Keep Me Posted!

Sign me up for the latest news from Penguin Teen, including new books, special offers, and promotions.

If You Come Softly

By Jacqueline Woodson
SHARE

About If You Come Softly

A lyrical story of star-crossed love perfect for readers of The Hate U Give, by National Ambassador for Children’s Literature Jacqueline Woodson–now celebrating its twentieth anniversary, and including a new preface by the author

Jeremiah feels good inside his own skin. That is, when he’s in his own Brooklyn neighborhood. But now he’s going to be attending a fancy prep school in Manhattan, and black teenage boys don’t exactly fit in there. So it’s a surprise when he meets Ellie the first week of school. In one frozen moment their eyes lock, and after that they know they fit together–even though she’s Jewish and he’s black. Their worlds are so different, but to them that’s not what matters. Too bad the rest of the world has to get in their way.
 
Jacqueline Woodson’s work has been called “moving and resonant” (Wall Street Journal) and “gorgeous” (Vanity Fair). If You Come Softly is a powerful story of interracial love that leaves readers wondering “why” and “if only . . .”

#IfYouComeSoftly

Artemisia Gentileschi and 8 Other Real Women to Inspire You on International Women’s Day

Today, we celebrate all of the women out there making an impact on lives, past and present. We try to always celebrate women, but today especially, the power of a woman is undeniable. That’s why we’re telling you about 9 real women–some you may know, some you may not–that have been seriously inspirational to us. From seventeenth … Continued
See More

Books by Women of Color that You Need to Read This Year

If 2017 was the year of the woman, in 2018 women are keeping that momentum going and taking the world by storm. If the Golden Globes were any indication, women are finally (and rightfully) demanding to have their voices heard. And while we continue to show support from a social and political standpoint, we are also making … Continued
See More

11 Books to Read for #BlackAThon

#BlackAThon is just the latest creative and exciting read-a-thon that the bookish online world has brought into our lives! Taking place from February 11th-25th, the goal is to get everyone reading books about (and by!) black and African American people. You can find all of the read-a-thon challenges on the BlackAThon Twitter, but we’ve got a few suggestions for … Continued
See More

Your Cheat Sheet to Every Book that Came Out in 2018

Wait…you’re saying it’s almost 2019? ALREADY? Well, then it’s time to take a stroll down Bookish Memory Lane and make sure you haven’t missed out on any of the amazing titles 2018 gave us! via GIPHY January: Rookie on Love by Tavi Gevinson A single-subject anthology about the heart’s most powerful emotion, edited by Rookie creator, … Continued
See More

Every Book Hitting Shelves in March 2018

Ah, March. Flowers blooming, temperatures rising, and books stacking up! We have SO many great reads this month–from series enders, to tear-jerking standalones, to anniversaries of beloved novels, we’ve truly got it all for you this month!   3/6: Hero at the Fall by Alwyn Hamilton: Rebel of the Sands fans, rejoice! The breathless finale to the … Continued
See More
BACK TO TOP