Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

Shannon's books...

The Virtue of Sin

Shannon Schuren

Shannon Schuren

Shannon Schuren (shannon.schuren.org) works as a children’s librarian at a public library and writes from a cozy she-shed in her backyard. Her short stories have appeared in various journals such as Toasted Cheese Literary Journal, Big Pulp, and Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine. Shannon lives in Sheboygan Falls, WI, with her husband and three children. Follow her on Twitter @shannonschuren.

#ShannonSchuren

Every Book Hitting Shelves in June

Here’s a sneak peek of what’s hitting shelves this June!   6/2: Jo & Laurie by Melissa de la Cruz and Margaret Stohl – Bestselling authors Margaret Stohl and Melissa de la Cruz bring us a romantic retelling of Little Women starring Jo March and her best friend, the boy next door, Theodore “Laurie” Laurence.   6/2: Beyond … Continued
See More

Read an interview & excerpt with the author of THE VIRTUE OF SIN

Hooray, it’s excerpt day! In continuation of our #NewBooksNewVoices celebration, Shannon Schuren, author of The Virtue of Sin is answering some questions and sharing her publishing journey! Read her interview below and scroll down to read an excerpt of her debut novel.   Q: What are your top three absolute FAVORITE reads?   A: The Female of the Species … Continued
See More

Every Book Hitting Shelves this June!

Summer is finally here and she brought BOOKS!   6/4: The Haunted by Danielle Vega – From Danielle Vega, YA’s answer to Stephen King, comes a new paranormal novel about dark family secrets, deep-seated vengeance, and the horrifying truth that evil often lurks in the unlikeliest of places.   6/4: When the Ground Is Hard by Malla Nunn … Continued
See More

A book lover’s holiday gift guide!

Presenting: the holiday gift guide you should give to the friends & family of all book lovers.   If your reader loves FANTASY… Four Dead Queens by Astrid Scholte Seventeen-year-old Keralie Corrington may seem harmless, but she’s, in fact, one of Quadara’s most skilled thieves and a liar. Varin, on the other hand, is an … Continued
See More

Meet the Author: Shannon Schuren!

We’ve been celebrating all the amazing debut books hitting shelves this year, not to mention the amazing authors who wrote them! This week we’re reading Shannon Schuren’s intense, addictive debut The Virtue of Sin, a shocking tale about a cult and one girl’s determination to speak out. Scroll down to hear from Shannon about her debut! I’m Shannon, and my … Continued
See More

Books to add to your summer TBR ASAP

If you are COUNTING. DOWN. THE. DAYS. until summer then you’re not alone, and we’ve got some reads you should add to your summer TBR asap.   If I’m Being Honest by Austin Siegemund-Broka and Emily Wibberley This is THE SUMMER READ. If you’re packing up to go to the beach, you had best make … Continued
See More

Reads to Celebrate Women’s Equality Day

Today is Women’s Equality Day, and we’re celebrating with some amazing reads written by amazing women!   Juliet Takes a Breath by Gabby Rivera  This book radiates feminism. When Juliet’s hero fails her, she grapples with crucial, timely questions of what feminism means if it excludes queer and trans women of color, giving language to hard … Continued
See More

9 Books to Read if You Love The Handmaid’s Tale

If you’re like us, you’re completely obsessed with Hulu’s adaptation of Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale. If you need your dystopian fix, these dystopian novels are just the thing! #BlessUp   The Virtue of Sin by Shannon Schuren Rules. Secrets. Manipulation. This book takes place in a present-day cult and it’s chilling. Miriam lives in New Jerusalem, a haven in … Continued
See More

Top 5 Writing Tips…from Debut Authors!

Any aspiring writers out there? We see you! And we something super exciting to share today. You’ve probably noticed a lot of amazing debuts hitting shelves this year. In fact, had a whole #NewBooksNewVoices celebration! Now, those authors are here to share with you their absolute BEST writing tips!   Laura Sibson, author of The Art of … Continued
See More

#FridayReads: The Virtue of Sin

Happy #FridayReads! This week’s excerpt comes from The Virtue of Sin by Shannon Schuren, a compelling novel about speaking out, standing up, and breaking free, and perfect for fans of The Handmaid’s Tale! Scroll down to start reading! Chapter 1 The girls never get a choice. Recite your Prayers, report for Lessons, respect your Elders. Do unto others and … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP