Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

7 Books To Read During Sexual Assault Awareness Month

SHARE

April is Sexual Assault Awareness Month and we’re committed to helping keep the conversation going all month long. We find that books can often help us talk about difficult topics – so here are 7 books to help you start a conversation.

 

SHOUT by Laurie Halse Anderson

SHOUT pb

Bestselling author Laurie Halse Anderson is known for the unflinching way she writes about, and advocates for, survivors of sexual assault. Now, inspired by her fans and enraged by how little in our culture has changed since her groundbreaking novel Speak was first published twenty years ago, she has written a critically acclaimed poetry memoir that is as vulnerable as it is rallying, as timely as it is timeless. In free verse, Anderson shares reflections, rants, and calls to action woven among deeply personal stories from her life that she’s never written about before. SHOUT speaks truth to power in a loud, clear voice–and once you hear it, it is impossible to ignore.

 

Blood Water Paint by Joy McCullough

After painter Artemisia Gentileschi  was sexually assaulted, she faced a terrible choice: a life of silence or a life of truth, no matter the cost. She chose truth. This bold novel in verse is a portrait of an artist as a young woman, filled with the soaring highs of creative inspiration and the devastating setbacks of a system built to break her.

The Art of Breaking Things by Laura Sibson

ArtofBreakingThings_final-cov

In the tradition of Laurie Halse Anderson and Sara Zarr, one girl embraces the power of her voice: rules are meant to be broken and she won’t stay silent.

 

The Fall of Innocence by Jenny Torres Sanchez

For the past eight years, sixteen-year-old Emilia DeJesus has done her best to move on from the traumatic attack she suffered in the woods behind her elementary school. But when a startling discovery about her attacker’s identity comes to light, Emilia is forced to confront her new reality.

 

Exit, Pursued by a Bear by E.K. Johnston

After she’s assaulted at cheer camp, Hermione Winters faces a wrenching decision and struggles to regain the control she’s always had. A brave and unforgettable story that will inspire readers to rethink how we treat survivors.

 

Just Listen by Sarah Dessen

When a classmate attempts to assault Annabel over the summer, she reacts by isolating herself from everyone – but it’s through building new relationships that she’s finally able to confront what happened.

 

Pointe by Brandy Colbert

When Theo’s best friend Donovan returns home four years after his kidnapping, she’ll have to reconcile secrets from her past with her dreams for the future. Telling the truth would put everything she’s been living for at risk. But keeping quiet might be worse.

 

Click here to see what’s hitting shelves in April!

#WhatsTrending

Read the first 3 chapters of Goddess in the Machine by Lora Beth Johnson!

Goddess in the Machine by Lora Beth Johnson just hit shelves! In this smart, thrilling sci-fi adventure, perfect for fans of Renegades and Aurora Rising, Andra wakes up from a cryogenic sleep 1,000 years later than she was supposed to, forcing her to team up with an exiled prince to navigate an unfamiliar planet. Scroll down to read the … Continued
See More

A Mood Reader’s Roadmap

Are you a mood reader? We’ve got you! We’ve put together a list of reads perfect for all of the reading moods, including some of 2020’s hottest reads and what’s about to hit shelves next!   In the mood for a fantasy that will take you away for a bit? You should read…   The Kinder Poison by … Continued
See More

6 Vampire Books to Read While You Wait For Twilight’s Midnight Sun

Stephenie Meyer dropped BIG news that the long anticipated, much talked about Twilight from Edward Cullen’s perspective novel Midnight Sun is coming this August! Of course, that is a few months away and if you’re craving more vampire reads, here are six books to sink your teeth into. 1. Vampire Academy Equal parts swoon and epic. Vampire Academy is … Continued
See More

Excerpt Alert: STORMBREAK by Natalie C. Parker

  June may be coming to an end, but we are looking forward to continuing to #ReadPrideAndBeyond all year long with upcoming spectacular 2020 reads. And we’re sharing an excerpt today from one of them! Stormbreak by Natalie C. Parker is the epic conclusion to the Seafire trilogy, applauded by Tor.com for celebrating “sisterhood and queernormativity in the face … Continued
See More

Week 2 Recap: The Beautiful Read-Along!

It was week 2 of of sinking our teeth into Renée Ahdieh’s The Beautiful. We have been loving reading this book alongside you all this month and this book is KILLING IT! As week 2 of our Read-Along comes to a close, here are some of our favorite posts from readers who are reading (or re-reading) the book with … Continued
See More

COVER REVEAL: City of the Uncommon Thief

It’s cover reveal time! Get ready for a dark and intricate fantasy perfect for readers of The Book of Dust and Leigh Bardugo. City of the Uncommon Thief is the story of a quarantined city gripped by fear and of the war that can free it. Scroll down to see the cover and read an excerpt down below! Illustrator: … Continued
See More

ICYMI: the cover for Super Fake Love Song is here!

Super Fake Love Song by David Yoon, author of Frankly in Love, is hitting shelves November 17th, and we are SO in love with this cover. Scroll down to take a look and read a bit about the book!     From the bestselling author of Frankly in Love comes a contemporary YA rom-com where a case of mistaken … Continued
See More

2020 YA Preview!

Hello and WELCOME to the 2020 YA preview! We’re talking all early info on upcoming 2020 books we cannot WAIT to read and all the amazing books out so far this year!   All the Days Past, All the Days to Come by Mildred D. Taylor – January 7, 2020 The saga of the Logan family–made … Continued
See More

#ReadPrideAndBeyond with these books!

This Pride Month, we’re celebrating with books that highlight extraordinary LGBTQ+ stories. Funny, heartbreaking, suspenseful, romantic – there’s a little something for everyone on this list, so scroll down on for some of our favorites and #ReadPrideAndBeyond all year long! Plus, don’t forget to enter our sweeps to win a stack!   Click here to enter our #ReadPrideAndBeyond … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: THE WOODS ARE ALWAYS WATCHING by Stephanie Perkins

Stephanie Perkins is back with another blood-chilling contemporary horror novel, the perfect companion to her New York Times bestseller There’s Someone Inside Your House (coming to Netflix!!) Get ready for The Woods Are Always Watching, coming September 2020! We are so ready for more scares from Stephanie Perkins. Keep an eye out, because as SOON as we have more info, … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP