Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

7 Books To Read During Sexual Assault Awareness Month

SHARE

April is Sexual Assault Awareness Month and we’re committed to helping keep the conversation going all month long. We find that books can often help us talk about difficult topics – so here are 7 books to help you start a conversation.

 

SHOUT by Laurie Halse Anderson

SHOUT pb

Bestselling author Laurie Halse Anderson is known for the unflinching way she writes about, and advocates for, survivors of sexual assault. Now, inspired by her fans and enraged by how little in our culture has changed since her groundbreaking novel Speak was first published twenty years ago, she has written a critically acclaimed poetry memoir that is as vulnerable as it is rallying, as timely as it is timeless. In free verse, Anderson shares reflections, rants, and calls to action woven among deeply personal stories from her life that she’s never written about before. SHOUT speaks truth to power in a loud, clear voice–and once you hear it, it is impossible to ignore.

 

Blood Water Paint by Joy McCullough

After painter Artemisia Gentileschi  was sexually assaulted, she faced a terrible choice: a life of silence or a life of truth, no matter the cost. She chose truth. This bold novel in verse is a portrait of an artist as a young woman, filled with the soaring highs of creative inspiration and the devastating setbacks of a system built to break her.

The Art of Breaking Things by Laura Sibson

ArtofBreakingThings_final-cov

In the tradition of Laurie Halse Anderson and Sara Zarr, one girl embraces the power of her voice: rules are meant to be broken and she won’t stay silent.

 

The Fall of Innocence by Jenny Torres Sanchez

For the past eight years, sixteen-year-old Emilia DeJesus has done her best to move on from the traumatic attack she suffered in the woods behind her elementary school. But when a startling discovery about her attacker’s identity comes to light, Emilia is forced to confront her new reality.

 

Exit, Pursued by a Bear by E.K. Johnston

After she’s assaulted at cheer camp, Hermione Winters faces a wrenching decision and struggles to regain the control she’s always had. A brave and unforgettable story that will inspire readers to rethink how we treat survivors.

 

Just Listen by Sarah Dessen

When a classmate attempts to assault Annabel over the summer, she reacts by isolating herself from everyone – but it’s through building new relationships that she’s finally able to confront what happened.

 

Pointe by Brandy Colbert

When Theo’s best friend Donovan returns home four years after his kidnapping, she’ll have to reconcile secrets from her past with her dreams for the future. Telling the truth would put everything she’s been living for at risk. But keeping quiet might be worse.

 

Click here to see what’s hitting shelves in April!

#WhatsTrending

Everything we know about the BEASTS OF PREY Netflix adaptation

Beasts of Prey is coming to Netflix, and here’s what we know so far!   It will be a developed as a major motion picture via GIPHY Here’s to hoping it’s at least 3 hours with all of our favorite scenes included!   Melody Cooper, a 2021 Sundance Episodic Lab Fellow, will pen the adaptation and … Continued
See More

9 YA books for your autumn TBR!

Fall is upon us, and from fantasy, to poetry, and knockout debut novels, we’re here with 9 YA books for your autumn TBR you’ll DEFINITELY want to snuggle up with!   The Woods Are Always Watching by Stephanie Perkins  Click here for more info!   Dark and Shallow Lies by Ginny Myers Sain  Click here … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: CINDER & GLASS by Melissa de la Cruz

Today we’re revealing the cover for Cinder & Glass by Melissa de la Cruz, the Cinderella retelling you’ve been waiting for! Though, for this princess, winning the crown is no fairytale. 1682. The king sends out an invitation to all the maidens in France: their presence is requested at a number of balls and events that will be held … Continued
See More

Start reading BEASTS OF PREY by Ayana Gray!

Beasts of Prey by Ayana Gray is one of 2021’s most HOTLY anticipated reads, and luckily you don’t have to wait much longer…because it’s hitting shelves THIS TUESDAY. But we know waiting is hard. So we’re sharing a sneak peek to hold you over! Scroll down to start reading and prepare to enter the Greater Jungle! … Continued
See More

See the new paperback look for THE VANISHING DEEP by Astrid Scholte!

The Vanishing Deep by Astrid Scholte is coming to paperback with a whole new look, hitting shelves January 4, 2022! Scroll down to see the stunning new cover and read a more about the book! Bestselling author Astrid Scholte, returns with a thrilling adventure in which the dead can be revived…for a price. Seventeen-year-old Tempe was … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: CHASING AFTER KNIGHT by Heather Buchta

Today we’re revealing the cover for Chasing After Knight! From Beyond the Break author Heather Buchta comes a funny, romantic novel about a girl trying to make amends with a former best friend. The thing is: healing someone else’s broken heart has its complications, especially when he’s now an A-list movie star. High school senior Alexa Brooks had it all … Continued
See More

Cover Reveal: Man o’ War by Cory McCarthy

Man o’ War by Cory McCarthy is an achingly honest and frequently hilarious coming-of-age novel about an Arab American trans swimmer fighting to keep their head above water in a landlocked midwestern town. River McIntyre has grown up down the street from Sea Planet, an infamous marine life theme park slowly going out of business in … Continued
See More

Everything we know about the Vampire Academy TV series

In case you haven’t heard, Peacock is adapting Richelle Mead’s beloved Vampire Academy into a TV series! We are so excited to see these books come to life on screen, and here’s what we know about the adaptation so far!   1. The announcement is EVERYWHERE It’s already been picked up by Deadline, Collider, The Hollywood Reporter, Variety, and more! … Continued
See More

October 2021 books: here’s what’s coming to shelves!

Whether you’re looking for a thriller, a graphic novel, or a holiday romcom, October is bringing some AMAZING reads to our shelves! 10/5: The Falling Girls by Hayley Krischer From the author of the unforgettable Something Happened to Ali Greenleaf comes an intoxicating thriller about the dark paths female friendships can take, set against the backdrop of … Continued
See More

Already binged season 2 of Outer Banks? Here’s your perfect read!

If you already obsessively watched season 2 of Outer Banks on Netflix and are craving the romance, waterside drama, and wild plot twists, allow us to introduce you to your next perfect read: Dark and Shallow Lies  by Ginny Myers Sain! Scroll down to read more about the this twisty debut, and click here to start reading the first … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP