Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

If You Come Softly

By Jacqueline Woodson

About If You Come Softly

A lyrical story of star-crossed love perfect for readers of The Hate U Give, by National Ambassador for Children’s Literature Jacqueline Woodson–now celebrating its twentieth anniversary, and including a new preface by the author

Jeremiah feels good inside his own skin. That is, when he’s in his own Brooklyn neighborhood. But now he’s going to be attending a fancy prep school in Manhattan, and black teenage boys don’t exactly fit in there. So it’s a surprise when he meets Ellie the first week of school. In one frozen moment their eyes lock, and after that they know they fit together–even though she’s Jewish and he’s black. Their worlds are so different, but to them that’s not what matters. Too bad the rest of the world has to get in their way.
Jacqueline Woodson’s work has been called “moving and resonant” (Wall Street Journal) and “gorgeous” (Vanity Fair). If You Come Softly is a powerful story of interracial love that leaves readers wondering “why” and “if only . . .”


Artemisia Gentileschi and 7 Other Real Women to Inspire You During Women’s History Month

Every March, we celebrate all of the women that have made an impact on our history and our lives. We try to always celebrate women, but this month especially, the power of a woman is undeniable. That’s why we’re telling you about 8 real women–some you may know, some you may not–that have been seriously inspirational … Continued
See More

Every Book Hitting Shelves in March 2018

Ah, March. Flowers blooming, temperatures rising, and books stacking up! We have SO many great reads this month–from series enders, to tear-jerking standalones, to anniversaries of beloved novels, we’ve truly got it all for you this month!   3/6: Hero at the Fall by Alwyn Hamilton: Rebel of the Sands fans, rejoice! The breathless finale to the … Continued
See More

Books by Women of Color that You Need to Read This Year

If 2017 was the year of the woman, in 2018 women are keeping that momentum going and taking the world by storm. If the Golden Globes were any indication, women are finally (and rightfully) demanding to have their voices heard. And while we continue to show support from a social and political standpoint, we are also making … Continued
See More

I can give you book recommendations.
Please enter your name and email address to begin chatting with me.

What is your date of birth?