder – Feb 7

Clever, bookish Fi and her brash, ax-wielding partner Shane are back in this action packed sequel to the bestselling The Bone Spindle, the gender-flipped Sleeping Beauty retelling, perfect for fans of Sorcery of Thorns and The Cruel Prince.

Nightbirds by Kate J. Armstrong – Feb 28

In a dazzling new fantasy world full of whispered secrets and political intrigue, the magic of women is outlawed but four girls with unusual powers have the chance to change it all.

The Future King by Robyn Schneider – March 21

Welcome back to the great kingdom of Camelot! Scandal, betrayal, and courtly crushes abound in this highly anticipated sequel to The Other Merlin, one of Publishers Weekly’s Best Books of the Year!

Chaos & Flame by Tessa Gratton and Justina Ireland – March 28

From New York Times bestselling author Justina Ireland and Tessa Gratton comes the first book in a ferocious YA fantasy duology featuring ancient magic, warring factions, and a romance between the two people in the world with the most cause to hate one another.

Snow & Poison by Melissa de la Cruz – April 18

Love is stronger than poison in this lush retelling of “Snow White” by #1 New York Times bestselling author Melissa de la Cruz

Bound by Sword and Spirit by Andrea Robertson – May 16

Game of Thrones meets Shadow and Bone in the final book in this action-packed fantasy from Andrea Robertson, the internationally bestselling author of the Nightshade series.

Threads That Bind by Kika Hatzopoulou – June 13

In a world where the children of the gods inherit their powers, a descendant of the Greek Fates must solve a series of impossible murders to save her sisters, her soulmate, and her city.

Legends and Liars by Morgan Rhodes – June 13

This riveting sequel to Echoes and Empires sees Joss and Jericho team up with some of their greatest enemies—including two of the most powerful mages in the world—to bring an end to the queen’s empire of lies, from New York Times bestselling author Morgan Rhodes.

A Crooked Mark by Linda Kao – June 20

A dark and sinister debut YA novel about a teen boy who must hunt down those marked by the devil – including the girl he has fallen for.

Our 2023 recommendations

Lying in the Deep by Diana Urban – May 2

A juicy mystery of jealousy, love, and betrayal set on a Semester at Sea-inspired cruise ship, with a diverse cast of delightfully suspicious characters who’ll leave you guessing with every jaw-dropping twist.

(Cover coming soon!!!)

The Legacies by Jessica Goodman – July 25

A glitzy YA thriller set in New York City elite social circles, filled with backstabbing and blackmail, twisty secrets, and a dead body, from New York Times bestselling author Jessica Goodman.

The Narrow by Kate Alice Marshall – Aug 2

A ghost haunting her boarding school uncovers a teen girl’s best kept secrets in the Queen of Scream’s deliciously terrifying new novel.

Holly Horror by Michelle Jabès Corpora – Aug 15

After her parents’ painful divorce, Evie Archer hopes that moving to Ravenglass, Massachusetts, is the fresh start that her family needs. But Evie quickly realizes that her new home—known by locals as the Horror House—carries its own dark past after learning about Holly Hobbie, who mysteriously vanished in her bedroom one night.

Just Do This One Thing For Me by Laura Zimmermann – Aug 22

Hilarious, heartbreaking, and sneaky suspenseful, Just Do This One Thing for Me is a timely novel about a rule-following daughter trying to hold her family together after her scammer mother disappears.

Suddenly a Murder by Lauren Muñoz

Seven friends throw a 1920s–themed party, where it’s all pretend—until one of them is murdered. One of Us Is Lying meets Knives Out in this killer locked-room mystery.

Our 2023 recommendations

The Davenports by Krystal Marquis – Jan 31

The historical romance you need in your life! The first in a breathless YA series set in 1910 Chicago, The Davenports offers a glimpse into a period of African American history often overlooked, while delivering a totally escapist, swoon-worthy read.

Enter the Body by Joy McCullough – Mar 14

In the room beneath a stage’s trapdoor, Shakespeare’s dead teenage girls—Juliet, Ophelia, Cordelia, and others—compare their experiences and retell the stories of their lives in their own terms.

Strange Unearthly Things by Kelly Creagh – Aug 22

A hauntingly romantic paranormal Jane Eyre reimagining, by the author of Phantom Heart.

Our 2023 recommendations

When You Wish Upon a Lantern by Gloria Chao – Feb 14

Acclaimed author Gloria Chao creates real-world magic in this luminous romance about teens who devote themselves to granting other people’s wishes, but are too afraid to let themselves have their own hearts’ desires—each other.

Last Chance Dance by Lakita Wilson – Feb 14

An utterly charming YA romance perfect for fans of Elise Bryant and Leah Johnson. Leila is devastated when her high school boyfriend breaks up with her right before graduation, but when she gets paired with four unrequited crushes in the lead-up to her school’s annual Last Chance Dance, she might just fall in love with someone new.

Chloe and the Kaishao Boys by Mae Coyuito – March 7

When Dimple Met Rishi meets Loveboat, Taipei in this hilarious YA rom-com about a Chinese-Filipina girl in Manila whose father sets her up on a marathon of arranged dates in hopes of convincing her to stay close to home for college.

Never Vacation with Your Ex by Emily Wibberley and Austin Siegemund-Broka – April 4

Forgetting Sarah Marshall meets Crazy Stupid Love in a YA second chance romance from fan-favorite author couple #Wibbroka!

Viva Lola Espinoza by Ella Cerón – Apr 11

A debut young adult novel that’s Pride & Prejudice with a dash of magic, about a booksmart teen who spends the summer in Mexico City, meets two very cute boys, attempts to learn Spanish, and uncovers a family secret that changes her life forever.

They Hate Each Other by Amanda Woody – May 9

Jonah and Dylan get along like oil and water. Until a fake dating ploy gives them new perspective, and they realize that “falling for your enemy” isn’t as impossible as it seems.

Her Good Side by Rebekah Weatherspoon – May 30

A swoony, heart-melting YA romance from beloved author Rebekah Weatherspoon about two awkward teens who decide to practice dating in order to be good at the real thing.

Always Isn’t Forever by J.C. Cervantes – June 6

From New York Times bestselling author J.C. Cervantes comes a sparkling, unforgettable YA romance, perfect for fans of You’ve Reached Sam.

Our 2023 recommendations

Another Dimension of Us by Mike Albo – Jan 17

The Breakfast Club meets Brit Marling’s The OA in this thrilling science fiction story about teens from the past and the future who travel across the astral plane save the ones they love.

Made of Stars by Jenna Voris – March 28

Inspired by the lawless love story of Bonnie and Clyde, Jenna Voris’s heart-stopping tale of passion and crime will have you seeing stars.

Star Splitter by Matthew J. Kirby – Apr 25

Crash-landed on a desolate planet lightyears from Earth, seventeen-year-old Jessica Mathers must unravel the mystery of the bloody destruction all around her—and the questionable intentions of a familiar stranger.

Our 2023 recommendations

As You Walk On By by Julian Winters – Jan 17

The Breakfast Club meets Can’t Hardly Wait with an unforgettable ensemble cast in another swoony YA contemporary from award-winning author Julian Winters!

Free Radicals by Lila Riesen – Mar 21

Afghan-American Mafi’s sophomore year gets a whole lot more complicated when she accidentally exposes family secrets, putting her family back in Afghanistan in danger in this smartly written YA debut.

The Memory Eater by Rebecca Mahoney – March 14

A teenage girl must save her town from a memory-devouring monster in this piercing exploration of grief, trauma, and memory, from the author of The Valley and the Flood.

The Quiet and the Loud by Helena Fox – March 28

A heartbreaking, hopeful, and timely novel about holding too tight to family secrets, healing from trauma, and falling in love, from the award-winning author of How It Feels to Float

Chasing Pacquiao by Rod Pulido – May 2

Experience the extreme joys, sorrows, and triumphs of a queer Filipino-American teenager struggling to prove himself in an unforgiving world. A poignant coming-of-age story, perfect for fans of Patron Saints of Nothing and Juliet Takes a Breath.

Ever Since by Alena Bruzas – May 23

This intense, beautiful debut—perfect for fans of Nina LaCour and Kathleen Glasgow—is about the power of finding your voice and sharing your story after trauma.

Give Me a Sign by Anna Sortino – July 11

A girl finds a community—and love—over the course of one summer in this joyful, wholesome YA romance that celebrates Deaf pride. Think CODA meets Jenny Han!

True True by Don P. Hooper – Aug 1

In this powerful and fast-paced YA contemporary debut, a Black teen from Brooklyn struggles to fit in at his almost entirely-white Manhattan prep school, resulting in a fight and a plan for vengeance.

Forty Words for Love by Aisha Saeed – Aug 22

In this luminous young adult novel by New York Times bestselling author Aisha Saeed, two teen protagonists grow from friends to something more in the aftermath of a tragedy in their magical town.

Forgive Me Not by Jennifer Baker – Aug 15

In this searing indictment of the juvenile justice system, one incarcerated teen weighs what she is willing to endure for forgiveness.

Penguin Teen